DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Numerals/Elements “163” and “164” as shown in Figure 6a are not mentioned in the description.
Numerals/Elements “163”, “164”, “169” and “183” as shown in Figure 6b are not mentioned in the description.
Numerals/Elements “61” and “84” as shown in Figure 12 are not mentioned in the description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 is vague and indefinite. On lines 3-6, the phrase “a rolled product connector comprising a base wall, an outer wall structure and a platform, each one protruding from the base wall and being spaced-apart from one another to define a recess inbetween” is unclear. How does the base wall protrude from the base wall? Note the phrase “each one protruding from the base wall” which refers to the base wall, the outer wall structure, and the platform.
Claim 15 is vague and indefinite. On lines 1-2, the phrase “with a rolled product as defined in Claim 11” is unclear. Note that Claim 11 has not defined a rolled product. Lines 1-2 of Claim 11 sets forth “a pair of support members for supporting a rolled product”. Note that this is just the intended use of the pair of support members and does not define a rolled product. On line 9, Claim 11 sets forth “a bushing of the rolled product”. However, this is referring to the bushing and not the rolled product. Therefore, what limitation in Claim 11 has defined a rolled product as per Claim 15?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pare et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0276259), hereinafter “Pare”.
With respect to Claim 1, Pare, Figures 9-11, 16-17, and 23, teaches a bushing 50 for a rolled product having a hollow center portion, comprising:
- a cylindrical body 105 sized to be press-fitted into an extremity of the hollow center portion (See Figure 9 on Page 4 of this Office Action) of the rolled product; and
- an end wall 102 fixed to said cylindrical body 105 for closing at least partially said extremity of the hollow center portion of the rolled product, said end wall having a central pin-receiving hole (See Figure 9 on Page 4 of this Office Action) extending therethrough, an outer surface, and a curved rib (See Figure 9 on Page 4 of this Office Action) projecting outwardly from the outer surface and encircling partially the central pin-receiving hole.
[AltContent: textbox (Central pin-receiving hole)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Hollow center portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Curved rib)][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to Claim 2, Pare further teaches wherein the curved rib forms a C- shape.
With respect to Claim 4, Pare further teaches wherein the curved rib comprises a plurality of spaced-apart rib segments equally distributed around the central pin-receiving hole.
With respect to Claim 6, Pare further teaches wherein the curved rib has at least two adjacent ends with an opening defined inbetween.
With respect to Claim 7, Pare, Figures 9-11, 16-17, and 23, teaches a rolled product, comprising:
a roll of web material 50 defining a hollow center portion, with two opposite extremities; and
a bushing comprising:
a cylindrical 105 body press-fitted into one of the extremities of the hollow center portion (See Figure 9 on Page 4 of this Office Action) of the roll of web material 50; and
an end wall 102 fixed to the cylindrical body 105 for closing at least partially the extremity of the hollow center portion of the roll of web material 50, the end wall having a central pin-receiving hole (See Figure 9 on Page 4 of this Office Action) extending therethrough, an outer surface, and a curved rib (See Figure 9 on Page 4 of this Office Action) projecting outwardly from the outer surface and encircling partially the central pin-receiving hole.
With respect to Claim 8, Pare further teaches wherein the curved rib forms a C-shape.
With respect to Claim 10, Pare further teaches wherein the curved rib (See Figure 9 on Page 4 of this Office Action) comprises a plurality of spaced-apart rib segments (See Figure 10) equally distributed around the central pin-receiving hole.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 3 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the bushing set forth including the curved rib comprising a single rib segment.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the curved rib comprising a single rib segment as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the bushing in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 5 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the bushing set forth including the end wall comprises a centrally located outwardly protruding part comprising a planar wall portion encircling the pin-receiving hole, the curved rib protruding outwardly from the planar wall portion.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the end wall comprises a centrally located outwardly protruding part comprising a planar wall portion encircling the pin-receiving hole, the curved rib protruding outwardly from the planar wall portion as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the bushing in the manner required by the claims.
Claim 9 is allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the bushing set forth including the curved rib comprises a single rib segment having at least two adjacent ends with an opening defined inbetween.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the curved rib comprises a single rib segment having at least two adjacent ends with an opening defined inbetween as advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the bushing in the manner required by the claims.
Claims 11-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 11 would be allowable over the prior art of record because the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the entire combination of elements of the dispenser set forth including a rolled product dispenser, comprising: a pair of support members for supporting a rolled product inbetween, at least one of said support members comprising a rolled product connector comprising a base wall, an outer wall structure and a platform, each one protruding from the base wall and being spaced-apart from one another to define a recess inbetween, and a pin protruding from the platform, the outer wall structure being located outwardly with respect to the platform, the platform having a lower side wall extending below the pin, the pin being engageable in a pin-receiving hole of a bushing of the rolled product and to allow the rolled product to rotate once the bushing is engaged with the pin.
None of the references of the prior art teach or suggest the rolled product dispenser, comprising: a pair of support members for supporting a rolled product inbetween, at least one of said support members comprising a rolled product connector comprising a base wall, an outer wall structure and a platform, each one protruding from the base wall and being spaced-apart from one another to define a recess inbetween, and a pin protruding from the platform, the outer wall structure being located outwardly with respect to the platform, the platform having a lower side wall extending below the pin, the pin being engageable in a pin-receiving hole of a bushing of the rolled product and to allow the rolled product to rotate once the bushing is engaged with the pinas advanced above and such do not provide the necessary motivation, absent applicant's specification, for modifying the dispenser in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654