Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions from Groups I to VII is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
Embodiment 1 drawn to a butterfly elastic sheet (four-inch-iron drum) (Fig.5,6 and 11)
Embodiment 2 drawn to a power box (drum free mounting) (Fig.8 and 12)
Embodiment 3 drawn to a V shaped spring (six-inch-iron drum) (Fig.10-11)
Embodiment 4 drawn to mounting with a J-box (considered as a universal junction box)
The species are independent or distinct because as claimed each species requires mutually exclusive features as set forth above.
The restriction is rewritten to include the embodiment 6 into embodiment 1, as they are the same; the embodiment 7 into embodiment 3, as they are the same; the embodiment 8 into embodiment 2, as they are the same, and the scope of the restriction has not been modified.
Applicant has elected embodiment 3 drawn to a V shaped spring (six-inch-iron drum) with traverse.
The arguments made by the Applicant regarding the embodiments is not found to be persuasive, since each of the embodiments above are mutually exclusive, meaning, they are not add-on elements. For example: The butterfly elastic sheet needs to be removed, and then replaced by either the power box, V shaped spring or the J-Box. They all cannot be used at the same time, as they are mutually exclusive and each one is a separate embodiment, that is independently and separately fixed to the same fixing elements 23, 24 and 25 of the mounting disk 2. All the four elements, that is: the butterfly elastic sheet, the power box, V shaped spring and the J-Box, cannot all at the same time be fixed to the 23, 24 and 25. As they are different embodiments or inventions, and are used mutually exclusively. The EVA ring has been removed from the restriction requirement.
Therefore, Embodiment 3 drawn to a V shaped spring (six-inch-iron drum) (Fig.10-11) is considered for examination.
Claims 5 and 22 pertaining to the J-box mounting member, claims 6 and 24-25 pertaining to the butterfly mounting member, claims 7 and 23 pertaining to the power box mounting member are withdrawn from consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, for claim 28,
the drum claimed as a “second drum” and “a six-inch iron drum”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) 4,8,21,27 and 28.
None of the drawings show the drum pertaining to the claimed “second drum” and “a six-inch iron drum”
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
before the effective filing date.
Claims 1-4, 10 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 209511741 U) in view of He (CN 216924166 U)
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a down lamp, comprising a lamp body (Fig.2 OR Fig.3; element 1 of Fig.2 OR elements 11 to 24 of Fig.3) and a mounting disk (2 and 4 of Fig.2 or 25 of Fig.3) , wherein the lamp body (elements 11 to 24) comprises an outer shell; a light source plate is arranged inside the outer shell; a diffusion cover is connected below the outer shell (see in Xu: the small night light lighting module 1 is an annular structure, comprising an annular front cover 11, an annular diffusion plate 12 the light guide plate 13, an annular reflecting 14, annular small night lamp strip 15 and the annular rear cover 16, an annular front cover 11. after the annular diffuser plate 12, the annular light guide plate 13, an annular reflecting 14 and annular cover 16 are overlapped); a driving shell 3 (power supply box 3) located outside the driving plate is mounted on the upper surface of the outer shell; a concave cavity (the concave shape shown in 1 in Fig.2) is arranged on the upper surface of the outer shell; a side wall of the concave cavity is connected to two symmetrically arranged fastening edges (the depression in element 1 in Fig.2) ; two steps (protrusions of 2 in Fig.2) corresponding to the fastening edges are connected to a periphery of the mounting disk; and the mounting disk is formed with a screw hole and positioning slots (see slots and screw holes in 4 in Fig.2).
Xu does not teach: a driving plate is mounted in a middle position of an upper surface of the outer shell.
However, Xu already teaches a driver supply box 3, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a driver plate in the base of the driver box of Xu, in order to connect the driving electronic elements to the light source board.
Further, Xu does not teach a screw hole and positioning slots are compatible with two or more different mounting members; wherein the mounting disk is configured to be connected to a selected mounting member of the different mounting members through the screw hole or a combination of the screw hole and a positioning slot of the positioning slots.
