DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-6, 11-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pendeyala (US 2023/0136131 A1) in view of Gariel (US 20230023069 A1).
As to claim 1, Pendeyala discloses in aircraft beacon light synchronization having claimed:
a. an automatic aircraft lighting control system, comprising: a control module configured to: receive imaging data from one or more cameras operatively associated with the aircraft; and automatically control external aircraft lights based on the imaging data read on ¶ 0007, (automated control of at least one exterior aircraft light may entail capturing or acquiring a first image (e.g., a real-time image that is outside of the aircraft) with a first camera that is at least partially disposed on an exterior of the aircraft or that is otherwise able to acquire images exteriorly of the aircraft. The first camera may be of any appropriate size, shape, configuration, and/or type, and at least part of the first camera may be disposed at any appropriate location on the exterior of the aircraft. This first image from the first camera may be transmitted to a trained image classification model, which may process the image (or portion thereof) to determine a first visibility classification for the captured image. Operation of at least one exterior aircraft light may be controlled at least in part based on this determined first visibility classification. The automation of activating at least one exterior aircraft light and the automation of controlling the subsequent operation of at least one exterior aircraft light (e.g. the intensity of light output from a given exterior aircraft light) may be used individually or in combination).
b. automatically control external aircraft lights based on the imaging data read on ¶ 0044-0047 and ¶ 0084, (the exterior aircraft lighting control system of any of examples 15-20, wherein said controller is configured to automatically operate said first exterior aircraft light based upon a visibility classification output from said trained image classification model. The exterior aircraft lighting control system of example 21, wherein said visibility classification output from said trained image classification model controls a magnitude of a light output from said first exterior aircraft light. The exterior aircraft light control protocol 220 may be configured to determine a visibility classification for a captured image 210 from each of the landscape camera 116 and the taxi aid camera 118 (e.g., captured images 210 from the cameras 116, 118 that have a common time stamp). In the event that the trained image classification model 130 determines a different visibility classification for these two different captured images 210, the protocol 220 may be configured to utilize the determined visibility classification that provides a higher intensity light output for activated ones (224) of the exterior aircraft lights 120, 122, 124 (e.g., if only the exterior aircraft light 120 has been activated, only its light output will be controlled in the noted manner; if only the exterior aircraft lights 120, 122 have been activated, only their respective light outputs will be controlled in the noted manner));
c. control external aircraft lights based on known exterior lighting requirements read on ¶ 0006, (such an assessment of the altitude data may be executed by a controller, and including without any required input or intervention by aircraft personnel. When an altitude condition is identified, at least one exterior light of the aircraft may be automatically activated, such as through the noted controller).
d. determining phase of flight of the aircraft based on received imaging data read on ¶ 0070 - 0072, (an altimeter 126 is also operatively interconnected with the automated controller 150, namely to provide altitude data to the automated controller 150. Image data from one or more of the cameras 116, 118, along with altitude data from the altimeter 126, may be used by the aircraft 100 to automatically control operation of each of the landing lights 120, taxi lights 122, and runway turnoff lights 124. Therefore, both altitude data (altimeter 126) and image data (cameras 116, 118) may be used by the automated controller 150. The trained image classification model 130 may utilize any appropriate processing arrangement/architecture. The classification algorithm(s) 136 may be stored in the memory 134 and is/are used by the trained image classification model 130 to classify images for use in controlling operation of the landing lights 120, taxi lights 122, and runway turn off lights 124 (e.g., for outputting a visibility classification for a given image for use by the automated controller 150 to control operation of the landing lights 120, taxi lights 122, and/or runway turnoff lights 124).
Pendeyala further discloses in ¶ 0081, (Real-time images/image data 202 captured/acquired by the landscape camera 116 or the taxi aid camera 118 (216) are transmitted to the trained image classification model 130 (212) in the case of the exterior aircraft lighting control protocol 200 of FIG. 6. The trained image classification model 130 determines the visibility classification of this image/image data 202 (212). Once this visibility classification has been determined (212) by the trained image classification model 130 and output to the automated controller 150, the corresponding exterior light control parameter(s) 144 (or more generally a control signal) are sent by the automated controller 150 to the landing lights 120, the taxi lights 122, and the runway turnoff lights 124 (218) such that these lights 120, 122, 124 provide a corresponding intensity of light output 206). Pendeyala does not explicitly recite the determined location and phase of flight of the aircraft, the determined phase of flight of the aircraft.
