DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges submission of the amendment and arguments filed on January 2, 2026. Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are currently pending in this application. Claims 6 and 8-11 are amended. Claim 7 is cancelled. A new Office Action follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US 6,111,327) in view of Scheraga (US 5,834,964).
With regard to claim 1, Bae teaches a crash switch circuit (200 – Fig. 5) (col. 5, lines 56-57) comprising:
a first switch (TR – Fig. 5) comprising:
an emitter (emitter of TR – Fig. 5) configured to be supplied with a positive terminal voltage (+ terminal - Fig. 5) of a battery pack (col. 5, lines 62-64);
a collector (collector of TR – Fig. 5) configured to output a crash output signal (Abstract, lines 7-12); and
a base (collector of TR – Fig. 5) connected with a first node (Node – Fig. 5; see annotated figure below);
a capacitor (C – Fig. 5) connected between the emitter (emitter of TR – Fig. 5) and the first node (Node – Fig. 5; see annotated figure below); and
a diode (D – Fig. 5) comprising an anode (anode of D – Fig. 5) configured to be supplied with a crash input signal (col. 6, lines 24-26; “impact sensing signal”) (the crash input signal is electrically supplied to the anode of the diode) from a crash sensor (120 – Fig. 5, Fig. 3a) (col. 5, lines 58-62; col. 6, lines 21-27), and a cathode (cathode of D – Fig. 5) connected with the first node (Node – Fig. 5; see annotated figure below) (electrically connected).
Bae does not teach a first resistor and the capacitor connected in parallel with each other.
Scheraga a first resistor (102 – Fig. 1) (col. 2, lines 6-10) and the capacitor (114 – Fig. 1) connected in parallel with each other (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the crash switch circuit of Bae, to have a first resistor and a capacitor connected in parallel with each other, as taught by Scheraga, in order to aid in the turn off of the first switch and ensure that the first switch remains off when no drive current is available (Scheraga, col. 2, lines 6-10), and since doing so is within the ordinary capability of those skilled in the art because this configuration is well known in the art.
With regard to claim 2, Bae and Scheraga teach all the limitations of claim 1, and Bae further teaches the first switch (TR – Fig. 5) is configured to be turned on when the crash input signal (col. 6, lines 24-26) reaches a reference voltage level (91 – Fig. 7) (col. 7, lines 4-5; the reference voltage level has been interpreted as the voltage rating at which the capacitor C is charged) (col. 6, lines 42-44) within a reference time (capacitor charging time) from a voltage level (battery voltage) that indicates a normal state (col. 6, lines 1-7).
With regard to claim 3, Bae and Scheraga teach all the limitations of claim 2, and Bae further teaches the first the reference time (capacitor charging time) is determined by a capacitance value (implicit) of the capacitor (C – Fig. 5) (col. 6, lines 42-44).
Bae does not teach the reference time is determined by a resistance value of the first resistor.
Scheraga teaches the reference time is determined by a resistance value (implicit) of the first resistor (102 – Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the crash switch circuit of Bae, to have the reference time is determined by a resistance value of the first resistor, as taught by Scheraga, in order to improve the reference time by generating a predictable time function and control the precise timing of the electrical signal.
With regard to claim 6, Bae teaches a crash detection system (Fig. 1 – Fig. 15) (Abstract, lines 1-7) comprising:
a crash switch circuit (200 – Fig. 5) (col. 5, lines 56-57) configured to output a crash output signal (Abstract, lines 7-12) when a crash input signal (col. 6, lines 24-26; “impact sensing signal”) indicating a crash detected by a crash sensor (120 – Fig. 5, Fig. 3a) (col. 2, lines 17-19; col. 6, lines 21-27) reaches a reference voltage level (91 – Fig. 7) (col. 7, lines 4-5; the reference voltage level has been interpreted as the voltage rating at which the capacitor C – Fig. 5 is charged) from a voltage level (battery voltage) indicating a normal state (col. 6, lines 1-7) within a reference time (col. 6, lines 42-44) (capacitor charging time); and
a safety related circuit (10 – Fig. 5) configured to be turned on or turned off based on the crash output signal (Abstract, lines 7-12; col. 6, lines 66-67; col. 7, lines 1-15), and perform a protection operation (95 – Fig. 7) corresponding to the crash based on the crash output signal (col. 6, lines 66-67; col. 7, lines 1-15),
wherein the crash switch circuit (200 – Fig. 5) comprises:
a first switch (TR – Fig. 5) comprising:
an emitter (emitter of TR – Fig. 5) configured to be supplied with a positive terminal voltage (+ terminal - Fig. 5) of a battery pack (col. 5, lines 62-64);
a collector (collector of TR – Fig. 5) configured to output a crash output signal (Abstract, lines 7-12); and
a base (collector of TR – Fig. 5) connected with a first node (Node – Fig. 5; see annotated figure below);
a capacitor (C – Fig. 5) connected between the emitter (emitter of TR – Fig. 5) and the first node (Node – Fig. 5; see annotated figure below); and
a diode (D – Fig. 5) comprising an anode (anode of D – Fig. 5) configured to be supplied with a crash input signal (col. 6, lines 24-26; “impact sensing signal”) (the crash input signal is electrically supplied to the anode of the diode) from a crash sensor (120 – Fig. 5, Fig. 3a) (col. 5, lines 58-62; col. 6, lines 21-27), and a cathode (cathode of D – Fig. 5) connected with the first node (Node – Fig. 5; see annotated figure below) (electrically connected).
