CTNF 18/545,124 CTNF 86639 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lustig [US 2023/0120781 A1] . Regarding claim 1, Lustig teaches a method of automated calibration for a LIDAR system of a mobile robot (systems and methods for calibrating LiDAR sensors of a robot using intersecting LiDAR sensors - 0003) , the method comprising: capturing a plurality of LIDAR measurements including a first set of LIDAR (calibration LiDAR) measurements as the mobile robot (generates a plurality of measurements - 0077) spins in a first direction at a first location, the first location being a first distance to a calibration target (figure 9, as the robot navigates along a route, each turn is considered a spin in that direction and its corresponding location; environmental objects are considered the calibration target – 0129-0130) ; processing the plurality of LIDAR measurements to determine calibration data (error measurement calculation – 0082, 0094) ; and generating alignment instructions for the LIDAR system based, at least in part, on the calibration data (fitted with servomotors of actuator units configured to adjust the orientation and position of the calibration LiDAR - 0127) (Controller 118 may coordinate and/or manage operative units 104, and/or set timings (e.g., synchronously or asynchronously), turn off/on control power budgets, receive/send network instruct ions and/or updates, update firmware, send interrogatory signals, receive and/or send statuses, and/or perform any operations for running features of robot 102 – 0053) ( configured to provide directional instruct ions for robot 102 to navigate – 0056) . Regarding claim 2, Lustig teaches detecting, by the LIDAR system, facets (surface of the wall – 0079, 0088, 0096) of the calibration target in an environment of the mobile robot. Regarding claim 3, Lustig teaches receiving information describing one or more characteristics of the calibration target (uneven surfaces or slanted surfaces – 0117, 0123) , wherein detecting the facets of the calibration target is based, at least in part, on the received information. Regarding claim 4, Lustig teaches detecting the facets of the calibration target comprises: generating, based on information received from the LIDAR system, a first set of clusters (scan groups – 0122, 0124, 0130) ; filtering the first set of clusters based, at least in part, on the received information (via digital filter - 0128) ; and detecting the facets of the calibration target based, at least in part, on the filtered first set of clusters (surface of the wall – 0079, 0088, 0096). Regarding claim 6, Lustig teaches the calibration target includes a plurality of facets, and processing the plurality of LIDAR measurements comprises detecting positions of edges of each of the plurality of facets of the calibration target (measuring points localizes the wall – figure 4A(i), 4A(ii), 0082, 0083) (also fig 2(i-ii) – 0072) . Regarding claim 8, Lustig teaches the mobile robot includes a base, the LIDAR system includes at least two LIDAR units arranged with overlapping fields-of-view in a same plane on the base of the mobile robot, and the first set of LIDAR includes LIDAR measurements from each of the at least two LIDAR units (figure 3, LiDARs located at different areas on the robot – 0077) , wherein processing the plurality of LIDAR measurements to determine calibration data comprises using pairs of LIDAR measurements from different LIDAR units to disambiguate one or more of pitch, roll and yaw of the LIDAR units (orientation (yaw, pitch , roll) - 0081, 0084, 0116, 0126) . Regarding claim 9, Lustig teaches the LIDAR system includes a plurality of LIDAR units arranged at different locations on the mobile robot (figure 3, LiDARs located at different areas on the robot – 0077) , and generating alignment instructions for the LIDAR system comprises displaying on a user interface (user interface units … may include a display - 0062) : an indication of which of the plurality of LIDAR units requires adjustment; and an amount of adjustment required to align a respective LIDAR unit (fitted with servomotors of actuator units configured to adjust the orientation and position of the calibration LiDAR - 0127) . Regarding claim 10, Lustig teaches an alignment of each of the plurality of LIDAR units is configured to be adjusted using a first adjustment mechanism and/or a second adjustment mechanism, and the amount of adjustment required to align the respective LIDAR unit comprises whether to adjust the first adjustment mechanism and/or the second adjustment mechanism and by how much (fitted with servomotors of actuator units configured to adjust the orientation and position of the calibration LiDAR - 0127) . Regarding claim 11, Lustig teaches each of the first adjustment mechanism and the second adjustment mechanism comprises a screw, and generating the alignment instructions for the LIDAR system comprises displaying on the user interface, an indication of how much to rotate one or both of the screws (servomotors – 0127) . Regarding claim 12, Lustig teaches determining whether the calibration data is within an acceptable threshold, wherein generating alignment instructions for the LIDAR system is only performed when it is determined that the calibration data is not within the acceptable threshold (selection threshold – 0078, 0094) (specification threshold – 0116, 0127) . Regarding claim 13, Lustig teaches receiving an indication that the LIDAR system has been aligned in accordance with the alignment instructions; capturing by the LIDAR system, a third set of LIDAR measurements; and validating that the LIDAR system is properly aligned based, at least in part, on the third set of LIDAR measurements (fitted with servomotors of actuator units configured to adjust the orientation and position of the calibration LiDAR - 0127) (Controller 118 may coordinate and/or manage operative units 104, and/or set timings (e.g., synchronously or asynchronously), turn off/on control power budgets, receive/send network instruct ions and/or updates, update firmware, send interrogatory signals, receive and/or send statuses, and/or perform any operations for running features of robot 102 – 0053) ( configured to provide directional instruct ions for robot 102 to navigate – 0056) . Regarding claim 14, Lustig teaches processing the plurality of LIDAR measurements to determine calibration data comprises simultaneously estimating roll, pitch and yaw of each of the LIDAR units