DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/09/2025, 04/25/2024 and 12/19/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 10, 11, 12, 15 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 lines 4, the occurrence of “trigger information” should be amended to ----“the SHR trigger information”---
In claim 1 lines 5, the occurrence of “the trigger information” should be amended to ----“the SHR trigger information”---
In claim 2 lines 12-13, the occurrence of “reconfiguration and synchronization” should be amended to ----“reconfiguration with synchronization”---
In claim 3 lines 4, the occurrence of “a target timer” should be amended to ----“the target timer”---
In claim 5 lines 3, the occurrence of “a timing value” should be amended to ----“the timing value”---
In claim 10 lines 2, the occurrence of “an SHR trigger condition” should be amended to ----“the SHR trigger condition”---
In claim 10 lines 3, the occurrence of “a one-to-one basis” should be amended to ----“the one-to-one basis”---
In claim 11 lines 5, the occurrence of “trigger information” should be amended to ----“the SHR trigger information”---
In claim 11 lines 6, the occurrence of “the trigger information” should be amended to ----“the SHR trigger information”---
In claim 12 lines 12-13, the occurrence of “reconfiguration and synchronization” should be amended to ----“reconfiguration with synchronization”---
In claim 15 lines 3, the occurrence of “a timing value” should be amended to ----“the timing value”---
In claim 20 lines 2, the occurrence of “an SHR trigger condition” should be amended to ----“the SHR trigger condition”---
In claim 20 lines 3, the occurrence of “a one-to-one basis” should be amended to ----“the one-to-one basis”---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belleschi et al. (provisional application No. 63/214482 filed on 06/24/2021) [hereinafter as Belleschi], US 2024/0388973 A1 in view of HUAWEI et al., "Discussion on other SON aspects", 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 #113b-e, Electronic Meeting, April 12- 20, 2021, R2-2103733 [hereinafter as Huawei/R2-2103733].
Regarding claim 1, Belleschi discloses wherein a successful handover report (SHR) generation method (Fig.1 [0012], a successful handover report (SHR) generation method and [0067] and Fig.3-4 [0081], a certain SHR was generated by triggering conditions), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by user equipment (UE), SHR trigger information configured by a
network-side device (Fig.1 [0006], a communication device/UE is receiving a SHR configuration from a first network node/network-side device and Fig.5 [0088]-[0089]),
wherein trigger information is used for at least one of following: enabling an SHR or setting an SHR trigger condition, and the trigger information contains a target time parameter for SHR generation (Fig.3-4 [0067], trigger information is used for configuring and setting in the SHR triggering condition and the trigger information includes the thresholds on T310/T312/T304 value i.e., a target time parameter for SHR generation based on the SHR configuration and Fig.3-4 [0083]-[0084], the trigger information includes a value for the “validity time” i.e., target time parameters provided in the SHR configuration).
Even though Belleschi discloses that the UE starts the “early HO timer” upon successful handover and the SHR configuration includes a validity timer and releasing the SHR configuration includes responsive to expiration of the validity timer, releasing the SHR configuration, in the same field of endeavor, Huawei/R2-2103733 teaches wherein trigger information is used for at least one of following: enabling an SHR or setting an SHR trigger condition, and the trigger information contains a target time parameter for SHR generation (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: proposal 15 … triggering conditions for generating an HO Success Report: a. The UE logs the HO success report if, while doing HO, T310 value exceeds a threshold b. The UE logs the HO success report if, while doing HO, T312 value exceeds a threshold c. The UE logs the HO success report if, while doing HO, T304 exceeds a threshold ... for T310, T312 and T304, any of them expires and connection failure occurs. Therefore, to reduce the signaling overhead when configuring the triggering condition, it is desirable to configure a common threshold for all of these three timers); and
configuring, by the UE, a target timer based on the target time parameter and generating a target SHR in a case that the target timer expires (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report and section 2.5 MRO for fast failure recovery: In R16, T312 was introduced for MCG. For example, when T310 in the PCell is running, the UE starts T312 which is configured when the measurement report is triggered, and when T312 expires the UE would perform RRC re-establishment rather than waiting for T310 expiry. Also, T312 was introduced for SCG. For example, when T310 in PSCell is running the UE starts T312 which is configured when the measurement report is triggered, and when T312 expires the UE would initiate SCG failure information rather than waiting for T310 expiry); wherein