However, Gariel cures this deficiency by teaching that it may be beneficial:
d. the determined location and phase of flight of the aircraft, the determined phase of flight of the aircraft read on ¶ 0026, (the aircraft 100 may include one or more cameras 112 that acquire images of the runway 106 during approach. The aircraft validation system 110-1 may process images acquired by the camera(s) 112 and generate landing validation data that indicates a predicted landing location on the runway 106. In some implementations, the aircraft validation system 110-1 may include additional sensors that generate data (e.g., rotational orientation data) used to process the images and generate the landing validation data. For example, the aircraft validation system 110-1 may use orientation sensors (e.g., attitude sensors), such as an inertial measurement unit (IMU) 404-2 or attitude and heading reference system (AHRS) 404-3, to determine the rotational orientation of the aircraft 100 associated with the images (e.g., the rotational orientation at the time the images were taken). The landing validation data may include a variety of data, such as an image of the runway and a rendered predicted landing location (referred to also as a “rendered landing zone”) (e.g., see FIG. 3 and FIG. 15). In some implementations, the landing validation data may include runway feature data indicating the location of various runway features in an image, such as a centerline, runway numbers, runway markers, and runway thresholds (e.g., see FIG. 15)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to incorporate the vision-based landing system of Gariel into Pendeyala in order to provide safety by determining a predicted landing location of the aircraft in the second image based on the changes in locations of the common features to abort landing on the runway based on the predicted landing location relative to the runway.
As to claim 2, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein the control module is further configured to receive aircraft data from one or more aircraft systems and automatically control the external aircraft lights based on the aircraft data, read on ¶ 0006, (Such an assessment of the altitude data may be executed by a controller, and including without any required input or intervention by aircraft personnel. When an altitude condition is identified, at least one exterior light of the aircraft may be automatically activated, such as through the noted controller).
As to claim 3, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein the control module includes a situational awareness module configured to determine which external aircraft lights to activate and/or deactivate based on at least one of the imaging data and/or the aircraft data read on ¶ 0013 – ¶ 0018, (identifying a first altitude condition, said first altitude condition being that said altitude data is one of less than or no greater than a predetermined altitude, wherein said identifying is executed by a controller; activating a first exterior aircraft light in response to an existence of said first condition being identified, wherein said activating is executed by said controller; capturing a first image exteriorly of said aircraft; transmitting said first image to a trained image classification model; determining a first visibility classification for said first image using said trained image classification model; and controlling operation of said first exterior aircraft light based on said first visibility classification).
As to claim 4, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein the control module includes an image processing module configured to be operatively connected to the one or more cameras to receive imaging data therefrom, wherein the image processing module is connected to the situational awareness module to send image processing data thereto, wherein the situational awareness module is configured to receive the image processing data to output one or more control signals based on the image processing data read on ¶ 0070, (an altimeter 126 is also operatively interconnected with the automated controller 150, namely to provide altitude data to the automated controller 150. Image data from one or more of the cameras 116, 118, along with altitude data from the altimeter 126, may be used by the aircraft 100 to automatically control operation of each of the landing lights 120, taxi lights 122, and runway turnoff lights 124. Therefore, both altitude data (altimeter 126) and image data (cameras 116, 118) may be used by the automated controller 150).
As to claim 5, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein the imaging data includes at least one of weather data, flight phase data, location of aircraft data, obstruction data, and/or safety issue data read on ¶ 0070, (An altimeter 126 is also operatively interconnected with the automated controller 150, namely to provide altitude data to the automated controller 150. Image data from one or more of the cameras 116, 118, along with altitude data from the altimeter 126, may be used by the aircraft 100 to automatically control operation of each of the landing lights 120, taxi lights 122, and runway turnoff lights 124. Therefore, both altitude data (altimeter 126) and image data (cameras 116, 118) may be used by the automated controller 150).
As to claim 6, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein aircraft data includes at least one of engine data, altitude data, speed data, and/or aircraft weight on wheels data read on ¶ 0070, (An altimeter 126 is also operatively interconnected with the automated controller 150, namely to provide altitude data to the automated controller 150. Image data from one or more of the cameras 116, 118, along with altitude data from the altimeter 126, may be used by the aircraft 100 to automatically control operation of each of the landing lights 120, taxi lights 122, and runway turnoff lights 124. Therefore, both altitude data (altimeter 126) and image data (cameras 116, 118) may be used by the automated controller 150).
As to claim 11, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein the control module is configured to activate and/or deactivate the exterior aircraft lights based on known light settings for commercial aircraft external light systems, wherein the known light settings vary based on at least one of external light conditions, weather/visibility conditions, and/or phase of flight interference read on ¶ 0008, (automated control in accordance with the foregoing may be used in relation to any appropriate exterior aircraft light or combination of exterior aircraft lights (including simultaneous control of multiple exterior aircraft lights), such as landing lights, taxi lights, and runway turnoff lights. Landing lights, taxi lights, and runway turnoff lights enhance visibility for the pilot during operation of the aircraft, and automating one or more aspects relating to these particular lights during taxiing of the aircraft, during take-off of the aircraft, and during landing of the aircraft allows the pilot/crew to focus on operation of the aircraft).
As to claim 12, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein each of the exterior aircraft lights is controlled independently read on ¶ 0007, (automated control of at least one exterior aircraft light may entail capturing or acquiring a first image (e.g., a real-time image that is outside of the aircraft) with a first camera that is at least partially disposed on an exterior of the aircraft or that is otherwise able to acquire images exteriorly of the aircraft).
