DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 19 December 2023.
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–3, 5–6 and 8–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aiken et al (US Pub. 2002/0143965).
Regarding claim 1, Aiken discloses receiving, by one or more processors, a data packet transmitted to a destination node by a source node, the data packet comprising a source node identifier, because Aiken receives a client request including source IP address and source port number (Aiken ¶[0099]; Fig. 7 Block 705; Fig. 3A fields 330, 340). Aiken discloses determin[ing] the source node identifier matches an affinity group in a forwarding table by comparing the source IP/port to affinity table entries 330, 335, and 340 (Aiken ¶[0063]–[0065]; Fig. 3A; Fig. 7 Block 715). Aiken further discloses rout[ing] the data packet to a network service stack that is assigned to the matched affinity group, by selecting the receiving/owning stack field 320 and forwarding the request (Aiken ¶[0100]; Fig. 7 Blocks 725–735).
Regarding claim 2, Aiken discloses the data packet further comprises a destination node identifier, since packets include destination IP address and destination port (Aiken ¶[0099]; Fig. 7 Block 710; Fig. 3A entries 310, 315).
Regarding claim 3, Aiken discloses determin[ing] the destination node identifier matches the affinity group in the forwarding table by matching destination IP/port to affinity entries 310 and 315 (Aiken ¶[0063]–[0064]; Fig. 3A; Fig. 7 Block 715).
Regarding claim 5, Aiken discloses determin[ing] the source node identifier matches the affinity group causes the one or more processors to compare the source node identifier to a collection of affinity groups, because affinity table 300 contains multiple entries including source identifiers and corresponding stacks (Aiken ¶[0063]–[0065]; Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Aiken discloses receiv[ing], from the network service stack, a processed data packet and rout[ing] the processed data packet to the destination node, because the processed response is returned and forwarded back to the requester (Aiken ¶[0100]; Fig. 7 Blocks 735–740).
Regarding claim 8, Aiken discloses retriev[ing], from the forwarding table, an identifier of a next hop to steer the data packet toward the assigned network service stack, by retrieving the receiving/owning stack field 320 and forwarding the packet accordingly (Aiken ¶[0100]; Fig. 3A; Fig. 7 Blocks 725–730).
Regarding claim 9, Aiken discloses rout[ing] the processed data packet back to the enforcement node using tunnels, since the processed response is routed over internal paths between the server/application stack and the balancer (Aiken ¶[0100]; Fig. 5; Fig. 7 Blocks 735–740).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 10–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Aiken (US Pub. 2002/0143965) in view of Zhan (US Pub. 2025/0062980).
Regarding claim 4, Aiken does not teach the source node is in a first domain and the destination node is in a second domain, nor that the destination node identifier indicates a region in the second domain. Zhan teaches explicit network domains, including creation of a first network domain (Zhan Fig. 1, S400) and depiction of multiple domains such as Q1 and Q2 (Zhan Fig. 3). Zhan further teaches region-like groupings and master/slave node relationships based on routing-table-derived metrics (Zhan Fig. 5; Fig. 6, ¶ [0026], [0145]). It would have been obvious to incorporate Zhan’s domain and region structures into Aiken’s affinity system to enable domain-aware routing.
Regarding claim 7, Aiken does not teach determining affiliation using a master forwarding table, nor determining whether the source node or the destination node is affiliated in such a table. Zhan teaches domain-wide, synchronized routing information used to establish domain membership and node roles (Zhan Fig. 1 S300; Fig. 7) and teaches determining node affiliation using this consolidated table-derived information (Zhan Fig. 5; Fig. 6, ¶ [0026], [0145])). It would have been obvious to combine Zhan’s domain-wide table structure with Aiken’s affinity matching.
Regarding claim 10, Aiken teaches a routing system including client (source) and server/application stack (destination) communicating through a workload balancer (Aiken ¶[0023]–[0025]; Fig. 1). Aiken teaches processors configured to receive a data packet transmitted to the destination node by the source node, the data packet comprising a source node identifier, because incoming client requests include source IP address and port (Aiken ¶[0099]; Fig. 7 Block 705; Fig. 3A fields 330, 340).
Aiken further teaches determin[ing] the source node identifier matches an affinity group in a forwarding table, because Aiken compares the source IP/port to affinity entries 330, 335, and 340 in affinity table 300 (Aiken ¶[0063]–[0065]; Fig. 3A; Fig. 7 Block 715).
Aiken also teaches rout[ing] the data packet to a network service stack that is assigned to the matched affinity group, by selecting receiving/owning stack 320 and forwarding the request (Aiken ¶[0100]; Fig. 7 Blocks 725–735).
