DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 3/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-12, 14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vie (US 2018/0335225).
Regarding claim 1, Vie teaches a HVAC control assembly (see Title) comprising:
an HVAC control board (102, Fig. 1, paragraph [0016]) including at least one interface connector (104, Fig. 1, paragraph [0016]); and
an HVAC controller (114, Fg. 1, see paragraph [0018]) configured to be operable for determining automatically which original equipment manufacturer (OEM) system is connected to the at least one interface connector (see paragraph [0013]);
whereby in response to the determination of which original equipment manufacturer (OEM) system is connected to the at least one interface connector, the HVAC controller is operable for automatically configuring one or more settings of the HVAC control assembly (see paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 2, Vie teaches the HVAC control assembly of claim 1, wherein the HVAC control assembly is configured to be operable for analyzing inputs and outputs connected to the HVAC control assembly to identify differences in wiring connections present in a furnace application in which the HVAC control assembly is installed (see paragraphs [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Vie teaches the HVAC control assembly of claim 1, wherein the HVAC control assembly is configured to be operable for identifying differences in wiring connections present in a furnace application in which the HVAC control assembly is installed by:
interpreting differences in signals observed on low voltage wiring that vary based on a type of device or wiring configuration connected to that pin on the at least one interface connector of the HVAC control assembly (not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative); and/or
a trial-and-error approach by attempting to run an output, such as an inducer, and monitoring for a corresponding input, such as a pressure switch closing, on a given pin in a main harness of the HVAC control assembly (see at least paragraphs [0025]-[0034] which discusses the determination method for identifying the wiring connection for a specific OEM).
Regarding claim 5, Vie teaches the HVAC control assembly of claim 1, wherein the HVAC control assembly is configured to be operable for performing an automatic configuration process on initial power up ([0013]).
Regarding claim 7, Vie teaches the HVAC control assembly of claim 1, wherein the HVAC controller is operable for automatically configuring one or more of a delay timing (see at least claim 3),
a connector pinout, a delay timing, and a menu option in response to determination of which original equipment manufacturer (OEM) system is connected to the at least one interface connector (these limitations are not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 8, Vie teaches the HVAC control assembly of claim 1, wherein the HVAC controller is configured to automatically determine without manual intervention which of a plurality of original equipment manufacturer (OEM) systems is connected to the at least one interface connector (see [0012]).
Regarding claim 9, Vie teaches the HVAC control assembly of claim 1, wherein the HVAC control board comprises an aftermarket control board capable of replacing an existing control board in multiple different original equipment manufacturer HVAC systems (see paragraph [0043]).
Regarding claim 10, Vie teaches a method comprising:
determining automatically, via an HVAC control assembly (102, Fig. 1, paragraph [0016]), which original equipment manufacturer (OEM) system (see paragraph [0013]) is connected to at least one interface connector of the HVAC control assembly (104, Fig. 1, paragraph [0016]); and
automatically configuring one or more settings of the HVAC control assembly in response to the determination of which original equipment manufacturer (OEM) system is connected to the at least one interface connector of the HVAC control assembly (see paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Vie teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the method includes analyzing inputs and outputs connected to the HVAC control assembly to identify differences in wiring connections present in a furnace application in which the HVAC control assembly is installed (see paragraphs [0031]-[0033]).
Regarding claim 12, Vie teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the method includes identifying differences in wiring connections present in a furnace application in which the HVAC control assembly is installed by: interpreting differences in signals observed on low voltage wiring that vary based on a type of device or wiring configuration connected to that pin on the at least one interface connector of the HVAC control assembly (not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative); and/or
a trial-and-error approach by attempting to run an output, such as an inducer, and monitoring for a corresponding input, such as a pressure switch closing, on a given pin in a main harness of the HVAC control assembly (see at least paragraphs [0025]-[0034] which discusses the determination method for identifying the wiring connection for a specific OEM).
Regarding claim 14, Vie teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the method includes performing automatic configuration process on initial power up ([0013]).
