DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (US 20210042485) in view of Ono (US 20030020814).
As to claim 16, Ota discloses an electronic device (FIGS. 1-2), comprising:
a plurality of cameras including a first camera and a second camera facing in a same direction as the first camera (FIG. 1B, cameras 114a, 114b, 114c);
a display (FIG. 1A, display 105);
at least one processor (FIG. 2, CPU 101); and
memory for storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to (see [0018]):
display, on the display, a preview image, based on first image frames obtained using the first camera from among the plurality of cameras (FIG. 4A, S401; see [0041], In S402, the CPU 101 displays, on the display 105, an LV image captured by the standard camera 114b among the three rear cameras 114 driven in S401),
based at least in part on the distance (see [0036], [0047], [0048]):
while maintaining displaying the preview image based on first image frames obtained using the first camera from among the plurality of cameras, obtain second image frames using the second camera (FIG. 4A, S404-S405; see [0043]-[0044], the CPU 101 determines whether the two-dimensional code is readable by the standard camera image processing unit 104b from the image captured by the standard camera 114b … If the two-dimensional code is unreadable (NO in S404), the processing proceeds to S405 … using the telecamera image processing unit 104a, the CPU 101 determines whether a subject appearing to be a two-dimensional code is included in an image captured by the telecamera 114),
execute a recognition of quick response (QR) code based on the second image frames while displaying the preview image on the display (FIG. 4A, S406; see [0045], the CPU 101 determines whether the two-dimensional code is readable by the telecamera image processing unit 104a from the image captured by the telecamera 114a, e.g., determines whether a distribution pattern of the cells 602 of a subject appearing to be a two-dimensional code is detectable; see FIG. 6 and [0042], symbol 601 is a QR code).
Ota fails to explicitly disclose a sensor facing in a same direction as the first camera and the second camera;
obtain, by using the sensor, information regarding a distance from an external object viewed in the preview image being displayed on the display;
select, by using reference data regarding a relation between candidate distances and magnifications available through the plurality of cameras, a first magnification related to a candidate distance corresponding to the distance, and change a camera for a recognition function from the first camera to the second camera supporting the first magnification.
However, Ono teaches a sensor facing in a same direction as the first camera and the second camera (FIG. 2, distance sensor 52);
obtain, by using the sensor, information regarding a distance from an external object viewed in the preview image being displayed on the display (see [0033]);
select, by using reference data regarding a relation between candidate distances and magnifications available through the plurality of cameras, a first magnification related to a candidate distance corresponding to the distance, and change a camera for a recognition function from the first camera to the second camera supporting the first magnification (see [0085]-[0086]).
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to modify Ota using Ono’s teachings to include a sensor facing in a same direction as the first camera and the second camera; obtain, by using the sensor, information regarding a distance from an external object viewed in the preview image being displayed on the display; select, by using reference data regarding a relation between candidate distances and magnifications available through the plurality of cameras, a first magnification related to a candidate distance corresponding to the distance, change a camera for a recognition function from the first camera to the second camera supporting the first magnification in order to enlarge the magnification range substantially continuously by automatically switching one of the capture signals by the two zoom lenses to the other based on the measured distance data and using it, and thereby increase the available applications in which the image capturing can be increased and also increase the amount of information that can be captured (Ono; [0085]).
As to claim 17, the combination of Ota and Ono further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based on a candidate distance corresponding to the distance, identify two or more
magnifications for accurately identifying a bar code and/or quick-response (QR) code (Ota: [0025] and FIGS. 3A-3D; and Ono: see [0085]-[0086]).
As to claim 18, the combination of Ota and Ono further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
based at least in part on determining, based on the distance, the camera for the recognition of the QR code being maintained as the first camera (Ota: FIG. 4A, YES at S403-S404; Ono: see [0085]):
obtain third image frames by magnifying the first image frames obtained using the first camera, while displaying the preview image (Ota: see [0042]; Ono: see [0085]), and
execute the recognition of the QR code based on at least portion of the third image frames (Ota: FIG. 4A, S404 and S413; Ono: see [0085]).
As to claim 19, the combination of Ota and Ono further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: in response to success of the recognition of the QR code, display a visual object while the preview image is maintained on the display (Ono; FIGS. 3A-3B).
As to claim 20, the combination of Ota and Ono further discloses wherein the visual object is displayed along a periphery of a recognized QR code position on the external object viewed in the preview image (Ota; FIG. 3D and [0052]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed on 07/06/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 10 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, with respect to claim 16, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the applied references do not disclose or suggest, among other things, selecting a magnification using reference data regarding a relation between candidate distances and magnifications available through a plurality of cameras. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ono discloses, in [0085]-[0086], the capturing system CPU 50 causes the first capturing optical system 21a to be selected when the distance to the subject is shorter than a predetermined distance and the second capturing optical system 21b to be selected when the distance to the subject is longer than the predetermined distance, based on the measured distance data from the distance sensor 52. Thus, by automatically switching one of the capture signals by the two zoom lenses 220a and 220b to the other based on the measured distance data and using it, the magnification range can be enlarged substantially continuously … the telephoto zoom lens is used when a distant view is to be captured while the wide-angle zoom lens is used when a near view is to be captured. Therefore, the combination of Ota and Ono discloses selecting a magnification using reference data regarding a relation between candidate distances and magnifications available through a plurality of cameras.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOUBACAR ABDOU TCHOUSSOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482