DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/04/2026 has been fully considered and entered into record. Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-22 remain pending in the application
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed 03/04/2026, regarding the rejection of the claims, particularly in view of Sun (US 2022/0248384) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Sun's COT-SI is a broadcast message describing the overall structure of the COT to all neighboring UEs identically. As Sun's own paragraph [0077] makes clear, UE 115a transmits the same COT-SI 601 to both UE 115b and UE 115c. The content of COT-SI 601- the remaining COT duration, the time and frequency resources of the COT, and the reserved resource region - is identical regardless of which neighboring UE receives it. Applicant further argues Sun's COT-initiating UE does not determine which specific resources each neighboring UE should use; it merely informs all neighbors of the overall COT structure, and the neighbors self-select their resources within the sharable regions. For these reasons, Applicant argues Sun's COT-SI does not contain any information that is specific to any particular receiving UE, nor does it indicate a sidelink resource that has been determined for any particular receiving UE, as required by the amended limitations of the claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., indicating non-identical, unshared resources to the second terminal device) are not recited in the claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Although the amended limitations require indication information that is “specific to the second terminal device,” Applicant’s arguments rely on the assumption that resource allocations “specific to the UE” are inherently unique and unshared. This assumption is not only false, it is explicitly contradicted by the disclosure of Sun.
The COT-SI message in Sun is not disclosed exclusively as a broadcast message. Sun explicitly teaches at [0066], “UE 115 a may instruct transmitter 316 to piggyback the COT-SI message with other transmission in a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast-type transmissions, such as part of sidelink control information 1 (SCI1) or SCI2.” At [0077], Sun teaches “UE 115 a may secure COT 602 within the shared communication spectrum of wireless communications system 60. . . UE 115 a may also determine a set of time and frequency resources defining a reserved set of resources, reserved resource region 603. UE 115 a may then transmit COT-SI 601 via SL message 600 to neighboring UEs, such as UEs 115 b and 115 c.” At [0078] Sun teaches that “by including the set of time and frequency resources defining reserved resource region 603, UE 115 a provides additional information to UEs 115 b and 115 c that defines a sharable FDM region and a sharable TDM region within COT 602. Other UEs, such as UEs 115 b and 115 c, can perform TDM sharing in the sharable TDM region, and FDM sharing in the sharable FDM region.” Although the resources may be shared between UEs 115b and 115c, which resources are shared still needs to be indicated to the devices, and the SL message 600 is still specific to neighboring UEs, particularly when UE 115a serves as an anchor for UE 115 b and UE 115 c, as disclosed in [0081]. Based on [0066], the SL message 600 could be interpreted as unicast or groupcast to UEs 115b and 115c. Therefore, the “COT-SI 601 via SL message 600 to neighboring UEs, such as UEs 115 b and 115 c” is specific to the second terminal device as required by the amended limitations.
Furthermore, Sun at [0085] teaches “reserved resource regions 607-610 may be reserved for transmissions by the initiating UE, UE 115 a, or for any UEs that are granted for transmission by UE 115 a. Thus, for example, UE 115 a may grant UE 115 c permission to transmit on restricted resource region 608. Therefore, while UEs 115 a and 115 c may transmit within restricted resource region 608, UE 115 b may only transmit in the sharable FDM region around restricted resource region 608 over the same time domain resources.” This paragraph explicitly teaches a reserved resource indication specific to UE 115 c may be included in COT-SI 601.
For these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and Sun continues to anticipate the claim limitations as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al (US 2022/0248384).
