DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20230031275-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Han’
Regarding Claim 1,
Han teaches a secondary battery comprising: an electrode assembly comprising (Han, “The present invention is invented to solve the above problems, and an object of the present invention is to provide an electrode assembly capable of satisfying both energy density and an output, a method for manufacturing the same, and a secondary battery.”, see [0007]): a first electrode plate comprising a first main tab close to a first outer edge based on a center line in a longitudinal direction (Han, electrode tab, 111c, Fig. 8) and a first sub tab that is closer to the center line than to the first outer edge (Han, electrode tab, 112c, Fig. 8) ; a first current collector electrically coupled to the first main tab and the first sub tab (Han, collector, 112a, Fig. 7) ; and a case configured to accommodate the electrode assembly (Han, case, 200, Fig. 12) , the first current collector, wherein the first main tab and the second sub tab have an asymmetric shape, (see Fig. 3).
Han does not teach a second electrode plate comprising a second main tab close to a second outer edge based on the center line in the longitudinal direction and a second sub tab that is closer to the center line than to the second outer edge a second current collector electrically coupled to the second main tab and the second sub tab and the second current collector; and the second main tab and the second sub tab have an asymmetric shape.
Han teaches that two varied sub tabs allow for improved output performance (Han, “The first-a electrode tab and the first-b electrode tab may have the different widths. Particularly, the first-b electrode tab may have the width greater than that of the first-a electrode tab. Due to the above-described characteristic, the large amount of current may be induced to flow through the first-b electrode tab, and thus, the output performance of the electrode assembly may be stably improved.”, see [0026]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tabs as taught in Han to have a second pair of sub tabs as an obvious matter of duplication, in order to improve the performance of the cell (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)).
Regarding Claim 2,
Han does not teach wherein an electrical resistance of the first main tab is less than that of the first sub tab.
Han teaches wherein an electrical resistance of the first sub tab is less than that of the first main tab (Han, “Here, the first-a electrode tab 111 c and the first-b electrode tab 112 c have different widths, and thus, a difference in resistance”, see [0049]) (Han, “Particularly, since the current flowing through the first-b electrode tab 112 c is largely dispersed, the resistance generated in the first-b electrode tab 112 c may be significantly reduced.”, see [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switched the inner and outer tabs as an obvious matter of re-arrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 3,
Han does not teach, wherein a surface area of the first main tab is greater than that of the first sub tab.
Han teaches wherein a surface area of the first sub tab is greater than that of the first main tab.
(Han, “Here, the first-a electrode tab 111 c and the first-b electrode tab 112 c have different widths, and thus, a difference in resistance”, see [0049]) (Han, “Particularly, since the current flowing through the first-b electrode tab 112 c is largely dispersed, the resistance generated in the first-b electrode tab 112 c may be significantly reduced.”, see [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switched the inner and outer tabs as an obvious matter of re-arrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 4,
Han does not teach wherein a width of the first main tab is greater than that of the first sub tab.
Han teaches wherein a width of the first sub tab is greater than that of the first main tab (Han, “Here, the first-a electrode tab 111 c and the first-b electrode tab 112 c have different widths, and thus, a difference in resistance”, see [0049]) (Han, “Particularly, since the current flowing through the first-b electrode tab 112 c is largely dispersed, the resistance generated in the first-b electrode tab 112 c may be significantly reduced.”, see [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switched the inner and outer tabs as an obvious matter of re-arrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 5,
Han does not teach the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein an electrical resistance of the second main tab is less than that of the second sub tab.
Han teaches wherein an electrical resistance of the second sub tab is less than that of the second main tab (Han, “Here, the first-a electrode tab 111 c and the first-b electrode tab 112 c have different widths, and thus, a difference in resistance”, see [0049]) (Han, “Particularly, since the current flowing through the first-b electrode tab 112 c is largely dispersed, the resistance generated in the first-b electrode tab 112 c may be significantly reduced.”, see [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switched the inner and outer tabs as an obvious matter of re-arrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 6,
Han does not teach wherein a surface area of the second main tab is greater than that of the second sub tab.
Han does teach a surface area of the second sub tab is greater than that of the second main tab (Han, “Here, the first-a electrode tab 111 c and the first-b electrode tab 112 c have different widths, and thus, a difference in resistance”, see [0049]) (Han, “Particularly, since the current flowing through the first-b electrode tab 112 c is largely dispersed, the resistance generated in the first-b electrode tab 112 c may be significantly reduced.”, see [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switched the inner and outer tabs as an obvious matter of re-arrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 7,
Han does not teach wherein a width of the second main tab is greater than that of the second sub tab.
