DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 4-10 in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in part d) the term “by-products” is referring to water vapor. This is a singular byproduct. The singular term should be used. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 4, part (d), the term “CaO based ceramics” is interpreted as referring to the “porous ceramics which contains a large amount of calcium oxide (CaO)” from step (a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the central compartment" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the combustion heating equipment" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “large amount of calcium oxide” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large amount” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. A person of ordinary skill cannot determine what amount of CaO would satisfy this limitation or how big an amount of CaO concentration within the clay mixture to be considered a large amount.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the further specific preparation" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 8, the recitation “multiple stages of temperature increasing parameters”
The term “high-efficient” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-efficient” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. A person of ordinary skill would not be able to determine how much carbon dioxide needs to be captured before the system efficiency is “high”. The boundaries of the claim cannot be determined.
In claim 8, the term “room temperature” is indefinite. The scope of the claim cannot be determined since the value of “room temperature” would change based on the location and time of day. A person of ordinary skill cannot determine which value would meet this limitation.
Claims 5-10 are rejected to due the virtue of their dependence on claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zielinski et al. US 20140044632, in view of Monneron-Gyurits et al. “Valorization of mussel and oyster shells toward metakaolin-based alkaline activated material”.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Zielinski teaches a system and method for processing exhaust in a carbon dioxide capture device (Abstract). The reference teaches a water heater 1050 with an exhaust outlet pipe 1004 that is connected to an inlet side of an assembly 1003 (Fig. 10 and Para [0112]). The bottom of assembly is the inlet side (or a first end) and has an interface with the exhaust pipe of the heater 1050 (See Fig. 10). See below for a portion of Fig. 10 showcasing assembly 1003 with an arrangement of carbon capturing exhaust pipes filled with carbon dioxide capture materials 1002 in a central zone of each pipe. The outlet where treated exhaust gas leaves is considered a second end with an air outlet.
[AltContent: textbox ([img-media_image1.png])]
The difference between the method of Zielinski and that of claim 4 is that claim 4 requires the CO2 capturing materials to be a sintered mixture of clay and oyster shell containing a large amount of CaO. The reference uses Ca(OH)2 which converts to CaCO3 and H2O with CO2 exposure (Para [0034]). This translates to the claimed equation of CO2 + Ca(OH)2 →CaCO3 + H2O. The reference also teaches an embodiment where Ca(OH2) is regenerated by contacting CaO with water to form the hydroxide (Para [0086] See Equation 7 :CaCO3→CaO+CO2 “The resulting oxides can then be combined with water to form the hydroxides used in the absorber.”). The regeneration equation thus translates to H2O +CaO →Ca(OH)2 as claimed.
Monneron-Gyurits teaches valorization of oyster or mussel shells toward metakaolin-based geomaterials (Abstract). The reference presents this as a feasibility study for “contaminants sorbents applications” (Abstract). Metakaolin-based geomaterials are new materials obtained through the activation of aluminosilicates and alumina- and silica-rich materials such as calcined clays which are used as precursors (Pg. 15, right hand column, last para). The reference highlights that the metakaolin comprises clay minerals and micaceous clay with kaolinite (Pg. 17, left hand column, fist para). The reference teaches a formulation with varying ratios of oyster shells vs the MK clay component (Pg. 16, right hand column, first para). Here the calcination as taught by the reference is considered to read on sintering as claimed. During sample synthesis the reference teaches homogenizing the mixture in closed mold (Pg. 16, left hand column, last para). This is a molded ceramic material made of oyster shells and clays. The reference teaches that the final product is rich in CaO and is porous (Pg. 18 left hand column, 2nd para).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary level of skill in the art to use the material of Monneron-Gyurits as the sorbent material in the invention of Zielinski. One would be motivated to do so because of the high CaO as taught by Monneron-Gyurits. Additionally, this is an innovative application for shells waste management as inexpensive raw materials to produce eco-friendly geomaterials limiting CO2 greenhouse gases for use as contaminants stabilization (Pg. 25, left column, last para).
Regarding claim 6, the Monneron-Gyurits reference teaches that the material is particle shaped (Pg. 23, right hand column, last line). This is considered to read on “granular”.
Regarding claim 7, the reference teaches several samples with varying ratios of the shells and metakaolin clay, including equal parts of both (See teaching for 50% substitution; Pg. 16, right hand column, fist para). This is considered as a 1:1 ratio.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 8 requires “The application method of the ceramic based high-efficient carbon dioxide capturing system as claimed in claim 7, wherein the further specific preparation method of the CO2 capturing materials comprises: grinding the powdered oyster shells and then calcine the powdered oyster shells through multiple stages of temperature increasing parameters; cooling down to room temperature by furnace cooling; the heat-treated powdered shell powder and the clay being mixed with water; form a fixed shape; heat treatment with multi-stage temperature increasing parameters; and cooling down to room temperature by furnace cooling.”
Monneron-Gyurits does not teach or suggest “…grinding the powdered oyster shells and then calcine the powdered oyster shells through multiple stages of temperature increasing parameters; cooling down to room temperature by furnace cooling; the heat-treated powdered shell powder and the clay being mixed with water; form a fixed shape; heat treatment with multi-stage temperature increasing parameters; and cooling down to room temperature by furnace cooling.”
Claims 9 and 10 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter due to the virtue of their dependence on claim 8.
Conclusion
/SYED T IQBAL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736