DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonezawa (US 8337064 B2) in view of Tanabe et al. (US 20200094879 A1) and Mildner (US 8246105 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Yonezawa discloses a front face (Yonezawa, Fig. 1) for a motor vehicle (Yonezawa, 18 in Fig. 1) characterized in that it comprises:- an upper portion (Yonezawa, 10 in Fig. 1) having a first external surface (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, surface of 22) visible from an outside of the vehicle (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, exposed to forward exterior) when the front face is mounted on the vehicle, the upper portion comprising a trim module (Yonezawa, 20 in Fig. 1), wherein the trim module includes an electromagnetic waves diffusion member (Yonezawa, Col. 5 lines 46-49, lamp), the trim module is adapted to attach to a support structure (Yonezawa, 26 in Fig. 1) of the vehicle,- a lower portion (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, portion below 10, includes 16 and 48) having a second external surface (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, forward outer surface of 48) visible from the outside of the vehicle when the front face is mounted on the vehicle, wherein an upper end of the lower portion and a lower end of the upper portion are adjacent and offset horizontally along a longitudinal axis (X) (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, upper end of 48 adjacent to and in front of lower end of 22) of the vehicle so that the upper end of the second external surface of the lower portion is located further toward a front (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, surface of 48 is in front) of the vehicle than the lower end of the first external surface of the upper portion when the front face is mounted on the vehicle.
Yonezawa fails to disclose an external surface transparent or translucent to said electromagnetic waves and an offset (d1) along the longitudinal axis (X) of the vehicle is between 10 mm to 100 mm.
Tanabe teaches an external surface transparent or translucent to said electromagnetic waves (Tanabe, Fig. 1-2 and paragraph 43, trim module of 16 has lamps along with other electromagnetic wave emitting devices, and the external surface is made from transparent material, therefore some electromagnetic waves will be able to go through).
Tanabe is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle front face as Yonezawa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front face as taught by Yonezawa to incorporate the teachings of Tanabe with a reasonable expectation of success and have a trim module with transparent surface. Doing so provides a surface allowing multiple devices to be installed behind of and maximizes vehicle capabilities.
Mildner teaches an offset (d1) along the longitudinal axis (X) of the vehicle is between 10 mm to 100 mm (Mildner, Col. 9 lines 20-27, 40-45 mm or 75 mm).
Mildner is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle front structure that displaces in the event of an impact to protect other vehicle components as Yonezawa in view of Tanabe.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front face as taught by Yonezawa in view of Tanabe to incorporate the teachings of Mildner with a reasonable expectation of success and have an offset of 10 mm to 100 mm such that the lower panel can be displaced by such distance. Doing so provides desired protection to other vehicle component during an impact.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yonezawa in view of Tanabe and Mildner teaches the front face according to claim 1, wherein at least part of the upper end of the lower portion and/or at least part of the lower end of the upper portion extends in a substantially horizontal plane (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, both has part that extends substantially horizontally) when the front face is mounted on the vehicle.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yonezawa in view of Tanabe and Mildner teaches the front face according to claim 1, wherein the upper portion comprises an upper panel (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, panel of 22) made of plastic material (Tanabe, paragraph 37, both panels can be made of plastic) and the lower portion comprises a lower panel (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, panel of 16) made of plastic material (Tanabe, paragraph 37, both panels can be made of plastic; Yonezawa already teaches synthetic resin in Col. 10 last line), wherein the upper panel and the lower panel are integral (Yonezawa, Fig. 1 and 11A, integral as in connected and assembled together).
Tanabe is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle front face as Yonezawa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front face as taught by Yonezawa to incorporate the teachings of Tanabe with a reasonable expectation of success and use plastics. Doing so reduces the weight of the vehicle by using plastic as compare to metal.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yonezawa in view of Tanabe and Mildner teaches the front face according to claim 3, wherein a portion of the front face at a junction between the upper panel and the lower panel forms a connecting zone (Yonezawa, Fig. 11A) configured to deform or break during an impact (Yonezawa, Fig. 10-11B, Fig. 10 shows impact and Fig. 11B shows breaking) at the second external surface of the lower portion.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yonezawa in view of Tanabe and Mildner teaches the front face according to claim 3, wherein the lower panel is more flexible than the upper panel (Yonezawa, upper panel is fixed to both supports 20 while lower panel is releasable and can move as shown in Fig. 11B, making it more flexible than the upper panel).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yonezawa in view of Tanabe and Mildner teaches the front face according to claim 1, wherein the upper portion comprises an upper panel (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, panel of 22) made of a first plastic material (Tanabe, paragraph 37, both panels can be made of plastic) and the lower portion comprises a lower panel (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, panel of 16) made of a second plastic material (Tanabe, paragraph 37, both panels can be made of plastic; Yonezawa already teaches synthetic resin in Col. 10 last line), wherein the upper panel and the lower panel are distinct from one another (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, they are two different parts).
