This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/545,032 filed on 12/19/2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and has been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
IDSs are considered.
The drawings filed on 12/19/2023 are noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite the limitation of: “operating a device in association with an attempted funding transaction of a credit balance of an electronic gaming machine”.
The limitation of operating a device in association with an attempted funding transaction of a credit balance of an electronic gaming machine, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. That is, nothing in the claims preclude the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, claims 1-20 recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite one additional element – using a processor to capture in association with an input device, data associated with an amount of funds, responsive to the attempted funding transaction not complying with an imposed responsible gaming limitation, terminating, by the processor, the attempted funding transaction to perform both responding and capturing steps. The processor in both steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic computer to perform financial transactions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
In the instant case, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of responsive to the attempted funding transaction complying with the imposed responsible gaming limitation and following a receipt of data associated with a financial institution confirmation of an availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account, communicating, via a communication interface and to a master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine, at least part of the data associated with amount of funds which results in the master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine increasing, independent of any amount of funds modifying any balances of any gaming establishment accounts, the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine based on the amount of funds, wherein the increase of the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine occurs independent of any physical currency received by the electronic gaming machine and independent of any cashless ticket vouchers received by the electronic gaming machine. Thus, the additional element fails to ensure the claims as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Prabhaker, Naveen et al. (US PG PUB 2021/0110650).
As per claims 1, 5-6, and 8-9, Prabhaker discloses a cashless interface that may be used to facilitate the transfer of funds between a player’s e-wallet associated with a financial system and a gaming machine (see., abstract), comprising: a communication interface (see., Fig 1, paragraph 00041); a processor (see., Fig 1 and paragraph 0041); a memory device that stores a plurality of institutions that, when executed by the processor in association with an attempted funding transaction of a credit balance of an electronic gaming machine (see., paragraphs 0030 and 0078); capture, in association with a payment instrument associated with a financial institution account (see., paragraph 0003, 0004, specifically, financial institution account, paragraph 0031); capture, in association with an input device, data associated with an amount of funds (see., paragraph 0007), responsive to the attempted funding transaction not complying with an imposed responsible gaming limitation, terminate the attempted funding transaction (see., paragraph 0089, system might monitor transactions, such as transfer of funds to and from the gaming machines, for the purpose of detecting money laundering), and responsive to the attempted funding transaction complying with the imposed responsible gaming limitation and following a receipt of data associated with a financial institution confirmation of an availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account, communicating, via a communication interface and to a master gaming controller (see., paragraphs 0026, 0027, and 0038, master gaming controller 150) of the electronic gaming machine, at least part of the data associated with amount of funds which results in the master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine increasing, independent of any amount of funds modifying any balances of any gaming establishment accounts, the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine based on the amount of funds, wherein the increase of the credit balance (see., paragraphs 0007, 0033, and 0078, such as by incrementing/decrementing) of the electronic gaming machine occurs independent of any physical currency received by the electronic gaming machine and independent of any cashless ticket vouchers received by the electronic gaming machine (see., paragraphs 0020, 0021, 0041-0069, Figs 1-4).
As per claim 2, Prabhaker discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above wherein the receipt of data associated with the financial institution confirmation of the availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account occurs in association with payment gateway (see., paragraph 0019, gateway 24).
As per claim 3, Prabhaker discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claims 1 and 2 above, wherein data associated with any compliance with the imposed responsible gaming limitation is received from the payment gateway (see., paragraph 0019, gateway 24).
As per claim 4, Prabhaker discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above, wherein at least one of the capture of the data associated with the financial institution account and the capture of the data associated with the amount of funds occurs responsive to a determination that the attempted funding transaction complies with imposed responsible gaming limitation (see., paragraph 0089).
As per claim 7, Prabhaker discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above, wherein a housing and a card reader (see., paragraph 0035, card reader 166) supported by the housing, wherein the payment instrument comprises a financial institution card of one of a credit card and a credit card and the data associated with the financial institution account is captured in association with the financial institution card (see., paragraphs 0004, 0028, 0031, and 0059).
