DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the Specification should be revised carefully because it contains some typographical errors (Example: page 5; first sentence; recites “the tank node 110”, which should be “the tank node 101”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 5 recites “a resonant inducor”, which appears to be a typographical error of -- a resonant inductor --. Claim 1, line 8 recites “betwen”, which appears to be a typographical error of -- between --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6, lines 3 and 4 recites “the first boot capacitor”, which appears to be an error of -- the second boot capacitor – based on Figures 1 and 2, parts Cbs1, Db1 and Cbs2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7, line 19 recites “a eighth driving signal”, which appears to be a typographical error of -- an eighth driving signal --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9, line 8 recites “the second switcing device”, which appears to be a typographical error of -- the second switching device --. Claim 9, line 16 recites “the bootstap pin”, which appears to be a typographical error of -- the bootstrap pin --. Claim 9, line 28 recites “the bootstap pin”, which appears to be a typographical error of -- the bootstrap pin --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (D. Huang et al., “Novel Non-isolated LLC Resonant Converters”, IEEE, 2012, pp. 1373-1380.), hereinafter Huang, in view of Yang (US 2024/0405689).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) a non-isolated resonant switching converter (figure 1, part type 1), comprising: an input node (figure 1 [type 1], part input node at upper terminal of Vin), configured to receive an input voltage (figure 1 [type 1], part Vin); an output node (figure 1 [type 1], part output node at left terminal of Co), configured to provide an output voltage (figure 1 [type 1], part Vo); a transformer (figure 1 [type 1], part transformer generated by n-2/1), having a primary winding (figure 1 [type 1], part primary winding at n-2) and a secondary winding (figure 1 [type 1], part secondary winding at 1); a resonant tank (figure 1 [type 1], part resonant tank generated by Cb, Lr and Lm), comprising a resonant capacitor (figure 1 [type 1], part Cb) and a resonant inductor [based in objection presented above] (figure 1 [type 1], part Lr/Lm) coupled in series between a first tank node (figure 1 [type 1], part first tank node between Q1 and Q2) and a second tank node (figure 1 [type 1], part second tank node between Q3 and Q4), wherein the resonant inductor (figure 1 [type 1], part Lr/Lm) is formed by the primary winding (figure 1 [type 1], part primary winding at n-2; Lr/Lm); a first switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q1), coupled between [based in objection presented above] the input node (figure 1 [type 1], part input node at upper terminal of Vin) and the first tank node (figure 1 [type 1], part first tank node between Q1 and Q2); a second switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q2), coupled between the first tank node (figure 1 [type 1], part first tank node between Q1 and Q2) and the secondary winding (figure 1 [type 1], part secondary winding at 1); a third switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part S1), coupled between the secondary winding (figure 1 [type 1], part secondary winding at 1) and a reference ground (figure 1 [type 1], part reference ground); a first driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part first driving signal that control S1) to drive the third switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part S1), a second driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part second driving signal that control Q2) to drive the second switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q2); and a third driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part third driving signal that control Q1) to drive the first switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q1); wherein when the third switching device (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part S1; turned on [between t1-t2]) and the first switching device are turned on (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part Q1; turned on [between t1-t2]) and the second switching device is turned off (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part Q2; turned off [between t1-t2]); and wherein when the third switching device (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part S1; turned off [between t2-t3]) and the first switching device are turned off (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part Q1; turned off [between t2-t3]) and the second switching device is turned on (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part Q2; turned on [between t2-t3]) (pages 1373-1374; A. Non-isolated full-bridge LLC resonant converters; Type 1).
Huang does not expressly disclose a first driver integrated circuit (IC) having a first driver and a second driver, the first driver is configured to provide a first driving signal based on a first control signal to drive the third switching device, the second driver is configured to provide a second driving signal based on a second control signal to drive the second switching device, the first driver is configured to be powered by a power supply and the second driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across a first boot capacitor; and a second driver IC having a third driver, the third driver is configured to provide a third driving signal based on a third control signal to drive the first switching device, and the third driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across a second boot capacitor; wherein when the third switching device and the first switching device are turned on and the second switching device is turned off, the first boot capacitor is charged by the power supply; and wherein when the third switching device and the first switching device are turned off and the second switching device is turned on, the second boot capacitor is charged by the first boot capacitor.