a timing start point of the target timer is trigger time of a target event corresponding to the target SHR (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report. If the triggering condition is not configured, the UE will not record any information in case of successful HO and section 2.1.3. Parameters for SHR proposal 5: RLM related timers (e.g., T310, T312) – Measurements of reference signals used for RLM in terms of RSRP, RSRQ, SINR and Handover related timers (e.g., T304) – Measurement period indication, i.e., measurements are collected at handover trigger, at the end of handover execution or just after handover execution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Belleschi to incorporate the teaching of Huawei/R2-2103733 in order to provide SHR configuration. It would have been beneficial to use any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 which exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report and in R16, T312 was introduced for MCG. For example, when T310 in the PCell is running, the UE starts T312 which is configured when the measurement report is triggered, and when T312 expires the UE would perform RRC re-establishment rather than waiting for T310 expiry. Also, T312 was introduced for SCG. For example, when T310 in PSCell is running the UE starts T312 which is configured when the measurement report is triggered, and when T312 expires the UE would initiate SCG failure information rather than waiting for T310 expiry
as taught by Huawei/R2-2103733 to have incorporated in the system of Belleschi to provide for a more robust mobility. (Huawei/R2-2103733, section 2.1 Successful HO Report, section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions, section 2.1.3. Parameters for SHR proposal 5 and section 2.5 MRO for fast failure recovery)
Regarding claim 8, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the target timer comprises N timers, the target SHR comprises N types of SHRs, and the target time parameter comprises N time parameters, N being a positive integer (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report); wherein the N time parameters correspond to the N timers on a one-to-one basis, and the N timers correspond to the N types of SHRs on a one-to-one basis (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Regarding claim 9, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the target timer comprises N timers, the target SHR comprises N types of SHRs, and the target time parameter comprises M time parameters, N and M being positive integers and N > M (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report); wherein
each time parameter corresponds to at least one of the N timers, and the N timers
correspond to the N types of SHRs on a one-to-one basis (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Regarding claim 10, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 9 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the trigger information is at least used to set an SHR trigger condition, the trigger information further contains T identifiers, and the T identifiers correspond to T timers in the N timers on a one-to-one basis, T being a positive integer (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report); wherein
the T identifiers each correspond to a first time parameter m the M time parameters, and the first time parameter is used for configuring the T timers (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Regarding claim 11, Belleschi discloses wherein a terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform (Fig.10 [0134]-[0135], user equipment UE 1000 i.e., terminal comprising a processing circuitry 1002, a memory 1010, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the UE terminal to perform):
receiving successful handover report (SHR) trigger information configured by a
network-side device (Fig.1 [0006], a communication device/UE is receiving a SHR configuration from a first network node/network-side device and Fig.5 [0088]-[0089]),
wherein trigger information is used for at least one of following: enabling an SHR or setting an SHR trigger condition, and the trigger information contains a target time
parameter for SHR generation (Fig.3-4 [0067], trigger information is used for configuring and setting in the SHR triggering condition and the trigger information includes the thresholds on T310/T312/T304 value i.e., a target time parameter for SHR generation based on the SHR configuration and Fig.3-4 [0083]-[0084], the trigger information includes a value for the “validity time” i.e., target time parameters provided in the SHR configuration).
