DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs 0091 to 0111 make reference to claims and should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the x-axis" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the y-axis" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In regards to claims 9 and 10, Applicant has not outlined what direction the x and y axes extend in; therefore, claims 9 and 10 are indefinite. For examination purposes, the x-axis will be interpreted as extending in the direction of the heel and toe and the y-axis will be interpreted as extending in the direction of the crown and sole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11-13, 16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsunaga (USPN 7614964).
Regarding claim 1, Matsunaga discloses a club head having a face. The face has a thickness, striking surface and back surface opposite the striking surface. The back surface includes a perimeter region 10 and 15, transition region, intermediate region 11, and elliptical central region 9. The perimeter region has a constant perimeter thickness and extends inward from the outer edge of the striking surface toward a perimeter boundary wherein the perimeter boundary define the locations on the face where the thickness of the face deviates from the constant perimeter thickness. The transition region (area between element 11 and 10) includes a varying transition thickness and extends inward from the perimeter boundary toward a transition boundary wherein the transition boundary define the locations on the face where the thickness of the face deviates from the varying transition thickness (See Figure 8). The intermediate region comprises a constant intermediate thickness and extends inward from the transition boundary toward an intermediate boundary wherein the intermediate boundary define the locations on the face where the thickness of the face deviates from the constant intermediate thickness. The elliptical central region 9a and 9b encompassing a geometric center of the face and having a varying central thickness extending inward from the intermediate boundary toward a geometric center of the elliptical central region. The constant intermediate thickness is a minimum thickness of the face and the varying central thickness is a maximum thickness of the face. Figure 6 shows the intermediate region stretching to the perimeter edge in locations which implies that the perimeter region is discontinuous along the perimeter in certain locations to form perimeter region zones 15. The applicant does not disclose why the perimeter zones accounting for greater that 60% is critical in order to attain the invention. Matsunaga notes that the construction allows for increase durability while also improving rebound performance (See Summary of the Invention). Applicant does note that the perimeter zones are present in amounts of 1-10. Matsunaga show in Figures 2, 5, and 6 the face having 6 perimeter zones which is within the limits set forth by the applicant. In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found Matsunaga to meet the 60% occupancy of the face for the perimeter zones. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have perimeter zones to occupy any percentage of the face so long as durability is improved without sacrificing rebound performance.
Regarding claim 2, Matsunaga discloses the constant perimeter thickness being 2 to 5mm, 0.08 to 0.2 inch (See Column 3, lines 55 through 64).
Regarding claim 3, see the above regarding claim 2.
Regarding claim 7, Matsunaga discloses the constant perimeter thickness being greater than the constant intermediate thickness and less than the varying central thickness.
Regarding claim 11, Matsunaga discloses the intermediate region extending discontinuously around the perimeter boundary forming one or more intermediate region zones. The applicant does not disclose why the intermediate zones accounting for greater that 50% is critical in order to attain the invention. Matsunaga notes that the construction allows for increase durability while also improving rebound performance (See Summary of the Invention). Applicant does note that the perimeter zones are present in amounts of 1-5. Matsunaga show, in Figures 2, 5, and 6, the face having 6 intermediate zones; however, in another embodiment, the intermediate zones are shows to be in numbers of 4 (See Figure 18). In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found Matsunaga to meet the 50% occupancy of the face for the intermediate zones. In addition, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have intermediate zones to occupy any percentage of the face so long as durability is improved without sacrificing rebound performance.
Regarding claim 12, Matsunaga discloses the thickness of the perimeter region being greater than the thickness of the intermediate region but less than the thickness of the elliptical region (See Figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, see the above regarding claim 1 and 11.
Regarding claim 16, Matsunaga discloses the maximum face thickness being 1.6 to 4mm, or 0.06 to 0.16 inch (See Column 4, lines 11 through 16).
Regarding claim 18, Matsunaga discloses the intermediate region zones having a thickness less than the perimeter region zones.
Regarding claim 19, see the above regarding claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11850480. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of US Patent 11850480 does not claim the perimeter zones discontinuously extending greater than 60% around the perimeter. Though not in claim 1 of US Patent 11850480, claim 12 of US Patent 11850480 meets this limitation. In light of the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found claim 1 of the instant application to be obvious over claims 1 and 12 of US Patent 11850480.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711