DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 01/15/2026.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Shen US 2020/0366204.
Regarding Claim 1, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) a semiconductor device (fig. 7) comprising: a first switching circuit (left bridge) comprising a first set of switches (set 1) including four switches and a flying capacitor (C1); a second switching circuit (right bridge) comprising a second set of switches (set 2) including two switches (S2 and S8), wherein the first set of switches and the second set of switches have different numbers of switches (set1 and set2); and an inductor (L) connected between a first phase node (left phase node) of the first switching circuit to a second phase node (right phase node) of the second switching converter, wherein the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit are combined to implement a buck-boost voltage converter (par. 108) that performs DC to DC voltage conversion in a first direction (toward B terminal, par. 28) from the first phase node to the second phase node and DC to DC voltage conversion in a second direction (toward A, par. 28) from the second phase node to the first phase node. (For Example: Par. 32, 50 and 108-118)
Regarding Claims 2 and 8, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) wherein: the four switches comprises a first high-side (s3) switch, a second HS switch (s1), a first low-side switch(s7), and a second LS switch connected in series (s5, fig. 7); the first LS switch (s7) is connected between the second LS switch (s5) and ground (gnd); the second LS switch (s5) is connected between the first phase node (left phase node) and the first LS switch (s7); the first HS switch (s3) is connected between the first phase node (left phase node) and the second HS switch (s1); the second HS switch (s1) is connected between the first HS switch (s3) and a first voltage interface (a+); the flying capacitor (c1) is connected across the second LS switch (s5) and the first HS switch (s3); the two switches comprises a third LS switch and a third HS switch ( s2 and s8); the third LS switch (s8) is connected between the second phase node (right phase node) and ground (gnd); and the third HS switch (s2) is connected between the second phase node (right phase node) and a second voltage interface (b+). (For Example: Par. 32, 50 and 108-118)
Regarding Claims 3 and 9, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) wherein: a low-side switch (s8) in the second switching circuit is kept in an off state (during buck mode of right converter, see fig. 3); a high-side switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an on state (during buck mode of right side converter, see fig. 3); and the first switching circuit operates as a three-level buck voltage converter (par. 67-69). (For Example: Par. 32, 50 and 108-118)
Regarding Claims 4 and 10, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) wherein: the first switching circuit (right side bridge) is switched under a first sequence to output a low voltage range (buck mode); and the first switching circuit is switched under a second sequence to output a high voltage range (Boost mode). (For Example: Par. 67-73)
Regarding Claim 7, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) a system (at Figure 7) comprising: a controller (110); a circuit (11) comprising: a first switching circuit (left bridge) comprising a first set of switches (set1) including four switches (S1,s3,s5 and s7) and a flying capacitor (C1); a second switching circuit (right bridge) comprising a second set (set2) of switches including two switches (s2 and s8); and an inductor (L) connected between a first phase node of the first switching circuit to a second phase node of the second switching converter (left phase node and right phase node), wherein the first set of switches and the second set of switches have different numbers of switches (set1 and set2); wherein the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit are combined to implement a buck-boost voltage (par. 67-73) converter that performs voltage conversion in a first direction (toward B terminal, par. 28) from the first phase node to the second phase node and in a second direction (toward A terminal, par. 28) from the second phase node to the first phase node. (For Example: Par. 32, 50 and 108-118)
Regarding Claim 13, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) wherein the controller (110) is configured to control a charge rate and a discharge rate of the inductor (L) to operate the circuit as a buck-boost voltage converter (see fig. 3, buck/boost mode). (For Example: Par. 32, 50 and 108-118)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 11, 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Menzi US 20230268844 .
Regarding Claims 5, 11 and 17, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) an apparatus.
Shen does not teach wherein: a first LS switch and a second LS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an off state; a first HS switch and a second HS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an on state; and the second switching circuit is switched under a specific sequence to operate as a two- level boost voltage converter.
Menzi teaches (Figures 2-3) wherein: a first LS switch and a second LS switch in the first switching circuit (12) are kept in an off state (T’a1-T’a2, Fig. 3 when Uan is higher than Ufb in boost mode); a first HS switch and a second HS switch in the first switching circuit (Ta1-Ta2) are kept in an on state (Fig. 3); and the second switching circuit (13) is switched under a specific sequence to operate as a two-level boost voltage converter (boost converter operation of 13, par. 62). (For Example: Par. 57-69)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Shen to include wherein: a first LS switch and a second LS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an off state; a first HS switch and a second HS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an on state; and the second switching circuit is switched under a specific sequence to operate as a two- level boost voltage converter, as taught by Menzi, for a wide voltage and frequency range.
