DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Status
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application. Claims 1-10 were amended by preliminary amendment.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “feed device” of claims 1 and 8 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered. See also the Claim Interpretation section and the rejection of claims 1 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) below.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
Examiner’s Note
The examiner would welcome an interview to clarify any of the various rejections seen below in order to expedite prosecution of the instant application.
We note that applicant’s image source for its amended claims is low-resolution and includes grayed out text that has caused numerous problems for the USPTO’s OCR system. We respectfully request that subsequent amendments provide more clearly printed documents.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “and having a feed device” of claim 1 and “using the feed device” of claim 8. The invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) is due to the term “feed device” implying means plus function (“feeding”) with no structural amplification in the claims indicating what a feed device might be and how one might be implemented.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such a claim limitation is: the “means for holding and moving” of claim 8. Prong C of the above decision method is not satisfied in this case, because the claim explicitly discloses that the means comprises pallet supports, thus providing satisfactory structure to perform the function.
If applicant intends to have this limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitations “having a feed device” of claim 1 and “using a feed device” of claim 8 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Although the term “feed device” appears 16 times in applicant’s specification, it is never structurally defined nor even exemplified as a particular machine or kind of machine. Moreover (see drawing objection above), no feed device is depicted in applicant’s figures. The greatest detail applicant supplies is in [0091]-[0092] and fig. 13, but all that can be determined is that the feed device comprises a holder, which appears to be a non-mechanical one-piece structure. But this is an unsatisfactory account of what is plainly a powered machine capable of transporting pallets through applicant’s system. Therefore, claims that recite the term “feed device” are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Moreover, as independent claim 1 is rejected on this ground, all dependent claims inherit the indefiniteness of claim 1 even if they do not recite the term.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over [no listed inventors], DE 202016001581 (hereinafter Winkel) in view of Killian, et al., US 2008/0172858 (hereinafter Killian).
Note that reference Winkel has the same applicant, Winkel GmbH, as the instant application; but regardless of whether Winkel shares inventors with the instant application, being published in 2020 it is outside the grace period provided by 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A).
Regarding claim 1,
Winkel discloses:
A device for picking on pallets or goods carriers (device 10: fig. 1)
comprising a picking chute (chute 24: fig. 1);
a temporary pallet store for unladen pallets (buffer 40: fig. 1), the temporary pallet store being arranged laterally next to the picking chute;
and having a feed device (feeding device 42 with fork 54: fig. 1) for transporting an unladen pallet from the picking chute to the temporary pallet store or from the temporary pallet store to the picking chute;Note that the “feed device” of this limitation is being interpreted according to our best understanding (i.e. according to its ability to transport a pallet between the two claimed structures) because per the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, applicant’s claims, drawings, and specification fail to disclose much information about it. Winkel discloses the claimed functionality of its feeding device 42 in [0048].
However, Winkel does not disclose all aspects of:
wherein the temporary pallet store has at least two storage locations for pallets of different sizes.While Winkel discloses a system capable of handling pallets of different sizes (e.g. 12 and 64 in fig. 13) and while it appears from Winkel’s figures that the temporary pallet store 40 has the capacity to store at least two pallets, and while a pallet of a smaller size can be stored on a surface capable of storing a pallet of a larger size (or indeed as is conventional, atop a larger pallet), no explicit disclosure of storing more than one pallet at a time is found. Therefore we refer to a teaching reference for this limitation.
Killian, an invention in the field of workpiece processing, teaches the missing aspect of:
wherein the temporary pallet store has at least two storage locations for pallets of different sizes.Killian teaches in [0026] and fig. 2 a storage rack capable of storing multiple pallets. In combination with Winkel, this teaching does not change Winkel’s structure, but simply presents the commonplace understanding in the art that a pallet storage area can store more one pallet (either stacked directly atop one another or on separate horizontal shelves) and that multiple stored pallets may be of different sizes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Winkel, wherein the temporary pallet store has at least two storage locations for pallets of different sizes, as taught by Killian, because the need to store more than one pallet is commonplace, because buffer areas capable of storing more than one pallet have been known since the invention of the pallet in ancient times, because the nature of surfaces is such that a surface capable of supporting a pallet of a given size can also support a smaller pallet, and because pallets are designed to be stacked.
Regarding claim 2,
Winkel in view of Killian teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the at least two storage locations in the temporary pallet store are arranged one above the other in the vertical direction of the picking chute.Killian teaches the vertical arrangement of pallet storage locations in [0026] and fig. 2.
Regarding claim 3,
Winkel in view of Killian teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
further comprising a lifting and lowering device (Winkel, lifting device 34: fig. 1) for moving an unladen pallet up to a level of the temporary pallet store.We note that Winkel’s robotic arm 18 is also capable of lifting or lowering a pallet to the level of the temporary pallet store 40.
Regarding claim 4,
Winkel in view of Killian teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
wherein the picking chute has at least one first adjustable chute wall (Winkel, 62: figs. 1-3), the first adjustable chute wall changing a free cross section of the picking chute at least in sections via a movement of the first adjustable chute wall perpendicular to a vertical direction of the picking chute, the first adjustable chute wall having an upper section (Winkel, 62b: fig. 1) and a lower section (Winkel, 62a: fig. 1) in the vertical direction of the picking chute, the upper section extending from a vertical position of the temporary pallet store to a picking plane (Winkel, top of 54: fig. 1), the lower section extending downwards starting from the vertical position of the temporary pallet store, and the upper section and the lower section are adjustable independently of each other.Winkel discloses the adjustable chute walls 60 and 62 in figs. 1-3 and [0055]-[0060], the sections being disclosed in [0055]. Note Winkel has two 54 reference characters in fig. 1. The claimed point of division between upper and lower sections is the horizontal line 54, not the pallet 54; Winkel discloses both these elements as picking planes.
