1. Claims 1-10 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the one of more split blocks" in 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
As per claim 2-10, these claims are at least rejected for their dependencies, directly or indirectly, on the rejected claim 1. They are therefore rejected as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KAZUYA et al. (JP 5450328 B2) in view of Yi et al. (US 20060062323 A1) further in view of Chang et al. (US 5566176A).
Regarding claim 1, KAZUYA discloses method of communication with a programmable logic controller (PLC) system, performed by a computing device (Page 2, Par. 2, a method for monitoring and controlling a transmission type control device and a plurality of HMI devices that have an input / output interface and are operated for monitoring by a network configured to connect each other through a network) the method comprising:
converting a plurality of tags into a same operation unit by generating blocks of the plurality of tags where each of the plurality of tags is aligned according to an offset ( Abstract, Page 3, A tag that converts the received block data into a tag by referring to the table 38 and stores the converted tag in the tag DB 24, while converting the tag stored in the tag DB 24 into block data and transmits it to the block transmission control device 50 / Block conversion means 31. The tag DB 82 that collects the tags obtained by converting the respective block data for 50 (50x, 50y)).
KAZUYA fails to disclose determining whether or not to split one or more of the blocks, and putting the one or more blocks and/or one or more split blocks in a window corresponding to a protocol data unit.
determining whether or not to split one or more of the blocks (Fig. 9 and 10, [0034], when the transmission window has a size which corresponds to PDUs 1 through 100 (the size of the transmission window is 100 PDU positions) and PDUs 1 through 150 are received from the upper layer of the transmitter and stored in the transmission buffer, the transmitter and receiver will be deadlocked. This is because the polling bit is set when the last-stored PDU in the buffer (i.e., PDU No. 150) is transmitted, when the related method of polling is used. Under these circumstances, because the size of the transmission window is only 100 PDU positions, the transmitter can only transmit PDU 1 through 100); and
putting the one or more blocks and/or one or more split blocks in a window corresponding to a protocol data unit (abstract, [0024], selecting a protocol data unit (PDU) from a buffer, determining whether the data unit is located at a predetermined position within a transmission window, and then transmitting polling information with the data unit if the data unit is determined to be at the predetermined position of the transmission window).
KAZUYA and Yi are analogous art. They relate to managing data transmitting.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify controlling the transmission of signals in a communications system, taught by Yi, incorporated with plurality of tag transmission, taught by KAZUYA, in order to improve the speed, efficiency and the reliability and quality of communications system.
However, Yi and KAZUYA fail to disclose the device communication system is the PLC communication system.
Chang discloses Abstract, a parameter setting method for a PLC communication system. In a transmission mode, a self-station identification number is set, and transmitting data is divided into a plurality of blocks if it exceeds a predetermined size. Block identification numbers are assigned to the divided blocks.
Chang, KAZUYA and Yi are analogous art. They relate to managing data transmitting.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify a PLC communication system, taught by Chang, incorporated with the teaching of Yi and KAZUYA, as state above, since it is capable of setting efficient parameters when a plurality of PLCs exchanges rapid data through a single communication network, to enhance an efficiency of the PLC communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Yi discloses the blocks corresponding to the plurality of tags are sequentially put in the window with a predetermined size ([0024], [0026], The transmission window has a size which corresponds to a predetermined maximum number), wherein a respective block is determined to be split when only a portion of the respective block is to be put in the window (Fig. 9 and 10, [0034], Under these circumstances, because the size of the transmission window is only 100 PDU positions, the transmitter can only transmit PDU 1 through 100. As a result, all PDUs within the range of the transmission window are transmitted without the polling bit split the from 101 to 150).
Regarding claim 3, Chang discloses determining comprises determining that the respective block is to be split when the respective block is a leading block located first in the window (Fig. 9-10, column 6, lines 15-24, transmission parameter setting step of setting a self-station identification number in a transmission mode, dividing transmitting data into a plurality of blocks if it exceeds a predetermined size, assigning block identification numbers to the divided blocks).
Regarding claim 4, Yi discloses determining comprises determining that a respective block is not split when the respective block has a size not larger than the size of the window and corresponds to a last block in the window (([0076], Fig. 3, Fig. 5, determining whether the selected protocol data unit is a last data unit in a transmission window. (Block 302). The transmission window used by the AM RLC of the transmitter has a predetermined size for holding a maximum number of PDUs. For example, the transmission window may have a range of 100 PDUs positions).
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Yi and KAZUYA disclose:
Yi discloses converting, by the computing device, one window into one PDU to perform communication with the PLC system ([0002], Abstract, controlling the transmission of signals in a communications system uses a polling trigger which prevents a deadlock condition from occurring between a transmitter and receiver; selecting a protocol data unit from a buffer, determining whether the data unit is located at a predetermined position within a transmission window);
In addition, KAZUYA discloses in Abstract, a monitoring control system includes a plurality of tag transmission control devices that control devices, a block transmission control device, and a plurality of HMI devices that monitor and control the control devices, respectively. The HMI device is configured to be connected by a network so as to be able to transmit, and the HMI device converts the control device and connected via the network to each other, block data, and tags. A tag that converts the received block data into a tag by referring to the table 38 and stores the converted tag in the tag DB.
Regarding claim 9, Yi discloses identifying, by the computing device, one window for one block container ([[0024], [0034], Fig. 5, Fig. 10, The transmission window has a size which corresponds to a predetermined maximum number of PDUs that can be transmitted), and converting, by the computing device, the one block container into a PDU to perform communication with the PLC system (Abstract, [0002], communications systems for controlling the transmission of polling information with one or more protocol data units (PDU) in a wireless communications system).
wherein each tag ([0041], selecting a data unit from a buffer), is configured to subscribe to one or more block containers ([0041] Fig. 5, Fig. 10, determining whether the data unit is a last data unit in a transmission window, and transmitting polling information with the data unit if the data unit is determined to be the last data unit in the transmission window).
Regarding claim 10, Yi discloses processing, by the computing device, the converted PDU in a queue waiting manner ([0088], Fig. 8, step 406, If the selected PDU is not the last PDU in the transmission buffer or the transmission window, the PDU is transmitted to the receiver without polling information. The method then waits for the next transmission time interval (Block 406) and another PDU is selected).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 5-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation Pertinent prior art
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Turtinen et al. (US20180376372A1) discloses determining, for a service data unit to be included in a protocol data unit, whether a segment of the service data unit is to be included in the protocol data unit and, if so, determining the position of the segment relative to the service data unit, the protocol data unit comprising a header part and a data field part.
Colclazier et al. (US 2019/0103763 A1) discloses the PLC is configured such that each field device is associated with a PLC control tag, and each control tag is associated with tag parameters corresponding to the registers for the field device.
DUAN (US 20190339665 A1) discloses a data converter, a signal transmission method, and a signal transmission system for transmitting a signal to a programmable logic controller are provided. The data converter: performs sampling multiple times with respect to data detected by a sensor in one communication period of communication with a programmable logic controller.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for allthat it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed wereinstead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1 009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck& Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1, 215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
/KIDEST WORKU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119