Regarding Claim 14, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) a system (at Figure 7) comprising: a controller (110); a circuit (11) comprising: a first switching circuit (left bridge) comprising a first set of switches (set1) including four switches (S1,s3,s5 and s7) and a flying capacitor (C1); a second switching circuit (right bridge) comprising a second set of switches (set2) including two switches (s2 and s8), wherein the first set of switches and the second set of switches have different numbers of switches (set1 and set2); and an inductor (L) connected between a first phase node of the first switching circuit to a second phase node of the second switching converter (left phase node and right phase node), wherein the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit are combined to implement a buck-boost voltage (par. 67-73) converter that performs voltage conversion in a first direction (toward B terminal, par. 28) from the first phase node to the second phase node and in a second direction (toward A terminal, par. 28) from the second phase node to the first phase node. (For Example: Par. 32, 50 and 108-118)
Shen does not teach a system comprising a battery.
Menzi teaches (Figures 2-3 and 15) a system (at Figure 7) comprising: a battery (703).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Shen to include a system comprising a battery, as taught by Menzi, to improve reliability by using different types of sources.
Regarding Claim 15, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) wherein: the four switches comprises a first high-side (s3) switch, a second HS switch (s1), a first low-side switch(s7), and a second LS switch connected in series (s5, fig. 7); the first LS switch (s7) is connected between the second LS switch (s5) and ground (gnd); the second LS switch (s5) is connected between the first phase node (left phase node) and the first LS switch (s7); the first HS switch (s3) is connected between the first phase node (left phase node) and the second HS switch (s1); the second HS switch (s1) is connected between the first HS switch (s3) and a first voltage interface (a+); the flying capacitor (c1) is connected across the second LS switch (s5) and the first HS switch (s3); the two switches comprises a third LS switch and a third HS switch ( s2 and s8); the third LS switch (s8) is connected between the second phase node (right phase node) and ground (gnd); and the third HS switch (s2) is connected between the second phase node (right phase node) and a second voltage interface (b+). (For Example: Par. 32, 50 and 108-118)
Regarding Claim 16, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) wherein: a low-side switch (s8) in the second switching circuit is kept in an off state (during buck mode of right converter, see fig. 3); a high-side switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an on state (during buck mode of right side converter, see fig. 3); and the first switching circuit operates as a three-level buck voltage converter (par. 67-69). (For Example: Par. 32, 50 and 108-118)
Regarding Claim 20, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) wherein the controller (110) is configured to control a charge rate and a discharge rate of the inductor (L) to operate the circuit as a buck-boost voltage converter (see fig. 3, buck/boost mode). (For Example: Par. 32, 50 and 108-118)
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen in view of Menzi US 20230268844 and Su US 20190393702.
Regarding Claims 6 and 12, Shen teaches a system.
Shen does not teach wherein: a first LS switch and a second LS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an off state; a first HS switch and a second HS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an on state; a first LS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an off state; a first HS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an on state; and the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit operate in a pass through mode to pass voltage in one of the first direction and the second direction.
Menzi teaches (Figures 2-3) wherein: a first LS switch and a second LS switch in the first switching circuit (12) are kept in an off state (T’a1-T’a2, Fig. 3 when Uan is higher than Ufb in boost mode); a first HS switch and a second HS switch in the first switching circuit (Ta1-Ta2) are kept in an on state (Fig. 3). (For Example: Par. 57-69)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Shen to include wherein: a first LS switch and a second LS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an off state; a first HS switch and a second HS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an on state, as taught by Su, for high efficiency by way of limited power loss due to heat or switching losses.
Shen as modified does not teach a first LS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an off state; a first HS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an on state; and the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit operate in a pass through mode to pass voltage in one of the first direction and the second direction.