As per claims 10 and 11, Prabhaker discloses a cashless interface that may be used to facilitate the transfer of funds between a player’s e-wallet associated with a financial system and a gaming machine (see., abstract), comprising: a communication interface, a card reader, an input device, a second communication interface (see., Fig 1, paragraph 00041, and card reader 166, paragraph 0035); a processor (see., Fig 1 and paragraph 0041); a memory device that stores a plurality of institutions that, when executed by the processor in association with an attempted funding transaction of a credit balance of an electronic gaming machine (see., paragraphs 0030 and 0078); capture, in association with a payment instrument associated with a financial institution account (see., paragraph 0003, 0004, specifically, financial institution account, paragraph 0031); capture, in association with an input device, data associated with an amount of funds (see., paragraph 0007), responsive to the attempted funding transaction not complying with an imposed responsible gaming limitation, terminate the attempted funding transaction (see., paragraph 0089, system might monitor transactions, such as transfer of funds to and from the gaming machines, for the purpose of detecting money laundering), and responsive to the attempted funding transaction complying with the imposed responsible gaming limitation and following a receipt of data associated with a financial institution confirmation of an availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account, communicating, via a communication interface and to a master gaming controller (see., paragraphs 0026, 0027, and 0038, master gaming controller 150) of the electronic gaming machine, at least part of the data associated with amount of funds which results in the master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine increasing, independent of any amount of funds modifying any balances of any gaming establishment accounts, the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine based on the amount of funds, wherein the increase of the credit balance (see., paragraphs 0007, 0033, and 0078, such as by incrementing/decrementing) of the electronic gaming machine occurs independent of any physical currency received by the electronic gaming machine and independent of any cashless ticket vouchers received by the electronic gaming machine (see., paragraphs 0020, 0021, 0041-0069, Figs 1-4).
As per claims 12 and 14-20, Prabhaker discloses a cashless interface that may be used to facilitate the transfer of funds between a player’s e-wallet associated with a financial system and a gaming machine (see., abstract), comprising: capturing, by the processor and in association with a payment instrument associated with a financial institution account maintained by a financial institution (see., paragraph 0003, 0004, specifically, financial institution account, paragraph 0031); capturing, , by the processor and in association with an input device, data associated with an amount of funds (see., paragraph 0007), responsive to the attempted funding transaction not complying with an imposed responsible gaming limitation, terminate the attempted funding transaction (see., paragraph 0089, system might monitor transactions, such as transfer of funds to and from the gaming machines, for the purpose of detecting money laundering), and responsive to the attempted funding transaction complying with the imposed responsible gaming limitation and following a receipt of data associated with a financial institution confirmation of an availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account, communicating, via a communication interface and to a master gaming controller (see., paragraphs 0026, 0027, and 0038, master gaming controller 150) of the electronic gaming machine, at least part of the data associated with amount of funds which results in the master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine increasing, independent of any amount of funds modifying any balances of any gaming establishment accounts, the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine based on the amount of funds, wherein the increase of the credit balance (see., paragraphs 0007, 0033, and 0078, such as by incrementing/decrementing) of the electronic gaming machine occurs independent of any physical currency received by the electronic gaming machine and independent of any cashless ticket vouchers received by the electronic gaming machine (see., paragraphs 0020, 0021, 0041-0069, Figs 1-4).
As per claim 13, Prabhaker discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above wherein the receipt of data associated with the financial institution confirmation of the availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account occurs in association with payment gateway (see., paragraph 0019, gateway 24).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lucero (US Pat. No. 5038022).
