DETAILED ACTION
In view of the appeal brief filed on 08/19/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New ground of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994);
The disclosure of the prior-filed application here, Application No. 62/430,275 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
In particular, it fails to provide adequate support for at least the:
sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier;” in claim 1;
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier” in claim 1;
sending, by the first server to the second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message; in claim 1;
The disclosure of the prior-filed application here, Application No. 13/325,438 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
In particular, it fails to provide adequate support for at least the:
sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier;” in claim 1;
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier” in claim 1;
sending, by the first server to the second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message; in claim 1;
The disclosure of the prior-filed application here, Application No.14/492551 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
In particular, it fails to provide adequate support for at least the:
sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier;” in claim 1;
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier” in claim 1;
sending, by the first server to the second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message; in claim 1;
The disclosure of the prior-filed application here, Application No.15/679,185 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
In particular, it fails to provide adequate support for at least the:
sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier;” in claim 1;
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier” in claim 1;
sending, by the first server to the second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message; in claim 1;
The disclosure of the prior-filed application here, Application No.16/807,757 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
In particular, it fails to provide adequate support for at least the:
sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier;” in claim 1;
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier” in claim 1;
sending, by the first server to the second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message; in claim 1;
The disclosure of the prior-filed application here, Application No.17/685,410 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
In particular, it fails to provide adequate support for at least the:
sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier;” in claim 1;
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier” in claim 1;
sending, by the first server to the second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message; in claim 1;
No portion of the prior-filed application describes any of the above features. Accordingly, NONE of the claims are entitled to the benefit of the filing date of the prior-filed application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed on 02/18/2026 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because it lacks a timing statement as specified in 37 CFR 1.97(e) because Applicant did not check either box of the “Certification Statement” portion of the IDS, which is required since the IDS was filed after final rejection.
It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code, pages 11,17, 19, 22, 23, and 30 are Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The use of the term the specification discloses Cisco ( page 3), IBM ( page 23), Intel corporation ( page 27) , HP ( page 27) , IEEE ( page 3), Blu-ray ( pages 15/16/19) which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a first cellular telephone set” and “a second cellular telephone set” (claim 1 ) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-24 are rejected under the judicially created doctrine of obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of the co-pending. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-24 of the co-pending include all the limitations of claims 1-24 of the instant application. Claim (s) 1-24 of the instant application therefore is/are not patently distinct from the co-pending claim(s)1-24 and as such is/are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-24 of the application 18/545489 provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-24 of copending Application No. 19/010075 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see the rejection bellow. This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-24 provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of co-pending Application No. 19/010075 in view of Kliland et al US 2002/0065905.
As per claim 1, Co-pending discloses a method for the communication, the method comprising: sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier ( co-pending claim 1) ; sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier ( co-pending claim 1); receiving, by the first server from the first cellular telephone set over the Internet, the second message, in response to the sending of the second message ( co-pending claim 1) ; sending, by the first server to the second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message ( co-pending claim 1); and receiving and storing, by the second cellular telephone set from the first server over the Internet using a third wireless network, the third message( co-pending claim 1);
but the co-pending did not disclose the limitation of “a communication path from a portable device that is identified by a first identifier, via a first cellular telephone set and a first server, to a second cellular telephone set, wherein the portable device and the second cellular telephone set are paired as a sender and a recipient and
receiving, by the first cellular telephone set from the portable device over the first wireless network, the first message, in response to the sending of the first message;
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier;
However, Kliland et al US 2002/0065905 discloses A method for a communication path from a portable device (fig.1-2, Badge 19) that is identified by a first identifier (fig.1-2, Badge sends ID/badge ID at step 19) , via a first cellular telephone set (fig.2-3, the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2)and a first server (fig.1, numeral 15, 0039 SIP server ), to a second cellular telephone set( fig.1, numeral 8 equipment 2 0013 the third wireless device and second wireless device and 0051 equipment 6-8 are associated wireless device 5 or 7, i.e. second cellular telephone set ), wherein the portable device and the second cellular telephone set are paired as a sender and a recipient (fig.1, 0051 sending the badge Id from the badge 4,i.e. the portable device/sender, to the equipment 6 or 8, via the equipment associated wireless device 5 or 7/recipient , i.e. the second cellular telephone set ), the method comprising:
sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier (fig.1 0017 a user identity badge provided with a first wireless communication device/ the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2, having a first identifier, wherein the Bluetooth connection, i.e. a first wireless network);
receiving, by the first cellular telephone set from the portable device over the first wireless network, the first message, in response to the sending of the first message ( fig.1, the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2, i.e. first cellular telephone, received the badge identifier as seen in the fig.2 via the Bluetooth connection);
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier (fig.1, the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2sends the GSM/UMTS, i.e. a second wireless network, communication, i.e. a second message, to the to SIP sever 15 over the Internet);
the co-pending and Kliland are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the co-pending to incorporate the teachings of Kliland and providing provide wireless communication over the internet service.
2. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising displaying, by a screen in the second cellular telephone set, an information in response to the third message (the co-pending clam 2).
3. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at geographically disparate locations (the co-pending claim 3).
4. The co-pending and Kliland discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in different cities, in different states, in different countries, or on different continents (the co-pending claim 4).
5. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at a same geographical location (the co-pending claim 5).
6. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in a same city, in a same state, or in a same country (the co-pending claim 6).
7. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises a Local Area Network (LAN), Wide Area Network (WAN), Metropolitan Area Network (MAN), Next Generation Network (NGN), or an intranet (the co-pending claim 7).
8. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device is integrated or co-located with a router, a NAT-enabled computer or a gateway (the co-pending claim 8).
9. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device is integrated or co-located with a security device (the co-pending claim 9).
10. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the security device is a firewall (the co-pending claim 10).
11. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third message is delivered as part of a real-time service (the co-pending claim 11).
12. The co-pending and Kliland discloses The method according to claim I, wherein the first, second, or third message includes audio or video information (the co-pending claim 12).
13. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the respective first, second, or third message is part of VoIP, video conferencing, IPTV, Internet telephony service, or any combination thereof (the co-pending claim 13).
14. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, where the first server comprises, is part of, or is integrated with, a web server, a database server, a mail server, an FTP server, a DHCP server, a DNS server, or any combination thereof (the co-pending claim 14).
15. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device comprises a laptop (the co-pending claim 15).
16. The co-pending and Kliland discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising encrypting, by the first cellular telephone set, the received first message, and wherein the second message comprises the encrypted first message ( the co-pending claim 16).
17. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first server is identified in the Internet using a first IP address, wherein the first IP address is stored in the first cellular telephone set, and wherein the sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet of the second message uses the stored first IP address (the co-pending claim 17).
18. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a Personal Area network (PAN) (the co-pending claim 18).
19. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 18, wherein the PAN comprises, is based on, or uses, Bluetooth (the co-pending claim 19).
20. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a cellular network (the co-pending claim 20).
21. The method according to claim 20, wherein the cellular network comprises, is based on, or uses, Global System for Mobile communication (GSM), 2 G, 2.5 G, 3 G, 3.5 G, Enhanced Data rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE), or any combination thereof (the co-pending claim 21).
22. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, Ultra-Wideband (UWB) (the co-pending claim 22).
23. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises a telephone number, a Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID) number, an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number, or an Electronic Serial Number (ESN) (the co-pending claim 23).
24. The co-pending and Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises a first Medium Access Control (MAC), or a first Internet Protocol (IP) address that identifies the portable device in the Internet (the co-pending claim 24). Note the mapping between the instant claims and co-pending claims in the table below. Limitations not taught by the co-pending claims are indicated in bold.
Instant application 18/545489
Co-pending application 19/010075
A method for a communication path from a portable device that is identified by a first identifier, via a first cellular telephone set and a first server, to a second cellular telephone set, wherein the portable device and the second cellular telephone set are paired as a sender and a recipient, the method comprising:
sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier;
receiving, by the first cellular telephone set from the portable device over the first wireless network, the first message, in response to the sending of the first message;
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier;
receiving, by the first server from the first cellular telephone set over the Internet, the second message, in response to the sending of the second message;
sending, by the first server to the second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message; and
receiving and storing, by the second cellular telephone set from the first server over the Internet using a third wireless network, the third message, in response to the sending of the third message.