Su teaches (Figures 1-3) a first LS switch (216) in the second switching circuit is kept in an off state (with path 248); a first HS switch (218) in the second switching circuit is kept in an on state (with path 248); and the first switching circuit (212 and 210) and the second switching circuit (216-218) operate in a pass through mode (par. 38) to pass voltage in one of the first direction (path 248) and the second direction. (For Example: Par. 28-40)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Menzi to include a first LS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an off state; a first HS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an on state; and the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit operate in a pass through mode to pass voltage in one of the first direction and the second direction, as taught by Su, for high efficiency by way of limited power loss due to heat or switching losses.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen and Menzi in view of Su US 20190393702.
Regarding Claim 18, Shen teaches the system.
Shen does not teach wherein the controller is configured to: maintain a first LS switch and a second LS switch in the first switching circuit in an off state; maintain a first HS switch and a second HS switch in the first switching circuit in an on state; maintain a first LS switch in the second switching circuit in an off state; maintain a first HS switch in the second switching circuit in an on state; and operate the circuit in a pass through mode to pass voltage in the first direction to charge the battery.
Menzi teaches (Figures 2-3) wherein: a first LS switch and a second LS switch in the first switching circuit (12) are kept in an off state (T’a1-T’a2, Fig. 3 when Uan is higher than Ufb in boost mode); a first HS switch and a second HS switch in the first switching circuit (Ta1-Ta2) are kept in an on state (Fig. 3). (For Example: Par. 57-69)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Shen to include wherein: a first LS switch and a second LS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an off state; a first HS switch and a second HS switch in the first switching circuit are kept in an on state, as taught by Su, for high efficiency by way of limited power loss due to heat or switching losses.
Shen as modified does not teach a first LS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an off state; a first HS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an on state; and the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit operate in a pass through mode to pass voltage in one of the first direction and the second direction to charge the battery.
Su teaches (Figures 1-3) a first LS switch (216) in the second switching circuit is kept in an off state (with path 248); a first HS switch (218) in the second switching circuit is kept in an on state (with path 248); and the first switching circuit (212 and 210) and the second switching circuit (216-218) operate in a pass through mode (par. 38) to pass voltage in one of the first direction (path 248) and the second direction to charge the battery (228). (For Example: Par. 28-40)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Menzi to include a first LS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an off state; a first HS switch in the second switching circuit is kept in an on state; and the first switching circuit and the second switching circuit operate in a pass through mode to pass voltage in one of the first direction and the second direction to charge the battery, as taught by Su, for high efficiency by way of limited power loss due to heat or switching losses.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen and Menzi in view of Lim US 2017/0279284.
Regarding Claim 19, Shen teaches (Figure 3-7) the system.
Menzi does not teach further comprising a load, wherein the controller is configured to turn off the four switches in the first switching circuit and turn off the two switches in the second switching circuit to discharge the battery to the load under an on-the-go (OTG) mode.
Lim teaches (Figures 1-2) further comprising a load (at 116c), wherein the controller is configured to turn off the four switches in the first switching circuit (202, par. 30) and turn off the two switches in the second switching circuit (204 with beft2 off) to discharge the battery to the load under an on-the-go (OTG) mode (Par. 30 recites “In a sixth operational scenario, only the input voltage (VIN2) at the second USB-C-2 connector is present. Thus, if the second battery charger 204 is not in the CC mode and the second battery transistor switch BFET2 is turned off, then only the battery stack or cells 219 can supply the VSYS load via BFET1.”). (For Example: Par. 28-40)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Menzi to include further comprising a load, wherein the controller is configured to turn off the four switches in the first switching circuit and turn off the two switches in the second switching circuit to discharge the battery to the load under an on-the-go (OTG) mode, as taught by Su, to significantly increase the battery charging speed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that “Shen does not disclose or suggest "a first switching circuit comprising a first set of switches including four switches, and a flying capacitor" and "a second switching circuit comprising a second set of switches including two switches, wherein the first set of switches and the second set of switches have different numbers of switches (emphasis added)" recited in claim 1.” However, the examiner is entitled to the broadest reasonable interpretation. In this case, the claims are not limited to only two switches included in the second switching circuit. The claim mention that the second switching circuit comprising a second set of switches including switches but the claims also don’t mention that the circuitry only has 1 set. Therefore, the Shen references meets the claim language see figure below. Examiner’s Note: The claim limitations of only two switches can be met by new prior art Kumar and Mondal see PTO-892.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838