DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 12/19/2023:
Claims 1-14 are pending
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of copending Application No. 18545187 in view of Lipman (US20210312940). For example:
Regarding claim 1, 18545187 teaches a display control apparatus that controls display of a display device wearable by a user (claim 1, a display control apparatus for controlling display of a display device; claim 13, wherein the display device is a glass type display device that can be worn by the user), the display control apparatus comprising:
a memory that stores codes (claim 1, a memory that stores codes); and
a processor that executes the codes stored in the memory (claim 1, a processor that executes the codes stored in the memory) to:
acquire speech collected by a plurality of microphones (claim 1, acquire speech collected by a plurality of microphones);
estimate a sound-arrival direction of the acquired speech (claim 1, estimate a sound-arrival direction of the acquired speech);
generate a text image corresponding to the acquired speech (claim 1, display a text image corresponding to the acquired speech);
and
display the generated text image at a display position in the display unit, the display position being determined according to the estimated sound-arrival direction and the determined adjustment amount (claim 1, display a symbol image associated with the text image at a display position in the display unit, the display position corresponding to the estimated sound-arrival direction).
18545187 fails to explicitly teach determine an adjustment amount of a display position of a text image on a display unit of the display device based on a detection result of at least one of an operation by the user and a state of the display device;
Lipman teaches determine an adjustment amount of a display position of a text image on a display unit of the display device based on a detection result of at least one of an operation by the user and a state of the display device (¶41, display parameters can be determined by a user input);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display apparatus (as taught by 18545187) with the user adjustment capabilities (as taught by Lipman). The rationale to do so is to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of adjusting one or more display parameters according to a user’s desires (Lipman, ¶41).
The remaining independent and/or dependent claims are similarly rejected using one or more claims of the reference application and Lipman (whether alone or in combination).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18808209 in view of Lipman (US20210312940). See above as an example.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lipman (US20210312940).
Regarding claim 1, Lipman teaches a display control apparatus that controls display of a display device wearable by a user (abstract, glasses with display), the display control apparatus comprising:
a memory that stores codes; and
a processor that executes the codes stored in the memory (¶7, glasses including a processor that also requires a form of memory for storing processing instructions) to:
acquire speech collected by a plurality of microphones (¶7, speech collected using a microphone array);
estimate a sound-arrival direction of the acquired speech (¶22, directional microphones for determining a direction of arrival of the collected sound signals);
generate a text image corresponding to the acquired speech (Fig. 3B, text image corresponding to the collected speech signals);
determine an adjustment amount of a display position of a text image on a display unit of the display device based on a detection result of at least one of an operation by the user and a state of the display device (¶41, user can provide one or more adjustments to the display parameters); and
display the generated text image at a display position in the display unit, the display position being determined according to the estimated sound-arrival direction and the determined adjustment amount (Fig. 3B, text image generated is displayed in accordance to the direction of arrival of the detected speech signals in addition to being modified by the user settings (¶41)).
Regarding claim 2, Lipman teaches wherein the display device is a glass type display device that can be worn by the user (Fig. 1, head worn device can be a glass type display device).
Regarding claim 3, Lipman teaches wherein an elevation angle with respect to a horizontal direction of a direction in which the text image displayed on the display unit is seen from a viewpoint of the user wearing the display device is determined according to the determined adjustment amount (¶41, the user can apply adjustments to the displayed contents with respect to his/her viewpoint).
Regarding claim 4, Lipman teaches wherein the state of the display device includes a tilt of the display device detected by a sensor included in the display device (¶26, one or more sensors capable of detecting a movement (including rotation) of the head worn device).
Regarding claim 11, Lipman teaches wherein the operation by the user includes a touch operation on the display device (¶44, one or more switches for actuation by a user).
Regarding claim 12, Lipman teaches wherein the processor generates a text image corresponding to the acquired speech by performing speech recognition processing on the speech (Fig. 3B, ¶31, performing speech recognition).
Regarding claim 13, it is rejected similarly as claim 1. The medium can be found in Lipman (Fig. 2, digital processor requires a storage medium for including computing instructions).
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected similarly as claim 1. The method can be found in Lipman (¶8,method).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipman (US20210312940) in view of Lang (US20190333480).