Regarding Claim 1, Sun teaches a communication method ([0069], Fig. 4, UE to implement a process 400 that provides COT-SI indication for NR-U SL operations), comprising:
accessing, by a first terminal device based on a listen before talk (LBT) process, a channel and determining a channel occupancy time ([0070], Fig. 4, At block 401, a UE establishes a current COT on a shared communication spectrum for UE transmissions in response to success of a LBT procedure);
determining, by the first terminal device, a sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time ([0072], Fig. 4, At block 402, the UE generates a COT-SI message including at least a remaining duration of the current COT and a set of time and frequency resources of the current COT. The execution environment of COT-SI generator 902 allows UE 115 to generate the COT-SI message for communicating structure information regarding the current COT to neighboring UEs for sidelink communications);
sending, by the first terminal device on the sidelink resource ([0066], UE 115 a may instruct transmitter 316 to piggyback the COT-SI message with other transmission in a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast-type transmissions, such as part of sidelink control information 1 (SCI1) or SCI2), first sidelink information to a second terminal device, or receiving, on the sidelink resource, second sidelink information from the second terminal device ([0073-0074], Fig. 4, At block 403, the UE transmits the COT-SI message to one or more neighboring UEs via sidelink transmission, At block 404, the UE transmits the UE transmissions within the set of time and frequency resources of the current COT); and
sending, by the first terminal device, first indication information or second indication information to the second terminal device ([0077], FIG. 6A is a block diagram illustrating wireless communications system 60 having UEs 115a-115c configured for COT-SI indications for NR-U SL operations according to aspects of the present disclosure. After performing a successful LBT procedure, UE 115a may secure COT 602 within the shared communication spectrum of wireless communications system 60. UE 115a determines the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 602. In generating the structure information for COT-SI 601, according to the illustrated aspect, UE 115a may also determine a set of time and frequency resources defining a reserved set of resources, reserved resource region 603. UE 115a may then transmit COT-SI 601 via SL message 600 to neighboring UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c. COT-SI 601 will include the remaining duration of COT 602, the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 602, and the set of time and frequency resources defining reserved resource region 603), wherein the first indication information indicates a time domain position of the sidelink resource, and the second indication information indicates a frequency domain position of the sidelink resource ([0078], By including the set of time and frequency resources defining reserved resource region 603, UE 115a provides additional information to UEs 115b and 115c that defines a sharable FDM region and a sharable TDM region within COT 602. Other UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c, can perform TDM sharing in the sharable TDM region, and FDM sharing in the sharable FDM region. UEs 115b and 115c will also know that reserved resource region 603 is not sharable and, thus, UEs 115b and 115c will not attempt access to the shared communication spectrum within COT 602 that falls within reserved resource region 603, [0085], reserved resource regions 607-610 may be reserved for transmissions by the initiating UE, UE 115 a, or for any UEs that are granted for transmission by UE 115 a. Thus, for example, UE 115 a may grant UE 115 c permission to transmit on restricted resource region 608. Therefore, while UEs 115 a and 115 c may transmit within restricted resource region 608, UE 115 b may only transmit in the sharable FDM region around restricted resource region 608 over the same time domain resources).
Regarding Claim 3, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information comprises L bits, and an ith bit in the L bits indicates whether the sidelink resource comprises an ith time unit in L time units, wherein i=1, 2, ..., or L, and L is a positive integer ([0058], COT-SI may include time domain information, such as COT duration. If the COT-SI is not present in the DCI message, the slot format indicator (SFI) may be used as COT duration. COT-SI may also include frequency domain information identifying the frequency range of the COT. Such frequency domain information may be provided via a resource block (RB) set indicator which may include one bit for each RB set, [0065], Such time and frequency resources may be indicated via a set of resource blocks (RBs) for the COT identified by a bit map, where each bit identifies an RB of the set. With the structure information on the current COT determined, UE 115a may, within the execution environment of COT-SI generator 308, generate a COT-SI message that includes the remaining COT duration and time and frequency resources of the current COT. UE 115a may then transmit the COT-SI message (e.g., SL message 380) using transmitter 316 for sidelink transmission).
Regarding Claim 4, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second indication information comprises M bits, and a jth bit in the M bits indicates whether the sidelink resource comprises a jth frequency unit in M frequency units, wherein j=1, 2, ..., or M, and M is a positive integer ([0058], COT-SI may include time domain information, such as COT duration. If the COT-SI is not present in the DCI message, the slot format indicator (SFI) may be used as COT duration. COT-SI may also include frequency domain information identifying the frequency range of the COT. Such frequency domain information may be provided via a resource block (RB) set indicator which may include one bit for each RB set, [0065], Such time and frequency resources may be indicated via a set of resource blocks (RBs) for the COT identified by a bit map, where each bit identifies an RB of the set. With the structure information on the current COT determined, UE 115a may, within the execution environment of COT-SI generator 308, generate a COT-SI message that includes the remaining COT duration and time and frequency resources of the current COT. UE 115a may then transmit the COT-SI message (e.g., SL message 380) using transmitter 316 for sidelink transmission).