Yang teaches (see figures 1-6) a first driver integrated circuit (IC) (figure 4A, part first driver integrated circuit generated by lowers 444 and C1) having a first driver (figure 4A, part 444 connected to Q4) and a second driver (figure 4A, part 444 connected to Q2), the first driver (figure 4A, part 444 connected to Q4) is configured to provide a first driving signal (figure 4A, part first driving signal to Q4 from 444) based on a first control signal (figure 4A, part Sc4) to drive the third switching device (figure 4A, part Q4), the second driver (figure 4A, part 444 connected to Q2) is configured to provide a second driving signal (figure 4A, part second driving signal to Q2 from 444) based on a second control signal (figure 4A, part Sc2) to drive the second switching device (figure 4A, part Q2), the first driver (figure 4A, part 444 connected to Q4) is configured to be powered by a power supply (figure 4A, part power supply V1 supplied externally to converter 1’) and the second driver (figure 4A, part 444 connected to Q2) is configured to be powered by a voltage across a first boot capacitor (figure 4A, part voltage from C1) (paragraph [0029]; the first voltage V1 may be supplied externally or internally by the bridge converter 1 and is provided to charge the first capacitor C1); and a second driver IC (figure 4A, part second driver integrated circuit generated by uppers 444, D and C2) having a third driver (figure 4A, part 444 connected to Q1), the third driver (figure 4A, part 444 connected to Q1) is configured to provide a third driving signal (figure 4A, part third driving signal to Q1 from 444) based on a third control signal (figure 4A, part Sc1) to drive the first switching device (figure 4A, part Q1), and the third driver (figure 4A, part 444 connected to Q1) is configured to be powered by a voltage across a second boot capacitor (figure 4A, part voltage from C2); wherein when the third switching device (figure 4A, part Q4; turned-on) and the first switching device are turned on (figure 4A, part Q1; turn-on) and the second switching device is turned off (figure 4A, part Q2; turn-off) (figures 4C and 4D, parts Sc1, Sc2 and Sc4), the first boot capacitor (figure 4A, part C1) is charged by the power supply (figure 4A, part power supply V1 supplied externally to converter 1’); and wherein when the third switching device (figure 4A, part Q4; turned-off) and the first switching device are turned off (figure 4A, part Q1; turn-off) and the second switching device is turned on (figure 4A, part Q2; turn-on) (figures 4C and 4D, parts Sc1, Sc2 and Sc4), the second boot capacitor (figure 4A, part C2) is charged by the first boot capacitor (figure 4A, part C1) (paragraph [0029]; the diode D is forward-biased, and the first voltage V1 stored on the first capacitor C1 charges the second capacitor C2 so that the second voltage V2 is generated/built on the second capacitor C2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Yang and obtain a non-isolated resonant switching converter, comprising: an input node, configured to receive an input voltage; an output node, configured to provide an output voltage; a transformer, having a primary winding and a secondary winding; a resonant tank, comprising a resonant capacitor and a resonant inductor coupled in series between a first tank node and a second tank node, wherein the resonant inductor is formed by the primary winding; a first switching device, coupled between the input node and the first tank node; a second switching device, coupled between the first tank node and the secondary winding; a third switching device, coupled between the secondary winding and a reference ground; a first driver integrated circuit (IC) having a first driver and a second driver, the first driver is configured to provide a first driving signal based on a first control signal to drive the third switching device, the second driver is configured to provide a second driving signal based on a second control signal to drive the second switching device, the first driver is configured to be powered by a power supply and the second driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across a first boot capacitor; and a second driver IC having a third driver, the third driver is configured to provide a third driving signal based on a third control signal to drive the first switching device, and the third driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across a second boot capacitor; wherein when the third switching device and the first switching device are turned on and the second switching device is turned off, the first boot capacitor is charged by the power supply; and wherein when the third switching device and the first switching device are turned off and the second switching device is turned on, the second boot capacitor is charged by the first boot capacitor, because it provides more efficient and accurate driver circuit with power consumption reduction in order to obtain more efficient power conversion operation (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 4, Huang and Yang teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) a maximum voltage of the first driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part a maximum voltage of first driving signal that control S1), a maximum voltage of the second driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part maximum voltage of second driving signal that control Q2), and a maximum voltage of the third driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part maximum voltage of third driving signal that control Q1). However, Huang does not expressly disclose a maximum voltage of the first driving signal is higher than a maximum voltage of the second driving signal, and the maximum voltage of the second driving signal is higher than a maximum voltage of the third driving signal.
