DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, “ON-OFF of the first terminal and the second terminal” should perhaps read --ON/OFF of a path between the first terminal and the second terminal--.
Regarding claim 12, “a source of the corresponding second NMOS is coupled to the ground terminal” should perhaps read --a source of each of the plurality of second NMOSs is coupled to the ground terminal--.
Claims 9-16 are objected to by virtue of dependency.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites that each first switch is coupled to “a respective one” of the array of photodetectors, thereby identifying multiple respective photodetectors. The selector limitation subsequently recites selection of “the respective one” without identifying a corresponding first switch or otherwise establishing which photodetector is referenced. Accordingly, the scope of the selector limitation is unclear. Applicant may overcome the indefiniteness by amending “a selector configured to select the respective one of the array of photodetectors in the operating state to output the electrical signals” to recite --a selector configured to select, from the array of photodetectors, a photodetector in the operating state to output the electrical signals--.
Claim 22 recites that each first switch is coupled to “a respective one” of the array of photodetectors, thereby identifying multiple respective photodetectors. The selector limitation subsequently recites selection of “the respective one” without identifying a corresponding first switch or otherwise establishing which photodetector is referenced. Accordingly, the scope of the selector limitation is unclear. Applicant may overcome the indefiniteness by amending “a selector configured to select the respective one of the array of photodetectors in the operating state to output the electrical signals” to recite --a selector configured to select, from the array of photodetectors, a photodetector in the operating state to output the electrical signals--.
Claim 22 further recites “an array of light emitter units” but subsequently recites a controller module coupled with “the light emitter.” Because no “light emitter” was previously introduced, it is unclear whether “the light emitter” refers to an individual light emitter, a light emitter unit, the array of light emitter units, or another component. Applicant may overcome the indefiniteness by amending “a controller module coupled with the light emitter and the light detector” to recite --a controller module coupled with the array of light emitter units and the light detector--.
Claim 22 the light detector initially recites “an array of switches,” but the controller limitation subsequently introduces “an array of switches.” It is unclear whether the latter recitation refers to the previously recited array of switches or introduces a second array of switches. This ambiguity leaves unclear which array the controller module is required to control. Applicant may overcome the indefiniteness by amending “configured to transmit switch signals to an array of switches” to recite --configured to transmit switch signals to the array of switches--.
Claims 2-19 are rejected as being dependent on and failing to cure the deficiencies of rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ferreira (US 20200284883 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ferreira discloses a light detector (Fig. 46, sensing system 50 and sensor 52, further detailed in Fig. 48, circuit 4800; ¶¶ 948-951), comprising:
an array of photodetectors for receiving light signals and generating electrical signals corresponding to the light signals (Fig. 48, photodiodes 4804 of plurality 4802; ¶¶ 949, 951, 953);
an array of switches comprising a plurality of first switches (Fig. 48, pixel selection circuits 4806 with respective field effect transistor switches; ¶¶ 951, 953),
each of the plurality of first switches couples to a respective one of the array of photodetectors (Fig. 48, each field effect transistor directly connected to its photodiode 4804 cathode; ¶¶ 953, 982-983), and
each of the plurality of first switches is configured to control an operating state of the respective one of the array of photodetectors for a signal output terminal of the respective one of the array of photodetectors to output the electrical signals (Fig. 48, cathode signal output terminal; ¶ 953, closing switch forwards photocurrent while opening the switch decouples photodiode 4804); and
a selector configured to select the respective one of the array of photodetectors in the operating state to output the electrical signals (Fig. 46, sensor controller 53; ¶ 966, controller 53 selects each pixel that is active and read out).
Regarding claim 2, Ferreira discloses the light detector of claim 1, and further discloses: a first power supply terminal coupled to a power supply source (Fig. 48, reverse bias voltage input 4822 and voltage generator circuit; ¶ 953);
each of the plurality of first switches comprising: a first switching element with a terminal coupled to the first power supply terminal, and another terminal coupled to a terminal of a photodetector of the array of photodetectors, the terminal of the photodetector is a signal output terminal (Fig. 48, field effect transistor between input 4822 and photodiode 4804 cathode signal output terminal; ¶¶ 953, 982-983); wherein
a switch state of the first switching element corresponds to ON/OFF of a path between the first power supply terminal and the signal output terminal (Fig. 48; ¶¶ 953, 983, field effect transistor opens or closes the path between input 4822 and cathode).
