DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/545,372, filed on 19 December, 2023, were presented for examination. In the response filed 18 November, 2025, claims 8 and 18 were withdrawn. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application, with claims 8 and 18 withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8 and 18 are/were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species 1, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 November, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 19 December, 2023 and 2 October, 2024 were filed before the mailing date of this Office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1, the limitation “in for a vehicle” should be changed to “for a vehicle” (with the word “in” removed).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the laser power" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the fusion zone" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-10, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oda (US 2012/0292294 A1) in view of Xu (CN 103811095 A, reference provided herein with machine translation).
With respect to claim 1, Oda teaches an electrical connection [combined battery 2, terminal 21, and cladding material 1] (see abstract) for a vehicle (Oda teaches a battery, which could be used in a vehicle), comprising:
a first electrical component [battery 2 including terminal 21] including a first joining area (see annotated excerpt of fig. 2 attached below, wherein the Examiner has labeled the joining areas); and
a conductor [cladding material 1 including layers 10, 11, and 12] including a second joining area, the conductor [1] joined at the second joining area to the first joining area of the electrical component [2/21] (¶ 0033 recites “lead materials 1 are welded to an anode terminal 21… more specifically, an end portion of one of a pair of lead materials 1 is welded to the anode terminal 21 – it is noted that the first and second joining areas are defined by the weldment; although the Examiner has labeled the most obvious area in fig. 2 for the welding to be performed, it is the welding between 1 and 21 that will establish the precise first and second joining areas),
wherein the conductor includes a substrate [Fe layer 10] (also called “substrate” in ¶ 0035) including a first surface (labeled by the Examiner) and an outer substance [Ni layer 11] formed on the first surface (see ¶ 0035).
Oda does not teach wherein the layer is a copper-graphene multilayer composite formed on the first surface, wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite includes at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate.
Xu discloses a conductor structure for transmitting electricity, and wherein the conductor core [30] (“cell” in the words of the translation) can be various materials such as copper, silver, or aluminum, and the core can have a surface plated with various listed materials, the list including nickel. Xu is therefore analogous art (see ¶ 0011).
Xu teaches wherein the outer substance [combined layers 31, 32, and 33] is a copper-graphene multilayer composite (see ¶ 0026) including at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate {see ¶ 0026 of the translation and the fig. 3 excerpt attached above, wherein 30 is the conductor core, 31 is a graphene layer, 32 is a copper layer, and 33 is a graphene layer}.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrical connection of Oda, while using the Gr-Cu-Gr outer substance as taught by Xu, in order to achieve stronger electrical conductivity and better corrosion resistance than pure metals (Xu, last three lines of the abstract).
With respect to claim 2/1, Oda in view of Xu teaches the connection of claim 1, Oda further teaches wherein the substrate comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of copper, steel, and aluminum {¶ 0035 recites that “Fe layer 10 made of SPCD (cold-rolled steel plate for deep drawing)”}. Xu teaches wherein the substrate is copper or aluminum (¶ 0026 and claim 3).
With respect to claim 3/2/1, Oda in view of Xu teaches the connection of claim 2, Oda further teaches a fusion zone formed in the first electrical component in the first joining area (again, the first joining area will be defined by the weldment itself – the welding will produce a fusion zone which is by further definition in the first joining area).
With respect to claim 4/3/2/1, Oda in view of Xu teaches the connection of claim 3, neither Oda nor Xu teaches wherein graphene is present in the fusion zone of the first electrical component. However, Oda in view of Xu teaches a connection whose most obvious manifestation would have graphene present in the finally-formed fusion zone – the only ways to have no graphene in the fusion zone would be to remove the graphene beforehand or to apply the welding energy until the graphene burns off or forms a new substance with the metal – please note the Examiner’s opposite treatment of claim 6, wherein he has not alleged that one of ordinary skill in the art would do either of these things while following the teaches of Oda and/or Xu). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a normal amount of welding energy during the welding method taught by Oda in view of Xu such that graphene would still be present in the fusion zone, in order to avoid creating new substances in the fusion zone whose own properties would have to be accounted for, and to omit/avoid removing graphene from the conductor before welding, as to do so would involve hindsight reasoning in light of the instant application.