Yang teaches (see figures 1-6) a maximum voltage of the first driving signal (figure 4A, part maximum voltage of first driving signal to Q4 from 444) is higher than a maximum voltage of the second driving signal (figure 4A, part maximum voltage of second driving signal to Q2 from 444), and the maximum voltage of the second driving signal (figure 4A, part maximum voltage of second driving signal to Q2 from 444) is higher than a maximum voltage of the third driving signal (figure 4A, part maximum voltage of third driving signal to Q1 from 444) (paragraph [0029]; the diode D is forward-biased, and the first voltage V1 stored on the first capacitor C1 charges the second capacitor C2 so that the second voltage V2 is generated/built on the second capacitor C2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Yang and obtain a maximum voltage of the first driving signal is higher than a maximum voltage of the second driving signal, and the maximum voltage of the second driving signal is higher than a maximum voltage of the third driving signal, because it provides more efficient and accurate driver circuit with power consumption reduction in order to obtain more efficient power conversion operation (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 5, Huang and Yang teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) the third switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part S1). However, Huang does not expressly disclose in response to charging the first boot capacitor by the power supply, a first charging current is capable of flowing from the power supply to the reference ground, through the first boot capacitor and the third switching device.
Yang teaches (see figures 1-6) in response to charging the first boot capacitor (figure 4A, part charging C1) by the power supply (figure 4A, part power supply V1 supplied externally to converter 1’) (paragraph [0029]; the first voltage V1 may be supplied externally or internally by the bridge converter 1 and is provided to charge the first capacitor C1), a first charging current (figure 4A, part first charging current from power supply V1 supplied externally to converter 1’) is capable of flowing from the power supply (figure 4A, part power supply V1 supplied externally to converter 1’) to the reference ground (figure 4A, part reference ground), through the first boot capacitor (figure 4A, part charging C1) and the third switching device (figure 4A, part Q4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Yang and obtain in response to charging the first boot capacitor by the power supply, a first charging current is capable of flowing from the power supply to the reference ground, through the first boot capacitor and the third switching device, because it provides more efficient and accurate driver circuit with power consumption reduction in order to obtain more efficient power conversion operation (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Huang and Yang teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). Further, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) the second switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q2). However, Huang does not expressly disclose in response to charging the second boot capacitor by the first boot capacitor, a second charging current is capable of flowing from a first terminal of the first boot capacitor to a second terminal of the first boot capacitor, through a boot diode, the second boot capacitor and the second switching device.
Yang teaches (see figures 1-6) in response to charging the second boot capacitor (figure 4A, part charging of C2) by the first boot capacitor (figure 4A, part C1), a second charging current (figure 4A, part second charging current from C1) is capable of flowing from a first terminal of the first boot capacitor (figure 4A, part upper terminal of C1), to a second terminal of the second boot capacitor [based on objection presented above] (figure 4A, part upper terminal of C2), through a boot diode (figure 4A, part D), the second boot capacitor (figure 4A, part C2) and the second switching device (figure 4A, part Q2) (paragraph [0029]; the diode D is forward-biased, and the first voltage V1 stored on the first capacitor C1 charges the second capacitor C2 so that the second voltage V2 is generated/built on the second capacitor C2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Yang and obtain in response to charging the second boot capacitor by the first boot capacitor, a second charging current is capable of flowing from a first terminal of the first boot capacitor to a second terminal of the first boot capacitor, through a boot diode, the second boot capacitor and the second switching device, because it provides more efficient and accurate driver circuit with power consumption reduction in order to obtain more efficient power conversion operation (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 17, claim 1 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, claim 4 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (D. Huang et al., “Novel Non-isolated LLC Resonant Converters”, IEEE, 2012, pp. 1373-1380.), hereinafter Huang, in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0166324), hereinafter Liu.
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) a driving circuit (figure 1, part driving circuit that control Q1-Q4, S1 and S2 in converter [type 1]) for driving a first switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q1), a second switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q2) and a third switching device coupled in series (figure 1 [type 1], part S1) between an input voltage (figure 1 [type 1], part Vin) and a reference ground (figure 1 [type 1], part reference ground), wherein the first switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q1) is coupled to the input voltage (figure 1 [type 1], part Vin), the third switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part S1) is coupled to the reference ground (figure 1 [type 1], part reference ground), and the second switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q2) is coupled between the first switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q1) and the third switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part S1), the driving circuit (figure 1, part driving circuit that control Q1-Q4, S1 and S2 in converter [type 1]) comprising a first driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part first driving signal that control S1) to drive the third switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part S1) and a second driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part second driving signal that control Q2) to drive the second switching device [based on objection presented above] (figure 1 [type 1], part Q2), and a switching node (figure 1 [type 1], part switching node between Q2 and S1) coupled to a common node of the second switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q2) and the third switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part S1); and a third driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part third driving signal that control Q1) to drive the first switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q1) and a fourth driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part fourth driving signal that control S1) to drive the third switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part S1) together with the first driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part first driving signal that control S1), and a switching node (figure 1 [type 1], part switching node between Q1 and Q2) coupled to a common node of the first switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q1) and the second switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q2).