in the LIDAR system (orientation (yaw, pitch , roll) - 0081, 0084, 0116, 0126) . Regarding claim 15, Lustig teaches capturing a plurality of LIDAR measurements comprises capturing the plurality of LIDAR measurements using a plurality of direct time-of-flight sensors arranged on a base of the mobile robot in a same plane (time of flight cameras – 0059, 0072, 0073) . Regarding claim 16, Lustig teaches capturing the plurality of LIDAR measurements further includes capturing a second set of LIDAR measurements as the mobile robot spins in a second direction at a second location, the second location being a second distance to the calibration target, wherein the first direction and the second direction are different and the second distance is different than the first distance (figure 9, as the robot navigates along a route, each turn is considered a spin in that direction and its corresponding location; environmental objects are considered the calibration target – 0129-0130) . Regarding claim 17, Lustig teaches a mobile robot (robot 102 - 0072) , comprising: a LIDAR system including a plurality of LIDAR units arranged in a same plane, at least two of the LIDAR units having overlapping fields-of-view (figure 3, LiDARs located at different areas on the robot – 0077) ; and at least one hardware processor configured to: control the mobile robot to capture a plurality of LIDAR measurements by controlling the LIDAR system to capture a first set of LIDAR measurements as the mobile robot spins in a first direction at a first location, the first location being a first distance to a calibration target (figure 9, as the robot navigates along a route, each turn is considered a spin in that direction and its corresponding location; environmental objects are considered the calibration target – 0129-0130) ; process the plurality of LIDAR measurements to determine calibration data (error measurement calculation – 0082, 0094) ; and generate alignment instructions for the LIDAR system based, at least in part, on the calibration data (fitted with servomotors of actuator units configured to adjust the orientation and position of the calibration LiDAR - 0127) (Controller 118 may coordinate and/or manage operative units 104, and/or set timings (e.g., synchronously or asynchronously), turn off/on control power budgets, receive/send network instruct ions and/or updates, update firmware, send interrogatory signals, receive and/or send statuses, and/or perform any operations for running features of robot 102 – 0053) ( configured to provide directional instruct ions for robot 102 to navigate – 0056) . Regarding claim 18, Lustig teaches a base, wherein the plurality of LIDAR units are arranged in the base (figure 3, LiDAR 304 and 302 mounted onto the robot – 0077) . Regarding claim 19, Lustig teaches the base has four sides, the LIDAR system includes a LIDAR unit arranged in the same plane on each of the four sides of the base, and the first set of LIDAR measurements includes LIDAR measurements from each of the LIDAR units in the LIDAR system (figure 3 shows side view of a robot with LiDAR sensors mounted, LiDAR 304 and 302 mounted onto the robot – 0077) . Regarding claim 20, Lustig teaches a controller for a mobile robot (systems and methods for calibrating LiDAR sensors of a robot using intersecting LiDAR sensors - 0003) , the controller comprising: at least one hardware processor configured to: control the mobile robot to capture a plurality of LIDAR measurements (calibration LiDAR) by controlling a LIDAR system arranged on the mobile robot (generates a plurality of measurements - 0077) to capture a first set of LIDAR measurements as the mobile robot spins in a first direction at a first location, the first location being a first distance to a calibration target (figure 9, as the robot navigates along a route, each turn is considered a spin in that direction and its corresponding location; environmental objects are considered the calibration target – 0129-0130) ; process the plurality of LIDAR measurements to determine calibration data (error measurement calculation – 0082, 0094) ; and generate alignment instructions for the LIDAR system based, at least in part, on the calibration data (fitted with servomotors of actuator units configured to adjust the orientation and position of the calibration LiDAR - 0127) (Controller 118 may coordinate and/or manage operative units 104, and/or set timings (e.g., synchronously or asynchronously), turn off/on control power budgets, receive/send network instruct ions and/or updates, update firmware, send interrogatory signals, receive and/or send statuses, and/or perform any operations for running features of robot 102 – 0053) ( configured to provide directional instruct ions for robot 102 to navigate – 0056) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Relevant Prior Art / Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pohl (US Patent Number 11,802,947 B1) discloses calibration of lidar angular offset through dynamic environment; Spletzer (US Patent Application Publication 2025/0218039 A1) discloses an extrinsic calibration of a vehicle-mounted sensor using natural vehicle features; CHUNG et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0103040 A1) discloses an extrinsic calibration method of multiple 3D lidar sensors for autonomous navigation system; Gillett (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0369641 A1) discloses a mobile robot and drone device configured to dynamically allocate one or more task objectives and handling objectives . 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RICKY GO whose telephone number is (571)270-3340 . The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m . to 5:30 p.m . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Arleen M. Vazquez can be reached on (571) 272-2619 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000 . /RICKY GO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 2 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 3 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 4 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 5 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 6 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 7 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 8 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 9 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 10 Art Unit: 2857 Application/Control Number: 18/545,124 Page 11 Art Unit: 2857