Even though Belleschi discloses that the UE starts the “early HO timer” upon successful handover and the SHR configuration includes a validity timer and releasing the SHR configuration includes responsive to expiration of the validity timer, releasing the SHR configuration, in the same field of endeavor, Huawei/R2-2103733 teaches
wherein trigger information is used for at least one of following: enabling an SHR or setting an SHR trigger condition, and the trigger information contains a target time
parameter for SHR generation (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: proposal 15 … triggering conditions for generating an HO Success Report: a. The UE logs the HO success report if, while doing HO, T310 value exceeds a threshold b. The UE logs the HO success report if, while doing HO, T312 value exceeds a threshold c. The UE logs the HO success report if, while doing HO, T304 exceeds a threshold ... for T310, T312 and T304, any of them expires and connection failure occurs. Therefore, to reduce the signaling overhead when configuring the triggering condition, it is desirable to configure a common threshold for all of these three timers); and
configuring a target timer based on the target time parameter and generating a target SHR in a case that the target timer expires (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report and section 2.5 MRO for fast failure recovery: In R16, T312 was introduced for MCG. For example, when T310 in the PCell is running, the UE starts T312 which is configured when the measurement report is triggered, and when T312 expires the UE would perform RRC re-establishment rather than waiting for T310 expiry. Also, T312 was introduced for SCG. For example, when T310 in PSCell is running the UE starts T312 which is configured when the measurement report is triggered, and when T312 expires the UE would initiate SCG failure information rather than waiting for T310 expiry); wherein
a timing start point of the target timer 1s trigger time of a target event corresponding to the target SHR (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report. If the triggering condition is not configured, the UE will not record any information in case of successful HO and section 2.1.3. Parameters for SHR proposal 5: RLM related timers (e.g., T310, T312) – Measurements of reference signals used for RLM in terms of RSRP, RSRQ, SINR and Handover related timers (e.g., T304) – Measurement period indication, i.e., measurements are collected at handover trigger, at the end of handover execution or just after handover execution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Belleschi to incorporate the teaching of Huawei/R2-2103733 in order to provide SHR configuration. It would have been beneficial to use any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 which exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report and in R16, T312 was introduced for MCG. For example, when T310 in the PCell is running, the UE starts T312 which is configured when the measurement report is triggered, and when T312 expires the UE would perform RRC re-establishment rather than waiting for T310 expiry. Also, T312 was introduced for SCG. For example, when T310 in PSCell is running the UE starts T312 which is configured when the measurement report is triggered, and when T312 expires the UE would initiate SCG failure information rather than waiting for T310 expiry
as taught by Huawei/R2-2103733 to have incorporated in the system of Belleschi to provide for a more robust mobility. (Huawei/R2-2103733, section 2.1 Successful HO Report, section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions, section 2.1.3. Parameters for SHR proposal 5 and section 2.5 MRO for fast failure recovery)
Regarding claim 18, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the target timer comprises N timers, the target SHR comprises N types of SHRs, and the target time parameter comprises N time parameters, N being a positive integer (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report); wherein
the N time parameters correspond to the N timers on a one-to-one basis, and the N
timers correspond to the N types of SHRs on a one-to-one basis (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Regarding claim 19, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the target timer comprises N timers, the target SHR comprises N types of SHRs, and the target time parameter comprises M time parameters, N and M being positive integers and N > M (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report); wherein
each time parameter corresponds to at least one of the N timers, and the N timers
correspond to the N types of SHRs on a one-to-one basis (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Regarding claim 20, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 19 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the trigger information is at least used to set an SHR trigger condition, the trigger information further contains T identifiers, and the T identifiers correspond to T timers in the N timers on a one-to-one basis, T being a positive integer (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report); wherein
the T identifiers each correspond to a first time parameter m the M time parameters, and the first time parameter is used for configuring the T timers (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Claims 2-5 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belleschi et al. (provisional application No. 63/214482 filed on 06/24/2021) [hereinafter as Belleschi], US 2024/0388973 A1 in view of HUAWEI et al., "Discussion on other SON aspects", 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 #113b-e, Electronic Meeting, April 12- 20, 2021, R2-2103733 [hereinafter as Huawei/R2-2103733] further in view of NEC, "Discuss on signalling aspects of successful handover report", 3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 #114 electronic, Online, May 19-27, 2021, R2-2105446 [hereinafter as NEC/R2-2105446].
Regarding claim 2, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the trigger time of the target event comprises at least one of following: time when the UE receives a target radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message from the network-side device; time when the UE uses the target RRC reconfiguration message (section 2.1.4 Procedures for Successful HO Report, proposal 7-8: the availability of a Successful Handover Report is indicated by the RRCReconfigurationComplete message);
time when the UE receives a predetermined quantity of downlink quality
out-of-synchronization indication information;
time when the UE triggers an accelerated recovery procedure prior to a radio link
failure (RLF); or
time when the UE sends master cell group failure information to the network-side
device; wherein
the target RRC reconfiguration message contains a reconfiguration and
synchronization (reconfiguration WithSync) field.
