DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of bearings provided between the rotor carrier and spindle (see claim 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. As shown in figures 4 and 5, the applicant’s shown rotor carrier ends before reaching the second set of bearings therefore the applicant’s figures fail to show the rotor carrier being supported by multiple sets of bearings between the rotor carrier and the spindle hollow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The applicant's original disclosure fails to disclose the newly amended subject matter of claim 9. Namely, claim 9 recites “the plurality of bearings includes every bearing of the electric axle assembly” and “is axially offset from the axial midpoint of the rotor in the first axial direction”, wherein the applicant’s original disclosure fails to disclose axially offset bearing comprising EVERY bearing of the electric axle assembly wherein each bearing exists between the fist and second end of the rotor. Figures 4 and 5 show the claimed bearings in relation to the rotor, however ALSO disclose ADDITIONAL bearings on the electric axle assembly. The applicant’s amendment improperly combines embodiments of the disclosed inventions.
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, it’s not clear how the claimed bearings exist within the length of the rotor, and wherein the only bearings to support the electric axles are provided in that space as well. As disclosed by the applicant’s embodiments, when the applicant supports the rotor with bearings within its length, there are additional bearings provided outside the rotor length.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LaForce et al (US Pub No 2023/0110432).
Regarding claim 1, LaForce discloses an electric drive unit, comprising:
a housing that defines a motor housing region (shown below, indicated by 207) and a gearbox region (to the left of the housing region shown below, shown by 209), the housing having a bearing shield (320) that extends between the motor housing region and the gearbox region and defines an aperture;
a rotor shaft (310) that extends axially through the aperture from the motor housing region into the gearbox region;
a motor disposed within the motor housing region and including a stator (300) and a rotor (302) arranged on the rotor shaft; and
a plurality of bearings (309, 312) operably coupled with the rotor shaft and configured to support and facilitate rotation of the rotor shaft, wherein the plurality of bearings includes every bearing of the electric drive unit that is operably coupled with the rotor shaft and configured to support and facilitate rotation of the rotor shaft, and wherein (1) each of the plurality of bearings is disposed outside of the motor housing region and (2) each of the plurality of bearings is disposed within the gearbox region.
Regarding claim 2, LaForce discloses the plurality of bearings comprises: a first bearing (e.g. 312) that extends radially between the bearing shield and the rotor shaft.
Regarding claim 3, LaForce discloses the first bearing is an unsealed bearing (see at least [0038]).
Regarding claim 4, LaForce discloses the plurality of bearings further comprises: a second bearing (e.g. 309) axially offset from the first bearing, such that the second bearing is further than the first bearing from the aperture defined by the bearing shield.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, LaForce discloses the rotor shaft is an assembly of a plurality of coaxial rotor shaft components (e.g. 310 and 308 making up a singular shaft).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, LaForce discloses each of the plurality of bearings is disposed outside of the motor housing region.
Regarding claims 7 and 12, LaForce discloses each of the plurality of bearings is disposed within the gearbox region.
Regarding claim 8, LaForce discloses the electric drive unit is a portion of an electric axle assembly of a vehicle (100, shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, LaForce discloses an electric axle assembly for a vehicle, comprising:
a housing (e.g. 207, 209) that defines an interior region;
a motor disposed within the interior region and having a stator (300) and a rotor (302) that extends in a first axial direction from a first axial end to a second axial end opposite the first axial end and includes an axial midpoint positioned axially equidistant from the first and second axial ends of the rotor;
a rotor shaft (310) operably coupled with the rotor, such that operation of the motor drives rotation of the rotor shaft; and
a plurality of bearings (309, 312) operably coupled with the rotor shaft and configured to support and facilitate rotation of the rotor shaft, wherein the plurality of bearings includes every bearing of the electric axle assembly that is operably coupled with the rotor shaft and configured to support and facilitate rotation of the rotor shaft, and wherein each of the plurality of bearings is axially offset from the axial midpoint of the rotor in the first axial direction (as shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 10, LaForce discloses at least a portion of each of the plurality of bearings is axially offset from the second axial end of the rotor in the first axial direction (as shown in figure 3).
Regarding claim 11, LaForce discloses the interior region includes a motor housing region that houses the motor (shown above, 207), and a gearbox region (209), and wherein the rotor shaft extends from the motor housing region into the gearbox region.
Regarding claim 14, LaForce discloses a gearset (328, 330) disposed within the gearbox region and operable to splash fluid disposed within the gearbox region to lubricate at least one of the plurality of bearings (noted in column 13, lines 36-53).
Regarding claim 15, LaForce discloses the motor housing region and the gearbox region are sealed from each other (via 324, shown throughout figure 4), such that fluid is prevented from entering the motor housing region from the gearbox region.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18, and 20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the applicant’s argument that figures 4 and 5 illustrate the subject matter of claims 17 and 18; Claims 17 requires “at least one bearing that extends radially between the rotor carrier and the spindle”, wherein claim 18 adds that the bearing includes a plurality of bearings, which now requires at least two bearings (only two are shown which fit the radial aspect of claim 17) that “extends radially between the rotor carrier and the spindle”. As noted in the drawing objection, since the rotor carrier doesn’t extend to the second bearing the feature is not shown in drawings.
Regarding the assertion that LaForce discloses a bearing in the motor housing, as shown in the drawing above, the bearings referenced are clearly outside the motor housing and merely being “proximate to” as stated by the applicant is not sufficient to be within the motor housing. In as much as the applicant’s bearing are outside the motor housing, LaForce discloses the same.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619