Han teaches wherein a width of the second sub tab is greater than that of the second main tab (Han, “Here, the first-a electrode tab 111 c and the first-b electrode tab 112 c have different widths, and thus, a difference in resistance”, see [0049]) (Han, “Particularly, since the current flowing through the first-b electrode tab 112 c is largely dispersed, the resistance generated in the first-b electrode tab 112 c may be significantly reduced.”, see [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have switched the inner and outer tabs as an obvious matter of re-arrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(C)).
Regarding Claim 20,
Modified Han teaches the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electrode assembly has a vertical length that is greater than a horizontal width (Han, see Fig. 1).
6. Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20230031275-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Han’ in view of (US-20230268569-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Wang’
Regarding Claim 8,
Han does not teach a first terminal electrically coupled to the first current collector and passing through the case, wherein the first current collector has: a first through-hole through which the first terminal passes; a first main area at one side of the first through-hole and electrically coupled to the first main tab; and a first sub area at another side of the first through-hole and electrically coupled to the first sub tab.
Wang teaches a first terminal electrically coupled to the first current collector and passing through the case (Wang, negative pole, 501, Fig. 9), wherein the first current collector has: a first through-hole through which the first terminal passes (Wang, “The pole is configured for electrically connecting with the main region of the connecting piece.”, see [0069]); a first main area at one side of the first through-hole and electrically coupled to the first main tab; and a first sub area at another side of the first through-hole and electrically coupled to the first sub tab (Wang, negative tab, 211 and 212, Fig. 9).
Wang teaches that this structure improves the uniformity of charging and discharging (Wang, “ With provision of this structure, uniformity of the charging and discharging assembly, the battery core and the like can be improved.”, see [0046]).
Han and Wang are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell as taught in Kim to have the terminal arrangement as taught in Wang in order to improve the uniformity of charging.
Regarding Claim 9,
Modified Han teaches the secondary battery as claimed in claim 8, wherein a surface area of the first main area is greater than that of the first sub area (Wang, negative tab, 212, Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 10,
Han does not teach a second terminal electrically coupled to the second current collector and passing through the case, wherein the second current collector has: a second through-hole through which the second terminal passes; a second main area at one side of the second through-hole and electrically coupled to the second main tab; and a second sub area at another side of the second through-hole and electrically coupled to the second sub tab .
Wang teaches a second terminal electrically coupled to the second current collector and passing through the case (Wang, negative pole, 501, Fig. 9), wherein the second current collector has: a second through-hole through which the second terminal passes (Wang, “The pole is configured for electrically connecting with the main region of the connecting piece.”, see [0069]); a second main area at one side of the first through-hole and electrically coupled to the second main tab; and a second sub area at another side of the first through-hole and electrically coupled to the second sub tab (Wang, negative tab, 211 and 212, Fig. 9).
Wang teaches that this structure improves the uniformity of charging and discharging (Wang, “ With provision of this structure, uniformity of the charging and discharging assembly, the battery core and the like can be improved.”, see [0046]).
Han and Wang are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery packs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cell as taught in Kim to have the terminal arrangement as taught in Wang in order to improve the uniformity of charging.
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Han teaches the secondary battery as claimed in claim 10, wherein a surface area of the second main area is greater than that of the second sub area (Wang, negative tab, 212, Fig. 9)(The examiner notes copying the structure on both sides of the electrode would be an obvious matter of duplication of parts).
Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US-20230031275-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Han’ in view of (US-20200266475-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Jin’
Regarding Claim 12,
Modified Han teaches the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first electrode plate comprises a first conductive base material (Han, collector, 111a, Fig,7) and a first active material on the first conductive base material (Han, active material, 111b, Fig. 7),
Han does not teach wherein the first electrode plate has a first area that is relatively close to the first main tab and the first sub tab and a second area that is relatively far from the first main tab and the first sub tab based on a center line in a width direction, and wherein an electrical resistance of the first area is greater than that of the second area.
Jin teaches wherein the first electrode plate has a first area that is relatively close to the first main tab and the first sub tab and a second area that is relatively far from the first main tab and the first sub tab based on a center line in a width direction, and wherein an electrical resistance of the first area is greater than that of the second area (Jin, “The electrode plate of the present disclosure is designed to gradually increase the amount of the active material in the active layer from the first end portion toward the second end portion along the length direction according to different inner and outer heat dissipation environments of the battery, thereby reducing a heat generation inside the battery, balancing a temperature difference between the interior of the battery and an exterior of the battery and improving a service life of the battery.”, see [0006]).
Jin teaches that this allows for heat dissipation inside the battery system (Jin, “The electrode plate of the present disclosure is designed to gradually increase the amount of the active material in the active layer from the first end portion toward the second end portion along the length direction according to different inner and outer heat dissipation environments of the battery, thereby reducing a heat generation inside the battery, balancing a temperature difference between the interior of the battery and an exterior of the battery and improving a service life of the battery.”, see [0006]).