Regarding Claim 5, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, by the first terminal device, the sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time comprises: determining, by the first terminal device based on one or more of: an identifier of the first terminal device ([0095], the other UEs, UEs 115b and 115c may compare the COT-SI transmitting source ID in order to identify that a later COT-SI (e.g., COT-SI 710 or COT-SI 806) has modified an earlier COT-SI (e.g., COT-SI 707 or COT-SI 802)), an identifier of the second terminal device ([0067], It should be noted that, while the previous description of COT establishment and communication of COT-SI to neighboring UEs was described with respect to UE 115a being the COT-initiating UE, the various aspects may also be implemented by other neighboring UEs, such as UE 115b. In such alternative example, UE 115b would establish the COT and communicate the COT-SI, such as via SL message 370, to UE 115a in a similar manner, see [0095] above), a quantity of terminal devices comprised in a terminal device set, or one or more time units occupied by the sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time ([0080], Fig. 6B, After performing a successful LBT procedure, UE 115a may secure COT 606 within the shared communication spectrum of wireless communications system 61. UE 115a determines the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 606. In generating the structure information for COT-SI 605, according to the illustrated aspect, UE 115a may also determine a set of time and frequency resources defining a reserved set of resources. The reserved set of resources may define multiple reserved resource regions 607-610 dispersed within the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 606. Each of reserved resource regions 607-610 may include a set of frequency domain resources (e.g., continuous subchannels, non-continuous interlaces, etc.) and a set of continuous time domain resources. COT-SI 605 would include identification of these resources that define each of reserved resource regions 607-610. UE 115a would transmit COT-SI 605 to the other UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c via SL message 604), wherein the terminal device set comprises the second terminal device, or the terminal device set comprises the second terminal device and the first terminal device ([0084], It should be noted that reserved resource regions 607-610 may be reserved for transmissions by the initiating UE, UE 115a, or for any UEs that are granted for transmission by UE 115a. Thus, for example, UE 115a may grant UE 115c permission to transmit on restricted resource region 608. Therefore, while UEs 115a and 115c may transmit within restricted resource region 608, UE 115b may only transmit in the sharable FDM region around restricted resource region 608 over the same time domain resources).
Regarding Claim 7, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, by the first terminal device, the sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time comprises: determining, by the first terminal device based on one or more of: an identifier of the first terminal device ([0095], the other UEs, UEs 115b and 115c may compare the COT-SI transmitting source ID in order to identify that a later COT-SI (e.g., COT-SI 710 or COT-SI 806) has modified an earlier COT-SI (e.g., COT-SI 707 or COT-SI 802)), an identifier of the second terminal device ([0067], It should be noted that, while the previous description of COT establishment and communication of COT-SI to neighboring UEs was described with respect to UE 115a being the COT-initiating UE, the various aspects may also be implemented by other neighboring UEs, such as UE 115b. In such alternative example, UE 115b would establish the COT and communicate the COT-SI, such as via SL message 370, to UE 115a in a similar manner, see [0095] above), a quantity of terminal devices comprised in a terminal device set, or a frequency unit occupied by the sidelink resource in one time unit ([0080], Fig. 6B, After performing a successful LBT procedure, UE 115a may secure COT 606 within the shared communication spectrum of wireless communications system 61. UE 115a determines the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 606. In generating the structure information for COT-SI 605, according to the illustrated aspect, UE 115a may also determine a set of time and frequency resources defining a reserved set of resources. The reserved set of resources may define multiple reserved resource regions 607-610 dispersed within the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 606. Each of reserved resource regions 607-610 may include a set of frequency domain resources (e.g., continuous subchannels, non-continuous interlaces, etc.) and a set of continuous time domain resources. COT-SI 605 would include identification of these resources that define each of reserved resource regions 607-610. UE 115a would transmit COT-SI 605 to the other UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c via SL message 604), wherein the terminal device set comprises the second terminal device, or the terminal device set comprises the second terminal device and the first terminal device ([0084], It should be noted that reserved resource regions 607-610 may be reserved for transmissions by the initiating UE, UE 115a, or for any UEs that are granted for transmission by UE 115a. Thus, for example, UE 115a may grant UE 115c permission to transmit on restricted resource region 608. Therefore, while UEs 115a and 115c may transmit within restricted resource region 608, UE 115b may only transmit in the sharable FDM region around restricted resource region 608 over the same time domain resources).
