DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abotabl et al. (US 20250097982 A1).
Regarding claim 1, ABOTABL et al. teach An apparatus ([0069] a UE 350) ) comprising:
at least one processor ([0072] he one or more controllers/processors 359); and
at least one memory storing instructions ([0072] one or more memories 360 that store program codes and data) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
- determine a serving beam ([0082] if at least one of these measured RSRPs 406 of an SSB meets or exceeds the SSB RSRP threshold 404, the UE may initiate a 4-step RACH process using a preamble associated with that SSB 402),
- obtain at least two sets of random access channel, RACH, configurations ([0017] FIGS. 4A-4B are diagrams illustrating examples of beam-independent and beam-specific broadcast configurations of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds for random access channel (RACH) transmissions, respectively), wherein at least one of the at least two sets of RACH configurations is a beam-specific set of RACH configurations ([0029] a UE obtains a beam-specific configuration including one or more of these beam-specific RACH parameters), wherein one or more RACH configurations of the beam-specific set of RACH configurations are beam-specific ([0029] a beam-specific configuration, [0059] obtain a configuration including one or more beam-specific RACH parameters), wherein the beam-specific set of RACH configurations supports a subset of beams of a network node (the subset of 4 beams carrying SSB1, SSB2, SSB3, SSB4 from the set of 5 beams shown in Fig. 4B),
- select one of the at least two sets of RACH configurations at least partially based on a selected beam ([0096] the UE may determine whether the measured RSRP 406 of a particular SSB meets or exceeds the msgA SSB RSRP threshold 810 corresponding to that SSB 402 or transmission beam 408, and if the measured RSRP meets or exceeds the threshold, the UE may transmit message A including the preamble and PUSCH transmission associated with that SSB 402),
- determine a RACH occasion at least partially based on at least one of the selected set of RACH configurations or the selected beam ([0030] SSBs may be mapped to RACH occasions (ROs) based on one or more of the aforementioned beam-specific configurations), and
- transmit a random access preamble using the determined RACH occasion ([0085] the UE may send multiple transmissions 501 including a preamble associated with the SSB 402 in different RACH occasions).
Regarding claim 2, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
- the selected beam is selected by the apparatus ([0082] if at least one of these measured RSRPs 406 of an SSB meets or exceeds the SSB RSRP threshold 404, the UE may initiate a 4-step RACH process using a preamble associated with that SSB 402),
- the selected beam is selected by the apparatus based on a type of services,
- the selected beam is identical to the serving beam, or
- the selected beam is different from the serving beam.
Regarding claim 3, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
- the random access preamble is transmitted on the serving beam;
- the random access preamble is transmitted on the selected beam ([0082] if at least one of these measured RSRPs 406 of an SSB meets or exceeds the SSB RSRP threshold 404, the UE may initiate a 4-step RACH process using a preamble associated with that SSB 402);
- the random access preamble is transmitted on the selected beam, wherein the selected beam is different from the serving beam or
- the random access preamble is transmitted on the selected beam, wherein the selected beam is different from the serving beam, wherein the selected beam is selected by the apparatus.
Regarding claim 4, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
- at least one of the at least two sets of RACH configurations is a beam-independent set of RACH configurations ([0017] FIGS. 4A-4B are diagrams illustrating examples of beam-independent and beam-specific broadcast configurations of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds for random access channel (RACH) transmissions, respectively), wherein one or more RACH configurations of the beam-independent set of RACH configurations are beam-independent ([0087] For instance, in the example of FIG. 5, the multiple SSB RSRP thresholds 502, 504 of an SSB that are associated with different numbers of RACH preamble transmissions 501 are configured without regard to or independently of whatever transmission beam 408 is applied to that SSB 402), wherein the beam-independent set of RACH configurations supports at least one of
- all or a majority of beams of a network node (the 4 beams carrying SSB1, SSB2, SSB3, SSB4 from the set of 5 beams shown in Fig. 4A), or
- all beams of a network node not supported by any beam-specific RACH configuration.
Regarding claim 5, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
- at least one of the at least two sets of the RACH configurations comprises a respective indication of one or more beams supported by the respective RACH configuration ([0083] the base station may indicate in the system information a single SSB RSRP threshold 422 for each transmission beam 408 of an SSB).
Regarding claim 6, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
- the selection of the selected set of RACH configurations is at least partially based on a beam index of the serving beam ([0094] the indication may be in the form of a set of SSB identifiers, such as a synchronization signal (SS)/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) index or SSB index 804, where the SSB index 804 of a particular SSB is included in the set if the UE is enabled to perform two-step random access 604 and omitted from the set if the UE is restricted to performing four-step random access 606).