However, Aiken does not teach a source node within a first domain and a destination node within a second domain. Zhan teaches explicit network domains, including creation of a first network domain (Zhan Fig. 1, S400) and depiction of multiple domains such as Q1 and Q2 (Zhan Fig. 3, ¶ [0026], [0145])). Zhan further teaches region-like groupings and node-role classification within domains based on routing-table–derived information (Zhan Fig. 5; Fig. 6).
A POSITA would have found it obvious to incorporate Zhan’s domain architecture into Aiken’s affinity-based routing to support domain partitioning of client nodes and service stacks, consistent with predictable use of known techniques in a related routing context. Therefore, claim 10 is unpatentable over Aiken in view of Zhan.
Regarding claim 11, Aiken further teaches the data packet includes a destination node identifier (Aiken ¶[0099]; Fig. 3A entries 310, 315).
Regarding claim 12, Aiken further teaches determin[ing] the destination node identifier matches the affinity group in the forwarding table, but because claim 12 depends from claim 10, claim 12 is also unpatentable over Aiken in view of Zhan.
Regarding claim 13, Aiken teaches compar[ing] the source node identifier to a collection of affinity groups (Aiken ¶[0063]–[0065]), but since claim 13 depends from claim 10, claim 13 is unpatentable over Aiken in view of Zhan.
Regarding claim 14, Aiken does not teach determin[ing] the destination node is located in a same region as the one or more processors, nor routing to a stack in that region. Zhan teaches region-like groupings and domain-based node clustering (Zhan Fig. 3; Fig. 5; Fig. 6, ¶ [0026], [0145])). Combining Zhan with Aiken would make it obvious to route packets to a service stack in the same region.
Regarding claim 15, Aiken does not teach determin[ing] the destination node is located in a different region nor routing accordingly. Zhan teaches distinguishing nodes inside and outside a domain (Zhan Fig. 3; Fig. 5; ¶ [0026], [0145])) and grouping nodes based on domain membership. It would have been obvious to use Zhan’s region/domain distinctions in Aiken’s routing.
Regarding claim 16, Aiken teaches processors executing stored instructions for receiving and routing packets (Aiken ¶[0023]–[0025]; Fig. 1). Aiken teaches receiv[ing] a data packet transmitted to a destination node by a source node, the data packet comprising a source node identifier, because incoming requests include source IP address and port (Aiken ¶[0099]; Fig. 7 Block 705; Fig. 3A fields 330, 340).
Aiken further teaches determin[ing] the source node identifier matches an affinity group in a forwarding table, by comparing the source IP/port to affinity entries 330, 335, and 340 (Aiken ¶[0063]–[0065]; Fig. 3A; Fig. 7 Block 715).
Aiken also teaches rout[ing] the data packet to a network service stack that is assigned to the matched affinity group, by selecting stack identifier 320 and forwarding accordingly (Aiken ¶[0100]; Fig. 7 Blocks 725–735).
However, Aiken does not teach instructions executing within a multi-domain networking context. Zhan teaches explicit construction of network domains (Zhan Fig. 1, S400), synchronization of routing tables across domain members (Zhan Fig. 1, S300; Fig. 7), and depiction of nodes distributed across separate domains (Zhan Fig. 3). Zhan further teaches domain membership determination and hierarchical node roles using routing-derived data (Zhan Fig. 5; Fig. 6, ¶ [0026], [0145])).
Integrating Zhan’s domain-aware architecture with Aiken’s affinity routing would have been an obvious improvement to support domain-based segmentation and scaling of routing decisions. Therefore, claim 16 is unpatentable over Aiken in view of Zhan.
Regarding claim 17, although Aiken teaches receiving and routing processed packets (Aiken ¶[0100]; Fig. 7 Blocks 735–740), because claim 17 depends from claim 16, claim 17 is unpatentable over Aiken in view of Zhan.
Regarding claim 18, Aiken does not teach the source node is in a first domain and the destination node is in a second domain, whereas Zhan teaches explicit multi-domain structures (Zhan Fig. 1; Fig. 3, ¶ [0026], [0145])). It would have been obvious to apply Zhan’s domain structure to Aiken. Therefore, claim 18 is unpatentable over Aiken in view of Zhan.
Regarding claim 19, Aiken teaches a destination identifier but not that it indicates a region in the second domain. Zhan teaches region determinations and domain-group relationships (Zhan Fig. 3; Fig. 5; Fig. 6). Combining Zhan’s region information with Aiken’s routing renders claim 19 obvious. Therefore, claim 19 is unpatentable over Aiken in view of Zhan.
Regarding claim 20, Aiken teaches compar[ing] the source node identifier to a collection of affinity groups (Aiken ¶[0063]–[0065]; Fig. 3A), but because claim 20 depends from claim 16, claim 20 is unpatentable over Aiken in view of Zhan.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure (see form 892).
/Luat Phung/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468