DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1, line 2 recites “an control jet” which is grammatically incorrect. The limitation should recite “a control jet” Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Pu (CN 110126589 A) . Regarding claim 1, Pu teaches of: An air register assembly for a vehicle, the air register assembly comprising: an control jet defining a first passage and a first chamber (Figs. 1-2, control jet is the upper flow path that defines a first chamber surrounding 31); a valve coupled with the control jet within the first chamber (Figs. 1-2, 31 is a valve in the first chamber) ; a main jet spaced from the control jet, the main jet defining a second passage and second chamber (Figs. 1-2, the main jet is the flow path below the control jet and has a second chamber which surround 32 positioned in the lower flow path; ¶ [0042], In one embodiment of the present invention, the control blade includes two Y-direction control blades 32, which are disposed at the upper and lower ends of the inner housing 2 ) , wherein the first passage, the second passage, and the valve direct air on a first plane (Figs. 1-2, the control jet is inclined downward and the main jet is inclined upward and the valve 31 is rotated in the vertical direction therefore all of the listed elements direct air on a first, vertical plane) ; and a plurality of vanes pivotably coupled with the main jet within the second chamber, wherein the plurality of vanes direct the air on a second plane different from the first plane (Figs. 1-2, 32 directs air in a horizontal plane) . Regarding claim 4, Pu teaches of the air register assembly of claim 1, and Pu further teaches of: wherein the valve vertically lowers the air directed along the first plane, such that when the valve is open the air is directed lower than when the valve is closed (Figs. 1-2, see airflows A+B=C, therefore increasing or decreasing the amount of airflow B which is controlled by 31 would raise and lower the air directed in the first plane) Regarding claim 6, Pu teaches of the air register assembly of claim 4, and Pu further teaches of: wherein the control jet directs the air downward and wherein the main jet directs the air upward (Figs. 1-2, the upper flow path which contains the control jet B is directed down and the lower flow path which contain he main jet A is directed upward) Regarding claim 7, Pu teaches of the air register assembly of claim 1, and Pu further teaches of: further including: a face plate coupled with the control jet and the main jet and extending therebetween; and a rim coupled with the control jet and the main jet, wherein the air flows through the rim (see annotated version of Fig. 1 of Pu below) Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 2-3 , 5 , 11-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu (CN 110126589 A) . Regarding claim 2, Pu teaches of the air register assembly of claim 1, however, Pu fails to explicitly teach: wherein the control jet has a first internal cross-sectional area that is larger at the first chamber than the first passage, and wherein the main jet has a second internal cross-sectional area that is larger at the second chamber than at the second passage. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pu so that the cross-sectional area surrounding 31 and the cross-sectional area surrounding 32 in the main jet were larger than the first and second passages , particularly that the second cross-sectional area of the second chamber is larger than the first cross-sectional area of the first chamber, based on the following rationale: It has been held when the only difference prior art and the claims is the recitation of a relative dimension of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimension would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04.IV.A). In the instant case, changing the relative size of the first and second chambers so their respective cross-sectional areas are larger than the first and second passages would not result in the device of Pu performing differently and further Applicant has placed no criticality on the cross-sectional areas of the chambers and only states that they are sized to accommodate the movement of the valve and vanes within the device, which is not a new or unexpected result. Regarding claim 3, Pu as modified teaches of the air register assembly of claim 2, and Pu as modified further teaches of: wherein the second internal cross-sectional area is larger than the first internal cross-sectional area (see rejection of claim 2) Regarding claim 5, Pu teaches of the air register assembly of claim 4, and Pu further teaches of: wherein the plurality of vanes horizontally shift the air along the second plane (Figs. 1-2, 32 of the main jet horizontally shift the air along the second plane) Pu fails to explicitly teach: such that the plurality of vanes pivot direct the air toward one of a first lateral side of the interior cabin and a second lateral side of the interior cabin. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Pu so that the vent is positioned on the dashboard of a vehicle so that the plurality of vanes direct air toward a first and second lateral side of an interior cabin based on the following rationale: when the only difference between the claims and the prior art is the position of a claimed element, and rearrangement of the element would not modify the operation of the claimed device, than the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04.VI.C). In the instant case, Pu is silent as to the particular location of the vent within the cabin, but modifying Pu so that it is positioned on the dashboard and oriented so that the horizontal vanes direct air to a first and second lateral sides of the interior of the cabin would not modify the operation of the vent of Pu and further Applicant has placed no criticality on the relative location of the vent within the cabin. Regarding claim 11, Pu teaches of: An air register assembly comprising: a vent coupled with a ventilation, and air conditioning unit (Pg. 1, An air conditioning vent structure and a motor vehicle ) ; a control jet coupled with the vent, the control jet defining a first passage and a first chamber, wherein air exiting the control jet selectively flows vertically down; a valve coupled with the control jet, the valve positioned within the first chamber (Figs. 1-2, control jet is the upper flow path that defines a first chamber surrounding valve 31, the air B flows vertically downward) ; a main jet coupled with the vent, the main jet defining a second passage and a second chamber, the main jet spaced from the control jet; wherein the air exiting the main jet flows vertically up, and wherein the air exiting the control jet intersects the air exiting the main jet (Figs. 1-2, the main jet is the flow path below the control jet and has a second chamber which surround 32 positioned in the lower flow path , the air A flows vertically upward and intersects with air B and creates combined air C) ; and a series of vanes pivotably coupled with the main jet, the series of vanes positioned within the second bulbous chamber, wherein the air passing between the series of vanes flows toward one of a first lateral direction and a second lateral direction ( ¶ [0042], In one embodiment of the present invention, the control blade includes two Y-direction control blades 32, which are disposed at the upper and lower ends of the inner housing 2 ) . Pu fails to explicitly teach: a v ent coupled to a heating unit wherein the first and second chambers are bulbous However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pu so that the system contained a heating unit and the shape of the first and second chambers to be bulbous , more specifically that there is a concave portion form in 2 below 31 and above 32 and in 1 above 31 and below 32, based on the following rationale: Regarding the heating unit, such a configuration is well known within the art and the use of a HVAC system fluidly coupled to a vent within a vehicle is common knowledge Regarding the shape of the chambers, when the only difference between the claims and the prior art is the shape of a claimed element and a change in the shape of the element in the prior art would not modify the operation of the prior art, then the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. In the instant case, modifying the first and second chamber of Pu to be bulbous would not modify the operation of the device of Pu and further Applicant has placed no criticality on the particular shape of the chambers and only states that they are sized to accommodate the movement of the valve and vanes within the device, which does not reach the threshold of criticality . Regarding claim 12, Pu as modified teaches of the air register assembly of claim 11, and Pu further teaches of: wherein the valve selectively limits the air flowing through the control jet, such that the air exiting the main jet is uninterrupted when the valve is closed (Figs. 1-2, closing 31 interrupts flow of air through the control jet) Regarding claim 13, Pu as modified teaches of the air register assembly of claim 11, and Pu as modified further teaches of: wherein the first bulbous chamber is shaped to permit movement of the valve (Figs. 1-2, the first chamber is already shaped to permit movement of the valve 31, Pu is modified to make the chamber bulbous which would not impede the ability of 31 to move) Regarding claim 14, Pu as modified teaches of the air register assembly of claim 12, and Pu as modified further teaches of: wherein the second bulbous chamber is shaped to permit pivotal motion of the series of vanes (Figs. 1-2, the second chamber is already shaped to permit movement of 32 , Pu is modified to make the second chamber bulbous which would not impede the ability of 32 to move) Regarding claim 18, Pu as modified teaches of the air register assembly of claim 11, however, Pu as modified fails to explicitly teach: wherein the control jet has a first internal cross-sectional area, and wherein the main jet has a second internal cross-sectional area that is larger than the first internal cross-sectional area. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pu so that the cross-sectional area of the second chamber is larger than the cross-sectional area of the first chamber , based on the following rationale: It has been held when the only difference prior art and the claims is the recitation of a relative dimension of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimension would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04.IV.A). In the instant case, changing the relative size of the first and second chambers so that the cross-sectional-area of the second chamber is larger than the first chamber would not result in the device of Pu performing differently and further Applicant has placed no criticality on the cross-sectional areas of the chambers and only states that they are sized to accommodate the movement of the valve and vanes within the device, which does not reach the threshold of criticality . Regarding claim 19, Pu teaches of: A vehicle defining an interior cabin, the vehicle comprising: a ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) unit (Pg. 1, An air conditioning vent structure and a motor vehicle ) ; a vent fluidly coupled with the HVAC unit (Figs. 1-2, the vent is fluidly coupled to the air conditioning unit) ; an air register assembly fluidly coupled with the vent, the air register assembly including: a control jet extending between the vent and the interior cabin, the control jet defining: a first passage; and a first chamber, wherein air selectively flows through the first passage and the first chamber downwardly and outwardly toward the interior cabin; a valve coupled with the control jet, the valve positioned within the first chamber, the valve selectively limiting the air flowing through the first passage and the first chamber (Figs. 1-2, control jet is the upper flow path that defines a first chamber surrounding valve 31 that controls the flow of air out of the control jet , the air B flows vertically downward) ; a main jet spaced from the control jet, the main jet extending between the vent and the interior cabin, the main jet defining: a second passage; and a second chamber, wherein the air flows through the second passage and the second chamber upwardly and outwardly toward the interior cabin; and at least one vane pivotably coupled with the main jet, the at least one vane positioned within the second chamber (Figs. 1-2, the main jet is the flow path below the control jet and has a second chamber which surround 32 positioned in the lower flow path , the air A flows vertically upward and intersects with air B and creates combined air C; ¶ [0042], In one embodiment of the present invention, the control blade includes two Y-direction control blades 32, which are disposed at the upper and lower ends of the inner housing 2 ) . Pu fails to explicitly teach: a heating unit wherein the first and second chambers are bulbous wherein the at least one vane directs the air toward one of a first lateral side and a second lateral side of the interior cabin However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Pu so that the system contained a heating unit, the shape of the first and second chambers to be bulbous and so that the vent is positioned on the dashboard of a vehicle so that the plurality of vanes direct air toward a first and second lateral side of an interior cabin , based on the following rationale: Regarding the heating unit, such a configuration is well known within the art and the use of a HVAC system fluidly coupled to a vent within a vehicle is common knowledge Regarding the shape of the chamber, when the only difference between the claims and the prior art is the shape of a claimed element and a change in the shape of the element in the prior art would not modify the operation of the prior art, then the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. In the instant case, modifying the first and second chamber of Pu to be bulbous would not modify the operation of the device of Pu and further Applicant has placed no criticality on the particular shape of the chambers and only states that they are sized to accommodate the movement of the valve and vanes within the device, which does not reach the threshold of criticality . Regarding the location of the register, when the only difference between the claims and the prior art is the position of a claimed element, and rearrangement of the element would not modify the operation of the claimed device, than the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see MPEP 2144.04.VI.C). In the instant case, Pu is silent as to the particular location of the vent within the cabin, but modifying Pu so that it is positioned on the dashboard and oriented so that the horizontal vanes direct air to a first and second lateral sides of the interior of the cabin would not modify the operation of the vent of Pu and further Applicant has placed no criticality on the relative location of the vent within the cabin. Regarding claim 20, Pu as modified teaches of the vehicle of claim 19, and Pu as modified further teaches of: wherein the air selectively flowing from the control jet intersects the air flowing from the main jet to redirect the air flowing from the main jet (Figs. 1-2, see air from the control jet A and air from the main jet B intersecting and creating air C) Claim(s) 8-10 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pu (CN 110126589 A) in view of Gong (CN 212796467 U) and Thompson (US 3279883 A). Regarding claim 8, Pu teaches of