Regarding claim 5,
Winkel in view of Killian teaches the limitations of claim 4 and also:
wherein the upper section of the first adjustable chute wall is connected to a horizontally arranged section of the picking planeWinkel discloses this connection in [0046] and [0055] via pins 26 in fig. 1-3.
Regarding claim 6,
Winkel in view of Killian teaches the limitations of claim 4 and also:
further comprising a second chute wall (Winkel, 60: fig. 1) adjustable at least in sections, the second adjustable chute wall being arranged perpendicular to the first adjustable chute wall, the second adjustable chute wall changing a free cross section of the picking chute at least in sections via a movement of the second adjustable chute wall perpendicular to the vertical direction of the picking chute.Winkel discloses the adjustable chute walls 60 and 62 in figs. 1-3 and [0055]-[0060]. We consider Winkel’s 60 to be applicant’s second chute wall because 62 has features ascribed above to the first chute wall. Otherwise, the two chute walls are both adjustable and perpendicular, together defining a rectangular extent of a pallet.
Regarding claim 8,
Winkel in view of Killian teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
including means for holding and moving (Winkel, 26: fig. 1) a pallet (Winkel, 12: fig. 1) in an upper section of the picking chute (Winkel, 24: fig. 1) between a vertical position of the temporary pallet store (Winkel, 40: fig. 1) and an upper end of the picking chute, the holding and moving means being designed and arranged to take an unladen pallet from the temporary pallet store using the feed device to move the unladen pallet to the upper end of the picking chute and, during a start of the loading process, to gradually lower the pallet until the pallet is transferred from the holding and moving means to a lifting and lowering device (Winkel, device 34, lifting fork 36: fig. 1), wherein the holding and moving means having several pallet supports (Winkel, 26: fig. 1) movable into a free cross-section of the picking chute and out of the free cross-section, and the pallet supports are movable into the free cross-section of the picking chute and out again below a standing surface (Winkel, top surface of 10 on which picking robot 18 is mounted: fig. 1) for a picker or a picking robot (Winkel, picking robot 18: fig. 1).We consider Winkel’s locking pins 26 in fig. 1 to constitute applicant’s “means for holding and moving”. These pins are equivalent to applicant’s pallet supports 78 (which applicant’s means comprise) and serve the same function. They can be raised or lowered through the chute, supporting a pallet or pallets, thus being “movable through a free cross-section” of the chute. Winkel also discloses in [0048] that its feeding device 42 and lifting fork 54 perform the function of transferring pallets, secured by its pins; we map Winkel’s feeding device to applicant’s feed device. As regards the subsequent gradual lowering through the chute, Winkel discloses a picking robot 18 that per [0052] lowers the pallet through the chute in cooperation with the pins 26 until it reaches the lifting and lowering device 34 and its fork 36.
Regarding claim 9,
Winkel in view of Killian teaches the limitations of claim 8 and also:
Wherein the pallet supports are movable only in and counter to a vertical direction of the picking chute above the standing surface for the picker or the picking robot.Winkel discloses the vertical movement of its locking pins in [0052] and that these pins are vertically adjustable in [0055]. In [0064] Winkel further discloses that its locking pins can be set above a pallet in fig. 7 and in [0064]. In this configuration, they may be above the standing surface, retaining the pallet in place for Winkel’s picking robot 18 to load the pallet with goods.
Regarding claim 10,
Winkel in view of Killian teaches the limitations of claim 1 and also:
A method for picking on pallets or goods carriers with a device according to Claim 1.See the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Winkel in view of Killian and further in view of Read, Ian Ross, GB 1560714 (hereinafter Read).
Winkel in view of Killian teaches the limitations of claim 6 but not all aspects of:
further including a third chute wall adjustable at least in sections, the third adjustable chute wall being arranged perpendicular to the first adjustable chute wall, and changing a free cross section of the picking chute can be at least in sections via movement of the third adjustable chute wall perpendicular to the vertical direction of the picking chute.While Winkel teaches a second adjustable chute wall that satisfies all the limitations of applicant’s third chute wall, Winkel only discloses two adjustable chute walls.
Read, an invention in the field of cabinet design, discloses the missing aspect of:
further including a third chute wall adjustable at least in sections, the third adjustable chute wall being arranged perpendicular to the first adjustable chute wall, and changing a free cross section of the picking chute can be at least in sections via movement of the third adjustable chute wall perpendicular to the vertical direction of the picking chute.Read discloses a third adjustable wall in p2/L3-6. In combination with Winkel and Killian, we adopt none of Read’s structure, merely the teaching that where a first and a second adjustable wall are provided in defining a rectangular space, there can also be a third adjustable wall. We suppose in this combination that Winkel’s second adjustable chute wall is replicated on the opposite side to replace the fixed third wall, which like the second will be perpendicular to the first.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the system of Winkel and Killian, further including a third chute wall adjustable at least in sections, the third adjustable chute wall being arranged perpendicular to the first adjustable chute wall, and changing a free cross section of the picking chute can be at least in sections via movement of the third adjustable chute wall perpendicular to the vertical direction of the picking chute, as taught by Read, because firstly where a four-walled shape has two adjustable walls it can routinely be provided with a third, and secondly because providing a third adjustable wall to Winkel’s basic structure may make adjustment of the walls to match the shape of a pallet being picked or loaded more convenient and efficient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2009/0022572 discloses a buffering area for pallets in connection with an elevator, i.e. a lifting and lowering device. The European examiner for a related patent to the instant application cited WO 2009109218 as an anticipatory X document for some claims that could have been cited in rejection in this action in the absence of primary reference Winkel.
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
LAURENCE RAPHAEL BROTHERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3655A
/L.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3655