DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 4/9/2026 in which claims 1-4, 6-16 and 18- 22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-16 and 18-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung; “Discussion on Multicast Reception in RRC_INACTIVE;” as cited in the IDS filed on 7/24/2024; hereinafter; “Samsung.” In view of
As to claims 1, and 18, Samsung teaches a method comprising: (section 2.6 inactivity handling)
detecting a trigger event associated with receiving multicast transmissions of a multicast session while the UE is RRC inactive state; starting the timer based on detecting the trigger event; and (section 2.6 the UE in RRC_INACTIVE should maintain a multicast inactivity timer…multicast inactivity timer can be started/restarted when a multicast packet is received)
processing the multicast transmissions of the multicast session prior to expiration or stopping of the timer. (section 2.6 when the multicast inactivity timer expires the UE may stop decoding for multicast reception)
But does not specifically teach:
receiving, from a network, configuration information to configure a timer associated with receiving multicast transmissions of a multicast session while a user equipment (UE) is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state with a cell, wherein the configuration information includes a duration of the timer;
However Fujishiro teaches receiving, from a network, configuration information to configure a timer associated with receiving multicast transmissions of a multicast session while a user equipment (UE) is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state with a cell, wherein the configuration information includes a duration of the timer; ([0098] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating Variation 1 of the first embodiment. Here, description will be given mainly on differences from the first embodiment described above. [0101] The RRC Reconfiguration message may include information (timer value) indicating the validity period of the MBS configuration. The validity period of the MBS configuration may be a validity period from a time (Step S206 to be described later) at which the UE 100 transitions to the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. The validity period of the MBS configuration may be configured according to a period (modification period) in which the gNB 200 does not change the MBS configuration, or a period until time at which the MBS session is scheduled to end, for example. When the validity period of the MBS configuration is the validity period from the time of the configuration in Step S202, the UE 100 starts a timer (validity period timer) in which the validity period of the MBS configuration is set, upon the configuration in Step S202.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samsung with the method from Fujishiro in order to provide MBS service in an RRC inactive sate.
As to claims 2, and 19, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger event is a first trigger event and the method further comprises: detecting a second trigger event; and stopping the timer based on detecting the second trigger event. (section 2.6 when the multicast inactivity timer expires)
As to claim 3, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the second trigger event includes: detecting an expiration of the timer; processing an indication that the multicast session is deactivated; processing a multicast session deactivation notification; performing a cell selection of the cell or an other cell; performing a cell reselection of the other cell; entering an RRC connected state; or entering an RRC idle state. (section 2.6 when the multicast inactivity timer expires)
As to claim 8, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger event includes: processing a configuration to enable an inactive multicast reception; entering the RRC inactive state; processing a multicast session activation notification in the RRC inactive state; receiving a multicast data scheduling; successfully receiving multicast data; or camping on a cell with the multicast session activated for inactive reception. (section 2.6 the UE in RRC_INACTIVE should maintain a multicast inactivity timer…multicast inactivity timer can be started/restarted when a multicast packet is received)
As to claim 9, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the cell is a first cell and the trigger event comprises: determining the multicast session is activated in a second cell; processing a multicast configuration in the first cell; processing an indication that the multicast configuration applies in the second cell; or performing cell reselection and camping on the second cell. (Samsung section 1 dedicated RRC signalling (i.e. RRC release message with suspendConfig) is used for switching a multicast receiving UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE and continue multicast reception. 1. When the multicast session is activated, UE can receive the multicast session in RRC_INACTIVE if the PTM configuration used in RRC_INACTIVE for the session is available to the UE and the UE has joined the session already (e.g., configuration provided to UE via dedicated RRC signaling or via MCCH), otherwise it goes back to RRC_CONNECTED to receive the multicast session.)
As to claim 10, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the cell is a first cell, and the trigger event comprises: processing a multicast configuration in the first cell; processing an indication that the multicast configuration applies in a second cell; performing cell reselection and camping on the second cell; or processing a multicast session activation notification or a multicast data. (Samsung section 1 dedicated RRC signalling (i.e. RRC release message with suspendConfig) is used for switching a multicast receiving UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE and continue multicast reception. 1. When the multicast session is activated, UE can receive the multicast session in RRC_INACTIVE if the PTM configuration used in RRC_INACTIVE for the session is available to the UE and the UE has joined the session already (e.g., configuration provided to UE via dedicated RRC signaling or via MCCH), otherwise it goes back to RRC_CONNECTED to receive the multicast session.)
