Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 31-50 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new rejection made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-35, 37-38, 40-45, 47-48, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen-Tidhar et al. (US 20220353435, hereinafter Cohen-Tidhar) in view of Butcher (US 20110299832) and Hughes et al. (US 20100179867, hereinafter Hughes.)
Regarding claim 31, “A method comprising: generating for display a content item” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0010 and ¶0014) systems, devices, and methods (as well as a particular format or protocol, and a suitable algorithm) to enable a viewer of a video, who utilizes an electronic device for video playback or video consumption or video engagement, to perform high-quality zoom-in function (and high-quality zoom-out function), on a specific object that is shown in the video content, and/or on a specific area-of-interest or object-of-interest that is depicted in the video content; (¶0046-¶0047) displaying a frame of the original video; (¶0090, ¶0101, ¶106) computer implemented.
As to “determining… that a frame of a plurality of frames of the content item includes a focus object” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0029) A Metadata List Generator 114 generates a Metadata List 115 (or file, or data-item), which is associated with the video, and which indicates the available cropped version(s) that are available for each frame (or time-slot, or time-segment) of the video; and optionally indicating also the in-frame coordinates or location or offset of such cropped versions (e.g., relative to a first horizontal edge and to a first vertical edge of the original video; or otherwise relative to a fixed point or a particular corner of the full uncropped video); (¶0048) objects-of-interest or areas-of-interest that were determined for the original frame; each such area-of-interest being a rectangle having dimensions of 480p (e.g., each sub-frame is 854 by 480 pixels). In some embodiments, a human user may manually create these particular sub-frames, focusing on particular objects or areas
As to “receiving a user interface selection to present focus content corresponding to the focus object” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0032) the end-user requests zoom-in.
As to “based at least in part on receiving the user interface selection, accessing an index map for the content item, wherein the index map identifies a region in the frame of the plurality of frames of the content item that includes focused content” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0030) Manifest File 117 represents or indicates the addresses and/or metadata of the available video segments; for example, indicating that a full FOV version of 480p is available for the entire 60 one-second segments, and indicating that a first cropped 480p version is available for the entire 60 one-second segments that depict Object-of-Interest 1, and indicating that a second cropped 480p version is available for the entire 60 one-second segments that depict Object-of-Interest 2, and indicating that a third cropped 480p version is available for 14 one-second segments that depict Object-of-Interest 3 (spanning the 25th to the 38th one-second video segments). The Manifest File 117 may indicate the URL or URI for each such video segment, and its relevant metadata. The Manifest File 117 may be stored in the Video Repository 103, as a separate file that is associated with (or linked to) the original video; or as a “sidecar” file that accompanies the original video; or, in some implementations, as metadata within a header of the video file itself; or using a database or a lookup table or pointer(s); or using other suitable methods that associated between a particular video and a particular manifest file.
As to “and generating for display, based at least in part on receiving the user interface selection, the focused content by modifying the identified region of the frame.” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0032) the end-user device is playing a video of 60 seconds; at time-point 00:13 (mm:ss), the end-user requests zoom-in; the server immediately starts generating cropped video versions, for one-second time-segments from that time-point and onward; the first cropped video version is available after two seconds of processing, and starts displaying at time-point 00:15; during its playback (from time-point 00:15 to time-point 0016), the next five video-segments are generated as cropped versions, and become available for zoomed-in playback; during the playback of those five video-segments, the next 12 video-segments are generated as cropped versions; and so forth, thereby producing on-the-fly the cropped video-segments in response to a triggering command (a zoom-in command or request) from the end-user device. Similarly, the Metadata List 115 and/or the Manifest File 117 may be constructed and/or updated and/or augmented on-the-fly, in the background while the end-user device is playing the already-generated cropped video segments; thereby providing a zoom-in functionality that is triggered by an initial zoom-in command, and is constructed gradually via background server-side processing while the end-user device displays already-generated cropped (and thus zoomed-in) video segments.
Cohen-Tidhar does not teach “wherein each user profile ….comprises respective indications related to previous selections of displaying focused content related to the content item and wherein the respective indications comprise at least one of (a) identifiers of objects of the content item, or (b) identifiers of frames of the content item, that were previously selected as focused content by at least one user associated with at least one other user profile of the plurality of user profiles” and determining, “based at least in part on the respective indications related to previous selections of displaying focused content” that a frame of a plurality of frames of the content item includes a focus object. However, Butcher teaches (¶0044) zoom preference may include learned zoom preferences derived from past viewing habits; (¶0045) viewer preferences are stored locally or remotely; (¶0051) once objects are selected by the viewer, they may be stored in the zoom preferences of the viewer. In this way, the client can present the viewer with information such as new recommendations, etc. based on the objects of interest from the viewer's playing history; (¶0052) prioritization/ranking of objects of interest (e.g., actors in a film, members of a band, etc.) may be retained (e.g., via the viewer preferences) for use in a subsequent viewing situation; (¶0046) object is indicated by zoom preferences, comparing identified objects in metadata with that of the zoom preference of viewer; (¶0036) object “Bob Smith” identified by reference value (e.g., 7AF81752-2EB9-4FCD-A053-7E76A9D4573C) ;(¶0043-¶0044) objects such as a guitar, a particular athlete, a particular actor, etc…. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Cohen-Tidhar with using the user preferences/past user viewing history for object determination as taught by Butcher for the benefit of personalizing the end user experience, learning the user preferences which allows for content targeting, and making the user interface simpler to navigate.