With respect to claim 9/1, Oda in view of Xu teaches the connection of claim 1, Oda further teaches wherein the first electrical component [2/21] is a battery {the abstract recites “lead welded to a terminal (21,22) of a battery (2)…”} and the battery [2] includes the first joining area provided by at least one of a tab and a terminal [terminal 21] (see ¶ 0033 and the annotated excerpt of fig. 2 used in the rejection of claim 1).
With respect to claim 10, Oda teaches a method of forming an electrical connection [combined battery 2, terminal 21, and cladding material 1] (see abstract) for a vehicle (Oda teaches a battery which could be used in a vehicle), comprising:
joining (¶ 0033 recites “lead materials 1 are welded to an anode terminal 21”) a first electrical component [battery 2 including terminal 21] including a first joining area (see annotated excerpt of fig. 2 attached below, wherein the Examiner has labeled the joining areas) to a conductor [cladding material 1 including layers 10, 11, and 12] wherein the conductor includes a second joining area (it is noted that the first and second joining areas are defined by the weldment; although the Examiner has labeled the most obvious area in fig. 2 for the welding to be performed, it is the welding between 1 and 21 that will establish the precise first and second joining areas), wherein the conductor includes a substrate [Fe layer 10] (also called “substrate” in ¶ 0035) including a first surface (labeled by the Examiner) and an outer substance [Ni layer 11] formed on the first surface (see ¶ 0035);
forming a fusion zone between the first electrical component in the first joining area (again, the first joining area will be defined by the weldment itself – the welding will produce a fusion zone which is by further definition in the first joining area).
Oda does not teach wherein the layer is a copper-graphene multilayer composite formed on the first surface, wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite includes at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate.
Xu discloses a conductor structure for transmitting electricity, and wherein the conductor core [30] (“cell” in the words of the translation) can be various materials such as copper, silver, or aluminum, and the core can have a surface plated with various listed materials, the list including nickel. Xu is therefore analogous art (see ¶ 0011).
Xu teaches wherein the outer substance [combined layers 31, 32, and 33] is a copper-graphene multilayer composite (see ¶ 0026) including at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate {see ¶ 0026 of the translation and the fig. 3 excerpt attached above, wherein 30 is the conductor core, 31 is a graphene layer, 32 is a copper layer, and 33 is a graphene layer}.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrical connection of Oda, while using the Gr-Cu-Gr outer substance as taught by Xu, in order to achieve stronger electrical conductivity and better corrosion resistance than pure metals (Xu, last three lines of the abstract).
With respect to claim 13/10, Oda in view of Xu teaches the method of claim 10, neither Oda nor Xu teaches wherein graphene is present in the first electrical component in the fusion zone. However, Oda in view of Xu teaches a connection whose most obvious manifestation would have graphene present in the finally-formed fusion zone – the only way to have no graphene in the fusion zone would be to remove the graphene beforehand or to apply the welding energy until the graphene burns off or forms a new substance with the metal – please note the Examiner’s opposite treatment of claim 6, wherein he has not alleged that one of ordinary skill in the art would do either of these things while following the teaches of Oda and/or Xu). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a normal amount of welding energy during the welding method taught by Oda in view of Xu such that graphene would still be present in the fusion zone, in order to avoid creating new substances in the fusion zone whose own properties would have to be accounted for, and to avoid removing graphene from the conductor before welding, as to do so would involve hindsight reasoning in light of the instant application.
