DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/19/2023 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Samsung; “Discussion on Multicast Reception in RRC_INACTIVE;” as cited in the IDS filed on 7/24/2024; hereinafter; “Samsung.”
As to claims 1, and 18, Samsung teaches a method to be implemented by a component of a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: (section 2.6 inactivity handling)
detecting a trigger event associated with receiving multicast transmissions of a multicast session while the UE is camped on a cell in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; starting a timer at the UE based on detecting the trigger event; and (section 2.6 the UE in RRC_INACTIVE should maintain a multicast inactivity timer…multicast inactivity timer can be started/restarted when a multicast packet is received)
processing the multicast transmissions of the multicast session prior to expiration or stopping of the timer. (section 2.6 when the multicast inactivity timer expires the UE may stop decoding for multicast reception)
As to claims 2, and 19, Samsung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger event is a first trigger event and the method further comprises: detecting a second trigger event; and stopping the timer based on detecting the second trigger event. (section 2.6 when the multicast inactivity timer expires)
As to claim 3, Samsung teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the second trigger event includes: detecting an expiration of the timer; processing an indication that the multicast session is deactivated; processing a multicast session deactivation notification; performing a cell selection of the cell or an other cell; performing a cell reselection of the other cell; entering an RRC connected state; or entering an RRC idle state. (section 2.6 when the multicast inactivity timer expires)
As to claims 4 and 20, Samsung teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising: terminating said receiving of the multicast transmissions based on detecting the second trigger event; (section 2.6 when the multicast inactivity timer expires the UE may stop decoding for multicast reception)
detecting a condition based on terminating said receiving of the multicast transmissions; and initiating an RRC resume procedure based on the condition. (section 2.6 UE may request to transit to RRC_CONNECTED as the reason for staying for the RRC_INACTIVE is no longer valid)
As to claim 8, Samsung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the trigger event includes: processing a configuration to enable an inactive multicast reception; entering the RRC inactive state; processing a multicast session activation notification in the RRC inactive state; receiving a multicast data scheduling; successfully receiving multicast data; or camping on a cell with the multicast session activated for inactive reception. (section 2.6 the UE in RRC_INACTIVE should maintain a multicast inactivity timer…multicast inactivity timer can be started/restarted when a multicast packet is received)
As to claim 9, Samsung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the cell is a first cell and the trigger event comprises: determining the multicast session is activated in a second cell; processing a multicast configuration in the first cell; processing an indication that the multicast configuration applies in the second cell; or performing cell reselection and camping on the second cell. (Samsung section 1 dedicated RRC signalling (i.e. RRC release message with suspendConfig) is used for switching a multicast receiving UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE and continue multicast reception. 1. When the multicast session is activated, UE can receive the multicast session in RRC_INACTIVE if the PTM configuration used in RRC_INACTIVE for the session is available to the UE and the UE has joined the session already (e.g., configuration provided to UE via dedicated RRC signaling or via MCCH), otherwise it goes back to RRC_CONNECTED to receive the multicast session.)
As to claim 10, Samsung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the cell is a first cell, and the trigger event comprises: processing a multicast configuration in the first cell; processing an indication that the multicast configuration applies in a second cell; performing cell reselection and camping on the second cell; or processing a multicast session activation notification or a multicast data. (Samsung section 1 dedicated RRC signalling (i.e. RRC release message with suspendConfig) is used for switching a multicast receiving UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE and continue multicast reception. 1. When the multicast session is activated, UE can receive the multicast session in RRC_INACTIVE if the PTM configuration used in RRC_INACTIVE for the session is available to the UE and the UE has joined the session already (e.g., configuration provided to UE via dedicated RRC signaling or via MCCH), otherwise it goes back to RRC_CONNECTED to receive the multicast session.)
As to claim 11, Samsung teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the cell is a first cell, and the trigger event comprises: performing cell reselection and camping on a second cell; or processing a multicast configuration in the second cell. (section 1 introduce PTM configuration applicable area, i.e., the mechanism that the PTM configurations, once acquired by a UE, may apply to a certain area (i.e., a set of cells instead of a single cell). 2.7 Mobility aspects For a UE configured to receive multicast in RRC_INACTIVE, multicast session may or may not be provided on the neighbor cells. Consequently, for a UE reselecting a neighbor cell may lead to disruption of multicast service reception. For this reason, UE can be provided with neighbour cell multicast configuration information to support mobility.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samsung in view of Babaei (US20230328843A1).