Huang does not expressly disclose a first driver integrated circuit (IC), configured to provide a first driving signal to drive the third switching device and a second driving signal to drive the second switching device [based on objection presented above], the first driver IC having a power supply pin configured to receive a power supply, a bootstrap pin, a first control input pin configured to receive a first control signal, a second control input pin configured to receive a second control signal, a first driving output pin configured to provide the first driving signal based on the first control signal, a second driving output pin configured to provide the second driving signal based on the second control signal, and a switching node pin coupled to a common node of the second switching device and the third switching device, wherein a first boot capacitor is capable of coupling between the bootstrap pin [based on objection presented above] of the first driver IC and the switching node pin of the first driver IC; and a second driver IC, configured to provide a third driving signal to drive the first switching device and a fourth driving signal, the second driver IC having a power supply pin configured to receive the power supply, a bootstrap pin, a first control input pin configured to receive the first control signal, a second control input pin configured to receive a third control signal, a first driving output pin configured to provide the fourth driving signal based on the first control signal, a second driving output pin configured to provide the third driving signal based on the third control signal, and a switching node pin coupled to a common node of the first switching device and the second switching device, wherein a second boot capacitor is capable of coupling between the bootstrap pin [based on objection presented above] of the second driver IC and the switching node pin of the second driver IC.
Liu teaches (see figures 1-9) a first driver integrated circuit (IC) (figure 1, part first driver integrated circuit generated by 102b), configured to provide a first driving signal (figure 1, part first driving signal that control right third switching device connected to 102b) to drive the third switching device (figure 1, part right third switching device connected to 102b) and a second driving signal (figure 1, part second driving signal that control left second switching device connected to 102b) to drive the second switching device [based on objection presented above] (figure 1, part left second switching device connected to 102b), the first driver IC (figure 1, part first driver integrated circuit generated by 102b) having a power supply pin configured to receive a power supply (figure 1, part power supply pin at 102b connected to power supply from Ccp2) (paragraph [0003]; The power of the driving circuit 102b comes from a charge pump having a low-voltage capacitor Ccp2 which provides power to the driving circuit 102b), a bootstrap pin (figure 1, part bootstrap pin at 102b connected to left bootstrap capacitor), a first control input pin configured to receive a first control signal (figure 1, part first control input pin at 102b at right LS), a second control input pin configured to receive a second control signal (figure 1, part second control input pin at 102b at left LS), a first driving output pin configured to provide the first driving signal (figure 1, part first driving output pin at 102b connected to gate terminal of right third switching device) based on the first control signal (figure 1, part first control signal input to the first control input pin at 102b at right LS), a second driving output pin configured to provide the second driving signal (figure 1, part second driving output pin at 102b connected to gate terminal of left second switching device connected to 102b) based on the second control signal (figure 1, part second control signal input to the second control input pin at 102b at left LS), and a switching node pin (figure 1, part switching node pin at 102b connected to the node between left second switching device connected to 102b and right third switching device connected to 102b) coupled to a common node of the second switching device (figure 1, part left second switching device connected to 102b) and the third switching device (figure 1, part right third switching device connected to 102b), wherein a first boot capacitor (figure 1, part first boot capacitor connected to driver of the left second switching device connected to 102b) is capable of coupling between the bootstrap pin [based on objection presented above] of the first driver IC (figure 1, part bootstrap pin at 102b connected to left bootstrap capacitor) and the switching node pin of the first driver IC (figure 1, part switching node pin at 102b connected to the node between left second switching device connected to 102b and right third switching device connected to 102b); and a second driver IC (figure 1, part second driver integrated circuit generated by 102a), configured to provide a third driving signal (figure 1, part third driving signal that control right first switching device connected to 102a) to drive the first switching device (figure 1, part right first switching device connected to 102a) and a fourth driving signal (figure 1, part fourth driving signal at left output control of 102a), the second driver IC having a power supply pin configured to receive the power supply (figure 1, part power supply pin at 102a connected to power supply from Ccp1) (paragraph [0003]; the power of the driving circuit 