As to claim 11, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the cell is a first cell, and the trigger event comprises: performing cell reselection and camping on a second cell; or processing a multicast configuration in the second cell. (section 1 introduce PTM configuration applicable area, i.e., the mechanism that the PTM configurations, once acquired by a UE, may apply to a certain area (i.e., a set of cells instead of a single cell). 2.7 Mobility aspects For a UE configured to receive multicast in RRC_INACTIVE, multicast session may or may not be provided on the neighbor cells. Consequently, for a UE reselecting a neighbor cell may lead to disruption of multicast service reception. For this reason, UE can be provided with neighbour cell multicast configuration information to support mobility.)
As to claim 12, Samsung teaches a method comprising:
Generating, for transmission to a user equipment (UE) send a first message to the UE to enter a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; and (section 1 Dedicated RRC signalling (i.e. RRC release message with suspendConfig) is used for switching a multicast receiving UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE and continue multicast reception (details FFS).)
But does not specifically teach:
Generating configuration information for transmission to the UE in the first message or a second message, the configuration information to configure a timer at the UE, the timer to enable the UE to monitor receptions of multicast transmissions of a multicast session while the UE is camped on a cell in the RRC inactive state.
However Fujishiro teaches Generating configuration information for transmission to the UE in the first message or a second message, the configuration information to configure a timer at the UE, the timer to enable the UE to monitor receptions of multicast transmissions of a multicast session while the UE is camped on a cell in the RRC inactive state.
([0098] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating Variation 1 of the first embodiment. Here, description will be given mainly on differences from the first embodiment described above. [0101] The RRC Reconfiguration message may include information (timer value) indicating the validity period of the MBS configuration. The validity period of the MBS configuration may be a validity period from a time (Step S206 to be described later) at which the UE 100 transitions to the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. The validity period of the MBS configuration may be configured according to a period (modification period) in which the gNB 200 does not change the MBS configuration, or a period until time at which the MBS session is scheduled to end, for example. When the validity period of the MBS configuration is the validity period from the time of the configuration in Step S202, the UE 100 starts a timer (validity period timer) in which the validity period of the MBS configuration is set, upon the configuration in Step S202.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samsung with the method from Fujishiro in order to provide MBS service in an RRC inactive sate.
As to claim 13, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 12, wherein the multicast session is a first multicast session, the timer is a first timer associated with the first multicast session, and the second message is to further configure a second timer at the UE, the second timer associated with a second multicast session. (Fujishiro ([0129] In the present variation, unicast signalling (RRC Reconfiguration message) transmitted from the gNB 200 to the UE 100 includes a first MBS configuration necessary for MBS reception in the RRC connected state and a second MBS configuration necessary for MBS reception in the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. [0098] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating Variation 1 of the first embodiment. Here, description will be given mainly on differences from the first embodiment described above. [0101] The RRC Reconfiguration message may include information (timer value) indicating the validity period of the MBS configuration. The validity period of the MBS configuration may be a validity period from a time (Step S206 to be described later) at which the UE 100 transitions to the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. The validity period of the MBS configuration may be configured according to a period (modification period) in which the gNB 200 does not change the MBS configuration, or a period until time at which the MBS session is scheduled to end, for example. When the validity period of the MBS configuration is the validity period from the time of the configuration in Step S202, the UE 100 starts a timer (validity period timer) in which the validity period of the MBS configuration is set, upon the configuration in Step S202.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samsung with the method from Fujishiro in order to provide MBS service in an RRC inactive sate.
As to claim 14, Samsung in view of Babaei teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the multicast session is a first multicast session and the timer is associated with the first multicast session and a second multicast session. (Samsung section 2.4 C-DRX configuration for multicast MRB is continued in RRC_INACTIVE expect RTT timer and ReTx timer configurations Fujishiro ([0098] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating Variation 1 of the first embodiment. Here, description will be given mainly on differences from the first embodiment described above. [0101] The RRC Reconfiguration message may include information (timer value) indicating the validity period of the MBS configuration. The validity period of the MBS configuration may be a validity period from a time (Step S206 to be described later) at which the UE 100 transitions to the RRC idle state or the RRC inactive state. The validity period of the MBS configuration may be configured according to a period (modification period) in which the gNB 200 does not change the MBS configuration, or a period until time at which the MBS session is scheduled to end, for example. When the validity period of the MBS configuration is the validity period from the time of the configuration in Step S202, the UE 100 starts a timer (validity period timer) in which the validity period of the MBS configuration is set, upon the configuration in Step S202.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samsung with the method from Fujishiro in order to provide MBS service in an RRC inactive sate.