Cohen-Tidhar and Butcher do not teach “accessing a user profile database comprising a plurality of user profiles” and a user profile “of a plurality of user profiles”. However, Hughes teaches (¶0052) Database may store user profiles on the users, which may include information for determining the users' preferences; (¶0125) the user profile stored in database for information collected from monitoring the user's interaction with the application. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Cohen-Tidhar and Butcher with the database for storing user preferences/profile as taught by Hughes for the benefit of having preferences stored in an organized data structure that allows for fast searching/retrieval and scalability.
Regarding claim 32, “The method of claim 31, wherein the index map is accessed after the content item is generated for display.” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0038) In response to such user command, the Video Playback Unit 151 determines which particular object-of-interest (or, area-of-interest) is the subject of the zoom-in request; and obtains from the Manifest File 117 and/or from the Metadata List 115 the pointer(s) to the subsequent video segments that depict the cropped version of that particular object-of-interest.
Regarding claim 33, “The method of claim 31 further comprising generating for display, simultaneously with the content item, an indicator of the identified region of the content item for which the focused content is available.” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0035) Optionally, the Video Playback Unit 151 may visually indicate to the end-user, via a Zoomable Objects Marking/Highlighting Unit 153, the existence and/or the location of particular objects-of-interest that are zoomable (e.g., objects for which a high-quality fine-details zoom-in function is available, throughout the video or throughout particular portions of the video)
Regarding claim 34, “The method of claim 31, wherein the index map comprises coordinates of the identified region.” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0076) The metadata file of Code 3 describes a video with two tracked objects: a face, and a handbag. The metadata file informs the video player (on the end-user device) which objects are available for zooming-in at any specific time-point, and further informs about the spatial position (e.g., coordinates) of each such zoomable object within the frame.
Regarding claim 35, “The method of claim 31, wherein generating for display the focused content comprises generating for display an enlarged view of the identified region by cropping the content item based on the index map.” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0073) FIG. 3E shows a frame 312 from another video version, prepared by cropping a 480p rectangle from the original 4K video, surrounding the handbag held by the fashion model; this video version tracking the handbag as an object-of-interest; thus enabling the end-user to request a zoom-in, relative to the original video, and such zoom-in causes a switch to playback of this cropped video version.
Regarding claim 37, “The method of claim 31, wherein the content item comprises the index map.” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0030) The Manifest File 117 may be stored in the Video Repository 103, as a separate file that is associated with (or linked to) the original video; or as a “sidecar” file that accompanies the original video; or, in some implementations, as metadata within a header of the video file itself; or using a database or a lookup table or pointer(s); or using other suitable methods that associated between a particular video and a particular manifest file.
Regarding claim 38, “The method of claim 31, wherein generating for display the focus content by modifying the identified region of the frame comprises overlaying the focus content over the content item.” Cohen Tidhar teaches (¶0093) wherein the visual marking is generated and is displayed as an overlay element on top of the first video stream (V1) during playback of the first video stream.
Regarding claim 40, “The method of claim 31 further comprising: determining user behavior based on selections to present focused content; … and generating for display focused content based on the user behavior.” Butcher teaches (¶0034) the user interface is operative to enable a user to map zoom buttons to selected objects of interest (e.g., the user's favorite athletes); (¶0035) there may be many objects or athletes with available zoomed content streams. In some such embodiments, user preferences or past user viewing history may be used to limit the zoom controls to the athletes or objects that are favorites of the user or are otherwise selected explicitly or implicitly by the user. Objects of interest may be selected, for example, in response to a determination that the user has explicitly indicated a preference to follow those objects, or in response to a determination that the user has followed or zoomed into in those objects of interest in past sessions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Cohen-Tidhar with using the user preferences/past user viewing history for object determination as taught by Butcher for the benefit of personalizing the end user experience, learning the user preferences which allows for content targeting, and making the user interface simpler to navigate.
