Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11 and 18 are objected to as it contrasts what is disclosed by the applicant's Figures. The figures do not show the two battery assemblies in series with each other. Rather, the 2nd battery assembly is in series with the DC-DC converter. The applicant's Figures even show the current values being distinct. For the batteries to be in series with each other, one of ordinary skill in the art understands the current values would be identical in a steady state. For purposes of examination, either the claimed "in series with” each other or the feature of Fig. [4] will be interpreted to be present. Amend to clarify.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Specification is objected to as it contrasts what is disclosed by the applicant's Figures. The figures do not show the two battery assemblies in series with each other. Rather, the 2nd battery assembly is in series with the DC-DC converter. The applicant's Figures even show the current values being distinct. For the batteries to be in series with each other, one of ordinary skill in the art understands the current values would be identical in a steady state. For purposes of examination, either the specification "in series with” each other or the feature of Fig. [4] will be interpreted to be present. Amend to clarify.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two battery assemblies in series with each other must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because part numbers are not present nor are symbols on majority of elements in Figs. [1-9]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The applicant may include a single paragraph in Specification summarizing part numbers as a workaround.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Duan et al. (US 20200055405 A1).
Independent claim 1, Duan teaches
A rechargeable energy storage system (10) (Figs. [1, 8], electrical power system, ¶’s [29, 47]) comprising:
a first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter; ¶[47]) having two first local nodes and two first inter-assembly nodes (Fig. [8]; the DC/DC converter is connected with two nodes), and the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter; ¶[47]) is operational to:
receive a first battery (63) (Fig. [8], the first battery unit) discharge power at the two first local nodes (Fig. [8]; the battery is connected with two nodes);
convert the first battery discharge power to a pack discharge power that is presented at the two first inter-assembly nodes while in a discharge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], the discharge power from the battery is transmitted to a DC/DC converter and a battery monitor 68 through the two nodes),
wherein the conversion of the first battery discharge power to the pack discharge power varies in response to a first control signal (see Fig. [9]; ¶’s [47, 48], the discharge power from the battery is converted by a DC/DC converter and controlled by direction signal 79 to balance the pack discharge power);
receive a pack charge power at the two first inter-assembly nodes (Fig. [8], a battery monitor 68 controlling the pack charge power is connected to a DC/DC converter through two nodes); and
convert the pack charge power to a first battery charge power that is presented from the two first local nodes while in a charge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], a battery having low power receives charging power and then its SOC level is balanced with the other batteries);
Duan also teaches a first battery assembly (63) (Fig. [8], the first battery unit) having a first state-of-charge and wired directly to the two first local nodes (see Fig. [8]; ¶[47], the first battery 63 having SOC is directly connected the two nodes);
a second battery assembly (64) (Fig. [8], the second battery unit) having a second state-of-charge, in communication with one of the two first inter-assembly nodes (see Fig. [8]; ¶[47], the second battery 64 having SOC is directly connected the two nodes), and operates in series with the first battery assembly (Fig. [8]; ¶[47]);
a first controller (70) (Fig. [8], controller) in communication with the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) and operational to generate the first control signal (79) (¶[48], direction signal) that varies the first DC-to-DC converter to balance the first state-of-charge with the second state-of-charge while in the discharge mode (see ¶’s [11, 32, 47], the controller and the DC/DC converter operates to balance the SOCs between the batteries in the system).
The applicant may argue that Figs. [1] and [8] do not describe the two separate battery assemblies but they describe only a single battery assembly including multiple batteries. However, in ¶[46] of specification, it says “Each battery assembly 150a-150b implements one or more battery modules and/or multiple battery cells. Each battery modules generally includes multiple battery cells.” Therefore, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, each battery unit (13) of Fig. [1] or each battery unit (63-67) of Fig. [8] of Duan is sufficient to meet the battery assembly limitation of the claim.
