DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeine et al., US2010/0315045 A1, and further in view of Kim et al., US2021/0351630 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Zeine teaches A method comprising: receiving, by a plurality of wireless power transmitters of a wireless power system, one or more beacon signals transmitted from one or more wireless power receivers of the wireless power system (par. 0040; A controller may prepare every transceiver to receive the beacon signal from the power receiver, (i.e., device to be charged). The device to be charged then sends out a beacon signal, (e.g., calibration signal that may be the same frequency of the phased array via, for example, a wireless communication between the array and the receiver to sync up their clocks), that traverses all open paths between the device to be charged and the power transmitter.); synchronizing, by the plurality of wireless power transmitters, a transmission of a plurality of high power signals (par. 0058; The communication block 630 transmits and receives data from a receiver over its respective antenna 660. The base signal clock 640 transmits the base signal to other controllers and may also send/receive transmissions to the receiver for synchronization.); and transmitting, by the plurality of wireless power transmitters, the plurality of high power signals as synchronized to the one or more wireless power receivers (par. 0060; The receiver 700 may then use this signal to synchronize a beacon signal, or calibration signal, that the receiver transmits back to the controller 600. It may also be noted that this technique may be utilized with multiple controllers as well. That is, where multiple transmission arrays are being utilized, the controllers may be synchronized with one another by utilizing a base frequency signal sent from one of the controllers.).
Zeine fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Kim teaches wherein each transmitter of the plurality of wireless power transmitters individually transmits a corresponding signal of the plurality of high power signals (par. 0058; The controller 200 may provide power that is required for the wireless power receivers 102 to transmit the information of the wireless power receivers 102 through the wireless power transmitters 103 in order to determine the number and arrangement of the wireless power receivers 102 disposed around the wireless power transmission system 101.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Zeine’s teachings with Kim’s teachings in order to provide power to a plurality of wireless power receivers using various sets of information associated with the wireless power receivers to provide power to the wireless power receivers more effectively (Kim, par. 0008).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 13. Zeine further teaches wherein each transmitter of the plurality of wireless power transmitters receives a corresponding beacon of one or more beacon signals from a receiver of the one or more wireless power receivers (par. 0050).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 13. Zeine further teaches wherein each transmitter of the plurality of wireless power transmitters shares information via an over-the-air baseband frequency by synchronizing the transmission of the plurality of high power signals (par. 0071).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 13. Zeine further teaches wherein the plurality of high power signals are transmitted at a same time to cause a higher power at the one or more wireless power receivers (Fig. 3B, par. 0039).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 13. Zeine further teaches wherein the plurality of high power signals are transmitted at offset frequencies from different transmitters of the plurality of wireless power transmitters (par. 0071).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 13. Zeine further teaches wherein synchronizing the transmission of the plurality of high power signals comprises synchronizing a power transfer frequency for the plurality of high power signals (par. 0060).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 13. Zeine further teaches wherein the plurality of wireless power transmitters determines whether the plurality of high power signals from different transmitters of the plurality of wireless power transmitters are coherent at the one or more wireless power receivers (par. 0071).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 13. Zeine further teaches wherein the plurality of high power signals are in phase (par. 0071).
Regarding claim 9, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claim 1. Zeine further teaches wherein the plurality of high power signals are coherent at the one or more wireless power receivers (par. 0071).
Regarding claim 10, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claim 1. Zeine further teaches wherein frequencies of the plurality of wireless power transmitters are synchronized to prevent a highest power delivery (par. 0061).
Regarding claim 11, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claim 1. Zeine further teaches wherein the wireless power system adds up the plurality of high power signals at the one or more wireless power receivers (par. 0037).
Regarding claim 12, Zeine and Kim teach all the limitations in claim 1. Zeine further teaches wherein a device to be charged comprises at least one receiver of the one or more wireless power receivers (par. 0040).
Regarding claim 13, Zeine teaches A wireless power system comprising a plurality of wireless power transmitters (Fig. 3A; the wireless power transmission system) configured to: receive one or more beacon signals transmitted from one or more wireless power receivers of the wireless power system (par. 0040; A controller may prepare every transceiver to receive the beacon signal from the power receiver, (i.e., device to be charged). The device to be charged then sends out a beacon signal, (e.g., calibration signal that may be the same frequency of the phased array via, for example, a wireless communication between the array and the receiver to sync up their clocks), that traverses all open paths between the device to be charged and the power transmitter.); synchronize a transmission of a plurality of high power signals (par. 0058; The communication block 630 transmits and receives data from a receiver over its respective antenna 660. The base signal clock 640 transmits the base signal to other controllers and may also send/receive transmissions to the receiver for synchronization.); and transmit the plurality of high power signals as synchronized to the one or more wireless power receivers (par. 0060; The receiver 700 may then use this signal to synchronize a beacon signal, or calibration signal, that the receiver transmits back to the controller 600. It may also be noted that this technique may be utilized with multiple controllers as well. That is, where multiple transmission arrays are being utilized, the controllers may be synchronized with one another by utilizing a base frequency signal sent from one of the controllers.).
Zeine fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Kim teaches wherein each transmitter of the plurality of wireless power transmitters individually transmits a corresponding signal of the plurality of high power signals (par. 0058; The controller 200 may provide power that is required for the wireless power receivers 102 to transmit the information of the wireless power receivers 102 through the wireless power transmitters 103 in order to determine the number and arrangement of the wireless power receivers 102 disposed around the wireless power transmission system 101.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Zeine’s teachings with Kim’s teachings in order to provide power to a plurality of wireless power receivers using various sets of information associated with the wireless power receivers to provide power to the wireless power receivers more effectively (Kim, par. 0008).
Conclusion
/AYODEJI O AYOTUNDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649