Han and Jin are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery stacks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as taught in Han to taper outward as taught in Jin in order to improve the service life of the battery through improve heat dissipation.
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Han does not teach wherein a thickness of the first conductive base material at the first area is less than that of the first conductive base material at the second area.
Modified Han teaches that it is beneficial for heat generation to taper the battery outward (Jin, “The electrode plate of the present disclosure is designed to gradually increase the amount of the active material in the active layer from the first end portion toward the second end portion along the length direction according to different inner and outer heat dissipation environments of the battery, thereby reducing a heat generation inside the battery, balancing a temperature difference between the interior of the battery and an exterior of the battery and improving a service life of the battery.”, see [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of the current collector to have the same taper as the active material in order to improve the temperature differential throughout the battery (see MPEP 2143 (I)(E)).
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Han teaches the secondary battery as claimed in claim 12, wherein a thickness of the first active material at the first area is less than that of the first active material at the second area (Jin, “The electrode plate of the present disclosure is designed to gradually increase the amount of the active material in the active layer from the first end portion toward the second end portion along the length direction according to different inner and outer heat dissipation environments of the battery, thereby reducing a heat generation inside the battery, balancing a temperature difference between the interior of the battery and an exterior of the battery and improving a service life of the battery.”, see [0006]).
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Han teaches the secondary battery as claimed in claim 12, wherein a concentration of a conductive material of the first active material at the first area is less than that of a conductive material of the first active material at the second area (Jin, conductive layer, 15, Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Han teaches the secondary battery as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second electrode plate comprises a second conductive base material (Han, collector, 111a, Fig,7) and a second active material on the second conductive base material (Han, 111b, Fig. 7),
Modified Han does not teach wherein the second electrode plate has a first area that is relatively close to the second main tab and the second sub tab and a second area that is relatively far from the first main tab and the first sub tab based on a center line in a width direction, and wherein an electrical resistance of the first area is greater than that of the second area.
Jin teaches wherein the second electrode plate has a second area that is relatively close to the second main tab and the second sub tab and a second area that is relatively far from the first main tab and the first sub tab based on a center line in a width direction, and wherein an electrical resistance of the first area is greater than that of the second area (Jin, “The electrode plate of the present disclosure is designed to gradually increase the amount of the active material in the active layer from the first end portion toward the second end portion along the length direction according to different inner and outer heat dissipation environments of the battery, thereby reducing a heat generation inside the battery, balancing a temperature difference between the interior of the battery and an exterior of the battery and improving a service life of the battery.”, see [0006])(The examiner notes that modifying both electrodes is an obvious matter of duplication of the teaching).
Jin teaches that this allows for heat dissipation inside the battery system (Jin, “The electrode plate of the present disclosure is designed to gradually increase the amount of the active material in the active layer from the first end portion toward the second end portion along the length direction according to different inner and outer heat dissipation environments of the battery, thereby reducing a heat generation inside the battery, balancing a temperature difference between the interior of the battery and an exterior of the battery and improving a service life of the battery.”, see [0006]).
Han and Jin are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery stacks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode as taught in Han to taper outward as taught in Jin in order to improve the service life of the battery through improve heat dissipation.
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Han does not teach wherein a thickness of the second conductive base material at the first area is less than that of the second conductive base material at the second area.
Modified Han teaches that it is beneficial for heat generation to taper the battery outward (Jin, “The electrode plate of the present disclosure is designed to gradually increase the amount of the active material in the active layer from the first end portion toward the second end portion along the length direction according to different inner and outer heat dissipation environments of the battery, thereby reducing a heat generation inside the battery, balancing a temperature difference between the interior of the battery and an exterior of the battery and improving a service life of the battery.”, see [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure of the current collector to have the same taper as the active material in order to improve the temperature differential throughout the battery (see MPEP 2143 (I)(E))
Regarding Claim 18,
Modified Han teaches the secondary battery as claimed in claim 16, wherein a thickness of the second active material at the first area is less than that of the second active material at the second area (Jin, “The electrode plate of the present disclosure is designed to gradually increase the amount of the active material in the active layer from the first end portion toward the second end portion along the length direction according to different inner and outer heat dissipation environments of the battery, thereby reducing a heat generation inside the battery, balancing a temperature difference between the interior of the battery and an exterior of the battery and improving a service life of the battery.”, see [0006]).
Regarding Claim 19,
Modified Han teaches the secondary battery as claimed in claim 16, wherein a concentration of a conductive material of the second active material at the first area is less than that of a conductive material of the second active material at the second area (Jin, conductive layer, 15, Fig. 5).
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752