As to claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claim 1.
As to claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claim 1.
As to claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claim 1.
As to claim 17, Pendeyala discloses claim limitations as to claim 1. Pendeyala further discloses:
a. non-transitory computer readable medium including computer executable instructions for performing a method, the method comprising: receiving imaging data from one or more exterior aircraft cameras; sending the imaging data to an image processing module; receiving the image processing data and aircraft data within a situational awareness module; and determining when to activate/deactivate the exterior aircraft lights based on the image processing data and the aircraft data received within the situational awareness module read on ¶ 0080, (FIG. 6 illustrates an exterior aircraft lighting (or light) control protocol that may be utilized by the aircraft 100 and that is identified by reference numeral 200. Altitude data 204 from the altimeter 126 may be provided (210) to the automated controller 150. In the event that the altitude data 204 is determined by the automated controller 150 to be less than or no more than a predetermined value of any appropriate magnitude, the automated controller 150 will automatically turn on the landing lights 120, the taxi lights 122, and the runway turnoff lights 124 (212) - no intervention by any personnel of the aircraft 100 is required. As such, the protocol 200 may be configured such that the landing lights 120, the taxi lights 122, and the runway turnoff lights 124 will be automatically turned on (and remain on) while the aircraft 100 is on the ground and other than in a stationary/parked position, during takeoff, during landing of the aircraft 100, or any combination thereof. Once the aircraft 100 takes off and then reaches the noted predetermined altitude, the automated controller 150 will automatically turn off the landing lights 120, the taxi lights 122, and the runway turnoff lights 124 (214) - again, no intervention by any personnel of the aircraft 100 is required).
5. Claims 7-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pendeyala in view of Gariel and further in view of Li (US 2018/0265220 A1).
As to claim 7, Pendeyala in view of Gariel does not explicitly recite an exterior lighting control box configured to be operatively connected to the situational awareness module and configured to display a status of the exterior aircraft lights to flight crew.
However, Li in light emitting diode (LED)-based aircraft external lights and synchronization of the same on an aircraft cures this deficiency by teaching that it may be beneficial an exterior lighting control box configured to be operatively connected to the situational awareness module and configured to display a status of the exterior aircraft lights to flight crew read on ¶ 0007, (a status monitor is provided that is operably coupled to each of the first LED light source and the second LED light source and to associated LED operating circuits. The status monitor provides a status signal which is communicated via the PLC modem to a cockpit indicator and/or to a ground control device indicating the current operational status of the LED light source and the associate LED operating circuit.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was filed to incorporate the aircraft beacon light synchronization of Li into Pendeyala in view of Gariel in order to provide a light system operating condition status indication of the system provided to an in-cockpit display and provide a status signal which is communicated via the PLC modem to one of a cockpit indicator and a ground control device indicating the current operational status of each LED light source and the associated LED operating circuit.
As to claim 8, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein the exterior lighting control box includes a control panel having an automatic mode and a manual mode read on ¶ 0008, (Landing lights, taxi lights, and runway turnoff lights enhance visibility for the pilot during operation of the aircraft, and automating one or more aspects relating to these particular lights during taxiing of the aircraft, during take-off of the aircraft, and during landing of the aircraft allows the pilot/crew to focus on operation of the aircraft. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the aircraft may be configured to allow aircraft personnel (e.g., the pilot) to manually activate at least one exterior aircraft light and including to manually activate landing lights, taxi lights, and runway turnoff lights on a simultaneous basis).
As to claim 9, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein in the automatic mode the exterior aircraft lights are controlled solely by the control module without pilot interference read on ¶ 0008, (automated control in accordance with the foregoing may be used in relation to any appropriate exterior aircraft light or combination of exterior aircraft lights (including simultaneous control of multiple exterior aircraft lights), such as landing lights, taxi lights, and runway turnoff lights. Landing lights, taxi lights, and runway turnoff lights enhance visibility for the pilot during operation of the aircraft, and automating one or more aspects relating to these particular lights during taxiing of the aircraft, during take-off of the aircraft, and during landing of the aircraft allows the pilot/crew to focus on operation of the aircraft).
As to claim 10, Pendeyala further discloses:
a. wherein in the manual mode, the automatic mode can be overridden to manually control the exterior aircraft lights via an on/off switch on the control panel read on ¶ 0008, (notwithstanding the foregoing, the aircraft may be configured to allow aircraft personnel (e.g., the pilot) to manually activate at least one exterior aircraft light and including to manually activate landing lights, taxi lights, and runway turnoff lights on a simultaneous basis).
As to claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected as to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection that was necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Citation of pertinent Prior Arts
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Fekadeselassie Girma whose telephone number is (571) 270-5886. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday, 8:30 – 5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davetta W. Goins can be reached on (571) 272-2957. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Fekadeselassie Girma/
Primary Examiner Art Unit 2689