DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites the phrase “none of a combination(s) of adjacent two or more of R11 to R12 are mutually bonded”. Applicants are advised to amend this phrase to recite “adjacent two or more of R11 to R12 are not mutually bonded”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Pan et al (US 2024/0132448).
Regarding claim 1, Pan et al discloses the following compound (Page 28):
.
This compound corresponds to Formula (1) of the claims:
,
where:
Ar100 is a terphenyl, i.e. an unsubstituted C18 aryl;
L1 is a single bond; and
R101 to R108 are hydrogen.
HAr1 corresponds to Formula (E):
,
where R11 to R18 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 2, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, L1 is a single bond.
Regarding claim 5, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R101 to R108 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 6, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R101 to R108 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 7, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Ar100 is an unsubstituted C18 aryl.
Regarding claim 8, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R11 to R21 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 9, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R11 to R21 are hydrogen.
Regarding claim 10, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, none of R11 to R21 are mutually bonded.
Regarding claim 11, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses an organic light emitting device, i.e. an organic electroluminescence device, comprising the disclosed compound (Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses an organic light emitting device, i.e. an organic electroluminescence device, comprising an anode, a cathode, and a light emitting layer disposed between the anode and cathode, where the light emitting layer comprises the compound (Abstract, [0129]-[0130], and [0212]).
Regarding claim 13, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the light emitting layer further comprises a fluorescent emitting material ([0089]).
Regarding claim 14, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the reference does not require a metal complex in light emitting layer, it is clear that the light emitting layer does not comprise a metal complex as recited in the present claim.
Regarding claim 15, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the device comprises a hole transport layer between the anode and the emitting layer ([0212]).
Regarding claim 16, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the device comprises an electron transport layer between the anode and the emitting layer ([0212]).
Regarding claim 17, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Given that the reference discloses an organic light emitting device, the reference discloses an electronic device as recited in the present claims.
In light of the above, it is clear that Pan et al anticipates the presently recited claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al (US 2024/0132448).
The discussion with respect to Pan et al as set forth in Paragraph 4 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 3, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. The compound disclosed by the reference does not correspond to either Formula (12) or (13) of the claims:
and
.
However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to Formula (I) ([0025]):
,
where L can be ([0058]):
,
and its bonding to Ar1 is exemplified in the following compounds as (Page 20):
and
.
Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses Formulas (12) and (13) of the claims:
,
where R100 is hydrogen.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, Pan et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. The compound disclosed by the reference does not correspond to either Formula (A) or (B) of the claims:
However, the compound is but one embodiment, and attention is directed to Formula (I) ([0025]):
,
where Ar1 can be (Page 7):
,
corresponding to Formula (B) of the claims:
.
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786