As to claim 15, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the cell is a first cell, and the method further comprises: generating a multicast configuration for transmission in the first cell; and generating, for transmission to the UE, an indication that the multicast configuration applies in a second cell. (Samsung section 1 introduce PTM configuration applicable area, i.e., the mechanism that the PTM configurations, once acquired by a UE, may apply to a certain area (i.e., a set of cells instead of a single cell).)
As to claim 16, Samsung in view of Babaei teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the first message configures the UE to receive the multicast transmissions in the RRC inactive state and configures the timer. (Samsung section 1 Dedicated RRC signalling (i.e. RRC release message with suspendConfig) is used for switching a multicast receiving UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE and continue multicast reception (details FFS). Section 2.1 RRC Release with suspendConfig provides the PTM configuration to be used in RRC_INACTIVE (includes both activated and deactivated multicast MRBs). Configuration may include only those MRBs which are to be continued to RRC_INACTIVE. Fujishiro [0101] The RRC Reconfiguration message may include information (timer value) indicating the validity period of the MBS configuration.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samsung with the method from Fujishiro in order to provide MBS service in an RRC inactive sate.
As to claim 21, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is received in an RRC release with suspend configuration message that is to trigger the UE to enter the RRC inactive state. (Fujishiro [0058] When the connection between the RRC of the UE 100 and the RRC of the gNB 200 is suspended, the UE 100 is in an RRC inactive state. [0105] The RRC Release message may include information (timer value) indicating the validity period of the MBS configuration.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samsung with the method from Fujishiro in order to provide MBS service in an RRC inactive sate.
As to claim 22, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is to configure the timer per cell and per multicast session (Fujishiro [0115] When the validity period of the MBS configuration is different for each MBS session, the UE 100 sets the validity period corresponding to the MBS session received by the UE 100 for the timer.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Samsung with the method from Fujishiro in order to provide MBS service in an RRC inactive sate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention as seen in fig. 9 shows a validity timer in the RRCReconfiguration or release message from a single cell that the configuration is to configure the timer per cell.
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung in view of Fujishiro as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Babaei (US20230328843A1).
As to claims 4 and 20, Samsung in view of Fujishiro teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: terminating said receiving of the multicast transmissions based on detecting the second trigger event; (section 2.6 when the multicast inactivity timer expires the UE may stop decoding for multicast reception)
detecting a condition based on terminating said receiving of the multicast transmissions and initiating an RRC resume procedure based on the condition. (section 2.6 UE may request to transit to RRC_CONNECTED as the reason for staying for the RRC_INACTIVE is no longer valid)
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the condition includes: a reference signal received power being smaller than a first predefined value; or a block error rate being greater than a second predefined value.
However Babaei teaches wherein the condition includes: a reference signal received power being smaller than a first predefined value; or a block error rate being greater than a second predefined value. ([0155] In some examples, Robust RSRP Condition may be an RRC configurable condition setting which may include a minimum RSRP level and timer over which RSRP stays above that level. [0156] In some examples, UCI feedback for multicast from UEs in Inactive state may not be provided but only UEs with Robust RSRP conditions may be allowed to receive multicast data while in inactive state. In some examples, multicast configuration may include Robust RSRP conditions, e.g., threshold and/or timers, for UEs to be allowed to receive multicast in inactive state. In some examples, inactive UEs involved in an active multicast session may resume their RRC connection to receive the service data if their Robust RSRP condition is not met.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multicast method of Samsung with the method from Babaei in order to be allowed to receive multicast in inactive state.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 6 and 7 recite the limitation; “recording data associated with said terminating receiving of the multicast transmission, the data including a time stamp associated with detecting the second trigger event, a failed decoding number, and a channel quality;” which is not taught by the prior art and would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention. .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465