Bae does not teach a first resistor and a capacitor connected in parallel with each other.
Feldmaier teaches a resistor (26 – Fig. 3a) and a capacitor (27 – Fig. 3a) connected in parallel with each other (see Fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the crash switch circuit of Bae, to a first resistor and a capacitor connected in parallel with each other, as taught by Feldmaier, in order to improve the control of the discharge time of the capacitor and since doing so is within the ordinary capability of those skilled in the art because this configuration is well known in the art.
With regard to claim 8, Bae and Scheraga teach all the limitations of claim 6, and Bae further teaches the reference time (capacitor charging time) is determined by a capacitance value (implicit) of the capacitor (C – Fig. 5) (col. 6, lines 42-44).
Bae does not teach the reference time is determined by a resistance value of the first resistor.
Scheraga teaches the reference time is determined by a resistance value (implicit) of the first resistor (102 – Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the crash switch circuit of Bae, to have the reference time is determined by a resistance value of the first resistor, as taught by Scheraga, in order to improve the reference time by generating a predictable time function and control the precise timing of the electrical signal.
Bae (US 6,111,327 A) – Annotated Fig. 5
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-5 and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “the diode is a Zener diode with a breakdown voltage value; and the reference voltage level is determined by a resistance value of the first resistor, a resistance value of a second resistor, and the breakdown voltage value.”
With regard to claim 5, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “a second switch comprising: a collector configured to output a crash conversion signal; an emitter connected to ground; and a base connected to a second node; a third resistor connected between the collector of the first switch and the second node; a fourth resistor connected between the second node and the ground; and a fifth resistor connected between a driving voltage and the collector of the second switch.”
With regard to claim 9, in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “the diode is a Zener diode having a breakdown voltage; and the reference voltage level is determined by a resistance value of the first resistor, a resistance value of a second resistor, and a value of the breakdown voltage.”
With regard to claim 10, Kim (KR 20030017856 A) teaches a main control unit (MCU) (100 – Fig. 1) configured to control the safety related circuit (400 – Fig. 1) through transistor (Q1 – Fig. 1) (page 4, lines 6-12; Machine Translation). But in combination with other limitations of the claim, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “a main control unit (MCU) configured to control the safety related circuit; and a level converter configured to output a crash conversion signal to the MCU, the crash conversion signal being generated by changing a level of the crash output signal according to a driving voltage.”
Claim(s) 11 is allowed by dependence on claim 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on January 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6 and 8-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered. The applicant argues that “the first resistor (R1) of claim 1 is connected in parallel with the capacitor (C1) of claim 1 to provide a discharge path for the capacitor and to establish the turn-off bias for the first switch (Q1) of claim 1”. In response the examiner points out that these features are not recited in the claim(s). In addition, applicant argues “Applicant respectfully submits that because the technical fields and the problems to be solved by Bae and Feldmaier are distinct, there is no logical motivation to introduce Feldmaier's parallel RC configuration into Bae's switching circuit. That is, the combination of these two references in the manner laid out in the Office action appears to rely on impermissible hindsight and is not appropriate”. In response the examiner found the arguments persuasive; therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection has been made in view of Bae (US 6,111,327) and Scheraga (US 5,834,964).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892.
Lai (CN 210199213 U) teaches a duty ratio conversion circuit, wherein it comprises a level conversion module, an energy storage module, a discharging module and a threshold judging module; said level conversion module for access the pulse to be measured; used the measured pulse voltage higher than the pulse conversion set voltage value to obtain the charging voltage, and outputting the charging voltage to the charging and discharging end of the energy storage module, voltage ascending the energy storage module is used for the charging and discharging end is connected with the voltage when charging so that the charge and discharge end; connected with the discharging end of the discharging module, voltage module is used for the discharge is not connected to the charging voltage in the charging and discharging end for discharging the energy storage module, so that the charging and discharging end of the descending, the threshold judging module is used for the voltage of the charging and discharging end is greater than the preset voltage threshold value to output the first level signal, the threshold judging module is used for voltage of the discharging end is less than the preset voltage threshold value to output the second level signal.
Settles (US 2018/0244229 A1) teaches an electronic module assembly for controlling the deployment of one or more airbags in an aircraft includes a power source, a crash sensor configured to produce a signal in response to a crash event and an accelerometer that is configured to produce a signal in response to a crash event. A processor starts a timer upon detection of the signal from the crash sensor. When the processor receives a signal from the crash sensor, the processor is configured to determine if a signal has also been received from the accelerometer and if signals from both the crash sensor and the accelerometer indicate a crash event then the processor reads a memory associated with an inflator. The processor reads a timing value selected for the inflator and fires the inflator when the timer has a value equal to the timing value selected for the inflator.
Contact Information
/N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838