DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 111559262).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches an electric energy transmission cable for an electric vehicle (figures 1 – 4 show a system for energy transmission for a cable for an electric vehicle), comprising:
at least two electric couplers configured to be coupled to the electric vehicle (figure 1 shows at least two electric couplers items 3 to be coupled to a vehicle),
the at least two electric couplers including a first electric coupler coupled to a first conductor and a second electric coupler coupled to a second conductor (Figure 4 shows a first coupler connected to a first conductor and a second coupler connected to a second conductor),
the first conductor electrically coupled to the second conductor within the electric energy transmission cable (figure 4 discloses wherein a cable bus connects the different interfaces. The Abstract discloses that a cable is connected to the different connectors or the different groups of charging gun barrel. Figure 4 discloses a charging cable bus which connects different connectors for different types of vehicle sockets).
Wang Figure 1 shows a plurality of charging connectors
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the electric energy transmission cable of claim 1, where the at least two electric couplers are configured to transfer alternating current (Paragraph [0018] discloses wherein the invention supports 4 different kinds of charging interfaces. A2 discloses wherein an interface corresponds to the national standard charging interface, which is known in the art to support AC charging. Paragraph [0002] discloses wherein an interface may support European and American combined charging CCS, which is known to support AC charging. The charging interfaces include IEC61851, domestic, the national standard GBT27930-2011 and the new international standard GB/T 27930-2015 which support AC charging).
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the electric energy transmission cable of claim 1, where the at least two electric couplers are configured to transfer direct current (A4 discloses wherein the connector is a CHAdeMO connector, exclusively known in the art to support direct current transfer. The IEC61851 interface supports DC charging).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (CN 111559262) in view of Meyer (US 20240286505)
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the electric energy transmission cable of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a third electric coupler configured to couple to an electric load.
Meyer teaches comprising a third electric coupler configured to couple to an electric load (paragraph [0018] discloses a third connector or third coupler to couple with a load such as a household appliance. Figure 1C shows a third connector item 15C connecting to load item 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging cable connector system of the Wang reference with the charging cable connectors of the Meyer reference so that so that the user may be enable charging and discharging to different types of vehicles and devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Meyer reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the charging and discharging of different types taught.
Meyer Figure 1C shows a third connector providing power to a load, item 30.
Regarding claim 5 Wang teaches the electric energy transmission cable of claim 4, where a fourth electric coupler configured to couple to the electric vehicle (shown in figure 1 wherein a fourth coupler connects to a vehicle).
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches the electric energy transmission cable of claim 5, a third conductor electrically coupled to the fourth electric coupler (figure 5 shows a third conductor electrically coupled with the fourth electric coupler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging cable connector system of the Wang reference with the charging cable connectors of the Meyer reference so that so that the user may be enable charging and discharging to different types of vehicles and devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Meyer reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the charging and discharging of different types taught.
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the electric energy transmission cable of claim 6, further comprising a fourth conductor electrically coupled to the first electric coupler, the fourth conductor electrically coupled to the third conductor (figure 4 shows a fourth conductor electrically coupled to first coupler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging cable connector system of the Wang reference with the charging cable connectors of the Meyer reference so that so that the user may be enable charging and discharging to different types of vehicles and devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Meyer reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the charging and discharging of different types taught.
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the electric energy transmission cable of claim 7, but does not explicitly teach where the first conductor and the fourth conductor are electrically coupled to the third electric coupler.
Meyer teaches where the first conductor and the fourth conductor are electrically coupled to the third electric coupler (figure 3A shows wherein a first conductor, within 14A is electrically coupled to the third coupler item 15D. Figure 3A shows wherein a fourth conductor within 14A is electrically coupled to third coupler 3A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging cable connector system of the Wang reference with the charging cable connectors of the Meyer reference so that so that the user may be enable charging and discharging to different types of vehicles and devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Meyer reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the charging and discharging of different types taught.
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches a method for supplying electric power from an electric vehicle (figures 1 – 4 show a system for energy transmission for a cable for an electric vehicle), comprising:
coupling a first electric coupler and a second electric coupler to the electric vehicle (figure 1 shows at least two electric couplers items 3 to be coupled to a vehicle).