2. The method according to claim 1, further comprising displaying, by a screen in the second cellular telephone set, an information in response to the third message.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at geographically disparate locations.
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in different cities, in different states, in different countries, or on different continents.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at a same geographical location.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in a same city, in a same state, or in a same country.
7. The method according to chlim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises a Local Area Network (LAN), Wide Area Network (WAN), Metropolitan Area Network (MAN), Next Generation Network (NGN), or an intranet.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device is integrated or co-located with a router, a NAT-enabled computer or a gateway.
9. The method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device is integrated or co-located with a security device.
10. The method according to claim 9, wherein the security device is a firewall.
11. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third message is delivered as part of a real-time service.
12. The method according to claim I, wherein the first, second, or third message includes audio or video information.
13. The method according to claim 12, wherein the respective first, second, or third message is part of VoIP, video conferencing, IPTV, Internet telephony service, or any combination thereof.
14. The method according to claim 1, where the first server comprises, is part of, or is integrated with, a web server, a database server, a mail server, an FTP server, a DHCP server, a DNS server, or any combination thereof.
15. The method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device comprises a laptop.
16. The method according to claim 1, further comprising encrypting, by the first cellular telephone set, the received first message, and wherein the second message comprises the encrypted first message.
17. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first server is identified in the Internet using a first IP address, wherein the first IP address is stored in the first cellular telephone set, and wherein the sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet of the second message uses the stored first IP address.
18. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a Personal Area network (PAN).
19. The method according to claim 18, wherein the PAN comprises, is based on, or uses, Bluetooth.
20. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a cellular network.
21. The method according to claim 20, wherein the cellular network comprises, is based on, or uses, Global System for Mobile communication (GSM), 2 G, 2.5 G, 3 G, 3.5 G, Enhanced Data rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE), or any combination thereof.
22. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, Ultra-Wideband (UWB).
23. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises a telephone number, a Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID) number, an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number, or an Electronic Serial Number (ESN).
24. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises a first Medium Access Control (MAC), or a first Internet Protocol (IP) address that identifies the portable device in the Internet.
A method comprising:
sending, by a first device to a first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises a first identifier that identifies the first device;
receiving, by a first server from the first device via the first cellular telephone set over the Internet, a second message that includes the first identifier, in response to the sending of the first message;
sending, by the first server to a second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message; and
receiving and storing, by the second cellular telephone set from the first server over the Internet using a third wireless network, the third message, in response to the sending of the third message.
2. The method according to claim 1, further comprising displaying, by a screen in the second cellular telephone set, an information in response to the third message that is indicative of the first identifier.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at geographically disparate locations.
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in different cities, in different states, in different countries, or on different continents.
5. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at a same geographical location.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in a same city, in a same state, or in a same country.
7. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises a Local Area Network (LAN), Wide Area Network (WAN), Metropolitan Area Network (MAN), Next Generation Network (NGN), or an intranet.
8. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first device is integrated or co-located with a router, a NAT-enabled computer or a gateway.
9. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first device and the second cellular telephone set are paired as a sender and a recipient,
10. The method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving, by a first server of the second message comprises: receiving, by the first cellular telephone set from the first device over the first wireless network, the first message, in response to the sending of the first message; and sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, the second message that comprises the received first identifier.
11. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first device is integrated or co-located with a security device.
12. The method according to claim 11, wherein the security device is a firewall.
13. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third message includes audio or video information.
14. The method according to claim 13, wherein the respective first, second, or third message is part of VoIP, video conferencing, IPTV, Internet telephony service, or any combination thereof.
15. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first device comprises a laptop.
16. The method according to claim 1, further comprising encrypting, by the first cellular telephone set, the received first message, and wherein the second message comprises the encrypted first message.
17. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first server is identified in the Internet using a first IP address, wherein the first IP address is stored in the first cellular telephone set, and wherein the sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet of the second message uses the stored first IP address.
18. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a Personal Area network (PAN).
19. The method according to claim 18, wherein the PAN comprises, is based on, or uses, Bluetooth.
20. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a cellular network.
21. The method according to claim 20, wherein the cellular network comprises, is based on, or uses, Global System for Mobile communication (GSM), 2 G, 2.5 G, 3 G, 3.5 G, Enhanced Data rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE), or any combination thereof.
22. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, Ultra-Wideband (UWB).
23. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises a telephone number, a Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID) number, an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number, or an Electronic Serial Number (ESN).
24. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises a first Medium Access Control (MAC), or a first Internet Protocol (IP) address that identifies the first device in the Internet.
25. The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third message is delivered as part of a real-time service.
26. The method according to claim 1, where the first server comprises, is part of, or is integrated with, a web server, a database server, a mail server, an FTP server, a DHCP server, a DNS server, or any combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 recites, inter alia, a specific, ordered sequence of transmissions: (i) a “first message” from a portable device to a first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, the first message comprising a “first identifier”; (ii) a “second message” from the first cellular telephone set to a first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, the second message comprising the received “first identifier”; and (iii) a “third message” from the first server to a second cellular telephone set over the Internet using a third wireless network, the third message comprising the “first identifier”; with the second cellular telephone set “receiving and storing” the third message.
The as filed specification does not describe this ordered message chain with the recited message content and “in response to” relationships. While the specification discusses portable/cellular devices, device identifiers, wireless links, and server mediated messaging in isolation (e.g., [0175]–[0210], [0230]–[0234], [0249], [0347]–[0348]), it does not reasonably convey possession of the full scope claimed invention as a whole. See MPEP §2163; Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1351.
Specification (as filed) and generic statements found:
General Internet/server mediated messaging using senders, relay servers, and recipients (e.g., packets, slicing, routing) (e.g., paragraphs [0175]–[0210], [0230]–[0234]).
Cellular telephone sets as endpoints and that devices may have multiple identifiers (e.g., [0249]).
Wireless technologies such as Bluetooth, Wi Fi, GSM/2G/3G/EDGE (e.g., [0347]–[0348]).
However, the specification does not describe, in a single coherent method narrative, the exact ordered sequence claimed: (1) a “portable device” transmits a “first message” that explicitly “comprises the first identifier” to a “first cellular telephone set” over a “first wireless network”; (2) the phone forwards that identifier as a “second message” to a “first server” over the Internet using a “second wireless network”; (3) the server forwards a “third message” comprising the “first identifier” to a “second cellular telephone set,” which then “receives and stores” it via a “third wireless network.”.
The following claim limitations lack written description support as claimed (MPEP 2163; Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc)):
1. Portable device → first cellular telephone set → first message comprising the portable device’s “first identifier,” over a first wireless network (ordered step)
The spec merely mentions portable/cellular devices and wireless links generally ([0347]–[0348]) and that cellular devices may have identifiers ([0249]), but it does not set out a specific example in which a separate “portable device” transmits a “first message” that “comprises the first identifier” to a first cellular telephone over a first wireless network as an expressly recited step in a multi hop method. The portions discussing Internet messaging flows (e.g., [0175]–[0210]) depict computers/servers exchanging packets but do not narrate this portable device to phone “first message” with identifier content.
2. First cellular telephone set → first server → “second message” comprising the received first identifier, sent over the Internet using a second wireless network (ordered step)
The spec merely describes phones as endpoints and discusses that devices communicate over the Internet, but it does not expressly disclose that the phone, after receiving the portable device’s identifier, constructs and sends a distinct “second message” that “comprises the received first identifier” to a server via its own cellular/Internet uplink. The general server mediated discussions ([0175]–[0210], [0230]–[0234]) do not link a received identifier at the phone to forwarding that same identifier to a server as a discrete ordered step.
3. First server → second cellular telephone set → “third message” comprising the first identifier; second phone “receiving and storing” over a third wireless network (ordered step)
While the spec explains that servers can forward/route messages and that recipients can receive and reconstruct/stash message content (e.g., [0129], [0230]), it does not describe an example where the server forwards a “third message” containing the “first identifier” (originating from the portable device) to a second cellular telephone, nor does it describe the second phone’s “receiving and storing” as part of an ordered chain that ties back to the portable device’s original “first identifier.” The “three message” sequence and explicit “in response to” linkages are not laid out in the body of the description.
Accordingly, the specification fails to reasonably convey to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date, of the claimed invention as a whole—specifically, the ordered, three hop message sequence and content (first/second/third message each “comprising the first identifier”) as recited. The cited passages provide building blocks in isolation (devices, identifiers, wireless links, server forwarding), but they do not disclose the invention as claimed in the requisite level of detail. See MPEP 2163, 2163.02.