Tanabe is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle front face as Yonezawa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front face as taught by Yonezawa to incorporate the teachings of Tanabe with a reasonable expectation of success and use plastics. Doing so reduces the weight of the vehicle by using plastic as compare to metal.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yonezawa in view of Tanabe and Mildner teaches the front face according to claim 6, wherein the lower panel and the upper panel are adapted to attach to the vehicle so as to be independent (Yonezawa, Fig. 1 and Fig. 11B, independent movement during an impact) from each other.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yonezawa in view of Tanabe and Mildner teaches the front face according to claim 1, further comprising two optical units (Tanabe, 15 in Fig. 1) integrated into the trim module, the optical units being arranged respectively at two opposite lateral ends of the trim module (Tanabe, Fig. 1, two lights 15 on each end of the trim module).
Examiner notes that optical units are known in the vehicle area to have structural connotations; they are interpreted to be equivalent of lighting units.
Tanabe is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle front face as Yonezawa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front face as taught by Yonezawa to incorporate the teachings of Tanabe with a reasonable expectation of success and have two optical units. Doing so provides safety to vehicle operators and other traffic users during low light conditions.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yonezawa in view of Tanabe and Mildner teaches the front face according to claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic waves diffusion member of the trim module is adapted to emit light (Yonezawa, Col. 5 lines 46-49, lamp can emit light) and the external surface of the trim module is any one of: transparent and translucent to light (Tanabe, paragraph 43, transparent therefore at least certain lights can go through).
Regarding claim 10, Yonezawa discloses a motor vehicle (Yonezawa, 18 in Fig. 1) characterized in that it comprises a front face (Yonezawa, Fig. 1), wherein the front face further comprises: - an upper portion (Yonezawa, 10 in Fig. 1) having a first external surface (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, surface of 22) visible from an outside of the vehicle (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, exposed to forward exterior) when the front face is mounted on the vehicle, the upper portion comprising a trim module (Yonezawa, 20 in Fig. 1), wherein the trim module includes an electromagnetic waves diffusion member (Yonezawa, Col. 5 lines 46-49, lamp), the trim module is adapted to attach to a support structure (Yonezawa, 26 in Fig. 1) of the vehicle,- a lower portion (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, portion below 10, includes 16 and 48) having a second external surface (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, forward outer surface of 48) visible from the outside of the vehicle when the front face is mounted on the vehicle, wherein an upper end of the lower portion and a lower end of the upper portion are adjacent and offset horizontally along a longitudinal axis (X) (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, upper end of 48 adjacent to and in front of lower end of 22) of the vehicle so that the upper end of the second external surface of the lower portion is located further toward a front (Yonezawa, Fig. 1, surface of 48 is in front) of the vehicle than the lower end of the first external surface of the upper portion when the front face is mounted on the vehicle.
Yonezawa fails to disclose an external surface transparent or translucent to said electromagnetic waves and an offset (d1) along the longitudinal axis (X) of the vehicle is between 10 mm to 100 mm.
Tanabe teaches an external surface transparent or translucent to said electromagnetic waves (Tanabe, Fig. 1-2 and paragraph 43, trim module of 16 has lamps along with other electromagnetic wave emitting devices, and the external surface is made from transparent material, therefore some electromagnetic waves will be able to go through).
Tanabe is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle front face as Yonezawa.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front face as taught by Yonezawa to incorporate the teachings of Tanabe with a reasonable expectation of success and have a trim module with transparent surface. Doing so provides a surface allowing multiple devices to be installed behind of and maximizes vehicle capabilities.
Mildner teaches an offset (d1) along the longitudinal axis (X) of the vehicle is between 10 mm to 100 mm (Mildner, Col. 9 lines 20-27, 40-45 mm or 75 mm).
Mildner is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle front structure that displaces in the event of an impact to protect other vehicle components as Yonezawa in view of Tanabe.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the front face as taught by Yonezawa in view of Tanabe to incorporate the teachings of Mildner with a reasonable expectation of success and have an offset of 10 mm to 100 mm such that the lower panel can be displaced by such distance. Doing so provides desired protection to other vehicle component during an impact.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references that are not relied upon all disclose vehicle front face with lower portion displacement to protect another part of the front face.
/WENWEI ZHUO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612