Wang does not explicitly teach coupling a third electric coupler to an electric load external from the electric vehicle; and supplying electric power to the electric load via flowing electric current from the first electric coupler and the second electric coupler to the third electric coupler.
Meyer teaches coupling a third electric coupler to an electric load external from the electric vehicle (paragraph [0018] discloses a third connector or third coupler to couple with a load such as a household appliance. Figure 1C shows a third connector item 15C connecting to load item 30); and
supplying electric power to the electric load via flowing electric current from the first electric coupler and the second electric coupler to the third electric coupler (paragraph [0068] discloses wherein various couplers including a first coupler and a second coupler may be connected to a third coupler to transfer power to the third coupler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging cable connector system of the Wang reference with the charging cable connectors of the Meyer reference so that so that the user may be enable charging and discharging to different types of vehicles and devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Meyer reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the charging and discharging of different types taught.
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the method of claim 9, where a first conductor is electrically coupled to the first electric coupler, and where a second conductor is electrically coupled to the second electric coupler (figures 1 and 4 show wherein the first coupler and second coupler are electrically coupled to the second coupler).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches the method of claim 10, where the first conductor is electrically coupled to the second conductor (figure 1 shows wherein the first conductor is electrically coupled to the second conductor).
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches the method of claim 9, but does not explicitly teach where the first electric coupler and the second electric coupler are part of an electric energy transmission cable, and further comprising: transmitting identification data for the electric energy transmission cable to the electric vehicle.
Meyer teaches where the first electric coupler and the second electric coupler are part of an electric energy transmission cable, and further comprising: transmitting identification data for the electric energy transmission cable to the electric vehicle (paragraph [0023] discloses wherein data communication is exchanged between the vehicle and the cable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging cable connector system of the Wang reference with the charging cable connectors of the Meyer reference so that so that the user may be enable charging and discharging to different types of vehicles and devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Meyer reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the charging and discharging of different types taught.
Regarding claim 13, Wang teaches the method of claim 9, where the electric power is direct current electric power (A4 discloses wherein the connector is a CHAdeMO connector, exclusively known in the art to support direct current transfer. The IEC61851 interface supports DC charging).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches the method of claim 9, where the electric power is alternating current electric power (Paragraph [0018] discloses wherein the invention supports 4 different kinds of charging interfaces. A2 discloses wherein an interface corresponds to the national standard charging interface, which is known in the art to support AC charging. Paragraph [0002] discloses wherein an interface may support European and American combined charging CCS, which is known to support AC charging. The charging interfaces include IEC61851, domestic, the national standard GBT27930-2011 and the new international standard GB/T 27930-2015 which support AC charging).
Regarding claim 15, Wang teaches the method of claim 9, but does not explicitly teach where the electric power is supplied via a single battery, where the single battery is a traction battery.
Meyer teaches where the electric power is supplied via a single battery, where the single battery is a traction battery (defined in paragraph [0002] wherein a traction battery is used within the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging cable connector system of the Wang reference with the charging cable connectors of the Meyer reference so that so that the user may be enable charging and discharging to different types of vehicles and devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Meyer reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the charging and discharging of different types taught.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches the method for supplying electric power from an electric vehicle (figures 1 – 4 show a system for energy transmission for a cable for an electric vehicle), comprising:
coupling a first electric coupler and a second electric coupler to the electric vehicle (figure 1 shows a first coupler and second coupler to connect to an electric vehicle);
Wang does not explicitly teach coupling a third electric coupler to an electric load external from the electric vehicle; and supplying electric power to the electric load via flowing electric current from a first power source through the first electric coupler and from a second power source through the second electric coupler to the third electric coupler, the first power source different from the second power source.
Meyer teaches coupling a third electric coupler to an electric load external from the electric vehicle (paragraph [0018] discloses a third connector or third coupler to couple with a load such as a household appliance. Figure 1C shows a third connector item 15C connecting to load item 30);
supplying electric power to the electric load via flowing electric current from a first power source through the first electric coupler and from a second power source through the second electric coupler to the third electric coupler, the first power source different from the second power source (paragraph [0068] discloses wherein various couplers including a first coupler and a second coupler may be connected to a third coupler to transfer power to the third coupler).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging cable connector system of the Wang reference with the charging cable connectors of the Meyer reference so that so that the user may be enable charging and discharging to different types of vehicles and devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Meyer reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the charging and discharging of different types taught.