He discloses: a screw hole and positioning slots are compatible with two or more different mounting members; wherein the mounting disk is configured to be connected to a selected mounting member of the different mounting members through the screw hole or a combination of the screw hole and a positioning slot of the positioning slots in:
Common structure comprising at least one first mounting hole, multiple groups of second mounting holes and multiple groups of locking holes; the mounting board is suitable for mounting standard and compatible with the installation standard of North America, adapting different size standard, a sleeve structure to realize multiple installation modes coexist, without changing the main body structure, when using, according to different market, different mounting fittings, and the same set of arranged fitting, through the moving hole, realizing different installation box or different standard mounting, convenient for mounting the cylinder simply and fast. and save the development cost and development period and greatly improves the production efficiency and the product market competitive power of the product.
AND
So that the first mounting hole group, mounting box (J-BOX) of second mounting hole groups of different can be assembled with different sizes, it does not need to change any fittings, only according to the actual installation, corresponding to different mounting hole can be convenient and simple, as shown in FIG. 2, can be assembled with North American and European 3 inches; 4 inch, 5 inch, 6 inch, 8 inch mounting box, the 3 inch, 4 inch, 5 inch, 6 inch, 8 inch mounting box mark are respectively 51, 52, 53, 54, 55. the mounting box is provided with a mounting head.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use various holes and slots as disclosed in He, in the device of Xu, in order to make the fixture compatible with North American and European 3 inches; 4 inch, 5 inch, 6 inch, 8 inch mounting boxes.
Regarding claim 2, Xu in view of He teaches a down lamp, wherein the steps are provided with limiting bulges, and limiting slots corresponding to the limiting bulges are arranged on the fastening edges (bulges on edges of 2 and slots on edges of 1 in Fig.2).
Regarding claim 3, Xu in view of He teaches a down lamp, wherein one end of each fastening edge is connected to a limiting block (bulges on edges of 2 and slots on edges of 1 in Fig.2).
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of He teaches a down lamp, wherein the positioning slots comprise a first positioning slot and a second positioning slot, the mounting disk is compatible with a first mounting member, a second mounting member, a third mounting member, and a fourth mounting member, and the mounting disk is configured to be selectively connected to: the first mounting member through the screw hole; the second mounting member through the screw hole and the first positioning slot; the third mounting member through the screw hole and the second positioning slot, wherein the third mounting member is adapted to be connected to a first drum of a first size; or the fourth mounting member through the screw hole and the second positioning slot, wherein the fourth mounting member is adapted to be connected to a second drum of a second size (from the citation of He in rejection of claim 1, also see disclosure of He in its entirely describing in detail, compatibility of the mounting disk for various sized mounting members based on the slots and holes arrangement in the mounting disk).
Regarding claim 10, Xu in view of He teaches a method for mounting the down lamp, comprising connecting the selected mounting member of the different mounting members to the mounting disk through the screw hole or the combination of the screw hole and the positioning slot; and connecting the lamp body to the mounting disk through cooperation between the fastening edges and the steps (from the combined teachings of Xu in view of He, also see rejection in claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, Xu in view of He teaches a method, wherein the steps are provided with limiting bulges, and limiting slots corresponding to the limiting bulges are arranged on the fastening edges (see rejection in claims 1-4 above).
Regarding claim 20, Xu in view of He teaches a method, wherein one end of each fastening edge is connected to a limiting block (see rejection in claims 1-4 above).
Regarding claim 21, Xu in view of He teaches a method, wherein the positioning slots comprise a first positioning slot and a second positioning slot, the mounting disk is compatible with a first mounting member, a second mounting member, a third mounting member, and a fourth mounting member, and the mounting disk is configured to be selectively connected to: the first mounting member through the screw hole; the second mounting member through the screw hole and the first positioning slot; the third mounting member through the screw hole and the second positioning slot, wherein the third mounting member is adapted to be connected to a first drum of a first size; or the fourth mounting member through the screw hole and the second positioning slot, wherein the fourth mounting member is adapted to be connected to a second drum of a second size (from the combined teachings of Xu in view of He, and from disclosure of He regarding compatibility of the light fixture with respect to the various mounting member sizes, also see rejection in claim 1 above).