102a comes from a charge pump having a high-voltage capacitor Ccp1 which provides power to the driving circuit 102a), a bootstrap pin (figure 1, part bootstrap pin at 102a connected to right bootstrap capacitor), a first control input pin configured to receive the first control signal (figure 1, part first control input pin at 102a at left LS), a second control input pin configured to receive a third control signal (figure 1, part second control input pin at 102a at right LS), a first driving output pin (figure 1, part first driving output pin that output the fourth driving signal at left output control of 102a) configured to provide the fourth driving signal based on the first control signal (figure 1, part fourth driving signal at left output control of 102a), a second driving output pin (figure 1, part second driving output pin that output the third driving signal that control right first switching device connected to 102a) configured to provide the third driving signal based on the third control signal (figure 1, part third driving signal that control right first switching device connected to 102a), and a switching node pin (figure 1, part switching node pin at 102a connected to the node between right first switching device connected to 102a and left second switching device connected to 102b) coupled to a common node of the first switching device (figure 1, part first switching device) and the second switching device (figure 1, part left second switching device connected to 102b), wherein a second boot capacitor (figure 1, part right bootstrap capacitor at 102a) is capable of coupling between the bootstrap pin [based on objection presented above] of the second driver IC (figure 1, part bootstrap pin at 102a connected to right bootstrap capacitor) and the switching node pin of the second driver IC (figure 1, part switching node pin at 102a connected to the node between right first switching device connected to 102a and left second switching device connected to 102b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Liu and obtain a driving circuit for driving a first switching device, a second switching device and a third switching device coupled in series between an input voltage and a reference ground, wherein the first switching device is coupled to the input voltage, the third switching device is coupled to the reference ground, and the second switching device is coupled between the first switching device and the third switching device, the driving circuit comprising: a first driver integrated circuit (IC), configured to provide a first driving signal to drive the third switching device and a second driving signal to drive the second switching device [based on objection presented above], the first driver IC having a power supply pin configured to receive a power supply, a bootstrap pin, a first control input pin configured to receive a first control signal, a second control input pin configured to receive a second control signal, a first driving output pin configured to provide the first driving signal based on the first control signal, a second driving output pin configured to provide the second driving signal based on the second control signal, and a switching node pin coupled to a common node of the second switching device and the third switching device, wherein a first boot capacitor is capable of coupling between the bootstrap pin [based on objection presented above] of the first driver IC and the switching node pin of the first driver IC; and a second driver IC, configured to provide a third driving signal to drive the first switching device and a fourth driving signal to drive the third switching device together with the first driving signal, the second driver IC having a power supply pin configured to receive the power supply, a bootstrap pin, a first control input pin configured to receive the first control signal, a second control input pin configured to receive a third control signal, a first driving output pin configured to provide the fourth driving signal based on the first control signal, a second driving output pin configured to provide the third driving signal based on the third control signal, and a switching node pin coupled to a common node of the first switching device and the second switching device, wherein a second boot capacitor is capable of coupling between the bootstrap pin [based on objection presented above] of the second driver IC and the switching node pin of the second driver IC, because it provides more efficient power converter performance with more efficient driving circuit.
Regarding claim 10, Huang and Liu teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) the first driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part first driving signal that control S1) to drive the third switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part S1); and the second driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part second driving signal that control Q2) to drive the second switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q2). However, Huang does not expressly disclose the first driver IC further comprises: a first driver, configured to provide the first driving signal based on the first control signal to drive the third switching device, the first driver is configured to be powered by the power supply; and a second driver, configured to provide the second driving signal based on the second control signal to drive the second switching device, the second driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across the first boot capacitor.