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches the method of claim 16, where the first power source and the second power source are alternating current power sources (Paragraph [0018] discloses wherein the invention supports 4 different kinds of charging interfaces. A2 discloses wherein an interface corresponds to the national standard charging interface, which is known in the art to support AC charging. Paragraph [0002] discloses wherein an interface may support European and American combined charging CCS, which is known to support AC charging. The charging interfaces include IEC61851, domestic, the national standard GBT27930-2011 and the new international standard GB/T 27930-2015 which support AC charging).
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches the method of claim 17, where the first power source is a leading power source and the second power source is a secondary power source, where voltage phase output of the second power source is synchronized with voltage phase output of the first power source (Figure 1 shows wherein 4 couplers of different power sources. Paragraph [0018] discloses wherein the invention supports 4 different kinds of charging interfaces. A2 discloses wherein an interface corresponds to the national standard charging interface, which is known in the art to support AC charging. Paragraph [0002] discloses wherein an interface may support European and American combined charging CCS, which is known to support AC charging. The charging interfaces include IEC61851, domestic, the national standard GBT27930-2011 and the new international standard GB/T 27930-2015 which support AC charging).
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches the method of claim 17, where the first power source is a leading power source and the second power source is a secondary power source, where voltage output of the second power source is synchronized with voltage output of the first power source, and
where the first power source and the second power source are direct current power sources (A4 discloses wherein the connector is a CHAdeMO connector, exclusively known in the art to support direct current transfer. The IEC61851 interface supports DC charging).
Regarding claim 20, Wang teaches the method of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach further comprising adjusting a maximum electric current output of either the first power source or the second power source in response to a temperature of either the first power source or the second power source.
Meyer teaches adjusting a maximum electric current output of either the first power source or the second power source in response to a temperature of either the first power source or the second power source (defined in paragraph [0040] wherein temperature is monitored and maximum electric current is adjusted based on the value of the temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging cable connector system of the Wang reference with the charging cable connectors of the Meyer reference so that so that the user may be enable charging and discharging to different types of vehicles and devices.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Meyer reference in paragraph [0010] wherein the charging and discharging of different types taught.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20230356621 A1 Vehicle-To-Load Bennett; Tyler J. Et Al.
Us 20230378789 A1 Split-Phase Bidirectional Charger Cesiel; Douglas S. Et Al.
Us 20220185137 A1 Host System With AC Charging Inlet Cesiel; Douglas S. Et Al.
Us 20190001833 A1 Vehicle-To-Vehicle Charging Coburn; Matthew Joseph Et Al.
Us 20170092023 A1 Vehicle Power Supply Device Ishii; Kentaro Et Al.
Us 20130175973 A1 Buddy Charging For Electric Vehicles Jones; Kevin Et Al.
Us 20220379769 A1 Bidirectional AC V2G Charging Kydd; Paul Harriman
Us 20250196676 A1 On-Board Charger Lee; Sang Youn Et Al.
Us 20240367544 A1 Integrated Vehicle And Structure Charger Lu; Norman Ning Et Al.
Us 20230137396 A1 Cord Set For V2V, V2L, Or G2V Charging Mu; Mingkai Et Al.
Us 20200282849 A1 Charging Cable Niederl; Dietmar
Us 20120249070 A1 Charging Operation Of An Electric Vehicle Sellner; Harald Et Al.
Us 20240375534 A1 Smart Energy Manager For EV Subbulakshmi; Nallaperumal Subbiah Et Al.
Us 11904723 B1 Vehicle To External Load Charger Vij; Aashiv
Us 20240025279 A1 Electric Vehicle (EV) Cross Connectors Y A; Ravishankar Et Al.
CN 111546926 A A charging system Wang, Hou-lian et al.
CN 122532963 A A V2G bidirectional device, Liang, WEI et al.
CN 209001285 U A multi-interface charging gun of EV Jiang, Zhi-liang
WO 2010049773 A2 Charging Cable Unit Mukai Tatsuya et al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859