DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the request for continuation filed on January 9, 2026 in application 18/545,479.
Claims 21-23, 26-27, 29-33, 36-37, 39-46 are presented for examination. Claims 21-23, 26-27, 29-33, 36-37, 39-40 are amended. Claims 1-20, 24-25, 28, 34-35 and 38 are cancelled. Claims 41-46 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-23, 26-27, 29-33, 36-37, 39-46 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-23, 26-27, 29-33, 36-37, 39-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 7, 10-15, 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,494,267.
Claims 21-23, 26-27, 29-33, 36-37, 39-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9-16, 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,853,164.
Claims 21, 31 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12/487,884.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scopes of the claims are broader but otherwise recite similar limitations.
Current Application
18/545,479
Patent 11,494,267
(app. 16/848,590)
Patent 11,853,164
(app. 17/979,841)
Patent 12,487,884
(app. 15/994,035)
Claim 21
Claims 1
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 22
Claim 1
Claim 1-2
Claim 23
Claim 2-4
Claim 3-5
Claim 26
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 27
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 29
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 30
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 31
Claim 10
Claim 10
Claim 1
Claim 32
Claim 10
Claim 10-11
Claim 33
Claim 11-13
Claim 12-14
Claim 36
Claim 14
Claim 15
Claim 37
Claim 15
Claim 16
Claim 39
Claim 17
Claim 18
Claim 40
Claim 18
Claim 19
Claim 1
Claim 41
Claim 18
Claim 19
Claim 42
Claim 18
Claim 1-2
Claim 43
Claim 2-4
Claim 3-5
Claim 44
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 45
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 46
Claim 8
Claim 9
"A later patent claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier patent claim if the later claim is obvious over, or anticipated by, the earlier claim. In re Longi, 759 F.2d at 896, 225 USPQ at 651 (affirming a holding of obviousness-type double patenting because the claims at issue were obvious over claims in four prior art patents); In re Berg, 140 F.3d at 1437, 46 USPQ2d at 1233 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (affirming a holding of obviousness type double patenting where a patent application claim to a genus is anticipated by a patent claim to a species within that genus). "ELI LILLY AND COMPANY v BARR LABORATORIES, INC., United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC (DECIDED: May 30, 2001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 26-27, 29-33, 36-37, 39-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colgrove et al. (US 10,180,879) in further view of Baek et al. (US 2002/0124139).
In regard to claim 21, Colgrove et al. teach a method comprising:
determining, using a storage geometry in a storage system (flexible RAID data layout architecture, where each segment will have its own geometry, fig. 10-11, col. 16 lines 60-67 and col. 18 lines 5-67), whether a target for a dataset is satisfied based on a time to rebuild the dataset (during operation, the RAID engine may monitor characteristic of the storage devices and determine the devices are exhibiting a reliability level higher than an initial or other given reliability level … monitoring and changing a protection level may be performed, fig. 8, col. 13 lines 1-20, detect a change in reliability, fig. 9, 914); and
selecting a different storage geometry for the dataset in response to determining that a particular storage geometry fails to satisfy the target (selecting alternate RAID geometries in a data storage subsystem, fig. 13, col.23 lines 5-56, change in the amount of protection may be made, fig. 9, 916).
Colgrove et al. does not explicitly teach determining and selecting a different storage geometry in response to a detected change in the mean time to data loss.
Baek et al. teach of the reliability of the RAID is measured in mean-time-to-data-loss (MTTDL) (para. 35).
It would have been obvious to modify the method of Colgrove et al. by adding Baek et al. RAID system. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the modification because it would aid in providing a well know method to measure reliability of the RAID (para. 35-50).
In regard to claim 22, Colgrove et al. teach the method of claim 21, further comprising:
determining a redundancy value for the dataset is based on a storage capacity utilization of the storage system (determine a level of protection to use for storage devices … may utilize RAID double parity, fig. 7, col. 12 lines 35-55); and
generating, based on the redundancy value for the dataset, data recovery information for the dataset (generating redundancy data represent the RAID double parity from corresponding user data, fig. 7, col. 12 lines 35-55).
In regard to claim 23, Colgrove et al. teach the method of claim 21, further comprising: determining, based on different datasets being stored using different redundancy values, that an average redundancy value of the dataset stored within the storage system corresponds to a continuous redundancy value indicative of a degree of granularity associated with the time to rebuild the dataset in comparison to a redundancy floor value and a redundancy ceiling value (the RAID engine may monitor behavior of the one or more storage devices within the RAID array, the data which is monitored may be stored and tables may be used to store this data to detect and predict behavior of storage devices, if increased reliability of the storage devices id detected then the RAID engine may decrease the level of data protection within the system, fig. 4, col. 15 lines 14-52).
In regard to claim 26, Colgrove et al. teach the method of claim 21, further comprising:
setting, the time to rebuild the dataset according to a target time to rebuild the dataset (determine the layout and protection level to use for the data may be made, fig. 9, col. 13 lines 55-67 and col. 14 lines 1-41); and
increasing data recovery performance associated with the dataset in response to tuning the target time to rebuild the dataset (if a particular condition is detected such as a change in reliability, then a change in the amount of protection used for stored data may be made, fig. 9, col. 13 lines 55-67 and col. 14 lines 1-41).
