DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sternchuss et al. (US 20160002098).
Sternchuss discloses a substrate coated with a low-E multilayer coating. Concerning claims 1-4, 8, and 11-14, Sternchuss discloses a coated substrate (FIG. 2; para. 0012-0135) comprising a substrate and a coating comprising a silicon nitride layer (element 9) (i.e. first underlayer), a silica layer (element 8) (i.e. second underlayer), a transparent conductive oxide layer (elements 2 and 3), and an intermediate layer (element 4) formed from silicon nitride or a zinc tin oxide embedded in the TCO layer, wherein the TCO layer is an ITO. With respect to the thickness of the embedded film, Sternchuss discloses the thickness of each intermediate layer is from 2 to 30 nm (para. 0034). Examiner notes that the materials of the layers is/are the same as that disclosed in the specification and as such, would have the claimed refractive index relationship between the layers and sheet resistance.
Concerning claim 5, the sum total of the thickness of the TCO layers is 40 to 200 nm, wherein each TCO layer can have a thickness that overlaps and includes the claimed ranges (para. 0020-0022). With respect to claim 6, the TCO layers are each ITO (para. 0012-0023). Regarding claim 7, as shown in Figure 2, if the TCO layer is considered elements 2 and 3, the intermediate film is approximately in the middle. Regarding claim 10, as shown in Figure 2, the underlayer is disposed directly onto the substrate.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sternchuss et al. (US 20160002098) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Molle et al. (US 20060246321).
Sternchuss discloses the above, including a protective coating comprising a first layer of silica (FIG. 2; element 7) and a layer of titanium dioxide (element 10; para. 0115-0117). However, Sternchuss is silent to the layer of titanium dioxide further including alumina.
Molle discloses a mixed oxide layer titania and alumina, wherein the addition of alumina provides higher structural and thermal stability (para. 0008-0012). As such, for increased structural and thermal stability, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the protective layer of Sternchuss be a mixed oxide of aluminum oxide and titanium dioxide.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10650935. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a transparent conductive oxide having an embedded film with the same structure. While it is noted that the ‘935 claims disclose the first underlayer comprising zinc, this would still read on the instant claims because the present claims are broader than those of the ‘935 patent. Further, the thickness values and sheet resistance would be met by the ‘935 claims since the coated article has the same materials and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed thickness values in order to meet the refractive index relationship.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11881326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a transparent conductive oxide having an embedded film with the same structure. While it is noted that the ‘326 claims are silent to the sheet resistance and thickness of the TCO layers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed thickness values in order to meet the refractive index relationship.
Conclusion
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783