Regarding claim 16, Vie teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the method includes automatically configuring one or more of a delay timing (see at least claim 3);
a connector pinout, a delay timing, and a menu option of the HVAC control assembly in response to the determination of which original equipment manufacturer (OEM) system is connected to the at least one interface connector of the HVAC control assembly (these limitations are not required as the claim is claimed in the alternative).
Regarding claim 17, Vie teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the method includes automatically determining without manual intervention which of a plurality of original equipment manufacturer (OEM) systems is connected to the at least one interface connector of the HVAC control assembly (see [0012]).
Regarding claim 18, Vie teaches the method of claim 10, wherein: the HVAC control assembly comprises an aftermarket controller capable of replacing an existing controller in multiple different original equipment manufacturer HVAC systems; and the method includes replacing an existing controller of an original equipment manufacturer HVAC system with the HVAC control assembly (see paragraph [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vie in view of Vie (US 2016/0123588, hereinafter referred to as Vie ‘588).
Regarding claim 4, Vie teaches the HVAC control assembly of claim 3, the trial-and-error approach by using conditional logic in the HVAC control assembly's firmware to thereby allow OEM applications to be differentiated from each other without installer intervention (see at least paragraphs [0012], [0025]-[0034] which discusses the determination method for identifying the wiring connection for a specific OEM), but does not teach the HVAC control assembly is configured to be operable for performing both interpreting differences in signals observed on low voltage wiring.
Vie ‘588 teaches a HVAC control assembly which features I/O pins that can process signals that are different from multiple components from a furnace system, and based on the signal received by both a temperature sensor and pressure senor (Vie ‘588, paragraphs [0054]-[0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Vie with interpreting differences between signals on wiring, as taught by Vie ‘588, in order to improve compatibility with the furnace system (Vie ‘588, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Vie teaches the HVAC control assembly of claim 1, wherein the HVAC control assembly is configured to be operable for: conditional trial and error logic to automatically detect an OEM furnace application; and automatically configuring one or more settings of the HVAC control assembly in response to automatic detection of the OEM furnace application (see at least paragraphs [0012], [0025]-[0034] which discusses the determination method for identifying the wiring connection for a specific OEM).
Vie does not teach monitoring control input/output (I/O) and specific signals in conjunction with differences in OEM wiring, component.
Vie ‘588 teaches a HVAC control assembly which features I/O pins that can process signals that are different from multiple components from a furnace system, and based on the signal received by both a temperature sensor and pressure senor (Vie ‘588, paragraphs [0054]-[0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Vie with interpreting differences between signals on wiring, as taught by Vie ‘588, in order to improve compatibility with the furnace system (Vie ‘588, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Vie teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the method includes performing the trial-and-error approach by using conditional logic in the HVAC control assembly's firmware to thereby allow OEM applications to be differentiated from each other without installer intervention (see at least paragraphs [0012], [0025]-[0034] which discusses the determination method for identifying the wiring connection for a specific OEM).
Vie does not teach interpreting differences in signals observed on the low voltage wiring.
Vie ‘588 teaches a HVAC control assembly which features I/O pins that can process signals that are different from multiple components from a furnace system, and based on the signal received by both a temperature sensor and pressure senor (Vie ‘588, paragraphs [0054]-[0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Vie with interpreting differences between signals on wiring, as taught by Vie ‘588, in order to improve compatibility with the furnace system (Vie ‘588, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 15, Vie teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the method includes: conditional trial and error logic to automatically detect an OEM furnace application; and automatically configuring one or more settings of the HVAC control assembly in response to automatic detection of the OEM furnace application (see at least paragraphs [0012], [0025]-[0034] which discusses the determination method for identifying the wiring connection for a specific OEM).
Vie does not teach monitoring control input/output (1/0) and specific signals in conjunction with differences in OEM wiring, component.
Vie ‘588 teaches a HVAC control assembly which features I/O pins that can process signals that are different from multiple components from a furnace system, and based on the signal received by both a temperature sensor and pressure senor (Vie ‘588, paragraphs [0054]-[0055]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Vie with interpreting differences between signals on wiring, as taught by Vie ‘588, in order to improve compatibility with the furnace system (Vie ‘588, paragraph [0055]).
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763