As to claim 5, Samsung teaches the method of claim 4,
But does not specifically teach:
wherein the condition includes: a reference signal received power being smaller than a first predefined value; or a block error rate being greater than a second predefined value.
However Babaei teaches wherein the condition includes: a reference signal received power being smaller than a first predefined value; or a block error rate being greater than a second predefined value. ([0155] In some examples, Robust RSRP Condition may be an RRC configurable condition setting which may include a minimum RSRP level and timer over which RSRP stays above that level. [0156] In some examples, UCI feedback for multicast from UEs in Inactive state may not be provided but only UEs with Robust RSRP conditions may be allowed to receive multicast data while in inactive state. In some examples, multicast configuration may include Robust RSRP conditions, e.g., threshold and/or timers, for UEs to be allowed to receive multicast in inactive state. In some examples, inactive UEs involved in an active multicast session may resume their RRC connection to receive the service data if their Robust RSRP condition is not met.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multicast method of Samsung with the method from Babaei in order to be allowed to receive multicast in inactive state.
As to claim 6, Samsung teaches the method of claim 4,
But does not specifically teach:
further comprising: recording data based on detecting the second trigger event or the condition; entering an RRC connected state; and reporting the data via a reporting message.
However Babaei teaches recording data based on detecting the second trigger event or the condition; entering an RRC connected state; and ([0155] In some examples, Robust RSRP Condition may be an RRC configurable condition setting which may include a minimum RSRP level and timer over which RSRP stays above that level. [0156] In some examples, UCI feedback for multicast from UEs in Inactive state may not be provided but only UEs with Robust RSRP conditions may be allowed to receive multicast data while in inactive state. In some examples, multicast configuration may include Robust RSRP conditions, e.g., threshold and/or timers, for UEs to be allowed to receive multicast in inactive state. In some examples, inactive UEs involved in an active multicast session may resume their RRC connection to receive the service data if their Robust RSRP condition is not met. [0158] In some examples, UE receiving multicast data in inactive state may be configured not to transmit UCI if their Robust RSRP condition is met.)
reporting the data via a reporting message. ([0009] The user equipment (UE) feedback may be channel state information (CSI) report. [0152] UEs in RRC connected state may also be configured to send CSI feedback to help with more optimized multicast transmission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multicast method of Samsung with the method from Babaei in order to support downlink multicast services and to improve transmission efficiency.
As to claim 7, Samsung in view of Babaei teaches the method of claim 6, wherein: the data includes a time stamp associated with detecting the second trigger event, a failed decoding number, or a channel quality; or the reporting message includes a logged minimization of drive test (MDT) report or a quality of experience (QoE) report. (Babaei ([0009] The user equipment (UE) feedback may be channel state information (CSI) report. [0152] UEs in RRC connected state may also be configured to send CSI feedback to help with more optimized multicast transmission.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multicast method of Samsung with the method from Babaei in order to support downlink multicast services and to improve transmission efficiency.
As to claim 12, Samsung teaches one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a component of a base station to: send a first message to cause a user equipment (UE) to enter a radio resource control (RRC) inactive state; and (section 1 Dedicated RRC signalling (i.e. RRC release message with suspendConfig) is used for switching a multicast receiving UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE and continue multicast reception (details FFS).)
But does not specifically teach:
send a second message to configure a timer at the UE, the timer to enable the UE to monitor receptions of multicast transmissions of a multicast session while the UE is camped on a cell provided by the base station in the RRC inactive state.