Regarding Claim 8, Sun teaches a communication method (Figs. 4, 6A), comprising: receiving, by a second terminal device, first indication information or second indication information that is specific to the second terminal device from a first terminal device ([0077], FIG. 6A is a block diagram illustrating wireless communications system 60 having UEs 115a-115c configured for COT-SI indications for NR-U SL operations according to aspects of the present disclosure. After performing a successful LBT procedure, UE 115a may secure COT 602 within the shared communication spectrum of wireless communications system 60. UE 115a determines the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 602. In generating the structure information for COT-SI 601, according to the illustrated aspect, UE 115a may also determine a set of time and frequency resources defining a reserved set of resources, reserved resource region 603. UE 115a may then transmit COT-SI 601 via SL message 600 to neighboring UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c. COT-SI 601 will include the remaining duration of COT 602, time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 602, and set of time and frequency resources defining reserved resource region 603),
wherein the first indication information indicates a time domain position of a sidelink resource determined for the second terminal device, the second indication information indicates a frequency domain position of the sidelink resource determined for the second terminal device ([0078], By including the set of time and frequency resources defining reserved resource region 603, UE 115a provides additional information to UEs 115b and 115c that defines a sharable FDM region and a sharable TDM region within COT 602. Other UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c, can perform TDM sharing in the sharable TDM region, and FDM sharing in the sharable FDM region. UEs 115b and 115c will also know that reserved resource region 603 is not sharable and, thus, UEs 115b and 115c will not attempt access to the shared communication spectrum within COT 602 that falls within reserved resource region 603, [0085], reserved resource regions 607-610 may be reserved for transmissions by the initiating UE, UE 115 a, or for any UEs that are granted for transmission by UE 115 a. Thus, for example, UE 115 a may grant UE 115 c permission to transmit on restricted resource region 608. Therefore, while UEs 115 a and 115 c may transmit within restricted resource region 608, UE 115 b may only transmit in the sharable FDM region around restricted resource region 608 over the same time domain resources), and
the sidelink resource determined for the second terminal device is determined by the first terminal device ([0066], UE 115 a may instruct transmitter 316 to piggyback the COT-SI message with other transmission in a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast-type transmissions, such as part of sidelink control information 1 (SCI1) or SCI2) in a channel occupancy time ([0072], Fig. 4, At block 402, the UE generates a COT-SI message including at least a remaining duration of the current COT and a set of time and frequency resources of the current COT. The execution environment of COT-SI generator 902 allows UE 115 to generate the COT-SI message for communicating structure information regarding the current COT to neighboring UEs for sidelink communications); and
sending, by the second terminal device on the sidelink resource, second sidelink information to the first terminal device, or receiving, on the sidelink resource, first sidelink information from the first terminal device ([0073-0074], Fig. 4, At block 403, the UE transmits the COT-SI message to one or more neighboring UEs via sidelink transmission, At block 404, the UE transmits the UE transmissions within the set of time and frequency resources of the current COT).
Regarding Claim 9, Sun teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the first indication information comprises L bits, and an ith bit in the L bits indicates whether the sidelink resource comprises an ith slot in L time units, wherein i=1, 2, ..., or L, and L is a positive integer ([0058], COT-SI may include time domain information, such as COT duration. If the COT-SI is not present in the DCI message, the slot format indicator (SFI) may be used as COT duration. COT-SI may also include frequency domain information identifying the frequency range of the COT. Such frequency domain information may be provided via a resource block (RB) set indicator which may include one bit for each RB set, [0065], Such time and frequency resources may be indicated via a set of resource blocks (RBs) for the COT identified by a bit map, where each bit identifies an RB of the set. With the structure information on the current COT determined, UE 115a may, within the execution environment of COT-SI generator 308, generate a COT-SI message that includes the remaining COT duration and time and frequency resources of the current COT. UE 115a may then transmit the COT-SI message (e.g., SL message 380) using transmitter 316 for sidelink transmission).
Regarding Claim 10, Sun teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the second indication information comprises M bits, and a jth bit in the M bits indicates whether the sidelink resource comprises a jth frequency unit in M frequency units, wherein j=1, 2, ..., or M, and M is a positive integer ([0058], COT-SI may include time domain information, such as COT duration. If the COT-SI is not present in the DCI message, the slot format indicator (SFI) may be used as COT duration. COT-SI may also include frequency domain information identifying the frequency range of the COT. Such frequency domain information may be provided via a resource block (RB) set indicator which may include one bit for each RB set, [0065], Such time and frequency resources may be indicated via a set of resource blocks (RBs) for the COT identified by a bit map, where each bit identifies an RB of the set. With the structure information on the current COT determined, UE 115a may, within the execution environment of COT-SI generator 308, generate a COT-SI message that includes the remaining COT duration and time and frequency resources of the current COT. UE 115a may then transmit the COT-SI message (e.g., SL message 380) using transmitter 316 for sidelink transmission).
