DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: “obtain third image frames by magnifying the first image frames obtained using the first camera that is maintained as the camera for the recognition of the QR code is maintained as the first camera, while displaying the preview image” should be “obtain third image frames by magnifying the first image frames obtained using the first camera that is maintained as the camera for the recognition of the QR code Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ota (US 20210042485).
As to claim 1, Ota discloses an electronic device (FIGS. 1-2), comprising:
a plurality of cameras including a first camera and a second camera facing in a same direction as the first camera (FIG. 1B, cameras 114a, 114b, 114c);
a display (FIG. 1A, display 105);
a processor (FIG. 2, CPU 101); and
memory for storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to (see [0018]):
display, on the display, a preview image, based on first image frames obtained using the first camera from among the plurality of cameras (FIG. 4A, S401; see [0041], In S402, the CPU 101 displays, on the display 105, an LV image captured by the standard camera 114b among the three rear cameras 114 driven in S401), and
based at least in part on determining that a portion of the first image frames includes an object to be recognized (FIG. 4A, S403; see [0043], the CPU 101 determines whether an optical code image, e.g., a subject appearing to be a two-dimensional code, is included in an image captured by the standard camera 114b): while displaying the preview image based on the first image frames obtained using the first camera from among the plurality of cameras, obtain second image frames using the second camera (FIG. 4A, S404-S405; see [0043]-[0044], the CPU 101 determines whether the two-dimensional code is readable by the standard camera image processing unit 104b from the image captured by the standard camera 114b … If the two-dimensional code is unreadable (NO in S404), the processing proceeds to S405 … using the telecamera image processing unit 104a, the CPU 101 determines whether a subject appearing to be a two-dimensional code is included in an image captured by the telecamera 114), and execute a recognition function based on the second image frames obtained using the second camera (FIG. 4A, S406; see [0045], he CPU 101 determines whether the two-dimensional code is readable by the telecamera image processing unit 104a from the image captured by the telecamera 114a, e.g., determines whether a distribution pattern of the cells 602 of a subject appearing to be a two-dimensional code is detectable).
As to claim 4, Ota further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: when obtaining the first image frames including the object using the first camera (FIG. 5A, YES at S502), based on a position of the object maintained in the at least portion of the second image frames (FIG. 5A, YES at S506), execute the recognition function based on the second image frames (FIG. 5A, YES at S507; see [0071]), and
when obtaining the first image frames that do not include the object using the first camera (FIG. 5A, No at S502), at least temporarily cease obtaining the second image frames using the second camera (FIG. 5, S504-S505: telecamera does not capture images until a predetermined time elapsed).
As to claim 5, Ota further discloses wherein the first camera corresponds to a wide-angle camera and the second camera corresponds to a telephoto camera having a narrower field of view than the wide-angle camera (see [0016], The rear camera 114 includes a telecamera 114a, a standard camera 114b, and a super-wide angle camera 114c; see [0025], if standard camera 114b is selected, an image with an angle wider than that of an image captured by the telecamera 114a),
wherein the recognition function is executed to recognize a quick response (QR) code (see FIG. 6 and [0042], symbol 601 is a QR code) based on the second image frames obtained using the telephoto camera while the wide-angle camera is used to obtain the first image frames for display the preview image (FIGS. 3A-3B),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: based on execution of the recognition function of the object corresponding to a QR code, display a visual object in relation to a portion of the preview image corresponding to the QR code (FIGS. 3A-3B).
As to claim 6, Ota further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to display, with the visual object, an executable object for executing a function corresponding to the object, and wherein the visual object is displayed along a periphery of the object located in the portion of the preview image (FIG. 3D and [0052]).
As to claim 7, Ota further discloses wherein the recognition function is executed to recognize a text based on the second image frames obtained using the second camera while the first camera is used to obtain the first image frames for display the preview image (see [0052]),
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: based on execution of the recognition function of the object corresponding to a text, display a visual object with size corresponding to size of the object, in order to mask the object viewed in the preview image (FIG. 3D).
As to claims 10 and 13-15, method claims 10 and 13-15 recite the same features as those recited in claims 1 and 4-6, respectively, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (US 20210042485) in view of Ono (US 20030020814).
As to claim 2, Ota fails to explicitly disclose comprising: a sensor facing in a same direction as the first camera and the second camera; wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain, using the sensor, information regarding a distance from the object viewed in the preview image being displayed on the display, determine, based at least in part on the distance, changing the first camera set as a camera for the recognition function of the object to the second camera, and based on the determination, obtain the second image frames using the second camera.
However, Ono teaches a sensor facing in a same direction as the first camera and the second camera (FIG. 2, distance sensor 52);
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
obtain, using the sensor, information regarding a distance from the object viewed in the preview image being displayed on the display (see [0033]), determine, based at least in part on the distance, changing the first camera set as a camera for the recognition function of the object to the second camera, and based on the determination, obtain the second image frames using the second camera (see [0085]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Ota using Ono’s teachings to include a sensor facing in a same direction as the first camera and the second camera; wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: obtain, using the sensor, information regarding a distance from the object viewed in the preview image being displayed on the display, determine, based at least in part on the distance, changing the first camera set as a camera for the recognition function of the object to the second camera, and based on the determination, obtain the second image frames using the second camera in order to increase the applications of the camera in which the image capturing can be performed and the amount of information that can be captured (Ono; [0086]).
As to claim 3, the combination of Ota and Ono further discloses wherein the first camera corresponds to a telephoto camera supporting a first magnification and the second camera corresponds to a telephoto camera supporting a second magnification higher than the first magnification (Ono; see [0085], in a case where the focal length regions of the two zoom lenses 220a and 220b are set in such a manner that the regions are partially overlapped, the focal length of the first capturing optical system 21a is set shorter and that of the second capturing optical system 21b is set longer), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: select, by using reference data regarding relation between candidate distances and magnifications available through the plurality of cameras, the second magnification related to a candidate distance corresponding to the distance, and change the first camera to the second camera supporting the second magnification (Ono; see [0085]).