However Babaei teaches send a second message to configure a timer at the UE, the timer to enable the UE to monitor receptions of multicast transmissions of a multicast session while the UE is camped on a cell provided by the base station in the RRC inactive state. ([0171] In some examples, the UE may join the one or more multicast groups after receiving the RRC release message and/or after transitioning to the RRC inactive state. In some examples, the UE may receive the multicast configuration parameters after receiving the RRC release message and/or after transitioning to the RRC inactive state. [0156] multicast configuration may include Robust RSRP conditions, e.g., threshold and/or timers, [0148] the multicast session active time is determined based on start and end timers which may be included in notification signaling from gNB.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multicast method of Samsung with the method from Babaei in order to support downlink multicast services and to improve transmission efficiency.
As to claim 13, Samsung in view of Babaei teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 12, wherein the multicast session is a first multicast session, the timer is a first timer associated with the first multicast session, and the second message is to further configure a second timer at the UE, the second timer associated with a second multicast session. (Babaei ([0170] the multicast configuration parameters, received during the RRC connected state, may comprise first multicast configuration parameters for multicast data reception during the RRC connected state and second multicast configuration parameters for multicast data reception during the RRC inactive state. [0156] multicast configuration may include Robust RSRP conditions, e.g., threshold and/or timers, [0148] the multicast session active time is determined based on start and end timers which may be included in notification signaling from gNB.)
It would have been obvious to configure a timer for the multicast session in each state in order to provide a robust RSRP conditions to allow multicast in a connected or inactive state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multicast method of Samsung with the method from Babaei in order to support downlink multicast services and to improve transmission efficiency.
As to claim 14, Samsung in view of Babaei teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 12, wherein the multicast session is a first multicast session and the timer is associated with the first multicast session and a second multicast session. (Samsung section 2.4 C-DRX configuration for multicast MRB is continued in RRC_INACTIVE expect RTT timer and ReTx timer configurations Babaei ([0170] the multicast configuration parameters, received during the RRC connected state, may comprise first multicast configuration parameters for multicast data reception during the RRC connected state and second multicast configuration parameters for multicast data reception during the RRC inactive state. [0156] multicast configuration may include Robust RSRP conditions, e.g., threshold and/or timers, [0148] the multicast session active time is determined based on start and end timers which may be included in notification signaling from gNB.)
It would have been obvious to configure a timer for the multicast session in each state in order to provide a robust RSRP conditions to allow multicast in a connected or inactive state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multicast method of Samsung with the method from Babaei in order to support downlink multicast services and to improve transmission efficiency.
As to claim 15, Samsung in view of Babaei teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 12, wherein the cell is a first cell, and the instructions further cause the component of the base station to: send a multicast configuration in the first cell; and send an indication to the UE that the multicast configuration applies in a second cell. (Samsung section 1 introduce PTM configuration applicable area, i.e., the mechanism that the PTM configurations, once acquired by a UE, may apply to a certain area (i.e., a set of cells instead of a single cell).)
As to claim 16, Samsung in view of Babaei teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 12, wherein the first message configures the UE to receive the multicast transmissions in the RRC inactive state and configures the timer. (Samsung section 1 Dedicated RRC signalling (i.e. RRC release message with suspendConfig) is used for switching a multicast receiving UE from RRC_CONNECTED to RRC_INACTIVE and continue multicast reception (details FFS). Section 2.1 RRC Release with suspendConfig provides the PTM configuration to be used in RRC_INACTIVE (includes both activated and deactivated multicast MRBs). Configuration may include only those MRBs which are to be continued to RRC_INACTIVE. Babaei [0156] multicast configuration may include Robust RSRP conditions, e.g., threshold and/or timers, for UEs to be allowed to receive multicast in inactive state. [0160] UEs in Inactive state may be configured as part of PTM configuration)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multicast method of Samsung with the method from Babaei in order to support downlink multicast services and to improve transmission efficiency.
As to claim 17, Samsung in view of Babaei teaches the one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 12, wherein the second message is an RRC resume message. (Samsung section 1 PTM configuration(s) (i.e., configurations used for multicast reception in RRC_INACTIVE) of one or more multicast sessions for at least one cell are provided via dedicated RRC signaling to a UE. (1-b) The RRC message for this includes RRCReconfiguration and/or RRCRelease and/or RRCResume (details FFS))
Conclusion
/Elton Williams/Examiner, Art Unit 2465