As to “based on the determined user behavior, retrieving a second index map comprising additional information related to the focused content, wherein the second index map is retrieved after a portion of the content item was generated for display” and generating for display focused content based on “the second index map.” Cohen-Tidhar teaches (¶0058-¶0065 and Code 1) the following code portion, denoted Code 1, is a demonstrative example of an HLS manifest, which may be generated and utilized in accordance with some embodiments. For example, an original video is a high-resolution video of a soccer game, accompanied by an audio stream. The manifest includes data representing the single audio stream, and six different versions of video streams from which the end-user device may select one for obtaining and playing; (¶0066-¶0067 and Code 2) each one of the streams points to a detailed segment manifest.
Regarding claim 41, its rejection is similar to claim 31.
Regarding claim 42, its rejection is similar to claim 32.
Regarding claim 43, its rejection is similar to claim 33.
Regarding claim 44, its rejection is similar to claim 34.
Regarding claim 45, its rejection is similar to claim 35.
Regarding claim 47, its rejection is similar to claim 37.
Regarding claim 48, its rejection is similar to claim 38.
Regarding claim 50, its rejection is similar to claim 40.
Claim(s) 36 and 46, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen-Tidhar, Butcher, and Hughes in view of Lin (US 20070109324.)
Regarding claim 36, Cohen-Tidhar, Butcher, and Hughes not teach “The method of claim 35, wherein generating for display the enlarged view of the identified region comprises upsampling the identified region of the content item to generate the enlarged view.” However, Lin teaches (Fig. 2) Receiving commands, to upscale an area of interest and sending video frame containing the upscaled are to video display for playback. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Cohen-Tidhar, Butcher, and Hughes with the upscaling the video as taught by Lin for the benefit of allowing users to enjoy a higher quality video.
Regarding claim 46, its rejection is similar to claim 36.
Claim(s) 39 and 49, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen-Tidhar, Butcher, and Hughes in view of Turgut et al. (US 20170332114, hereinafter Turgut.)
Regarding claim 39, Cohen-Tidhar, Butcher, and Hughes do not teach “The method of claim 31 further comprising: receiving the content item from a media content source; and receiving the index map from an index map source, wherein the index map source is different than the media content source.” However, Turgut teaches (Fig. 1) a manifest server and CDN with edge servers 120 for distributing content. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the system as taught by Cohen-Tidhar, Butcher, and Hughes to utilize different sources/servers as taught by Turgut for the benefit of optimizing each server for it’s own purpose, for caching efficiency (long term storage of content segments in edge CDN locations, whilst allowing for manifest modification), for security and access control.
Regarding claim 49, its rejection is similar to claim 39.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bak (US 20190373244) - (¶0017, ¶0026, ¶0104, ¶0234) priorities may be set based on FoV history of users who have viewed the content
Waggoner et al. (US 20150268822) – (¶0054) information about the selected objects and presentation size settings can be collected, with permission of the user or at least with the ability of the user to opt out of data collection, for use in improving the pre-generated object tracking and identification process. As mentioned, this information can also be used to determine the objects for which to provide pre-generated tracking information, which in at least some embodiments can be based upon the tracking information generated for these or other users
Buratti et al.(US 20190080175) – (¶0078) The network device can store the information associated with the object in the frame, such as in a database or a profile associated with the user; (¶0075) The network device can determine the content based on the content identifier by either accessing a profile (e.g., a stored user profile comprising content and associated content identifiers), querying a database
Ojala (US 20200007921) - (¶0075) using a recommendation engine that applies user preferences for extracting from received audio visual content viewpoints relevant to an end user; (¶0081) A recommendation engine may limit the number of available options for extracting additional media streams from a streamed bundle, based upon the user information indicating preferences for viewing from certain camera angles or certain traced objects (such as players from certain sports teams); (¶0085) Context data and user information from user devices may be collected by a recommendation engine (shown on FIG. 11). Using this information, a recommendation engine may determine user preferences for content. For example, user interest in content and past behavior may determine what type of content is extracted for a multi-device presentation.
Pinckernell et al. (US 20170244986) - (¶0046) a user may prefer to view enhanced content that includes a particular person, place, or thing. The system may suggest preferences to the user based on the user's viewing history.
Ramaswamy et al. (US 20200014961) - (¶0034) the user interface is operative to enable a user to map zoom buttons to selected objects of interest (e.g., the user's favorite athletes); (¶0035) there may be many objects or athletes with available zoomed content streams. In some such embodiments, user preferences or past user viewing history may be used to limit the zoom controls to the athletes or objects that are favorites of the user or are otherwise selected explicitly or implicitly by the user. Objects of interest may be selected, for example, in response to a determination that the user has explicitly indicated a preference to follow those objects, or in response to a determination that the user has followed or zoomed into in those objects of interest in past sessions.
/Frank Johnson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425