With respect to claim 17/10, Oda in view of Xu teaches the method of claim 10, Oda further teaches wherein the first electrical component [2/21] includes a secondary battery [2/8] (see ¶ 0033 which explicitly calls 2 a “secondary battery” and ¶ 0085 and fig. 12 wherein an embodiment for the secondary battery, in this case referred to overall as “7”, is shown), wherein the secondary battery [2/8] includes at least one of a pouch battery including a tab and the first joining area is located at the tab, and a cylindrical battery [8], wherein the cylindrical battery [8] includes a terminal [81] and the first joining area is located at the terminal [81]. The primary embodiment of fig. 2 does not establish the context shown in fig. 12 but, absent any comments to the contrary, the embodiment of fig. 12 simply lays out the context and intended implementation of the secondary battery 7, and the shape of the batteries 8, which is cylindrical, such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to employ the battery [2/21/8] as shown in fig. 12, in order to power a consumer.
With respect to claim 19/10, Oda in view of Xu teaches the method of claim 10, Oda further teaches:
joining the first electrical component [2/21/8/81] (the first electrical component is the battery at the bottom in fig. 12) including a steel terminal [21/81] (¶ 0042 recites “the substrate 21a (22a) is made of low-carbon steel…”) and the first joining area on the steel terminal [21/21a/81] to the second joining area of the conductor [10/1], wherein the first electrical component is a secondary battery (see ¶ 0033 which explicitly calls 2 a “secondary battery” and ¶ 0085 and fig. 12 wherein an embodiment for the secondary battery, in this case referred to overall as “7”, is shown),
forming a first fusion zone (labeled in the joint annotated excerpt of figs. 2 and 12 attached above) in the first electrical component [2/21/8] in the first joining area (again, the first joining area will be defined by the weldment itself – the welding will produce a fusion zone which is by further definition in the first joining area);
joining a second electrical component [2/21/8] (now referring to the middle battery in fig. 12, which has been labeled by the Examiner above) including a fourth joining area (the bottom of the middle battery) to a third joining area (the top/tip) of the conductor [10/1] (the conductor at issue is the one labeled by the Examiner, between the secondary battery and the middle battery).
Xu teaches wherein the substrate of the conductor is formed of copper.
Oda does not explicitly teach forming a second fusion zone in the second electrical component in the fourth joining area. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the same process used in the first fusion zone, for the first and second joining areas at the top of the bottom battery, in order to attach the conductor to the bottom of the middle battery at the fourth joining area, in order to permanently secure the conductor to the terminal of the middle battery, such that electricity can be passed from one to the other.
Claims 5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oda in view of Xu as applied to claims 4 and 10 above, and further in view of Wang 1 (CN 219371278 U, reference provided herein with machine translation).
With respect to claim 5/4/3/2/1, Oda in view of Xu teaches the connection of claim 4, but neither Oda nor Xu teaches a layer of nickel present between the first joining area and the second joining area and nickel present in the fusion zone of the first electrical component.
Wang 1 discloses a welding scheme for connecting a lead [housing connection portion 22] to the tab [pole 11] of a battery [10].
Wang 1 teaches a layer of nickel [first welding auxiliary layer 212] (see ¶ 0024 which recites “first welding auxiliary layer 212 is a nickel layer…”) present between a first joining area and a second joining area (areas labeled in the fig. 1 excerpt above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrical connection of Oda in view of Xu, while incorporating a nickel layer between the first joining area and second area, as taught by Wang 1, in order that the problem that a welding seam is prone to crack due to poor mechanical properties of a welding seam at a welding position caused by the terminal and lead are melted during welding is avoided, the connection stability and overcurrent capacity of the terminal and lead are improved, and the resistance of the interface is reduced (Wang 1 ¶ 0025).
As discussed in the rejection of claim 4 with respect to the graphene being present in the fusion zone after the welding, it is likely if not inevitable that after welding, as taught by Oda in view of Xu, with the nickel layer now also having been included to the weldment, as taught by Wang 1, that the finally formed fusion zone will contain the core material (copper, aluminum, steel, etc.), graphene, and nickel, such that nickel would be present in the fusion zone of the first electrical component, such that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to keep nickel present in the fusion zone, as eliminating it therefrom would require extraordinary steps and defeat the purpose of Wang 1.