Regarding claim 5, Lipman fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor determines the adjustment amount related to the display position of the text image in the vertical direction on the display unit based on the inclination of the display device in an elevation angle direction.
Lang teaches wherein the processor determines the adjustment amount related to the display position of the text image in the vertical direction on the display unit based on the inclination of the display device in an elevation angle direction (¶324, Fig. 3, applying one or more alterations to the display in accordance with the detected movement of the head mounted device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of modifying the display apparatus in accordance with a movement (as taught by Lang) to the display apparatus (as taught by Lipman). The rationale to do so is to apply a known technique to a known apparatus ready for improvement to yield the predictable result of improving a comfort level of the user by adapting a display change in response to a user movement (Lang, ¶174).
Regarding claim 6, Lipman in view of Lang wherein the processor increases a downward adjustment amount of the display position of the text image on the display unit in accordance with an increase in a depression angle of the inclination of the display device (Lang, ¶276, amount of change can be with respect to the user’s head).
Regarding claim 9, Lipman in view of Lang teaches wherein
a display position in a vertical direction of the text image displayed on the display unit is determined in accordance with the determined adjustment amount and an orientation of the display device (Lang, ¶324, Fig. 3, display adjustment can be based on a movement of the head mounted device including a rotational movement), and
a display position in the horizontal direction of the text image displayed on the display unit is determined according to the estimated sound-arrival direction and the orientation of the display device (Lipman, Fig. 3B, ¶34, displayed text image is in accordance with a sound arrival direction as well as orientation of the user’s head/head mounted device).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipman (US20210312940) in view of Lang (US20190333480) in further view of Forutanpour et al (US20180047396, hereinafter “Forutanpour”).
Regarding claim 7, Lipman in view of Lang fail to explicitly teach wherein the processor does not change the adjustment amount related to the display position of the text image in the vertical direction on the display unit when the inclination of the display device in an elevation direction is within a predetermined range, and changes the adjustment amount when the inclination of the display device in the elevation direction exceeds the predetermined range.
Forutanpour teaches wherein the processor does not change the adjustment amount related to the display position of the text image in the vertical direction on the display unit when the inclination of the display device in an elevation direction is within a predetermined range, and changes the adjustment amount when the inclination of the display device in the elevation direction exceeds the predetermined range (¶36, displayed content may change if the user’s head exceeds a threshold angle from the horizon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the technique of providing a threshold limit prior to altering display content in accordance with a user’s head movement (as taught by Forutanpour) to the display apparatus (as taught by Lipman in view of Lang). The rationale to do so is to use a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way.
Regarding claim 8, Lipman in view of Lang in further view of Forutanpour teaches wherein the predetermined range is determined based on an elevation angle with respect to a horizontal direction of a direction in which the text image displayed on the display unit is seen from a viewpoint of a user wearing the display device (Forutanpour, ¶36, the deviation threshold is calculated based on the horizon).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lipman (US20210312940) in view of Forutanpour et al (US20180047396, hereinafter “Forutanpour”).
Regarding claim 10, Lipman fails to explicitly teach the processor identifies a target direction, and wherein
when a difference between the identified target direction and the estimated sound-arrival direction is less than a threshold value, the processor determines the adjustment amount of the display position of the text image corresponding to the sound-arrival direction based on the detection result.
Forutanpour teaches the processor identifies a target direction (¶52, speech bubble graphic may be anchored/attached to the person that is speaking such that the identified direction is the identified speaker), and wherein
when a difference between the identified target direction and the estimated sound-arrival direction is less than a threshold value, the processor determines the adjustment amount of the display position of the text image corresponding to the sound-arrival direction based on the detection result (¶52, in identifying the speaker, a speaker direction is determined as well as a sound-arrival direction such that when the user turns away from the speaker (including the speaker direction and the sound arrival direction) the corresponding text image is similarly altered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display apparatus (as taught by Lipman) with the text association technique (as taught by Forutanpour). The rationale to do so is to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of clearly associating text with the person that spoke it (Forutanpour, Fig. 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of References Cited for a listing of analogous art.
/QIN ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691