DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention Group I in the reply filed on June 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 29, 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. US 11399514 (‘514 hereinafter) in view of Medoff (US 20100124583). ‘514 discloses all of the limitations in claims 1, 2, 5 and 6 except for the conditioning element including a microwave generator configured to transfer energy operable to condition the litter as the litter is tumbled in the drum.
However, Medoff teaches a method of processing biomass (Figs. 1-46) comprising a conditioning element (auger and conditioner) including a microwave generator ([0222]) configured to (capable of) transfer energy operable to condition the litter as the litter is tumbled in the drum (312, 342).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a conditioning element including a microwave generator, as taught by Medoff, to Wood’s conditioning element, in order to produce desired products ([0343], [0449], [0751] and [0762]).
Application Claims
U.S. Patent No. 11,399,514
1
1
2
2
3
1
5
3
6
4
7
1
8
6
9
9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "infeed hopper" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (US 7341024) in view of Medoff (US 20100124583).
With respect to claim 1, Wood discloses an at least semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle (Figs. 1-24), the litter conditioning vehicle comprising: a chassis (of the “drive-through machine” or tractor or other suitable vehicle. Col. 5, lines 23-28. Of the bobcat. Col. 8, line 52. Of the front-end loaders. Col. 13, line 18); a drive system (of the “drive-through machine” or tractor or other suitable vehicle. Col. 5, lines 23-28. Of the bobcat. Col. 8, line 52. Of the front-end loaders. Col. 13, line 18) coupled to the chassis and configured to (capable of) move the litter conditioning vehicle along a floor of an animal enclosure; a collection system (pickup mechanism) coupled to a front portion of the chassis (Fig. 12), the collection system configured to (capable of) collect litter from the floor (Figs. 13-17), the collection system including a flailer (auger and tiller blades) configured to (capable of) reduce a particle size of the litter; a conditioning system (processing mechanism) coupled along a length of the chassis (Fig. 11), the conditioning system including a drum (auger) and a conditioning element (1810, 1820, 1840, 1850 and 1860), an inner volume of the drum configured to (capable of) receive litter from the collection system, the drum configured to rotate to tumble the litter disposed in the inner volume, and a dispersement system (830) coupled to a back portion of the chassis, the dispersement system configured to (capable of) receive conditioned litter from the conditioning system and to disperse the conditioned litter on the floor behind the litter conditioning vehicle (Fig. 12).
Wood fails to disclose the conditioning element including a microwave generator configured to transfer energy operable to condition the litter as the litter is tumbled in the drum.
However, Medoff teaches a method of processing biomass (Figs. 1-46) comprising a conditioning element (auger and conditioner) including a microwave generator ([0222]) configured to (capable of) transfer energy operable to condition the litter as the litter is tumbled in the drum (312, 342).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a conditioning element including a microwave generator, as taught by Medoff, to Wood’s conditioning element, in order to produce desired products ([0343], [0449], [0751] and [0762]).
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heatwole (US 20210212295) in view of Medoff (US 20100124583).
With respect to claim 1, Heatwole discloses an at least semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle (Figs. 1-30), the litter conditioning vehicle comprising: a chassis (102); a drive system (110) coupled to the chassis and configured to (capable of) move the litter conditioning vehicle along a floor of an animal enclosure; a collection system (120) coupled to a front portion of the chassis ([0043]), the collection system configured to (capable of) collect litter from the floor, the collection system including a flailer ([0045]) configured to (capable of) reduce a particle size of the litter; a conditioning system (140) coupled along a length of the chassis ([0024]), the conditioning system including a drum ([0050]) and a conditioning element (of 140), an inner volume of the drum configured to (capable of) receive litter from the collection system, the drum configured to rotate to tumble the litter disposed in the inner volume, and a dispersement system (160) coupled to a back portion of the chassis ([0023]-[0024]), the dispersement system configured to (capable of) receive conditioned litter from the conditioning system and to disperse the conditioned litter on the floor behind the litter conditioning vehicle. Heatwole discloses the conditioning system further includes a heating element.
Wood fails to disclose the conditioning element or the heating element including a microwave generator configured to transfer energy operable to condition the litter as the litter is tumbled in the drum.
However, Medoff teaches a method of processing biomass (Figs. 1-46) comprising a conditioning element (auger and conditioner) including a microwave generator ([0222]) configured to (capable of) transfer energy operable to condition the litter as the litter is tumbled in the drum (312, 342).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of a conditioning element including a microwave generator, as taught by Medoff, to Wood’s conditioning element, in order to produce desired products ([0343], [0449], [0751] and [0762]).
With respect to claim 2, Heatwole’s semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle modified by Medoff’s microwave generator, Heatwole further discloses wherein the energy transferred to the litter is operable to heat the litter to an average temperature of at least 170 °F ([0026]).
With respect to claim 3, Heatwole’s semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle modified by Medoff’s microwave generator, Heatwole further discloses wherein the microwave generator (the heating element) is disposed in the inner volume of the drum ([0051] and [0052]).
With respect to claim 4, Heatwole’s semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle modified by Medoff’s microwave generator, Heatwole and Medoff fail to disclose wherein the microwave generator emits microwave radiation at about 915 MHz.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the microwave generator emits microwave radiation at about 915 MHz, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
With respect to claim 5, Heatwole’s semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle modified by Medoff’s microwave generator, Heatwole further discloses the litter conditioning vehicle of claim 1, further comprising: a control system including a plurality of sensors, the control system configured to control an operating state of at least one of the drive system, the collection system, the conditioning system, and the dispersement system in response to data received from at least one sensor from the plurality of sensors (claim 3).
With respect to claim 6, Heatwole’s semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle modified by Medoff’s microwave generator, Heatwole further discloses wherein the data received from the at least one sensor from the plurality of sensors is data associated with the conditioning system, the control system configured to control at least one of a flowrate of litter through the drum, an amount of energy transferred to the litter in the drum, a dwell time of at least a portion of the litter in the drum, or a rotational velocity of the drum (claim 4).
With respect to claim 7, Heatwole’s semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle modified by Medoff’s microwave generator, Heatwole further discloses wherein the collection system includes a conveyer (226, 227, 326) configured to transport litter from the flailer to an infeed mechanism ([0050]) of the conditioning system, the infeed mechanism being in communication with the inner volume of the drum (claim 1).
With respect to claim 8, Heatwole’s semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle modified by Medoff’s microwave generator, Heatwole further discloses wherein the flailer is configured to reduce a particle size of the litter to a first average particle size, the infeed hopper (345) including an auger ([0112]) configured to reduce the particle size of the litter to a second average particle size smaller than the first average particle size, the auger configured to deliver the litter having the second average particle size into the inner volume of the drum (claim 6).
With respect to claim 9, Heatwole’s semi-autonomous litter conditioning vehicle modified by Medoff’s microwave generator, Heatwole further discloses wherein the second average particle size is between about 0.2 inches and about 1.0 inches (claim 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to a litter conditioning vehicle: Samaha, Lange ‘015, Lange ‘490, O'Connor, Lange ‘132, Lindores and Lange ‘144.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 August 7, 2026