Even though Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 discloses the trigger time of the target event comprises at least one of following: time when the UE receives a target radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message from the network-side device; time when the UE uses the target RRC reconfiguration message; time when the UE receives a predetermined quantity of downlink quality out-of-synchronization indication information;
time when the UE triggers an accelerated recovery procedure prior to a radio link
failure (RLF); or time when the UE sends master cell group failure information to the network-side device; wherein the target RRC reconfiguration message contains a reconfiguration and synchronization (reconfiguration WithSync) field, in the same field of endeavor, NEC/R2-2105446 teaches wherein the trigger time of the target event comprises at least one of following: time when the UE receives a target radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message from the network-side device; time when the UE uses the target RRC reconfiguration message (section 2. Discussion proposal 1. The source gNB configures successful handover report for the UE: to configure the SHR, one option could be by broadcasting in system information. In this way, all UEs performing successful handover initiated in the cell shall apply the SHR configuration. As an alternative, the SHR can be configured per UE by RRC message dedicatedly);
time when the UE receives a predetermined quantity of downlink quality out-of-synchronization indication information; time when the UE triggers an accelerated recovery procedure prior to a radio link failure (RLF); or
time when the UE sends master cell group failure information to the network-side
device; wherein the target RRC reconfiguration message contains a reconfiguration and
synchronization (reconfigurationWithSync) field (section 2. Discussion proposal 2. One typical procedure for SHR could be, upon receiving RRCReconfiguration with reconfigurationWithSync, the UE configured with SHR checks if the triggering conditions (e.g. running of T310/T312) for SHR are fulfilled, stores the information (e.g. T310/T312 value and measurement results) if at least one of the triggering conditions is met, and generates RRCReconfigurationComplete message with availability indication for the SHR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 to incorporate the teaching of NEC/R2-2105446 in order to provide SHR configuration. It would have been beneficial to configure the SHR, one option could be by broadcasting in system information. In this way, all UEs performing successful handover initiated in the cell shall apply the SHR configuration. As an alternative, the SHR can be configured per UE by RRC message dedicatedly as taught by NEC/R2-2105446 to have incorporated in the system of Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 to provide for improving handover reliability. (NEC/R2-2105446, section 2. Discussion proposal 1.)
Regarding claim 3, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 1 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the target event corresponds to a first timer, and a timing start point of the first timer is the trigger time of the target event (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report); wherein the configuring, by the UE, a target timer based on the target time parameter comprises:
configuring, by the UE, the target timer based on a target timing value (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report); wherein
the target timing value is a timing value determined by the UE based on the target time parameter (section 2.3 UL-DL coverage mismatch, proposal 13: Introduce a timer for the UE to decide whether the UE is required to store the CEF information into the CEF report list).
Even though Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 discloses the target event corresponds to a first timer, and a timing start point of the first timer is the trigger time of the target event; wherein the configuring, by the UE, a target timer based on the target time parameter comprises: configuring, by the UE, the target timer based on a target timing value; wherein the target timing value is a timing value determined by the UE based on the target time parameter, in the same field of endeavor, NEC/R2-2105446 teaches wherein the target event corresponds to a first timer, and a timing start point of the first timer is the trigger time of the target event (section 2. Discussion: network can configure the interested triggering conditions to the UE, for example the threshold of T310 timer value); wherein the configuring, by the UE, a target timer based on the target time parameter comprises:
configuring, by the UE, the target timer based on a target timing value (section 2. Discussion proposal 2); wherein the target timing value is a timing value determined by the UE based on the target time parameter (section 2. Discussion proposal 2. one typical procedure for SHR could be, upon receiving RRCReconfiguration with reconfigurationWithSync, the UE configured with SHR checks if the triggering conditions (e.g. running of T310/T312) for SHR are fulfilled, stores the information (e.g. T310/T312 value and measurement results) if at least one of the triggering conditions is met, and generates RRCReconfigurationComplete message with availability indication for the SHR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 to incorporate the teaching of NEC/R2-2105446 in order to provide SHR configuration. It would have been beneficial to use one typical procedure for SHR which could be, upon receiving RRCReconfiguration with reconfigurationWithSync, the UE configured with SHR checks if the triggering conditions (e.g. running of T310/T312) for SHR are fulfilled, stores the information (e.g. T310/T312 value and measurement results) if at least one of the triggering conditions is met, and generates RRCReconfigurationComplete message with availability indication for the SHR as taught by NEC/R2-2105446 to have incorporated in the system of Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 to provide for improving handover reliability. (NEC/R2-2105446, section 2. Discussion proposal 2.)