As per claims 1 and 5-9, Lucero discloses a system for enabling a gaming machine in an establishment to provide credit to a player operating the machine without the player leaving the machine, comprising: a communication interface (see., Figs 2-3); a processor (see., Figs 2-3); a memory device that stores a plurality of institutions that, when executed by the processor in association with an attempted funding transaction of a credit balance of an electronic gaming machine (see., figs 2-3); capture, in association with a payment instrument associated with a financial institution account (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20); capture, in association with an input device, data associated with an amount of funds (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20), responsive to the attempted funding transaction not complying with an imposed responsible gaming limitation, terminate the attempted funding transaction (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20), and responsive to the attempted funding transaction complying with the imposed responsible gaming limitation and following a receipt of data associated with a financial institution confirmation of an availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account, communicating, via a communication interface and to a master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine, at least part of the data associated with amount of funds which results in the master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine increasing, independent of any amount of funds modifying any balances of any gaming establishment see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20) accounts , the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine based on the amount of funds, wherein the increase of the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine occurs independent of any physical currency received by the electronic gaming machine and independent of any cashless ticket vouchers received by the electronic gaming machine (see., figs 2-3, col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20).
As per claim 2, Lucero discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above wherein the receipt of data associated with the financial institution confirmation of the availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account occurs in association with payment gateway (see., figs 2-3, col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20).
As per claim 3, Lucero discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claims 1 and 2 above, wherein data associated with any compliance with the imposed responsible gaming limitation is received from the payment gateway (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, lines 20, col 4, lines 1-45).
As per claim 4, Lucero discloses the claimed limitations as stated in claim 1 above, wherein at least one of the capture of the data associated with the financial institution account and the capture of the data associated with the amount of funds occurs responsive to a determination that the attempted funding transaction complies with imposed responsible gaming limitation (see., figs 2-3, col 1, lines 49- col 2, lines 1-20, col 4, lines 1-45, col 5, lines 16-44).
As per claims 10 and 11, Lucero discloses a system for enabling a gaming machine in an establishment to provide credit to a player operating the machine without the player leaving the machine, comprising: a communication interface, a second communication interface, a card reader (see., Figs 2-3); a processor (see., Figs 2-3); a memory device that stores a plurality of institutions that, when executed by the processor in association with an attempted funding transaction of a credit balance of an electronic gaming machine (see., figs 2-3); capture, in association with a payment instrument associated with a financial institution account (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20); capture, in association with an input device, data associated with an amount of funds (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20), responsive to the attempted funding transaction not complying with an imposed responsible gaming limitation, terminate the attempted funding transaction (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20), and responsive to the attempted funding transaction complying with the imposed responsible gaming limitation and following a receipt of data associated with a financial institution confirmation of an availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account, communicating, via a communication interface and to a master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine, at least part of the data associated with amount of funds which results in the master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine increasing, independent of any amount of funds modifying any balances of any gaming establishment see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20) accounts , the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine based on the amount of funds, wherein the increase of the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine occurs independent of any physical currency received by the electronic gaming machine and independent of any cashless ticket vouchers received by the electronic gaming machine (see., figs 2-3, col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20).
As per claims 12-20, Lucero discloses a system for enabling a gaming machine in an establishment to provide credit to a player operating the machine without the player leaving the machine, comprising: a communication interface (see., Figs 2-3); a processor (see., Figs 2-3); a memory device that stores a plurality of institutions that, when executed by the processor in association with an attempted funding transaction of a credit balance of an electronic gaming machine (see., figs 2-3); capture, in association with a payment instrument associated with a financial institution account (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20); capture, in association with an input device, data associated with an amount of funds (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20), responsive to the attempted funding transaction not complying with an imposed responsible gaming limitation, terminate the attempted funding transaction (see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20), and responsive to the attempted funding transaction complying with the imposed responsible gaming limitation and following a receipt of data associated with a financial institution confirmation of an availability of the amount of funds in the financial institution account, communicating, via a communication interface and to a master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine, at least part of the data associated with amount of funds which results in the master gaming controller of the electronic gaming machine increasing, independent of any amount of funds modifying any balances of any gaming establishment see., col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20) accounts , the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine based on the amount of funds, wherein the increase of the credit balance of the electronic gaming machine occurs independent of any physical currency received by the electronic gaming machine and independent of any cashless ticket vouchers received by the electronic gaming machine (see., figs 2-3, col 1, lines 49- col 2, line 1-20).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Hu Kang can be reached on 571 270 1344. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PIERRE E ELISCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715