Fig. 1 (Duan)
Fig. 8 (Duan)
Dependent claim 2, Duan teaches
a second DC-to-DC converter (72) (Fig. [8], DC/DC controller) having two second local nodes and two second inter- assembly nodes (see Fig. [8]; ¶[47], the controller is connected to the battery monitor 68 through two local nodes and LV bus through the other two nodes), and the second DC-to-DC converter is operational to:
receive a second battery (64) (Fig. [8], battery unit) discharge power at the two second local nodes, wherein the second battery assembly is wired directly to the two second local nodes (Fig. [8], battery unit; ¶[47], the second battery 64 is directly connected the two nodes);
convert the second battery (64) (Fig. [8], battery unit) discharge power to the pack discharge power that is presented at the two second inter-assembly nodes while in the discharge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], the discharge power from the battery is transmitted to a DC/DC converter and a battery monitor 68 through the two nodes), wherein the conversion of the second battery discharge power to the pack discharge power varies in response to a second control signal (see Fig. [9]; ¶’s [47, 48], the discharge power from the battery is converted by a DC/DC converter and controlled by direction signal 79 to balance the pack discharge power);
receive the pack charge power at the two second inter-assembly nodes (Fig. [8], a battery monitor 68 controlling the pack charge power is connected to a DC/DC converter through two nodes);
and convert the pack charge power to a second battery charge power that is presented from the two second local nodes while in the charge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], a battery having low power receives charging power and then its SOC level is balanced with the other batteries);
a third battery assembly (65) (Fig. [8], battery unit) having a third state-of-charge, in communication with one of the two second inter-assembly nodes (see Fig. [8]; ¶[47], the third battery having SOC is directly connected the two nodes), and operates in series with the second battery assembly (Fig. [8]; ¶[47]); and
a second controller (Fig. [3], inner controller 1 to n, ¶[36]) in communication with the second DC-to-DC converter (Fig. [3], DC/DC converter 1 to n, ¶[36]) and operational to generate the second control signal that varies the second DC-to-DC converter to balance the second state-of-charge with the third state-of-charge while in the discharge mode (see ¶’s [11, 32, 47], the controller and the DC/DC converter operates to balance the SOCs between the batteries in the system).
Dependent claim 3, Duan teaches
a first adaptation module (68, 70) (Fig. [8], battery monitor, controller) in communication with the first battery assembly (63) (Fig. [8], battery unit), the second battery assembly (64) (Fig. [8], battery unit), and the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter), wherein the first adaptation module is operational to:
measure the first state-of-charge of the first battery assembly (¶[47]);
measure the second state-of-charge of the second battery assembly (¶[47]); and
generate a first target parameter based on the first state-of-charge and the second state-of-charge (¶’s [33-35], the controller sets target parameters of current and voltage),
wherein the first controller (70) (Fig. [8], controller) is further operational to vary the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) in further response to the first target parameter (see ¶’s [11, 32, 36]).
Dependent claim 4, Duan teaches
wherein: the first controller (70) (Fig. [8], controller) is further operational to: measure a feedback voltage at one of the two first inter-assembly nodes (¶[33], the controller measures a feedback voltage); and
vary the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) in further response to the feedback voltage; and the first target parameter is a voltage (see ¶’s [33-35], the controller sets a target voltage communicating with the DC/DC converter).
Dependent claim 5, Duan teaches
wherein: the first controller (70) (Fig. [8], controller) is further operational to: measure a feedback current flowing from the first battery assembly (63) (Fig. [8], battery unit) to the first DC-to-DC converter (¶[33], the controller measures a feedback current); and vary the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) in further response to the feedback current; and the first target parameter is a current (see ¶’s [33, 34], the controller sets a target current communicating with the DC/DC converter).
Dependent claim 6, Duan teaches
wherein the first adaptation module (68, 70) (Fig. [8], battery monitor, controller) is further operational to generate the first target parameter with a model predictive control technique (¶[42], there are various model 57 for the battery balancing based on the information from the vehicle and battery) based on the first state-of-charge and the second state-of-charge (see ¶’s [33-35], the controller sets a target voltage based on the SOC information between the batteries communicating with the DC/DC converter).
Dependent claim 7, Duan teaches
wherein the first battery assembly (12) (Fig. [1], a battery pack) has a different storage capacity (see ¶[29]) than the second battery assembly (20) (Fig. [1], a low-voltage battery).