In regard to claim 27, Colgrove et al. teach the method of claim 26, wherein tuning the target time comprises: adjusting a parity value associated with the dataset (change in the amount of protection used for stored data … one or more extra storage devices per RAID stripe may be used to store parity information, fig. 9, col. 13 lines 55-67 and col. 14 lines 1-41).
In regard to claim 29, Colgrove et al. teach the method of claim 21, further comprising: implementing, by the storage system, a redundant array of independent disks storage system (RAID data layout, col. 9 lines 10-25).
In regard to claim 30, Colgrove et al. teach the method of claim 22, wherein the redundancy value for the dataset is different from at least one other redundancy value for another dataset stored within the storage system (each segment will have its own geometry, col. 18 lines 5-67).
In regard to claim 31, Colgrove et al. teach an apparatus comprising:
a memory (plurality of storage locations, col.2 lines 25-50);
a processor operably coupled to the memory (computer system, col. 2 lines 25-50), configured to:
determining, using a storage geometry in a storage system (flexible RAID data layout architecture, where each segment will have its own geometry, fig. 10-11, col. 16 lines 60-67 and col. 18 lines 5-67), whether a target for a dataset is satisfied based on a time to rebuild the dataset (during operation, the RAID engine may monitor characteristic of the storage devices and determine the devices are exhibiting a reliability level higher than an initial or other given reliability level … monitoring and changing a protection level may be performed, fig. 8, col. 13 lines 1-20, detect a change in reliability, fig. 9, 914); and
select a different storage geometry for the dataset in response to determining that a particular storage geometry fails to satisfy the target (selecting alternate RAID geometries in a data storage subsystem, fig. 13, col.23 lines 5-56, change in the amount of protection may be made, fig. 9, 916).
Colgrove et al. does not explicitly teach determining and selecting a different storage geometry in response to a detected change in the mean time to data loss.
Baek et al. teach of the reliability of the RAID is measured in mean-time-to-data-loss (MTTDL) (para. 35).
Refer to claim 21 for motivational statement.
In regard to claim 32, Colgrove et al. teach the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine a redundancy value for the dataset is based on a storage capacity utilization of the storage system (determine a level of protection to use for storage devices … may utilize RAID double parity, fig. 7, col. 12 lines 35-55); and
generate, based on the redundancy value for the dataset, data recovery information for the dataset (generating redundancy data represent the RAID double parity from corresponding user data, fig. 7, col. 12 lines 35-55).
In regard to claim 33, Colgrove et al. teach the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processor is further configured to: determine, based on different datasets being stored using different redundancy values, that an average redundancy value of the dataset stored within the storage system corresponds to a continuous redundancy value indicative of a degree of granularity associated with the time to rebuild the dataset in comparison to a redundancy floor value and a redundancy ceiling value (the RAID engine may monitor behavior of the one or more storage devices within the RAID array, the data which is monitored may be stored and tables may be used to store this data to detect and predict behavior of storage devices, if increased reliability of the storage devices id detected then the RAID engine may decrease the level of data protection within the system, fig. 4, col. 15 lines 14-52).
In regard to claim 36, Colgrove et al. teach the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processor is further configured to:
set, the time to rebuild the dataset according to a target time to rebuild the dataset (determine the layout and protection level to use for the data may be made, fig. 9, col. 13 lines 55-67 and col. 14 lines 1-41); and
increase data recovery performance associated with the dataset in response to tuning the target time to rebuild the dataset (if a particular condition is detected such as a change in reliability, then a change in the amount of protection used for stored data may be made, fig. 9, col. 13 lines 55-67 and col. 14 lines 1-41).
In regard to claim 37, Colgrove et al. teach the apparatus of claim 36, wherein the processor configured to tune the target time is further configured to: adjust a parity value associated with the dataset (change in the amount of protection used for stored data … one or more extra storage devices per RAID stripe may be used to store parity information, fig. 9, col. 13 lines 55-67 and col. 14 lines 1-41).
In regard to claim 39, Colgrove et al. teach the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the processor is further configured to: implement, by the storage system, a redundant array of independent disks storage system (RAID data layout, col. 9 lines 10-25).
In regard to claim 40, Colgrove et al. teach a non-transitory computer readable storage medium which, when executed, cause a processing device to:
determine, using a storage geometry in a storage system (flexible RAID data layout architecture, where each segment will have its own geometry, fig. 10-11, col. 16 lines 60-67 and col. 18 lines 5-67), whether a target for a dataset is satisfied based on a time to rebuild the dataset (during operation, the RAID engine may monitor characteristic of the storage devices and determine the devices are exhibiting a reliability level higher than an initial or other given reliability level … monitoring and changing a protection level may be performed, fig. 8, col. 13 lines 1-20, detect a change in reliability, fig. 9, 914); and
select a different storage geometry for the dataset in response to determining that a particular storage geometry fails to satisfy the target (selecting alternate RAID geometries in a data storage subsystem, fig. 13, col.23 lines 5-56, change in the amount of protection may be made, fig. 9, 916).