Liu teaches (see figures 1-9) the first driver IC (figure 1, part first driver integrated circuit generated by 102b) further comprises: a first driver (figure 1, part first right driver at 102b), configured to provide the first driving signal (figure 1, part first driving signal that control right third switching device connected to 102b) based on the first control signal (figure 1, part first control signal in 102b at right LS) to drive the third switching device (figure 1, part right third switching device connected to 102b), the first driver (figure 1, part first right driver at 102b) is configured to be powered by the power supply (figure 1, part power supply from Ccp2) (paragraph [0003]; The power of the driving circuit 102b comes from a charge pump having a low-voltage capacitor Ccp2 which provides power to the driving circuit 102b); and a second driver (figure 1, part second left driver at 102b), configured to provide the second driving signal (figure 1, part second driving signal that control left second switching device connected to 102b) based on the second control signal (figure 1, part second control signal in 102b at left LS) to drive the second switching device (figure 1, part left second switching device connected to 102b), the second driver (figure 1, part second left driver at 102b) is configured to be powered by a voltage across the first boot capacitor (figure 1, part left bootstrap capacitor at 102b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Liu and obtain the first driver IC further comprises: a first driver, configured to provide the first driving signal based on the first control signal to drive the third switching device, the first driver is configured to be powered by the power supply; and a second driver, configured to provide the second driving signal based on the second control signal to drive the second switching device, the second driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across the first boot capacitor, because it provides more efficient power converter performance with more efficient driving circuit.
Regarding claim 11, Huang and Liu teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) the third driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part third driving signal that control Q1) to drive the first switching device (figure 1 [type 1], part Q1), and the fourth driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part fourth driving signal that control S1). However, Huang does not expressly disclose the second driver IC further comprises: a third driver, configured provide the third driving signal based on the third control signal to drive the first switching device, and the third driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across the second boot capacitor; a fourth driver, configured to provide the fourth driving signal based on the first control signal, the fourth driver is configured to be powered by the power supply.
Liu teaches (see figures 1-9) the second driver IC (figure 1, part second driver integrated circuit generated by 102a) further comprises: a third driver (figure 1, part third driver at right side of 102a), configured provide the third driving signal (figure 1, part third driving signal that control right first switching device connected to 102a) based on the third control signal (figure 1, part second control input pin at 102a at right LS) to drive the first switching device (figure 1, part right first switching device connected to 102a), and the third driver (figure 1, part third driver at right side of 102a) is configured to be powered by a voltage across the second boot capacitor (figure 1, part right bootstrap capacitor at 102a); a fourth driver (figure 1, part fourth driver at left side of 102a), configured to provide the fourth driving signal (figure 1, part fourth driving signal at left output control of 102a) based on the first control signal (figure 1, part first control signal in 102a at left LS), the fourth driver (figure 1, part fourth driver at left side of 102a) is configured to be powered by the power supply (figure 1, part power supply from Ccp1) (paragraph [0003]; the power of the driving circuit 102a comes from a charge pump having a high-voltage capacitor Ccp1 which provides power to the driving circuit 102a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Liu and obtain the second driver IC further comprises: a third driver, configured provide the third driving signal based on the third control signal to drive the first switching device, and the third driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across the second boot capacitor; a fourth driver, configured to provide the fourth driving signal based on the first control signal, the fourth driver is configured to be powered by the power supply, because it provides more efficient power converter performance with more efficient driving circuit.
Regarding claim 13, Huang and Liu teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) when the third switching device (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part S1; turned on [between t1-t2]) and the first switching device are turned on (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part Q1; turned on [between t1-t2]) and the second switching device is turned off (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part Q2; turned off [between t1-t2]). However, Huang does not expressly disclose the first boot capacitor is charged by the power supply.
Liu teaches (see figures 1-9) when the third switching device (figure 1, part right third switching device connected to 102b; turned on) and the first switching device are turned on (figure 1, part right first switching device connected to 102a; turned on) and the second switching device is turned off (figure 1, part left second switching device connected to 102b; turned off), the first boot capacitor (figure 1, part left bootstrap capacitor at 102b) is charged by the power supply (figure 1, part power supply from Ccp2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Liu and obtain when the third switching device and the first switching device are turned on and the second switching device is turned off, the first boot capacitor is charged by the power supply, because it provides more efficient power converter performance with more efficient driving circuit.
Claims 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (D. Huang et al., “Novel Non-isolated LLC Resonant Converters”, IEEE, 2012, pp. 1373-1380.), hereinafter Huang, in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0166324), hereinafter Liu, and further in view of Yang (US 2024/0405689).
Regarding claim 12, Huang and Liu teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). However, Huang does not expressly disclose the bootstrap pin of the first driver IC is capable of coupling to the bootstrap pin of the second driver IC through a diode, wherein an anode of the diode is coupled to the bootstrap pin of the first driver IC, and a cathode of the diode is coupled to the bootstrap pin of the second driver IC.