With respect to claim 11/10, Oda in view of Xu teaches the method of claim 10, but neither Oda nor Xu teaches wherein joining comprises laser welding.
Wang 1 teaches wherein joining comprises laser welding (see ¶ 0066 which recites “the pole connection portion 21 and the pole 11 are connected by laser welding…”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Oda in view of Xu, while incorporating laser welding, as taught by Wang 1, in order to precisely complete the weld, as is well known in the art.
With respect to claim 12/10, Oda in view of Xu teaches the method of claim 10, but neither Oda nor Xu teaches wherein joining comprises at least one of the following welding processes: ultrasonic welding and friction welding.
Wang 1 teaches wherein joining comprises at least one of the following welding processes: ultrasonic welding and friction welding (see ¶ 0066 which recites “of course…. the pole connection portion 21 and the pole 11 may be welded by other welding methods such as friction welding…”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Oda in view of Xu, while incorporating friction welding, as taught by Wang 1, in order to join the pieces quickly and inexpensively, as is well known in the art.
Claims 1, 7, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang 2 (US 2023/0318149 A1) in view of Xu (CN 103811095 A, reference provided herein with machine translation).
With respect to claim 1, Wang 2 teaches an electrical connection [combined battery 10, top pole 101, and connecting branch 202] (see ¶ 0052 and 0069) for a vehicle (see ¶ 0059), comprising:
a first electrical component [battery 10 including top pole 101] including a first joining area (see joint annotated excerpt of figs. 2 and 5 attached below, wherein the Examiner has labeled the joining areas); and
a conductor [connecting branch 202] including a second joining area, the conductor [202] joined at the second joining area to the first joining area of the electrical component [10/101] (¶ 0014, 0023 – also, ¶ 0063 recites “electrically connecting branch 202 is electrically connected to the pole of the individual battery 10 through a cold-welding adhesive bonding process…” – it is noted that the first and second joining areas are defined by the weldment; although the Examiner has labeled the most obvious area in fig. 5 for the welding to be performed, it is the welding between 202 and 101 that will establish the precise first and second joining areas),
wherein the conductor includes a substrate including a first surface.
Wang 2 does not teach wherein the conductor includes a copper-graphene multilayer composite formed on the first surface, wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite includes at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate.
Xu discloses a metal conductor structure for transmitting electricity, and is therefore analogous art (see ¶ 0011).
Xu teaches wherein the outer substance [combined layers 31, 32, and 33] is a copper-graphene multilayer composite (see ¶ 0026) including at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate {see ¶ 0026 of the translation and the fig. 3 excerpt attached above, wherein 30 is the conductor core, 31 is a graphene layer, 32 is a copper layer, and 33 is a graphene layer}.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrical connection of Wang 2, while using the Gr-Cu-Gr outer substance as taught by Xu, in order to achieve stronger electrical conductivity and better corrosion resistance than pure metals (Xu, last three lines of the abstract).
With respect to claim 7/1, Wang 2 in view of Xu teaches the connection of claim 1, Wang 2 further comprises an electrically conductive adhesive contacting the first joining area of the first electrical component [10/101] and the second joining area of the conductor [202] (see ¶ 0063 which recites “the first end of the electrically connecting branch 202 is electrically connected to the pole of the individual battery 10 through a cold-welding adhesive bonding process, with conductive adhesive that cures at normal temperature as the filler material…”), and wherein the conductive adhesive is at least one of an electrically conductive glue and an electrically conductive adhesive tape (if it “cures” and is a “filler material”, as described in ¶ 0063, then it is a type of glue).