Regarding claim 20, Ferreira discloses a light detection method for controlling a light detector (Fig. 26, sensing system 50 and SiPM detector array 2612, further detailed in Figs. 27 and 28; ¶¶ 727-738), comprising: transmitting switch signals to an array of switches of the light detector to (Figs. 26 and 28, sensor controller 53 transmits row and column select signals to pixel switches 2812; ¶¶ 732, 738): set switch states of a portion of the array of switches to drive a plurality of photodetectors of the light detector coupled to the portion of the array of switches to activate detection of light signals (Fig. 27, selected pixels 2716 receive supply voltage 2718 and generate signals 2720; ¶ 735; Fig. 28, switches 2812 activate respective pixels 2602; ¶ 738), and set switch states of a remainder of the array of switches to deactivate photodetectors coupled to the remainder of the array of switches (¶ 724, all unselected pixels are not read out or not provided operating voltage; Fig. 28, ¶ 738, unactivated switches 2812 withholds operating voltage).
Regarding claim 22, Ferreira discloses a LiDAR (Fig. 26, LIDAR sensor system 10; ¶¶ 727-729) comprising: an array of light emitter units configured to output an emitted signal (Fig. 26, lasers 42 arranged in a laser array and emitting laser pulse 2604; ¶ 729); a light detector comprising: an array of photodetectors configured to receive an echo signal reflected after the emitted signal collides with an obstacle, receive light signals, and generate electrical signals corresponding to the light signals (Fig. 26 and ¶¶ 731-732, emitted pulse 2604 reflects from object 100 as pulse 2610, where SiPM array 2612 comprising pixels 2602 that generate signals 2624); an array of switches comprising a plurality of first switches (Fig. 28, respective pixel switches 2812; ¶ 738), each of the plurality of first switches couples to a respective one of the array of photodetectors (Fig. 28, each switch 2812 connected to associated pixel 2602; ¶ 738), and each of the plurality of first switches is configured to control an operating state of the respective one of the array of photodetectors for a signal output terminal of the respective one of the array of photodetectors to output the electrical signals (Fig. 28, switch 2812 applies operating voltage to pixel 2602, which outputs its signal through switch 2814 to line 2806; ¶ 738); and a selector configured to select the respective one of the array of photodetectors in the operating state to output the electrical signals (Fig. 26, row multiplexer 2616 and column multiplexer 2618; ¶¶ 730, 732); and a controller module coupled with the light emitter and the light detector, and configured to transmit switch signals to an array of switches to: (Fig. 26, sensor controller 53 controls light source driver 43 and detector multiplexers 2616 and 2618 and transmits select signals 2620 and 2622; ¶¶ 729, 732) set switch states of a portion of the array of switches to drive a plurality of photodetectors of the light detector coupled to the portion of the array of switches to activate detection of light signals (Fig. 27, selected pixels 2716 receive supply voltage 2718 and generate signals 2720; ¶ 735; Fig. 28 and ¶ 738, switches 2812 activate the selected pixels), and set switch states of a remainder of the array of switches to deactivate photodetectors coupled to the remainder of the array of switches (¶ 724, all unselected pixels are not read out or not provided operating voltage; Fig. 28 and ¶ 738, unactivated switches 2812 withholds operating voltage).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sakaguchi (US 20200348416 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakaguchi discloses a light detector (Fig. 1, light receiving unit 14, as further detailed in Fig. 2, SPAD array 143), comprising: an array of photodetectors for receiving light signals and generating electrical signals corresponding to the light signals; (Fig. 2, SPAD array 143, as further detailed in Fig. 4, photodiode 21; ¶¶ 108, 114) an array of switches comprising a plurality of first switches, each of the plurality of first switches couples to a respective one of the array of photodetectors (Fig. 3, repeated SPAD pixels 20, as further detailed in Fig. 4, the respective series branch consisting of quench resistance 23 and selection transistor 24, photodiode 21, and buffer 27; ¶¶ 114-115, each pixel includes photodiode 21 and the series branch), and each of the plurality of first switches is configured to control an operating state of the respective one of the array of photodetectors for a signal output terminal of the respective one of the array of photodetectors to output the electrical signals (¶¶ 120-122, selection transistor 24 controls whether operation of photodiode 21 is allowed; ¶ 123, allowed operation and photons received, “detection signal V_OUT of a high level is output from the buffer 27”) and a selector configured to select the respective one of the array of photodetectors in the operating state to output the electrical signals (Fig. 2, drive circuit 142; ¶ 109, drive circuit 142 applies V_SEL and “selects, in the units of columns, the SPAD pixels 20” used for photon detection; ¶ 110, detection signal V_OUT is output from each selected SPAD pixel 20).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN 111060198 A).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a light detector (Fig. 1; ¶ 37), comprising:
an array of photodetectors for receiving light signals and generating electrical signals corresponding to the light signals (Fig. 1, NxN APDs; ¶¶ 37, 45, 51, each APD generates reverse current proportional to received light intensity, and the TIA converts the current signal into a voltage signal);
an array of switches comprising a plurality of first switches (Fig. 1, repeated pixel operating state blocks, as further detailed in Fig. 4 by M1, M2, M7, and the connected TIA; ¶¶ 45, 47), each of the plurality of first switches couples to a respective one of the array of photodetectors (Fig. 4, M1, M2, and M7 connected to the respective APD cathode and TIA; ¶ 48), and each of the plurality of first switches is configured to control an operating state of the respective one of the array of photodetectors for a signal output terminal of the respective one of the array of photodetectors to output the electrical signals (Fig. 4, M1, M2, M7, and TIA; ¶¶ 39, 56, 57, mode selection circuit selects linear or Geiger operation, and ¶¶ 50, 59, resulting TIA signal supplied to gated sampling circuit); and
a selector configured to select the respective one of the array of photodetectors in the operating state to output the electrical signals (Fig. 4, SR and M6; ¶¶ 59, 60, 63, “the gate of NMOS transistor M6 is used to select the pixel unit” for connection to the ADC).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira in view of Do Valle (US 10158038 B1).
Regarding claim 3, Ferreira discloses the light detector of claim 2, however does not disclose: wherein each of the plurality of first switches further comprises: a second switching element with a terminal coupled to the terminal of the photodetector, and another terminal coupled to a ground terminal; wherein a switch state of the second switching element corresponds to ON/OFF of a path between the signal output terminal and the ground terminal.
However, Do Valle teaches: wherein each of the plurality of first switches further (Fig. 3A circuit array, each circuit as further detailed in Fig. 4A and operationally detailed in Fig. 5) comprises: a second switching element with a terminal coupled to the terminal of the photodetector, and another terminal coupled to a ground terminal (Fig. 4A, switch 408-2 between cathode output node 416 and ground 418; Col. 8:5-13, 35-42); wherein a switch state of the second switching element corresponds to ON/OFF of a path between the signal output terminal and the ground terminal (Fig. 5; Col. 9:14-22, switch 408-2 closes the ground path; Col. 9:34-39, switch 408-2 opens the path). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light detector of Ferreira with the teachings of Do Valle with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ground the inactive photodetector output node below breakdown, thereby yielding a light detector with controlled armed and disarmed intervals, reducing after pulsing distortion before a subsequent light pulse (Do Valle, Col. 8:35-42, Col. 9:14-39, Col. 10:45-51).
Regarding claim 4, Ferreira in view of Do Valle teaches the light detector of claim 3, and further teaches: wherein switch states of the first switching element and the second switching element are set to be opposite (Do Valle, Fig. 4A as further detailed by Fig. 5; Col. 9:14-22, switch 408-1 open and switch 408-2 closed; Col. 9:34-39, states reversed).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira in view of Do Valle further in view of Prescott (US 20030122533 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ferreira in view of Do Valle teaches the light detector of claim 3, however does not teach: comprising a power supply regulator with an output terminal connected to the first power supply terminal to provide a variable power supply. However, Prescott teaches the limitation in Fig. 1, bias supply 102 and output node 104; ¶¶ 11-16, regulated adjustable output node 104. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first power supply terminal of Ferreira in view of Do Valle with the power supply regulator of Prescott with a reasonable expectation of success in order to dynamically adjust the photodetector reverse bias to its operating and calibration requirements, thereby yielding a light detector with expanded operational range and detector calibration capabilities (Prescott, ¶¶ 12-16).
Regarding claim 6, Ferreira in view of Do Valle further in view of Prescott teaches the light detector of claim 5, and further teaches: wherein the power supply source is regulated to output a plurality of voltage values (Prescott, Fig. 1, bias supply 102 and output node 104; ¶¶ 13, 16, 21, selectable regulated values including 10 V and 20 V through 40 V), and the plurality of voltage values are respectively adapted to photodetectors with different operating voltages (Prescott, ¶¶ 3, 10, 12, 21, different values accommodate photodetectors with different operating voltages, e.g., PIN / APD). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify light detector of the Ferreira in view of Do Valle further in view of Prescott with the additional teachings of Prescott with a reasonable expectation of success in order to supply different bias voltages corresponding photodetector types, thereby providing a universal hardware platform supporting different detector types reducing the need for multiple supply designs (Prescott, ¶¶ 3-4, 16, 21).