Liu teaches (see figures 1-9) the bootstrap pin (figure 1, part bootstrap pin at 102b connected to left bootstrap capacitor) of the first driver IC (figure 1, part first driver integrated circuit generated by 102b), the bootstrap pin (figure 1, part bootstrap pin at 102a connected to right bootstrap capacitor) of the second driver IC (figure 1, part second driver integrated circuit generated by 102a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Liu, because it provides more efficient power converter performance with more efficient driving circuit.
Yang teaches (see figures 1-6) the bootstrap pin of the first driver IC (figure 4A, part bootstrap pin connected to upper terminal of C1) is capable of coupling to the bootstrap pin of the second driver IC (figure 4A, part bootstrap pin connected to upper terminal of C2) through a diode (figure 4A, part D), wherein an anode of the diode (figure 4A, part anode of D) is coupled to the bootstrap pin of the first driver IC (figure 4A, part bootstrap pin connected to upper terminal of C1), and a cathode of the diode (figure 4A, part cathode of D) is coupled to the bootstrap pin of the second driver IC (figure 4A, part bootstrap pin connected to upper terminal of C2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Huang and Liu with the driver circuit features as taught by Yang and obtain the bootstrap pin of the first driver IC is capable of coupling to the bootstrap pin of the second driver IC through a diode, wherein an anode of the diode is coupled to the bootstrap pin of the first driver IC, and a cathode of the diode is coupled to the bootstrap pin of the second driver IC, because it provides more efficient and accurate driver circuit with power consumption reduction in order to obtain more efficient power conversion operation (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Huang and Liu teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) when the third switching device (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part S1; turned off [between t2-t3]) and the first switching device are turned off (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part Q1; turned off [between t2-t3]) and the second switching device is turned on (figures 1 and 9 [type 1], part Q2; turned on [between t2-t3]) (pages 1373-1374; A. Non-isolated full-bridge LLC resonant converters; Type 1). However, Huang does not expressly disclose the second boot capacitor is charged by the first boot capacitor.
Yang teaches when the third switching device (figure 4A, part Q4; turned-off) and the first switching device are turned off (figure 4A, part Q1; turn-off) and the second switching device is turned on (figure 4A, part Q2; turn-on) (figures 4C and 4D, parts Sc1, Sc2 and Sc4), the second boot capacitor (figure 4A, part C2) is charged by the first boot capacitor (figure 4A, part C1) (paragraph [0029]; the diode D is forward-biased, and the first voltage V1 stored on the first capacitor C1 charges the second capacitor C2 so that the second voltage V2 is generated/built on the second capacitor C2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Huang and Liu with the driver circuit features as taught by Yang and obtain when the third switching device and the first switching device are turned off and the second switching device is turned on, the second boot capacitor is charged by the first boot capacitor, because it provides more efficient and accurate driver circuit with power consumption reduction in order to obtain more efficient power conversion operation (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Huang and Liu teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). Further, Huang discloses (see figures 1-18) a maximum voltage of the first driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part a maximum voltage of first driving signal that control S1), a maximum voltage of the second driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part maximum voltage of second driving signal that control Q2), and a maximum voltage of the third driving signal (figure 1 [type 1], part maximum voltage of third driving signal that control Q1). However, Huang does not expressly disclose a maximum voltage of the first driving signal is higher than a maximum voltage of the second driving signal, and the maximum voltage of the second driving signal is higher than a maximum voltage of the third driving signal.
Yang teaches (see figures 1-6) a maximum voltage of the first driving signal (figure 4A, part maximum voltage of first driving signal to Q4 from 444) is higher than a maximum voltage of the second driving signal (figure 4A, part maximum voltage of second driving signal to Q2 from 444), and the maximum voltage of the second driving signal (figure 4A, part maximum voltage of second driving signal to Q2 from 444) is higher than a maximum voltage of the third driving signal (figure 4A, part maximum voltage of third driving signal to Q1 from 444) (paragraph [0029]; the diode D is forward-biased, and the first voltage V1 stored on the first capacitor C1 charges the second capacitor C2 so that the second voltage V2 is generated/built on the second capacitor C2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Huang and Liu with the driver circuit features as taught by Yang and obtain a maximum voltage of the first driving signal is higher than a maximum voltage of the second driving signal, and the maximum voltage of the second driving signal is higher than a maximum voltage of the third driving signal, because it provides more efficient and accurate driver circuit with power consumption reduction in order to obtain more efficient power conversion operation (paragraph [0031]).
Claims 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (D. Huang et al., “Novel Non-isolated LLC Resonant Converters”, IEEE, 2012, pp. 1373-1380.), hereinafter Huang, in view of Yang (US 2024/0405689), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0069705), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 3, Huang and Yang teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). However, Huang does not expressly disclose a capacitance of the first boot capacitor is larger than a capacitance of the second boot capacitor.