Regarding claim 7, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least one of
- the selected set of RACH configurations comprises a RACH configuration which supports the serving beam or
- the selected set of RACH configurations is a beam-specific set of RACH configurations ([0031] by utilizing beam-specific RACH parameters, the efficiency of RACH processes may be optimized to consider the varying power requirements and load levels of different transmission beams).
Regarding claim 8, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the determination of the RACH occasion is based on an ordered list of beams supported by at least one of the selected set of RACH configurations or the obtained at least two sets of RACH configurations ([0103] the base station may map SSBs 402 to ROs 806 based on one or more of the beam-specific configurations), and
wherein the RACH occasion is determined based on the ordered list ([0103] SS/PBCH block indexes 804 that are provided in an SIB1 or a common serving cell configuration, such as via the parameter ssb-PositionsinBurst, are mapped to valid PRACH occasions or ROs 806 in the following order: first, in increasing order of preamble indexes within a single PRACH occasion).
Regarding claim 9, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the ordered list is ordered at least one of
- in ascending order of beam indices of beams supported by at least one RACH configuration of at least one of the selected set of RACH configurations, at least one of the obtained at least two sets of RACH configurations, at least one of the beam-specific sets of RACH configurations ([0103] mapped to valid PRACH occasions or ROs 806 in the following order: first, in increasing order of preamble indexes within a single PRACH occasion,) or at least one of the beam-independent sets of RACH configurations or
- in descending order of beam indices of beams supported by at least one RACH configuration of at least one of the selected set of RACH configurations, at least one of the obtained at least two sets of RACH configurations, at least one of the beam-specific sets of RACH configurations or at least one of the beam-independent sets of RACH configurations,
- dependently on at least one at least one of the selected set of RACH configurations, at least one of the obtained at least two sets of RACH configurations, at least one of the beam-specific sets of RACH configurations or at least one beam-independent sets of RACH configurations, or
- independently of at least one or any of the selected set of RACH configurations, the obtained at least two sets of RACH configurations, the beam-specific sets of RACH configurations or the beam-independent sets of RACH configurations.
Regarding claim 11, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein at least one of
- the RACH occasion is determined at least partially based on assistance information, or
- the RACH occasion is determined at least partially based on assistance information ([0088] the base station may configure system information indicating a RACH occasion (RO 608) associated with this SSB 402), wherein the assistance information at least one of
- is obtained as system information ([0088] the base station may configure system information indicating a RACH occasion (RO 608) associated with this SSB 402),
- is comprised by at least one RACH configuration, or
- indicates a mapping between beams and RACH occasion.
Regarding claim 12, ABOTABL et al. teach An apparatus ([0069] A base station 310) comprising:
at least one processor ([0375] one or more controllers/processors); and
at least one memory storing instructions ([0076] one or more memories 376 that store program codes and data )that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
- determine at least one beam-specific random access channel, RACH, configuration for at least one beam of the apparatus ([0029] a UE obtains a beam-specific configuration including one or more of these beam-specific RACH parameters, [0088] the base station may configure system information indicating a RACH occasion (RO 608) associated with this SSB 402),
- determine a beam-specific set of RACH configurations comprising the at least one determined beam-specific RACH configuration ([0029] a UE obtains a beam-specific configuration including one or more of these beam-specific RACH parameters, [0103] SSBs 402 may be mapped to ROs 806 if their SS/PBCH block indexes 804 are indicated in the set of SSB indexes 804 ),
- transmit at least two sets of RACH configurations ([0017] FIGS. 4A-4B are diagrams illustrating examples of beam-independent and beam-specific broadcast configurations of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds for random access channel (RACH) transmissions, respectively) to at least one user equipment, UE ([0029] a UE obtains a beam-specific configuration including one or more of these beam-specific RACH parameters), wherein the at least two sets of RACH configurations comprise the determined beam-specific set of RACH configurations ([0029] a UE obtains a beam-specific configuration including one or more of these beam-specific RACH parameters).
Regarding claim 13, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus of claim 12 wherein the apparatus is further caused to at least one of:
- transmit assistance information to the UE or
- transmit assistance information to the UE ([0088] the base station may configure system information indicating a RACH occasion (RO 608) associated with this SSB 402), wherein the assistance information
- is transmitted as system information ([0088] the base station may configure system information indicating a RACH occasion (RO 608) associated with this SSB 402),
- is comprised by at least one RACH configuration, or
- indicates a mapping between beams and RACH occasion.
Regarding claim 14, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the apparatus is further caused to:
- receive a random access preamble on a RACH occasion ([0085] the UE may send multiple transmissions 501 including a preamble associated with the SSB 402 in different RACH occasions) selected at least partially based on the at least one beam-specific RACH configuration ([0030] SSBs may be mapped to RACH occasions (ROs) based on one or more of the aforementioned beam-specific configurations).