Regarding Claim 11, Sun teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor with a program stored thereon ([0061], Fig. 2), wherein the program, when executed by the processor, enables the communications apparatus ([0069], Fig. 4, UE to implement a process 400 that provides COT-SI indication for NR-U SL operations) to perform:
accessing a channel, by a first terminal device based on a listen before talk (LBT) process and determining a channel occupancy time ([0070], Fig. 4, At block 401, a UE establishes a current COT on a shared communication spectrum for UE transmissions in response to success of a LBT procedure);
determining, by the first terminal device, a sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time ([0072], Fig. 4, At block 402, the UE generates a COT-SI message including at least a remaining duration of the current COT and a set of time and frequency resources of the current COT. The execution environment of COT-SI generator 902 allows UE 115 to generate the COT-SI message for communicating structure information regarding the current COT to neighboring UEs for sidelink communications); and
sending, by the first terminal device on the sidelink resource, first sidelink information to a second terminal device, or receiving, on the sidelink resource, second sidelink information from the second terminal device ([0073-0074], Fig. 4, At block 403, the UE transmits the COT-SI message to one or more neighboring UEs via sidelink transmission, At block 404, the UE transmits the UE transmissions within the set of time and frequency resources of the current COT);
wherein the program, when executed by the processor, further enables the communications apparatus to further perform: sending ([0066], UE 115 a may instruct transmitter 316 to piggyback the COT-SI message with other transmission in a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast-type transmissions, such as part of sidelink control information 1 (SCI1) or SCI2), first indication information and/or second indication information to the second terminal device ([0077], FIG. 6A is a block diagram illustrating wireless communications system 60 having UEs 115a-115c configured for COT-SI indications for NR-U SL operations according to aspects of the present disclosure. After performing a successful LBT procedure, UE 115a may secure COT 602 within the shared communication spectrum of wireless communications system 60. UE 115a determines the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 602. In generating the structure information for COT-SI 601, according to the illustrated aspect, UE 115a may also determine a set of time and frequency resources defining a reserved set of resources, reserved resource region 603. UE 115a may then transmit COT-SI 601 via SL message 600 to neighboring UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c. COT-SI 601 will include the remaining duration of COT 602, the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 602, and the set of time and frequency resources defining reserved resource region 603), wherein the first indication information indicates a time domain position of the sidelink resource, and the second indication information indicates a frequency domain position of the sidelink resource ([0078], By including the set of time and frequency resources defining reserved resource region 603, UE 115a provides additional information to UEs 115b and 115c that defines a sharable FDM region and a sharable TDM region within COT 602. Other UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c, can perform TDM sharing in the sharable TDM region, and FDM sharing in the sharable FDM region. UEs 115b and 115c will also know that reserved resource region 603 is not sharable and, thus, UEs 115b and 115c will not attempt access to the shared communication spectrum within COT 602 that falls within reserved resource region 603, [0085], reserved resource regions 607-610 may be reserved for transmissions by the initiating UE, UE 115 a, or for any UEs that are granted for transmission by UE 115 a. Thus, for example, UE 115 a may grant UE 115 c permission to transmit on restricted resource region 608. Therefore, while UEs 115 a and 115 c may transmit within restricted resource region 608, UE 115 b may only transmit in the sharable FDM region around restricted resource region 608 over the same time domain resources).
Regarding Claim 13, Sun teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the first indication information comprises L bits, and an ith bit in the L bits indicates whether the sidelink resource comprises an ith time unit in L time units, wherein i=1, 2, ..., or L, and L is a positive integer ([0058], COT-SI may include time domain information, such as COT duration. If the COT-SI is not present in the DCI message, the slot format indicator (SFI) may be used as COT duration. COT-SI may also include frequency domain information identifying the frequency range of the COT. Such frequency domain information may be provided via a resource block (RB) set indicator which may include one bit for each RB set, [0065], Such time and frequency resources may be indicated via a set of resource blocks (RBs) for the COT identified by a bit map, where each bit identifies an RB of the set. With the structure information on the current COT determined, UE 115a may, within the execution environment of COT-SI generator 308, generate a COT-SI message that includes the remaining COT duration and time and frequency resources of the current COT. UE 115a may then transmit the COT-SI message (e.g., SL message 380) using transmitter 316 for sidelink transmission).