Yang teaches (see figures 1-6) the first boot capacitor (figure 4A, part C1) and the second boot capacitor (figure 4A, part C2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Yang, because it provides more efficient and accurate driver circuit with power consumption reduction in order to obtain more efficient power conversion operation (paragraph [0031]).
Kim teaches (see figures 1-25) a capacitance of the first boot capacitor (figure 3, part 142) is larger than a capacitance of the second boot capacitor (figure 3, part 140) (paragraph [0114]; the second bootstrap capacitor 142 can be selected to have a larger capacitance than the first bootstrap capacitor 140).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Huang and Yang with the capacitance features as taught by Kim and obtain a capacitance of the first boot capacitor is larger than a capacitance of the second boot capacitor, because it provides more efficient driver performance with power consumption reduction.
Regarding claim 18, claim 3 has the same limitations, except that is not a method claim, based on this is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (D. Huang et al., “Novel Non-isolated LLC Resonant Converters”, IEEE, 2012, pp. 1373-1380.), hereinafter Huang, in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0166324), hereinafter Liu, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0069705), hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 16, Huang and Liu teach everything claimed as applied above (see claim 9). However, Huang does not expressly disclose a capacitance of the first boot capacitor is larger than a capacitance of the second boot capacitor.
Liu teaches (see figures 1-9) the first boot capacitor (figure 1, part left bootstrap capacitor at 102b) and the second boot capacitor (figure 1, part right bootstrap capacitor at 102a).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the controller of the resonant switching converter of Huang with the driver circuit features as taught by Liu, because it provides more efficient power converter performance with more efficient driving circuit.
Kim teaches (see figures 1-25) a capacitance of the first boot capacitor (figure 3, part 142) is larger than a capacitance of the second boot capacitor (figure 3, part 140) (paragraph [0114]; the second bootstrap capacitor 142 can be selected to have a larger capacitance than the first bootstrap capacitor 140).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to configure the combination of Huang and Liu with the capacitance features as taught by Kim and obtain a capacitance of the first boot capacitor is larger than a capacitance of the second boot capacitor, because it provides more efficient driver performance with power consumption reduction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable upon overcoming objection set forth in this action and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art (which has been made of record) fail to disclose (by themselves or in combination):
Regarding claim 2, the second driver IC further comprises: a fourth driver, configured to receive the first control signal, and provide a fourth driving signal based on the first control signal, and the fourth driver is configured to be powered by the power supply; wherein the fourth driving signal is capable of driving the third switching device together with the first driving signal;
Regarding claim 7, a fourth switching device, coupled between the input node and the second tank node; a fifth switching device, coupled between the second tank node and the secondary winding; a sixth switching device, coupled between the secondary winding and the reference ground; a third driver IC, having a fifth driver and a sixth driver, the fifth driver is configured to provide a fifth driving signal based on a fourth control signal to drive the sixth switching device, the sixth driver is configured to provide a sixth driving signal based on the third control signal to drive the fifth switching device, such that the fifth switching device is turned on and off simultaneously with the first switching device, the fifth driver is configured to be powered by the power supply, and the sixth driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across a third boot capacitor; and a fourth driver IC, having a seventh driver and a eighth driver, the seventh driver is configured to provide a seventh driving signal based on the second control signal to drive the fourth switching device, such that the fourth switching device is turned on and off simultaneously with the second switching device, the eighth driver is configured to provide a eighth driving signal based on the fourth control signal, the seventh driver is configured to be powered by a voltage across a fourth boot capacitor, and the eighth driver is configured to be powered by the power supply; wherein the eighth driving signal is capable of driving the sixth switching device together with the fifth driving signal; when the sixth switching device and the fourth switching device are turned on and the fifth switching device is turned off, the third boot capacitor is charged by the power supply; and wherein when the sixth switching device and the fourth switching device are turned off and the fifth switching device is turned on, the fourth boot capacitor is charged by the third boot capacitor;
Claim 8 is a dependent claim of claim 7, therefore, it is objected for the same reason presented above;
Regarding claim 19, providing a fourth driving signal based on the first control signal via a fourth driver, to drive the third switching device together with the first driving signal; and powering the fourth driver by the power supply;
In combination with the additionally claimed features, as are claimed by the Applicant. Thus, the Applicant’s claims are determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Conclusion
/C.O.R. /
Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838