Dependent claim 9, Duan teaches
wherein the first battery assembly (12) (Fig. [1], a battery pack) and the second battery assembly (20) (Fig. [1], a low-voltage battery) form part of a vehicle (11) (Fig. [1], vehicle, ¶[29]).
Independent claim 10, Duan teaches
A method for active battery state-of-charge balancing (abstract; ¶’s [11, 32, 39]) comprising:
receiving a first battery (63) (Fig. [8], the first battery unit) discharge power from a first battery assembly at two first local nodes of a first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter; the battery is connected with two node of the DC/DC converter), wherein the first battery assembly (63) (Fig. [8], the first battery unit) has a first state-of-charge and is wired directly to the two first local nodes (see Fig. [8]; ¶[47], the first battery having SOC is directly connected the two nodes);
converting the first battery (63) (Fig. [8], the first battery unit) discharge power to a pack discharge power that is presented at two first inter-assembly nodes of the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter; ¶[47]) while in a discharge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], the discharge power from the battery is transmitted to a DC/DC converter and a battery monitor 68 through the two nodes), wherein:
one of the two first inter-assembly nodes is in communication with a second battery assembly (64) (Fig. [8], the second battery unit; ¶[47], the second battery 64 is directly connected the two nodes);
the second battery assembly (64) (Fig. [8], the second battery unit) has a second state-of-charge (see ¶[47], the second battery has SOC);
the second battery assembly (64) (Fig. [8], the second battery unit) operates in series with the first battery assembly (Fig. [8]; ¶[47]); and
the converting of the first battery discharge power to the pack discharge power varies in response to a first control signal (see Fig. [9]; ¶’s [47, 48], the discharge power from the battery is converted by a DC/DC converter and controlled by direction signal 79 to balance the pack discharge power);
receiving a pack charge power at the two first inter-assembly nodes (Fig. [8], a battery monitor 68 controlling the pack charge power is connected to a DC/DC converter through two nodes); converting the pack charge power to a first battery charge power that is presented from the two first local nodes while in a charge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], a battery having low power receives charging power and then its SOC level is balanced with the other batteries); and
generating the first control signal (79) (¶[48], direction signal) with a first controller (70) (Fig. [8], controller) that varies the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) to balance the first state-of-charge with the second state-of-charge while in the discharge mode (see ¶’s [11, 32, 47], the controller and the DC/DC converter operates to balance the SOCs between the batteries in the system).
The applicant may argue that Figs. [1] and [8] do not describe the two separate battery assemblies but they describe only a single battery assembly including multiple batteries. However, in ¶[46] of specification, it says “Each battery assembly 150a-150b implements one or more battery modules and/or multiple battery cells. Each battery modules generally includes multiple battery cells.” Therefore, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, each battery unit (13) of Fig. [1] or each battery unit (63-67) of Fig. [8] of Duan is sufficient to meet the battery assembly limitation of the claim.
Dependent claim 11, Duan teaches
receiving a second battery (64) (Fig. [8], battery unit) discharge power at two second local nodes of a second DC-to- DC converter (72) (Fig. [8], DC/DC controller), wherein the second battery assembly is wired directly to the two second local nodes (Fig. [8], battery unit; ¶[47], the second battery 64 is directly connected the two nodes);
converting the second battery (64) (Fig. [8], battery unit) discharge power to the pack discharge power that is presented at two second inter-assembly nodes of the second DC-to-DC converter while in the discharge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], the discharge power from the battery is transmitted to a DC/DC converter and a battery monitor 68 through the two nodes),
wherein: one of the two second inter-assembly nodes is in communication with a third battery assembly (see Fig. [8]; ¶[47], the third battery 65 having SOC is directly connected the two nodes);
the third battery assembly (65) (Fig. [8], battery unit) has a third state-of-charge; third battery assembly operates in series with the second battery assembly (Fig. [8]; ¶[47], the third battery 65 having SOC is connected in series with the second battery 64); and
the conversion of the second battery (64) (Fig. [8], battery unit) discharge power to the pack discharge power varies in response to a second control signal (see Fig. [9]; ¶’s [47, 48], the discharge power from the battery is converted by a DC/DC converter and controlled by direction signal 79 to balance the pack discharge power);
receiving the pack charge power at the two second inter-assembly nodes (Fig. [8], a battery monitor 68 controlling the pack charge power is connected to a DC/DC converter through two nodes);
converting the pack charge power to a second battery charge power that is presented from the two second local nodes while in the charge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], a battery having low power receives charging power and then its SOC level is balanced with the other batteries);
and generating the second control signal with a second controller (Fig. [3], inner controller 1 to n, ¶[36]) that varies the second DC- to-DC converter (Fig. [3], DC/DC converter 1 to n, ¶[36]) to balance the second state-of-charge with the third state-of-charge while in the discharge mode (see ¶’s [11, 32, 47], the controller and the DC/DC converter operates to balance the SOCs between the batteries in the system).