Regarding Claim 14, Sun teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the second indication information comprises M bits, and a jth bit in the M bits indicates whether the sidelink resource comprises a jth frequency unit in M frequency units, wherein j=1, 2, ..., or M, and M is a positive integer ([0058], COT-SI may include time domain information, such as COT duration. If the COT-SI is not present in the DCI message, the slot format indicator (SFI) may be used as COT duration. COT-SI may also include frequency domain information identifying the frequency range of the COT. Such frequency domain information may be provided via a resource block (RB) set indicator which may include one bit for each RB set, [0065], Such time and frequency resources may be indicated via a set of resource blocks (RBs) for the COT identified by a bit map, where each bit identifies an RB of the set. With the structure information on the current COT determined, UE 115a may, within the execution environment of COT-SI generator 308, generate a COT-SI message that includes the remaining COT duration and time and frequency resources of the current COT. UE 115a may then transmit the COT-SI message (e.g., SL message 380) using transmitter 316 for sidelink transmission).
Regarding Claim 15, Sun teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein determining the sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time comprises: determining, based on one or more of an identifier of the first terminal device ([0095], the other UEs, UEs 115b and 115c may compare the COT-SI transmitting source ID in order to identify that a later COT-SI (e.g., COT-SI 710 or COT-SI 806) has modified an earlier COT-SI (e.g., COT-SI 707 or COT-SI 802)), an identifier of the second terminal device ([0067], It should be noted that, while the previous description of COT establishment and communication of COT-SI to neighboring UEs was described with respect to UE 115a being the COT-initiating UE, the various aspects may also be implemented by other neighboring UEs, such as UE 115b. In such alternative example, UE 115b would establish the COT and communicate the COT-SI, such as via SL message 370, to UE 115a in a similar manner, see [0095] above), or a quantity of terminal devices comprised in a terminal device set, one or more time units occupied by the sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time ([0080], Fig. 6B, After performing a successful LBT procedure, UE 115a may secure COT 606 within the shared communication spectrum of wireless communications system 61. UE 115a determines the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 606. In generating the structure information for COT-SI 605, according to the illustrated aspect, UE 115a may also determine a set of time and frequency resources defining a reserved set of resources. The reserved set of resources may define multiple reserved resource regions 607-610 dispersed within the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 606. Each of reserved resource regions 607-610 may include a set of frequency domain resources (e.g., continuous subchannels, non-continuous interlaces, etc.) and a set of continuous time domain resources. COT-SI 605 would include identification of these resources that define each of reserved resource regions 607-610. UE 115a would transmit COT-SI 605 to the other UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c via SL message 604), wherein the terminal device set comprises the second terminal device, or the terminal device set comprises the second terminal device and the first terminal device ([0084], It should be noted that reserved resource regions 607-610 may be reserved for transmissions by the initiating UE, UE 115a, or for any UEs that are granted for transmission by UE 115a. Thus, for example, UE 115a may grant UE 115c permission to transmit on restricted resource region 608. Therefore, while UEs 115a and 115c may transmit within restricted resource region 608, UE 115b may only transmit in the sharable FDM region around restricted resource region 608 over the same time domain resources).