With respect to claim 20, Wang 2 teaches a method of joining an electrical component [combined battery 10, top pole 101, and connecting branch 202] (see ¶ 0052 and 0069) for a vehicle (see ¶ 0059), comprising:
applying a layer of adhesive to a first joining area of a first electrical component [battery 10 including top pole 101] (see joint annotated excerpt of figs. 2 and 5 attached below, wherein the Examiner has labeled the joining areas – ¶ 0072 recites “the other end of each electrically connecting branch 202 is electrically connected to the first pole or an electrically connecting element on the first pole of an individual battery 10 by means of a conductive adhesive…” – this cannot be done without the layer ending up on the first electrical component 10/101 at a joining area);
applying the layer of adhesive to a second joining area of a conductor [202] (¶ 0072 recites “the other end of each electrically connecting branch 202 is electrically connected to the first pole or an electrically connecting element on the first pole of an individual battery 10 by means of a conductive adhesive…” – this cannot be done without the layer ending up on the conductor 202 component at a joining area -- it is noted that the first and second joining areas are defined by the weldment; although the Examiner has labeled the most obvious area in fig. 5 for the welding to be performed, it is the welding between 202 and 101 that will establish the precise first and second joining areas), wherein the conductor [202] includes a substrate; and
joining the first electrical component [10/101] to the conductor [202] (see the citation from ¶ 0072 already pasted twice above), wherein the conductive adhesive is at least one of an electrically conductive glue and an electrically conductive adhesive tape (if it “cures” and is a “filler material”, as described in ¶ 0063, then it is a type of glue).
Wang 2 does not teach wherein the conductor includes a copper-graphene multilayer composite formed on the first surface, wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite includes at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate.
Xu discloses a metal conductor structure for transmitting electricity, and is therefore analogous art (see ¶ 0011).
Xu teaches wherein the outer substance [combined layers 31, 32, and 33] is a copper-graphene multilayer composite (see ¶ 0026) including at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate {see ¶ 0026 of the translation and the fig. 3 excerpt attached above, wherein 30 is the conductor core, 31 is a graphene layer, 32 is a copper layer, and 33 is a graphene layer}.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrical connection of Wang 2, while using the Gr-Cu-Gr outer substance as taught by Xu, in order to achieve stronger electrical conductivity and better corrosion resistance than pure metals (Xu, last three lines of the abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, inter alia, an electrical connection for a vehicle, comprising:
a first electrical component including a first joining area; and
a conductor including a second joining area, the conductor joined at the second joining area to the first joining area of the first electrical component, wherein the conductor includes a substrate including a first surface, and a copper-graphene multilayer composite formed on the first surface, wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite includes at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate;
wherein the substrate comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of copper, steel, and aluminum;
further comprising a fusion zone formed in the first electrical component in the first joining area;
wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite is not present on the first surface at the second joining area.
Although Oda in view of Xu teaches claims 1, 2, and 3, the additional limitation of claim 6, wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite is not present in the second joining area, defines over the explicit and implied teachings of both references. As detailed in the rejection of claim 4, the Examiner believes that a practitioner of ordinary skill in the art would have to go through a considered, extra process step to accomplish this absence of Cu-Gr in the final weld – either removing it, as is done in ¶ 0012 of the instant application, or by applying the welding energy for such an extent or at such a high power input that the Cu-Gr multilayer burns off or converts to another substance. The Examiner believes that it would require hindsight reasoning to allege that a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to perform this extra process step. Clearly there are references in the relevant art collections that teach removing a coating from a conductor before welding it to an electrical component, but there is no motivation, other than hindsight reasoning, to combine such teachings with Oda in view of Xu, as the latter combination merely provides the connection per se, but not a platform for suggesting further features.