Regarding claim 4, Belleschi, Huawei/R2-2103733 and NEC/R2-2105446 disclosed all the elements of claim 3 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the target timing value is either of following:
a timing value corresponding to the target time parameter, determined by the UE
based on X mappings; and
a timing value determined by the UE based on a value of the first timer and the
target time parameter; wherein
each mapping is a mapping between a time parameter and a timing value, and X is
a positive integer (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304.If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Regarding claim 5, Belleschi, Huawei/R2-2103733 and NEC/R2-2105446 disclosed all the elements of claim 4 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses in a case that the target timing value is determined by the UE based on the value of the first timer and the target time parameter, the target timing value is a timing value determined by the UE based on a product of the value of the first timer and the target time parameter (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Regarding claim 12, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the trigger time of the target event comprises at least one of following:
time when the terminal receives a target radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message from the network-side device; time when the terminal uses the target RRC reconfiguration message (section 2.1.4 Procedures for Successful HO Report, proposal 7-8: the availability of a Successful Handover Report is indicated by the RRCReconfigurationComplete message);
time when the terminal receives a predetermined quantity of downlink quality out-of-synchronization indication information; time when the terminal triggers an accelerated recovery procedure prior to a radio link failure (RLF); or time when the terminal sends master cell group failure information to the network-side device; wherein the target RRC reconfiguration message contains a reconfiguration and synchronization (reconfiguration WithSync) field.
Even though Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 discloses the trigger time of the target event comprises at least one of following: time when the terminal receives a target radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message from the network-side device; time when the terminal uses the target RRC reconfiguration message; time when the terminal receives a predetermined quantity of downlink quality out-of-synchronization indication information; time when the terminal triggers an accelerated recovery procedure prior to a radio link failure (RLF); or time when the terminal sends master cell group failure information to the network-side device; wherein the target RRC reconfiguration message contains a reconfiguration and synchronization (reconfiguration WithSync) field, in the same field of endeavor, NEC/R2-2105446 teaches wherein the trigger time of the target event comprises at least one of following:
time when the terminal receives a target radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message from the network-side device; time when the terminal uses the target RRC reconfiguration message (section 2. Discussion proposal 1. The source gNB configures successful handover report for the UE: to configure the SHR, one option could be by broadcasting in system information. In this way, all UEs performing successful handover initiated in the cell shall apply the SHR configuration. As an alternative, the SHR can be configured per UE by RRC message dedicatedly); time when the terminal receives a predetermined quantity of downlink quality out-of-synchronization indication information;
time when the terminal triggers an accelerated recovery procedure prior to a radio
link failure (RLF); or time when the terminal sends master cell group failure information to the network-side device; wherein the target RRC reconfiguration message contains a reconfiguration and synchronization (reconfiguration WithSync) field (section 2. Discussion proposal 2. One typical procedure for SHR could be, upon receiving RRCReconfiguration with reconfigurationWithSync, the UE configured with SHR checks if the triggering conditions (e.g. running of T310/T312) for SHR are fulfilled, stores the information (e.g. T310/T312 value and measurement results) if at least one of the triggering conditions is met, and generates RRCReconfigurationComplete message with availability indication for the SHR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 to incorporate the teaching of NEC/R2-2105446 in order to provide SHR configuration. It would have been beneficial to configure the SHR, one option could be by broadcasting in system information. In this way, all UEs performing successful handover initiated in the cell shall apply the SHR configuration. As an alternative, the SHR can be configured per UE by RRC message dedicatedly as taught by NEC/R2-2105446 to have incorporated in the system of Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 to provide for improving handover reliability. (NEC/R2-2105446, section 2. Discussion proposal 1.)