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira in view of Sakaguchi further in view of Azuma (US 20200018832 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Sakaguchi discloses the light detector of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein each of the plurality of first switches further comprises […] connected in series between a first switching element and a photodetector. (Fig. 4, quench resistance 23 positioned between selection transistor 24 and photodiode 21; ¶ 115, drain of quench resistance 23 is connected to the anode of photodiode 21 and its source is grounded through selection transistor 24). However, Sakaguchi does not disclose: “a variable impedance.” Azuma teaches the limitation in Fig. 2, quench resistor 6; ¶ 37, quench resistor 6 includes a MOSFET; ¶ 49, the resistance “may be adjusted by the gate voltage VG of the MOSFET.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light detector of Sakaguchi with a variable impedance as taught by Azuma with a reasonable expectation of success in order to vary detector recharge timing and inhibit simultaneous pseudo responses, thereby yielding a light detector with reduced erroneous light detection and improved detection accuracy (Azuma, ¶¶ 047, 49, 53).
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira in view of Liu further in view of Suzuki (US 20060261254 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses the light detector of claim 1, and further discloses: a first power supply terminal coupled to a power supply source (Fig. 4, VDD node at the drain of M1; ¶ 48, “the drain of NMOS transistor M1 is connected to the voltage source VDD”); each of the plurality of first switches further comprising: a trans-impedance amplifier (Fig. 1, each per pixel operating state block, as further detailed in Fig. 4 by I1, R1, and C1; ¶¶ 45, 49, 52, each pixel contains a capacitive TIA) comprising: a first input terminal coupled with a first switching element to the first power supply terminal, and coupled with a second switching element to a ground terminal (Fig. 4, input of I1, M1, M2, and C2; ¶¶ 48, 50, M1 connects the input node to VDD, while M2 connects the same node to C2 whose lower plate “is grounded”); […]; and the output terminal coupled to the signal output terminal (Fig. 4, output of I1 defining the respective TIA output node; ¶ 50, the output of I1 is connected to the gated sampling circuit).
Liu does not disclose: “a second input terminal coupled to a terminal of a photodetector, and coupled to an output terminal of the trans-impedance amplifier through a third impedance.” However, Suzuki teaches the limitation in Fig. 1, photodetector unit Um, as further detailed in Fig. 3 by amplifier A, photodiode PDm,n, and capacitance C0; ¶ 7, amplifier having first and second input terminals; ¶ 32, the inverting input of amplifier A is connected to the cathode of PDm,n through SW1m,n, and capacitance C0 is connected between the inverting input and output of amplifier A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light detector of Liu with the teachings of Suzuki with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide separate amplifier inputs for reference voltage control and photodetector charge reception, thereby yielding a detector with improved dynamic range, reduced noise, and increased charge transfer speed (Suzuki, ¶¶ 7, 47, 48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. A statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter are as follows.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ferreira, Do Valle, Prescott, and Washkurak fail to teach the light detector of claim 5, comprising a level shifter with an input terminal coupled to an output terminal of the selector, and configured to convert a voltage output by the selector to a predetermined voltage range. Neither Sakaguchi, Liu, Azuma, nor Suzuki remedies the deficiency. The remaining prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Dutton (US 20200278247 A1) discloses a SPAD photodetector array with transistor gated activation / deactivation circuitry and multiplexed selection of pixel outputs. However, Dutton does not teach a level shifter coupled to the selector output and configured to convert that output voltage to a predetermined voltage range as covered in claim 7.
Dautet (US 5532474 A) discloses an APD light detector using transistor switches to control detector operation and electrical signal output. However, Dautet does not teach the level shifter coupled to a selector output and configured to convert that output to a predetermined voltage range as covered in claim 7.
The cited prior art lacks any teaching or motivation that would lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the features of claim 7, thereby failing to render the claimed invention anticipated or obvious. Accordingly, claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 112(b) rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and incorporating all limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 8-17 would be allowable for the same reason by virtue of dependency.
Conclusion
/ZHENGQING QI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645