With respect to claim 14, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, inter alia, a method of forming an electrical connection in for a vehicle, comprising:
joining a first electrical component including a first joining area to a conductor including a second joining area, wherein the conductor includes a substrate including a first surface, and a copper-graphene multilayer composite formed on the first surface; and
forming a fusion zone between the first electrical component in the first joining area and the conductor in the second joining area,
wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite includes at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate;
graphene is present in the first electrical component in the fusion zone;
further comprising supplying nickel in the form of foil between the first joining area and the second joining area prior to joining, wherein nickel is present in the first electrical component in the fusion zone.
With respect to claim 15, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, inter alia, a method of forming an electrical connection in for a vehicle, comprising:
joining a first electrical component including a first joining area to a conductor including a second joining area, wherein the conductor includes a substrate including a first surface, and a copper-graphene multilayer composite formed on the first surface; and
forming a fusion zone between the first electrical component in the first joining area and the conductor in the second joining area,
wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite includes at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate;
graphene is present in the first electrical component in the fusion zone;
further comprising supplying nickel in the form of a wire and fed between the first joining area and the second joining area, wherein nickel is present in the first electrical component in the fusion zone.
Although Oda in view of Xu teaches claims 10 and 13, and Wang 1 teaches Nickel present between the first joining area and the second joining area, as discussed in the rejection of claim 5, Wang 1 does not teach wherein the Nickel is supplied in foil (claim 14) or wire (claim 15) form. The Examiner believes that it would require hindsight reasoning to allege that a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to perform the steps of providing Nickel in foil/wire form in the method of Oda in view of Xu, even in light of the Nickel inclusion taught by Wang 1. Clearly there are references in the relevant art collections that teach providing Nickel in foil/wire form during welding of dissimilar conductors, but there is no reasonable motivation the Examiner can think of, outside of hindsight reasoning, to combine such teachings with Oda in view of Xu (and/or further in view of Wang 1), as the latter combination (Oda + Wu) merely provides the connection per se, but not a platform for suggesting further method steps having additional detail such as the shape/form of the Nickel supply.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 16, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, inter alia, a method of forming an electrical connection in for a vehicle, comprising:
joining a first electrical component including a first joining area to a conductor including a second joining area, wherein the conductor includes a substrate including a first surface, and a copper-graphene multilayer composite formed on the first surface; and
forming a fusion zone between the first electrical component in the first joining area and the conductor in the second joining area,
wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite includes at least one of the following composite structures: a) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on the substrate, b) graphene particles dispersed in a copper matrix, and c) alternating layers of graphene and copper deposited on a copper foil, wherein the copper foil is wrapped around the substrate;
further comprising removing a portion of the copper-graphene multilayer composite from the first surface at the second joining area before joining the first electrical component to the conductor, wherein the laser power during removing is less than the laser power during joining.
Although Oda in view of Xu teaches claim 10, the additional limitation of claim 16, wherein the copper-graphene multilayer composite is removed from the first surface, defines over the explicit and implied teachings of both references. As detailed in the rejection of claims 4 and 6, the Examiner believes that a practitioner of ordinary skill in the art would have to go through a considered, extra process step to accomplish this absence of Cu-Gr in the final weld by removing it, as is done in ¶ 0012 of the instant application. The Examiner believes that it would require hindsight reasoning to allege that a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to perform this extra process step. Clearly there are references in the relevant art collections that teach removing a coating from a conductor before welding it to an electrical component, but there is no motivation the Examiner can think of, other than hindsight reasoning, to combine such teachings with Oda in view of Xu, as the latter combination merely provides the connection per se, but not a platform for suggesting further features.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CN 105261723 A teaches connectors welded to the tabs/terminals of batteries, wherein the connectors are copper sheets/cores [222/262] surrounded by nickel [221/261].
KR 20230126920 A teaches a connector [300a] resistance-welded to the tabs of batteries, wherein the connector has a graphene-copper (or graphene-silver) “current path” [320].
US 2022/0199280 A1 teaches a copper core [10] coated with alternating layers of copper [10] and graphene [121].
/Daniel K Schlak/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834