Dependent claim 12, Duan teaches
measuring the first state-of-charge (¶[47]) of the first battery assembly (63) (Fig. [8], battery unit) with a first adaptation module (68, 70) (Fig. [8], battery monitor, controller); measuring the second state-of-charge (¶[47]) of the second battery assembly (64) (Fig. [8], battery unit); and
generating a first target parameter based on the first state-of-charge and the second state- of-charge (¶’s [33-35], the controller sets target parameters of current and voltage), wherein the varying of the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) is in further response to the first target parameter (see ¶’s [11, 32, 36]).
Dependent claim 13, Duan teaches
measuring a feedback voltage at one of the two first inter-assembly nodes (¶[33], the controller measures a feedback voltage), wherein: the varying of the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) is in further response to the feedback voltage; and the first target parameter is a voltage (see ¶’s [33-35], the controller sets a target voltage communicating with the DC/DC converter).
Dependent claim 14, Duan teaches
measuring a feedback current flowing from the first battery assembly (63) (Fig. [8], battery unit) to the first DC-to- DC converter (¶[33], the controller 70 measures a feedback current), wherein the varying of the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) is in further response to the feedback current; and the first target parameter is a current (see ¶’s [33, 34], the controller sets a target current communicating with the DC/DC converter).
Dependent claim 15, Duan teaches
wherein the generating of the first target parameter includes a model predictive control technique (¶[42], there are various model 57 for the battery balancing based on the information from the vehicle and battery) based on the first state-of- charge and the second state-of-charge (see ¶’s [33-35], the controller sets a target voltage based on the SOC information between the batteries communicating with the DC/DC converter).
Dependent claim 16, Duan teaches
wherein the first battery assembly (12) (Fig. [1], a battery pack) has a different storage capacity (see ¶[29]) than the second battery assembly (20) (Fig. [1], a low-voltage battery).
Independent claim 18, Duan teaches
A vehicle (11) (Fig. [1], vehicle, ¶[29]) comprising:
a battery pack (Fig. [8]; ¶[47], a battery pack has individual battery units 63-67) having a first battery assembly (63) (Fig. [8], the first battery unit), a second battery assembly (64) (Fig. [8], battery unit), and a first DC- to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter), wherein:
the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) has two first local nodes and two first inter- assembly nodes (Fig. [8]; the DC/DC converter is connected with two nodes), and the first DC-to-DC converter is operational to:
receive a first battery (63) (Fig. [8], the first battery unit) discharge power at the two first local nodes (Fig. [8]; the battery is connected with two nodes);
convert the first battery discharge power to a pack discharge power that is presented at the two first inter-assembly nodes while in a discharge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], the discharge power from the battery is transmitted to a DC/DC converter and a battery monitor 68 through the two nodes),
wherein the conversion of the first battery discharge power to the pack discharge power varies in response to a first control signal (see Fig. [9]; ¶’s [47, 48], the discharge power from the battery is converted by a DC/DC converter and controlled by direction signal 79 to balance the pack discharge power);
receive a pack charge power at the two first inter-assembly nodes (Fig. [8], a battery monitor 68 controlling the pack charge power is connected to a DC/DC converter through two nodes); and
convert the pack charge power to a first battery charge power that is presented from the two first local nodes while in a charge mode (Fig. [8]; see ¶[47], a battery having low power receives charging power and then its SOC level is balanced with the other batteries);
Duan also teaches the first battery assembly (63) (Fig. [8], the first battery unit) has a first state-of-charge and is wired directly to the two first local nodes (see Fig. [8]; ¶[47], the first battery having SOC is directly connected the two nodes);
the second battery assembly (64) (Fig. [8], the second battery unit) has a second state-of-charge, is in communication with one of the two first inter-assembly nodes (see Fig. [8]; ¶[47], the second battery having SOC is directly connected the two nodes), and operates in series with the first battery assembly (Fig. [8]; ¶[47]); and
a first controller (70) (Fig. [8], controller) in communication with the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) and operational to generate the first control signal (79) (¶[48], direction signal) that varies the first DC-to-DC converter to balance the first state-of-charge with the second state-of-charge while in the discharge mode (see ¶’s [11, 32, 47], the controller and the DC/DC converter operates to balance the SOCs between the batteries in the system).