Colgrove et al. does not explicitly teach determining and selecting a different storage geometry in response to a detected change in the mean time to data loss.
Baek et al. teach of the reliability of the RAID is measured in mean-time-to-data-loss (MTTDL) (para. 35).
Refer to claim 21 for motivational statement.
In regard to claim 41, Colgrove et al. teach the apparatus of claim 32, wherein the redundancy value for the dataset is different from at least one other redundancy value for another dataset stored within the storage system (for alternate geometries … an algorithm such as CRUSH algorithm may be utilized to select which devices to use in a RAID data layout architecture to use for data storage … RAID array shown may all be different, fig. 12, col. 21 lines 30-65).
In regard to claim 42, Colgrove et al. teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 40, wherein the processing device is further configured to:
determine a redundancy value for the dataset is based on a storage capacity utilization of the storage system (determine a level of protection to use for storage devices … may utilize RAID double parity, fig. 7, col. 12 lines 35-55); and
generate, based on the redundancy value for the dataset, data recovery information for the dataset (generating redundancy data represent the RAID double parity from corresponding user data, fig. 7, col. 12 lines 35-55).
In regard to claim 43, Colgrove et al. teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 40, wherein the processing device is further configured to: determine, based on different datasets being stored using different redundancy values, that an average redundancy value of the dataset stored within the storage system corresponds to a continuous redundancy value indicative of a degree of granularity associated with the time to rebuild the dataset in comparison to a redundancy floor value and a redundancy ceiling value (the RAID engine may monitor behavior of the one or more storage devices within the RAID array, the data which is monitored may be stored and tables may be used to store this data to detect and predict behavior of storage devices, if increased reliability of the storage devices id detected then the RAID engine may decrease the level of data protection within the system, fig. 4, col. 15 lines 14-52).
In regard to claim 44, Colgrove et al. teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 40, wherein the processing device is further configured to:
set, the time to rebuild the dataset according to a target time to rebuild the dataset (determine the layout and protection level to use for the data may be made, fig. 9, col. 13 lines 55-67 and col. 14 lines 1-41); and
increase data recovery performance associated with the dataset in response to tuning the target time to rebuild the dataset (if a particular condition is detected such as a change in reliability, then a change in the amount of protection used for stored data may be made, fig. 9, col. 13 lines 55-67 and col. 14 lines 1-41).
In regard to claim 45, Colgrove et al. teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 44, wherein the processing device is further configured to: adjust a parity value associated with the dataset (change in the amount of protection used for stored data … one or more extra storage devices per RAID stripe may be used to store parity information, fig. 9, col. 13 lines 55-67 and col. 14 lines 1-41).
In regard to claim 46, Colgrove et al. teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 40, wherein the processing device is further configured to: implement, by the storage system, a redundant array of independent disks storage system (RAID data layout, col. 9 lines 10-25).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
Wilkes et al. (US 5,720,025) (Hewlett-Packard) mean-time-to-first-data-loss
Enz et al. (US 2019/0050168) (EXTEN) RAID geometry and mean time to data loss (MTTDL)
Agombar et al. (US 10,210,062) (IBM) RAID array and rebuild times
Goel et al. (US 8,453,036) (Network Appliance) resizing parity cluster
Belhadj et al. (US 2014/0143594) (Hewlett-Packard) RAID geometry and rebuild time period
Hallak et al. (US 2015/0169408) RAID and time to rebuild
Davies et al. (US 10,409,682) (Seagate) time to rebuild a data set and stripe geometry
Liu et al. (US 10,852,966) (EMC) rebuild time
*****************
Colgrove et al. (US 11,435,904) same assignee, detect change in reliability of RAID
Davis et al. (US 12,253,922) reconfiguring storage nodes
Chatterjee et al. (US 7,206,991) migration between striped storage
Izen et al. (US 2021/0248068) geometry addressable region
*****************
Foley et al. (US 11,868,612) geometry of RAID (RAID5, RAID6, TripleParityRAID6)
Brennan et al. (US 2019/0073265) same assignee, continuous value data redundancy
Dalmatov et al. (US 2021/0216230) RAID levels
Honda et al. (US 2018/0196718) recovery means level for RAID
Oikawa et al. (US 2017/0075574) RAID with time limit threshold for recovery
Miller (US 2016/0255016) group of nodes in cluster implementing quality of service
Jacobson (US 8,145,941) RAID level for rebuilding failed disk
Burton et al. (US 2004/0225914) RAID geometry
Belhadj et al. (US 8,892,939) choose a value for one of the rebuild rate or the scrub rate
King et al. (US 2002/0169996) RAID geometry
Humlicek et al. (US 5,822,782) RAID geometry
/Loan L.T. Truong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114 HYPERLINK "mailto:Loan.truong@uspto.gov" Loan.truong@uspto.gov