As to claims 11-12, method claims 11-12 recite the same features as those recited in claims 2-3, respectively, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as above.
As to claim 16, Ota discloses an electronic device (FIGS. 1-2), comprising:
a plurality of cameras including a first camera and a second camera facing in a same direction as the first camera (FIG. 1B, cameras 114a, 114b, 114c);
a display (FIG. 1A, display 105);
a processor (FIG. 2, CPU 101); and
memory for storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to (see [0018]):
display, on the display, a preview image, based on first image frames obtained using the first camera from among the plurality of cameras (FIG. 4A, S401; see [0041], In S402, the CPU 101 displays, on the display 105, an LV image captured by the standard camera 114b among the three rear cameras 114 driven in S401),
based at least in part on the distance (see [0036], [0047], [0048]): while maintaining displaying the preview image based on first image frames obtained using the first camera from among the plurality of cameras, obtain second image frames using the second camera (FIG. 4A, S404-S405; see [0043]-[0044], the CPU 101 determines whether the two-dimensional code is readable by the standard camera image processing unit 104b from the image captured by the standard camera 114b … If the two-dimensional code is unreadable (NO in S404), the processing proceeds to S405 … using the telecamera image processing unit 104a, the CPU 101 determines whether a subject appearing to be a two-dimensional code is included in an image captured by the telecamera 114); and execute a recognition of quick response (QR) code based on the second image frames while displaying the preview image on the display (FIG. 4A, S406; see [0045], he CPU 101 determines whether the two-dimensional code is readable by the telecamera image processing unit 104a from the image captured by the telecamera 114a, e.g., determines whether a distribution pattern of the cells 602 of a subject appearing to be a two-dimensional code is detectable; see FIG. 6 and [0042], symbol 601 is a QR code).
Ota fails to explicitly disclose a sensor facing in a same direction as the first camera and the second camera; and
obtain, by using the sensor, information regarding a distance from an external object viewed in the preview image being displayed on the display.
However, Ono teaches a sensor facing in a same direction as the first camera and the second camera (FIG. 2, distance sensor 52); and
obtain, by using the sensor, information regarding a distance from an external object viewed in the preview image being displayed on the display (see [0033]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Ota using Ono’s teachings to include a sensor facing in a same direction as the first camera and the second camera; and obtain, by using the sensor, information regarding a distance from an external object viewed in the preview image being displayed on the display in order to increase the applications of the camera in which the image capturing can be performed and the amount of information that can be captured (Ono; [0086]).
As to claim 17, the combination of Ota and Ono further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: determine, based the at least in part on the distance, changing a camera for a recognition of the QR code from the first camera to the second camera, and based on the determination, obtain the second image frames using the second camera (Ono; see [0085]).
As to claim 18, the combination of Ota and Ono further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
based at least in part on determining, based on the distance, the camera for the recognition of the QR code being maintained as the first camera (Ota; FIG. 4A, YES at S403-S404; Ono; see [0085]):
obtain third image frames by magnifying the first image frames obtained using the first camera that is maintained as the camera for the recognition of the QR code is maintained as the first camera, while displaying the preview image (Ota; see [0042]; Ono; see [0085]), and
execute the recognition of the QR code based on at least portion of the third image frames (Ota; FIG. 4A, S404 and S413; Ono; see [0085]).
As to claim 19, the combination of Ota and Ono further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to: in response to success of the recognition of the QR code, display, a visual object with the preview image being maintained on the display (Ono; FIGS. 3A-3B).
As to claim 20, the combination of Ota and Ono further discloses wherein the visual object is displayed along a periphery of the recognized QR code position on the external object viewed in the preview image (Ota; FIG. 3D and [0052]).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (US 20210042485) in view of Cho et al (US 20180063344).
As to claim 8, Ota fails to explicitly disclose wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
receive an input for obtaining the preview image, while displaying the preview image based on the first image frames obtained using the first camera,
based on the input, obtain at least portion of the first image frames corresponding to the preview image and at least portion of the second image frames in conjunction with the at least portion of the first image frames, and
store the at least portion of the second image frames with metadata related to the at least portion of the first image frames.
However, Cho teaches receive an input for obtaining the preview image, while displaying the preview image based on the first image frames obtained using the first camera (FIG. 4B and [0074]),
based on the input, obtain at least portion of the first image frames corresponding to the preview image and at least portion of the second image frames in conjunction with the at least portion of the first image frames (FIG. 4B and [0074]), and
store the at least portion of the second image frames with metadata related to the at least portion of the first image frames (FIG. 4B and [0074]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Ota using Cho’s teachings to receive an input for obtaining the preview image, while displaying the preview image based on the first image frames obtained using the first camera, based on the input, obtain at least portion of the first image frames corresponding to the preview image and at least portion of the second image frames in conjunction with the at least portion of the first image frames, and store the at least portion of the second image frames with metadata related to the at least portion of the first image frames in order to easily store an image and pattern code through a pattern code trigger and an image capturing trigger, which are displayed in a camera application (Cho; [0007]).
As to claim 9, the combination of Ota and Cho further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to:
display the at least one of the first image frames (Cho; FIG. 5 (a)),
receive another input for the object included in the at least one of the first image frames (Cho; FIG. 5 (a)-(b)), and
display the at least one of the second image frames including the object having size larger than size of the object included in the at least one of the first image frame, based on the metadata related to the at least one of the first image frames (Cho; FIG. 5 (b)-(c)).
Conclusion
/BOUBACAR ABDOU TCHOUSSOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482