The applicant may argue that Figs. [1] and [8] do not describe the two separate battery assemblies but they describe only a single battery assembly including multiple batteries. However, in ¶[46] of specification, it says “Each battery assembly 150a-150b implements one or more battery modules and/or multiple battery cells. Each battery modules generally includes multiple battery cells.” Therefore, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, each battery unit (13) of Fig. [1] or each battery unit (63-67) of Fig. [8] of Duan is sufficient to meet the battery assembly limitation of the claim.
Dependent claim 19, Duan teaches
a first adaptation module (68, 70) (Fig. [8], battery monitor, controller) in communication with the first battery assembly (63) (Fig. [8], battery unit), the second battery assembly (64) (Fig. [8], battery unit), and the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter), wherein the first adaptation module is operational to:
measure the first state-of-charge of the first battery assembly (¶[47]);
measure the second state-of-charge of the second battery assembly (¶[47]); and
generate a first target parameter based on the first state-of-charge and the second state-of-charge (¶’s [33-35], the controller sets target parameters of current and voltage),
wherein the first controller (70) (Fig. [8], controller) is further operational to vary the first DC-to-DC converter (71) (Fig. [8], DC/DC converter) in further response to the first target parameter (see ¶’s [11, 32, 36]).
Dependent claim 20, Duan teaches
wherein the first adaptation module (68, 70) (Fig. [8], battery monitor, controller) is further operational to generate the first target parameter with a model predictive control technique (¶[42], there are various model 57 for the battery balancing based on the information from the vehicle and battery) based on the first state-of-charge and the second state-of-charge (see ¶’s [33-35], the controller sets a target voltage based on the SOC information between the batteries communicating with the DC/DC converter).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rentel et al. (US 20210006075 A1).
Independent claim 1, Rentel teaches
A rechargeable energy storage system (Figs. [2, 7, 10, esp. 7, 10], a set of energy storage modules, ¶’s [8, 33, 47]) comprising:
first DC-to-DC converter (201, 1000) (Figs. [2, 10], DC/DC converter) having two first local nodes and two first inter-assembly nodes (Figs. [2, 10], a DC/DC converter has two first local nodes and two first inter-assembly nodes), and the first DC-to-DC converter is operational to:
receive a first battery (202, 1006) (Figs. [2, 10], energy storage module, e.g., a battery pack, ¶’s [7, 8, 47]) discharge power at the two first local nodes (Figs. [2, 10], the first battery is connected to the first DC/DC converter with the two local nodes);
convert the first battery discharge power to a pack discharge power (Figs. [2, 10]; ¶’s [4, 23], the DC/DC converter converts and regulates the necessary amount of energy out of the battery) that is presented at the two first inter-assembly nodes while in a discharge mode (Figs. [2, 10]; ¶’s [4, 23], the DC/DC converter has the other two nodes for an inter-assembly),
wherein the conversion of the first battery discharge power to the pack discharge power varies in response to a first control signal (Figs. [2, 10]; ¶’s [32, 33], the output of the DC/DC converter is controlled by a controller)
receive a pack charge power at the two first inter-assembly nodes (Figs. [2, 10]; ¶’s [4, 23], the DC/DC converter has two inter-assembly nodes); and
convert the pack charge power to a first battery charge power (Figs. [2, 10]; ¶’s [4, 23], the DC/DC converter converts and a charge power from a battery charger to the battery) that is presented from the two first local nodes while in a charge mode (Figs. [2, 10]; ¶’s [4, 23], the DC/DC converter has two local nodes);
Rentel also teaches first battery assembly (202, 1006) (Figs. [2, 10], energy storage module, e.g., a battery pack, ¶’s [7, 8, 47]) having a first state-of-charge and wired directly to the two first local nodes (see Fig. [10]; ¶[47], the first energy storage module 1006 has SOC and wired directly to the two local nodes);