Regarding Claim 17, Sun teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 11, wherein determining the sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time comprises: determining, based on one or more of: an identifier of the first terminal device ([0095], the other UEs, UEs 115b and 115c may compare the COT-SI transmitting source ID in order to identify that a later COT-SI (e.g., COT-SI 710 or COT-SI 806) has modified an earlier COT-SI (e.g., COT-SI 707 or COT-SI 802)), an identifier of the second terminal device ([0067], It should be noted that, while the previous description of COT establishment and communication of COT-SI to neighboring UEs was described with respect to UE 115a being the COT-initiating UE, the various aspects may also be implemented by other neighboring UEs, such as UE 115b. In such alternative example, UE 115b would establish the COT and communicate the COT-SI, such as via SL message 370, to UE 115a in a similar manner, see [0095] above), or an quantity of terminal devices comprised in a terminal device set, or a frequency unit occupied by the sidelink resource in one time unit ([0080], Fig. 6B, After performing a successful LBT procedure, UE 115a may secure COT 606 within the shared communication spectrum of wireless communications system 61. UE 115a determines the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 606. In generating the structure information for COT-SI 605, according to the illustrated aspect, UE 115a may also determine a set of time and frequency resources defining a reserved set of resources. The reserved set of resources may define multiple reserved resource regions 607-610 dispersed within the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 606. Each of reserved resource regions 607-610 may include a set of frequency domain resources (e.g., continuous subchannels, non-continuous interlaces, etc.) and a set of continuous time domain resources. COT-SI 605 would include identification of these resources that define each of reserved resource regions 607-610. UE 115a would transmit COT-SI 605 to the other UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c via SL message 604), wherein the terminal device set comprises the second terminal device, or the terminal device set comprises the second terminal device and the first terminal device ([0084], It should be noted that reserved resource regions 607-610 may be reserved for transmissions by the initiating UE, UE 115a, or for any UEs that are granted for transmission by UE 115a. Thus, for example, UE 115a may grant UE 115c permission to transmit on restricted resource region 608. Therefore, while UEs 115a and 115c may transmit within restricted resource region 608, UE 115b may only transmit in the sharable FDM region around restricted resource region 608 over the same time domain resources).
Regarding Claim 18, Sun teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor with a program stored thereon ([0061], Fig. 2), wherein the program, when executed by the processor, enables the communications apparatus (Figs. 4 $ 6A) to perform: receiving, first indication information or second indication information from a first terminal device that is specific to the communication apparatus ([0077], FIG. 6A is a block diagram illustrating wireless communications system 60 having UEs 115a-115c configured for COT-SI indications for NR-U SL operations according to aspects of the present disclosure. After performing a successful LBT procedure, UE 115a may secure COT 602 within the shared communication spectrum of wireless communications system 60. UE 115a determines the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 602. In generating the structure information for COT-SI 601, according to the illustrated aspect, UE 115a may also determine a set of time and frequency resources defining a reserved set of resources, reserved resource region 603. UE 115a may then transmit COT-SI 601 via SL message 600 to neighboring UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c. COT-SI 601 will include the remaining duration of COT 602, the time and frequency resources (t×f) defining COT 602, and the set of time and frequency resources defining reserved resource region 603),
wherein the first indication information indicates a time domain position of a sidelink resource determined for the communication apparatus, the second indication information indicates a frequency domain position of the sidelink resource determined for the communication apparatus ([0078], By including the set of time and frequency resources defining reserved resource region 603, UE 115a provides additional information to UEs 115b and 115c that defines a sharable FDM region and a sharable TDM region within COT 602. Other UEs, such as UEs 115b and 115c, can perform TDM sharing in the sharable TDM region, and FDM sharing in the sharable FDM region. UEs 115b and 115c will also know that reserved resource region 603 is not sharable and, thus, UEs 115b and 115c will not attempt access to the shared communication spectrum within COT 602 that falls within reserved resource region 603, [0085], reserved resource regions 607-610 may be reserved for transmissions by the initiating UE, UE 115 a, or for any UEs that are granted for transmission by UE 115 a. Thus, for example, UE 115 a may grant UE 115 c permission to transmit on restricted resource region 608. Therefore, while UEs 115 a and 115 c may transmit within restricted resource region 608, UE 115 b may only transmit in the sharable FDM region around restricted resource region 608 over the same time domain resources), and
the sidelink resource is determined for the communication apparatus by the first terminal device ([0066], UE 115 a may instruct transmitter 316 to piggyback the COT-SI message with other transmission in a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast-type transmissions, such as part of sidelink control information 1 (SCI1) or SCI2) in a channel occupancy time ([0072], Fig. 4, At block 402, the UE generates a COT-SI message including at least a remaining duration of the current COT and a set of time and frequency resources of the current COT. The execution environment of COT-SI generator 902 allows UE 115 to generate the COT-SI message for communicating structure information regarding the current COT to neighboring UEs for sidelink communications); and
sending, on the sidelink resource, sidelink information to the first terminal device, or receiving, on the sidelink resource, sidelink information from the first terminal device ([0073-0074], Fig. 4, At block 403, the UE transmits the COT-SI message to one or more neighboring UEs via sidelink transmission, At block 404, the UE transmits the UE transmissions within the set of time and frequency resources of the current COT).