Claims 8 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 209511741 U) in view of He (CN 216924166 U) and further in view of Huang (US 20200271281 A1)
Regarding claim 26, Xu in view of He teaches the invention set forth in claim 21 above, but is silent regarding the fourth mounting member is a V-shaped spring, the V-shaped spring is provided with a connecting block and a positioning block which correspond to the screw hole and the second positioning slot respectively; wherein connecting the V-shaped spring to the mounting disk comprises: inserting the positioning block of the V-shaped spring into the second positioning slot; and connecting the connecting block to the mounting disk through a screw and the screw hole.
Huang teaches the mounting member is a V-shaped spring (100 in Fig.9 and 1), the V-shaped spring is provided with a connecting block (wherein screw hole is shown in Fig.9) and a positioning block (wherein 101 in indicated in Fig.9) which correspond to the screw hole and the second positioning slot respectively; wherein connecting the V-shaped spring to the mounting disk comprises: inserting the
of the V-shaped spring into the second positioning slot; and connecting the connecting block to the mounting disk through a screw and the screw hole (also see the slots and screw holes in 70 wherein the V-shaped spring is attached using positioning block and screw holes).
Therefore, from the teachings of Huang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the V-shaped spring with appropriate positioning blocks and holes, in the device of Xu in view of He, in order to robustly attach it to the mounting disk.
Regarding claim 8, Xu in view of He teaches a down lamp that further comprises a ferrule cooperating with the second drum for mounting; and the ferrule is connected to one or more connecting buckles configured to be connected to the outer shell (elements 42 in Fig.9 of He) but does not teach the fourth mounting member is a V-shaped spring, the V- shaped spring is provided with a connecting block and a positioning block which correspond to the screw hole and the second positioning slot respectively.
Huang teaches the mounting member is a V-shaped spring (100 in Fig.9 and 1), the V-shaped spring is provided with a connecting block (wherein screw hole is shown in Fig.9) and a positioning block (wherein 101 in indicated in Fig.9) which correspond to the screw hole and the second positioning slot respectively
(also see the slots and screw holes in 70 wherein the V-shaped spring is attached using positioning block and screw holes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the V-shaped spring with appropriate positioning blocks and holes, from the teachings of Huang, in order to robustly attach it to the mounting disk.
Regarding claim 27, Xu in view of He and Huang teaches the method wherein the down lamp further comprises a ferrule cooperating with the second drum for mounting, and the ferrule is connected to one or more connecting buckles configured to be connected to the outer shell; wherein the method further comprises: sleeving the outer shell with the ferrule after connecting the lamp body to the mounting disk; connecting the ferrule to the outer shell through the connecting buckles; and performing connection to the second drum through the V-shaped spring (see rejection in claim 8 and 26 above).
Regarding claim 28, Xu in view of He and Huang teaches the method, wherein the second drum is a six-inch iron drum (from the teachings of He, see disclosure of He cited in rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 209511741 U) in view of He (CN 216924166 U) and further in view of DE (DE 202021000170 U1)
Regarding claim 9, Xu in view of He teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding a mounting slot is arranged on the upper surface of the outer shell located on an outer side of the concave cavity, and an ethyl vinyl acetate (EVA) ring is embedded into the mounting slot.
However, it is well known in the art to form a space or slot in the rim of any circular mounting element in a light fixture, wherein an EVA sealing ring is pressed.
DE teaches this feature with a sealing ring 240 (see in DE: Among these is the material of the sealing layer 240 EVA) in slot/groove formed by 211 in Fig.2 (also see claims of DE) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the sealing gasket in the slot of the mounting member of a light fixture, from the teachings of Winters, in order to robustly seal the light fixture.
Other art
US 20250001037 A1, US 20110170294 A1; CN 106969300 B;
US 20110170294 A1:
US 5741064 A:
US 20190063700 A1:
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875