second battery assembly (Figs. [2, 10], the second energy storage module) having a second state-of-charge (¶[47]), in communication with one of the two first inter-assembly nodes (Figs [7, 10]; ¶’s [45, 47], the switches of Fig. [7] demonstrates that the converter can either be used or bypassed for each of 1006, 1009 and 1010 of Fig. [10]), and operates in series with the first battery assembly (Figs. [2, 7, 10]; ¶’s [33, 47]); and
first controller (205, 1001) (Figs. [2, 10], controller) in communication with the first DC-to-DC converter (201, 1000) (Figs. [2, 10], DC/DC converter) and operational to generate the first control signal that varies the first DC-to-DC converter to balance the first state-of-charge with the second state-of-charge while in the discharge mode (Figs. [2, 7, 10]; ¶’s [32, 33], the output of the DC/DC converter is controlled by a controller; see ¶[47], the DC/DC converter adjusts and compensates the SOC differences between battery packs to balance SOCs).
Fig. 2 (Rentel)
Fig. 7 (Rentel)
Fig. 10 (Rentel)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan in view of Jorgensen et al. (US 20180251121 A1).
Dependent claim 8, Duan fails to explicitly teach
wherein the first battery assembly has a different chemistry than the second battery assembly.
Jorgensen teaches
wherein the first battery assembly (208) (Fig. [2], the first energy storage device) has a different chemistry (see ¶’s [72, 73]) than the second battery assembly (212) (Fig. [2], the second energy storage device).
Duan and Jorgensen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rechargeable energy storage system for vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan to incorporate the teachings of Jorgensen and provide a rechargeable energy storage system coupled with two battery assemblies having different chemistry because the claimed invention supplements the rechargeable energy storage system by connecting two battery assemblies of different chemistry which could be used to have two different voltage amount of battery assemblies to efficiently manage the electric power loads for high voltage load components and low voltage load components in the vehicle (see Fig. [1] of Duan, where the battery assemblies of different chemistry of Jorgensen would be included in the battery 20, which results in a predictable outcome that provides more efficient management of power loads for high voltage load components and low voltage load components in the vehicle).
Dependent claim 17, Duan fails to explicitly teach
wherein the first battery assembly has a different chemistry than the second battery assembly.
Jorgensen teaches
wherein the first battery assembly (208) (Fig. [2], the first energy storage device) has a different chemistry (see ¶’s [72, 73]) than the second battery assembly (212) (Fig. [2], the second energy storage device).
Duan and Jorgensen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of rechargeable energy storage system for vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Duan to incorporate the teachings of Jorgensen and provide a rechargeable energy storage system coupled with two battery assemblies having different chemistry because the claimed invention supplements the rechargeable energy storage system by connecting two battery assemblies of different chemistry which could be used to have two different voltage amount of battery assemblies to efficiently manage the electric power loads for high voltage load components and low voltage load components in the vehicle (see Fig. [1] of Duan, where the battery assemblies of different chemistry of Jorgensen would be included in the battery 20, which results in a predictable outcome that provides more efficient management of power loads for high voltage load components and low voltage load components in the vehicle).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Samuel S. Park whose telephone number is 571-270-3327. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Drew Dunn can be reached at 571-272-2312. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMUEL S. PARK/
Examiner, Art Unit 2859
10/13/2026
/JOHN T TRISCHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859