Regarding claim 13, Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 disclosed all the elements of claim 11 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the target event corresponds to a first timer, and a timing start point of the first timer is the trigger time of the target event (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report); wherein
the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal
to perform: configuring the target timer based on a target timing value (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: Upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report); wherein
the target timing value is a timing value determined by the terminal based on the target time parameter (section 2.3 UL-DL coverage mismatch, proposal 13: Introduce a timer for the UE to decide whether the UE is required to store the CEF information into the CEF report list).
Even though Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 discloses the target event corresponds to a first timer, and a timing start point of the first timer is the trigger time of the target event; wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: configuring the target timer based on a target timing value; wherein the target timing value is a timing value determined by the terminal based on the target time parameter, in the same field of endeavor, NEC/R2-2105446 teaches wherein the target event corresponds to a first timer, and a timing start point of the first timer is the trigger time of the target event (section 2. Discussion: network can configure the interested triggering conditions to the UE, for example the threshold of T310 timer value); wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
configuring the target timer based on a target timing value (section 2. Discussion proposal 2); wherein
the target timing value is a timing value determined by the terminal based on the
target time parameter (section 2. Discussion proposal 2. one typical procedure for SHR could be, upon receiving RRCReconfiguration with reconfigurationWithSync, the UE configured with SHR checks if the triggering conditions (e.g. running of T310/T312) for SHR are fulfilled, stores the information (e.g. T310/T312 value and measurement results) if at least one of the triggering conditions is met, and generates RRCReconfigurationComplete message with availability indication for the SHR).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 to incorporate the teaching of NEC/R2-2105446 in order to provide SHR configuration. It would have been beneficial to use one typical procedure for SHR which could be, upon receiving RRCReconfiguration with reconfigurationWithSync, the UE configured with SHR checks if the triggering conditions (e.g. running of T310/T312) for SHR are fulfilled, stores the information (e.g. T310/T312 value and measurement results) if at least one of the triggering conditions is met, and generates RRCReconfigurationComplete message with availability indication for the SHR as taught by NEC/R2-2105446 to have incorporated in the system of Belleschi and Huawei/R2-2103733 to provide for improving handover reliability. (NEC/R2-2105446, section 2. Discussion proposal 2.)
Regarding claim 14, Belleschi, Huawei/R2-2103733 and NEC/R2-2105446 disclosed all the elements of claim 13 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses the target timing value is either of following:
a timing value corresponding to the target time parameter, determined by the
terminal based on X mappings; and
a timing value determined by the terminal based on a value of the first timer and
the target time parameter; wherein
each mapping is a mapping between a time parameter and a timing value, and X is
a positive integer (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304.If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Regarding claim 15, Belleschi, Huawei/R2-2103733 and NEC/R2-2105446 disclosed all the elements of claim 14 as stated above wherein Huawei/R2-2103733 further discloses in a case that the target timing value is determined by the terminal based on the value of the first timer and the target time parameter, the target timing value is a timing value determined by the terminal based on a product of the value of the first timer and the target time parameter (section 2.1.2 Triggering Conditions: upon receiving the threshold, if any of the timers T310, T312 or T304 exceeds the threshold, it is considered that the triggering condition is met and UE should log the successful HO report. Proposal 3: The triggering condition is to configure a common threshold for timer T310, T312 and T304. If the triggering condition is indicated and met, the UE will start to store the parameters for the successful HO report).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-7 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sridhar et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0195480 A1) teaches System and Method for Handover Management in Mobile Network.
Parichehrehteroujeni et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12143872 B2) teaches Reporting of Successful Handover to a Target Cell.
Rainish et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0089434 A1) teaches Digital Beam Forming System and Method.
Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220272585 A1) teaches Method for Reporting State Information, Terminal and Network Device.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414 /STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414