Regarding claim 15, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein
- the at least one beam-specific RACH configuration is determined at least partially based on at least one of:
- a RACH load ([0031] flexible optimization of load and latency across different SSB transmission beams may be achieved through configuration of beam-specific),
- a RACH success rate,
- a UE location,
- a distribution of UEs,
- a type of services,
- beam size, or
- beam shape.
Regarding claim 16, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the at least one beam-specific RACH configuration indicates at least one of:
- a RACH format,
- a random access preamble length,
- a guard time,
- a number of preambles ([0093] the base station may further indicate the allowed number of preamble transmissions 501 or repetitions per beam 408),
- a RACH occasion periodicity,
- a RACH frequency resource allocation,
- a RACH power control information, or
- a RACH procedure failure timer.
Regarding claim 17, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein
- at least one of the at least two sets of RACH configurations is a beam-independent set of RACH configurations ([0017] FIGS. 4A-4B are diagrams illustrating examples of beam-independent and beam-specific broadcast configurations of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds for random access channel (RACH) transmissions, respectively), wherein one or more RACH configurations of the beam-independent set of RACH configurations are beam-independent ([0087] For instance, in the example of FIG. 5, the multiple SSB RSRP thresholds 502, 504 of an SSB that are associated with different numbers of RACH preamble transmissions 501 are configured without regard to or independently of whatever transmission beam 408 is applied to that SSB 402), wherein the beam-independent set of RACH configurations supports at least one of
- all or a majority of beams of a network node (the 4 beams carrying SSB1, SSB2, SSB3, SSB4 from the set of 5 beams shown in Fig. 4A), or
- all beams of a network node not supported by any beam-specific RACH configuration.
Regarding claim 18, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 12, wherein
- at least one of the at least two sets of the RACH configurations comprises a respective indication of one or more beams supported by the respective RACH configuration ([0083] the base station may indicate in the system information a single SSB RSRP threshold 422 for each transmission beam 408 of an SSB).
Regarding claim 19, ABOTABL et al. teach A system comprising a first apparatus ([0069] a UE 350) and a second apparatus ([0069] A base station 310),
- the first apparatus ([0069] a UE 350) comprising:
at least one processor ([0072] the one or more controllers/processors 359); and
at least one memory storing instructions ([0072] one or more memories 360 that store program codes and data) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
- determine a serving beam ([0082] if at least one of these measured RSRPs 406 of an SSB meets or exceeds the SSB RSRP threshold 404, the UE may initiate a 4-step RACH process using a preamble associated with that SSB 402),
beam ([0082] if at least one of these measured RSRPs 406 of an SSB meets or exceeds the SSB RSRP threshold 404, the UE may initiate a 4-step RACH process using a preamble associated with that SSB 402), and
- the second apparatus ([0069] A base station 310) comprising:
at least one processor ([0375] one or more controllers/processors); and
at least one memory storing instructions ([0076] one or more memories 376 that store program codes and data )that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
- determine at least one beam-specific random access channel, RACH, configuration for at least one beam of the apparatus ([0029] a UE obtains a beam-specific configuration including one or more of these beam-specific RACH parameters, [0088] the base station may configure system information indicating a RACH occasion (RO 608) associated with this SSB 402),
- determine a beam-specific set of RACH configurations comprising the at least one determined beam-specific RACH configuration ([0029] a UE obtains a beam-specific configuration including one or more of these beam-specific RACH parameters, [0103] SSBs 402 may be mapped to ROs 806 if their SS/PBCH block indexes 804 are indicated in the set of SSB indexes 804 ),
- transmit at least two sets of RACH configurations ([0017] FIGS. 4A-4B are diagrams illustrating examples of beam-independent and beam-specific broadcast configurations of synchronization signal block (SSB) reference signal received power (RSRP) thresholds for random access channel (RACH) transmissions, respectively) to at least one user equipment, UE ([0029] a UE obtains a beam-specific configuration including one or more of these beam-specific RACH parameters), wherein the at least two sets of RACH configurations comprise the determined beam-specific set of RACH configurations ([0029] a UE obtains a beam-specific configuration including one or more of these beam-specific RACH parameters).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: .
Regarding claim 10, ABOTABL et al. teach the apparatus according to claim 8, but fail to teach wherein
- the ordered list corresponds to a concatenation of a first partial ordered list of beams unsupported by any beam-specific RACH configuration of at least one of or any of the selected set of RACH configurations or at least one of or any of the obtained at least two sets of RACH configurations and a second partial ordered list of beams supported by at least one beam-specific RACH configuration of at least one of the selected set of RACH configurations or at least one of the obtained at least two sets of RACH configurations.
Conclusion
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644