the air register assembly of claim 7, however, Pu fails to explicitly teach: further including: a slat coupled with the main jet, wherein the slat divides the main jet. Gong teaches of: further including: a slat coupled with the main jet, wherein the slat divides the main jet (see annotated version of Fig. 2 of Gong below) The primary reference can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows: add a slat to the main jet of Pu so that it is positioned downstream from the plurality of vanes A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because: adding a slat through a curved portion of a flow path reduces turbulence and more evenly distributes the air over the outlet (Thompson, Col. 2, lines 4-9, Disposed within connection 15 are a plurality of curved turning vanes 16 which serve to minimize turbulence arising from change in the direction of flow of the air stream and to more evenly distribute air flow throughout plenum chamber 14. ) Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach of the air register assembly of claim 8, and the combined teachings further teach: wherein the slat is between the plurality of vanes and the rim (See modification made in the rejection of claim 7 above, the slat is positioned between the vanes 32 and the rim of Pu) Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach of the air register assembly of claim 8, and the combined teachings further teach: wherein the slat reinforces where the main jet directs the air (see combination and rationale in the rejection of claim 7 above, the slat is positioned to guide the air through the curved section of the main jet and reduces turbulence and therefore would reinforce where the main jet direct the air) Regarding claim 15, Pu as modified teaches of the air register assembly of claim 11, and Pu further teaches of: further including: a face plate extending between the control jet and the main jet where the air exits the control jet and the main jet, wherein a size of the face plate partially determines an angle of intersection between the air exiting the control jet and the air exiting the main jet, and wherein a shape of the face plate partially determines the angle of intersection between the air exiting the control jet and the air exiting the main jet (Figs. 1-2, 22 is a positioned between the control and main jet and the size and shape of 22 partially determine the angle of intersection between airflows A and B); a rim coupled with the control jet and the main jet where the air exits the control jet and the main jet (see annotated version of Fig. 1 of Pu below). Pu as modified fails to explicitly teach: a slat coupled with the main jet, the slat in front of the series of vanes Gong teaches of: a slat coupled with the main jet, the slat in front of the series of vanes (see annotated version of Fig. 2 of Gong below) The primary reference can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows: add a slat to the main jet of Pu so that it is positioned downstream from the plurality of vanes A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because: adding a slat through a curved portion of a flow path reduces turbulence and more evenly distributes the air over the outlet (Thompson, Col. 2, lines 4-9, Disposed within connection 15 are a plurality of curved turning vanes 16 which serve to minimize turbulence arising from change in the direction of flow of the air stream and to more evenly distribute air flow throughout plenum chamber 14. ) Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach of the air register assembly of claim 15, and the combined teachings further teach of: wherein the control jet is concave toward the main jet between the first bulbous chamber and the rim, and wherein the control jet is convex toward the main jet at the first bulbous chamber (see annotated version of Fig. 1 of Pu below, Pu as modified has a bulbous first chamber in the control jet that would be convex to towards the main jet, and the control jet of Pu already angles downward and creates a concave shape towards the main jet) Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach of the air register assembly of claim 15, and the combined teachings further teach: wherein the main jet is concave toward the control jet between the second bulbous chamber and the rim, and wherein the main jet is convex toward the control jet at the second bulbous chamber (see annotated version of Fig. 1 of Pu bellow, Pu as modified has a bulbous second chamber in the main jet that would be convex towards the control jet, and the main jet of Pu is already angled upward creating a concave shape towards the control jet) Annotated Figures Annotated Fig. 1 of Pu Annotated Fig. 2 of Gong Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MICHAEL J GIORDANO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8940 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-Fr 8 AM - 5 PM EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Steve McAllister can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-6785 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL JAMES GIORDANO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /STEVEN B MCALLISTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762