Regarding Claim 19, Sun teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the first indication information comprises L bits, and an ith bit in the L bits indicates whether the sidelink resource comprises an ith slot in L time units, wherein i=1, 2, ..., or L, and L is a positive integer ([0058], COT-SI may include time domain information, such as COT duration. If the COT-SI is not present in the DCI message, the slot format indicator (SFI) may be used as COT duration. COT-SI may also include frequency domain information identifying the frequency range of the COT. Such frequency domain information may be provided via a resource block (RB) set indicator which may include one bit for each RB set, [0065], Such time and frequency resources may be indicated via a set of resource blocks (RBs) for the COT identified by a bit map, where each bit identifies an RB of the set. With the structure information on the current COT determined, UE 115a may, within the execution environment of COT-SI generator 308, generate a COT-SI message that includes the remaining COT duration and time and frequency resources of the current COT. UE 115a may then transmit the COT-SI message (e.g., SL message 380) using transmitter 316 for sidelink transmission).
Regarding Claim 20, Sun teaches the communication apparatus according to claim 18, wherein the second indication information comprises M bits, and a jth bit in the M bits indicates whether the sidelink resource comprises a jth frequency unit in M frequency units, wherein j=1, 2, ..., or M, and M is a positive integer ([0058], COT-SI may include time domain information, such as COT duration. If the COT-SI is not present in the DCI message, the slot format indicator (SFI) may be used as COT duration. COT-SI may also include frequency domain information identifying the frequency range of the COT. Such frequency domain information may be provided via a resource block (RB) set indicator which may include one bit for each RB set, [0065], Such time and frequency resources may be indicated via a set of resource blocks (RBs) for the COT identified by a bit map, where each bit identifies an RB of the set. With the structure information on the current COT determined, UE 115a may, within the execution environment of COT-SI generator 308, generate a COT-SI message that includes the remaining COT duration and time and frequency resources of the current COT. UE 115a may then transmit the COT-SI message (e.g., SL message 380) using transmitter 316 for sidelink transmission).
Regarding Claim 21, Sun teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first terminal device adds the first indication information or the second indication information to sidelink control information (SCI) ([0066], UE 115 a may instruct transmitter 316 to piggyback the COT-SI message with other transmission in a unicast, groupcast, or broadcast-type transmissions, such as part of sidelink control information 1 (SCI1) or SCI2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (US 2022/0248384), in view of Tiirola et al (US 2020/0045733).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, Sun teaches the inventions according to claims 5 and 15 above,, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Tiirola further teaches wherein the determining, by the first terminal device, the sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time comprises: determining, by the first terminal device based on a value obtained in response to the identifier of the first terminal device or the identifier of the second terminal device being a modulo quantity of time units comprised in the channel occupancy time, a time unit for the sidelink resource in the channel occupancy time ([0130], wherein determining the identifiers for the hybrid automatic repeat request processes corresponding to each of the sub-channels in the one or more first transmission time intervals is based on the following: HARQ(m, x)=(HARQ.sub.start+(m−1)*X+x−1)mod HARQ.sub.max, where: m=1 . . . n, where n is a total number of the one or more first transmission time intervals; x=1 . . . X, where X is a total number of the plurality of sub-channels; HARQ.sub.max is a total number of hybrid automatic repeat request processes to be supported for the continuous wideband resource allocation; and HARQ.sub.start is a starting value for the identifiers, and m is for modulo operation, see also [0079-0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the adaptation of timing calculations for modular operation, as taught in Tiirola, in the system of Sun, in order to more efficiently support contention and scheduling.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (US 2022/0248384), in view of Wang (US 2022/0210827).
Regarding Claim 22, Sun teaches the method according to Claim 5, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches wherein the identifier of the second terminal device is determined based on an index of the second terminal device in the terminal device set ([0098], The COT structure information may contain/indicate information such as any combination of one or more of the following information: [0104] information that indicates the UEs (e.g., UE Identifiers (IDs)) that are allowed to share (i.e., use) the COT, [0105] information (e.g., indices) that indicates services, logical channels, logical channel groups, and/or channel access priority classes that are allowed to transmit within the COT).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate indices of which terminals are allowed access among the set, as taught in Wang, in the system of Sun in order to conserve resources and share one COT among a set of UEs efficiently.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641