Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior Claim objection has been fully considered and is persuasive, consequently, the prior Claim objection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections are based on an amended limitation and a new grounds of rejection is set forth in this Office Action necessitated by the amendment as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roder (US 2008/0286030 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Roder discloses an applicator (300, figure 3a also reproduced above) for a cosmetic product on the skin or bristles (see abstract), comprising an application member made of a thermoplastic elastomer material (para 28 Lines 1-2), the application member comprising:
a core (see annotated figure 3a above) extending along a longitudinal axis (see figure 3a), and
application elements (knobs 310, figure 3a also reproduced above) formed at the surface of the application member (see annotated figure 3a), each of the application elements having a top with a width greater than 35 μm and smaller than 450 μm (diameter/width of knobs 310 is between 0.2mm and 0.4mm i.e. between 200 μm and 400 μm, Para 53 Lines 5-6).
Roder in the above embodiment is silent on the application elements having a flat top but further discloses/teaches in another embodiment of application elements having a cylindrical configuration i.e. having a flat top (see 1310, figure 13 also reproduced below)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the application elements from the knob shape to a cylindrical shape and thereby have a flat top for the purposes of allowing for a different tactile sensation on the skin and a different entrainment and capillary effect perpendicularly to the surface of the applicator portion (Para 64, Lines 11-16).
Regarding Claim 4, Roder discloses that the application elements have a width comprised between 40 and 400 μm (diameter/width of knobs 310 is between 0.2mm and 0.4mm i.e. between 200 μm and 400 μm, Para 53 Lines 5-6).
Regarding Claim 5, Roder discloses that the application elements have a height comprised between 350 and 600 μm (length/height of knobs 310 is between 0.5mm and 1mm i.e. between 500 μm and 1000 μm, Para 53 Lines 6-7).
Regarding Claim 6, Roder discloses that the application elements, are spaced apart from each other by a distance comprised between one and two and a half times the width of the top of the application elements (see spacing of knobs 310, figure 3b).
Regarding Claim 14, Roder discloses a mold for manufacturing a cosmetic product applicator, the product applicator comprising a core extending along a longitudinal axis, and application elements formed at the surface of the application member, each of the application elements having a flat top with a width greater than 35 pm and smaller than 450 pm (see Claim 1 discussion), the mold comprising a molding surface having a plurality of cavities complementary in shape to those of the application elements of the applicator (see an injection molding mold with a laser-sintered negative of the surface profile of the applicator portion Para 27 Lines 1-4).
Internet/E-mail Communication
In order to permit communication regarding the instant application via email, Applicant is invited to file form PTO/SB/439 (Authorization for Internet Communications) or include the following statement in a filed document or remarks of a filed response (see MPEP 502.03 Il): Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file. If such authorization is provided, please include an email address in the remarks of a filed response. The examiner’s e-mail address is sabbir.hasan@uspto.gov.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sabbir Hasan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745