Claim 1 recites “paired as sender and a recipient”, the claim requires that “the portable device and the second cellular telephone set are paired as a sender and a recipient,” but the specification never defines or provides disclosure as to what “paired” means in this context or how the applicant intends to perform this or function achieved. A skilled artisan cannot determine the required pairing mechanism or criteria or whether any pairing suffices to have possession of the full scope of the claim.
Claim 1 recites, “receiving, … the first message, in response to the sending of the first message”. The claim requires performance of specified operations “in response to” particular events (for example, “in response to the sending of the first message”, such “in response” limitations are not mere temporal adornments — they are claim‑limiting causal relationships that require the specification to show possession of the claimed trigger/response behavior.
The written‑description requirement demands that the specification reasonably convey to a skilled artisan that the inventor had possession of the claimed subject matter. The specification as filed contains high‑level descriptions of message flows but does not disclose the required minimum attributes for the “in response” relationship. Specifically, the specification does not describe with sufficient particularity any of the following items (all of which are material to whether a PHOSITA would recognize the claimed trigger/response relationship as “possessed” by the inventor): Because the specification fails to disclose any minimum items (trigger, detection, logic, timing, error handling, and a concrete implementation), a PHOSITA reading the specification would not reasonably understand that the inventor possessed the full scope of the claimed “in response” behavior. Instead, the specification provides only abstract or high‑level sequence descriptions. The absence of such described structure and logic renders the “in response” limitations unsupported by the written description as filed.
Claim 2, recites, similarly the “in response to” language and rejected for the same reasons. This claim adds an “in response” …to the third message”), and the specification does not set out how this is to be achieved, for the device acting “in response” (see the prior 112(a) OA). A PHOSITA reading the spec has no reliable way to determine what qualifies the third message to cause display nor how immediate display should be done.
Claim 3 and claim 4, to the extent that the claim requires that the “first and second cellular telephone sets are located at geographically disparate locations” (and recites “different cities, different states, different countries, or different continents”). The specification as filed contains explicit disclosure and examples that relay servers and intermediate servers may be geographically disparate (e.g., examples enumerating relay servers located in different continents, countries, and cities). However, the specification does not describe, exemplify, or otherwise disclose the cellular telephone sets (the claimed “first” and “second” cellular telephone sets) being located in geographically disparate locations. And while the original claims me be considered part of the specification, the specification fails to disclose the method or mechanism by which the telephone sets determine or establish that they are in disparate locations or disparate different cities/states/countries/continents.
Claim 11, “wherein the first, second, or third message is delivered as part of a real-time service.”
However, the specification does not set forth the operational details (in a manner showing possession) that define how a message is to be “delivered as part of a real‑time service” across the broad range of networks and transports encompassed by the claim 1. This claim is a a mere statement desire result that services are real‑time, or that some applications are delay‑sensitive, is an abstract identification of a class of uses; it does not demonstrate possession of the claimed method steps specifically adapted or implemented for “delivery as part of a real‑time service.”. Claim 11 introduces a functional limitation with a mere generic recital that services may be “real‑time”, does not demonstrate that the inventor possessed the claimed method of delivering messages specifically “as part of a real‑time service” across the full breadth of the claim. The written‑description requirement is not satisfied by desire result statement.
Dependent claims 2-24 are rejected based on the same reasons set forth in the claim 1, due to their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the Internet" in line 9.
While a persona having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) normally understands “the Internet” in general technical parlance, but the specification fails to supply the minimum structural and/or functional characteristics that define the claimed “over the Internet” path in the context of this claimed invention. The specification discusses networks and IP concepts broadly and on a high level, but does not identify the baseline technical properties that would allow a PHOSITA to determine whether a particular network path or implementation qualifies as “over the Internet” for purposes of the claim. The absence of such boundaries renders the claim scope uncertain under because a PHOSITA cannot determine, with reasonable certainty, whether alternative network constructions (for example: a private intranet, a VPN overlay, an anonymizing overlay such as Tor, an IP-over-non-IP encapsulation, or a store-and-forward telephony/SMS path) are included or excluded by the claim. More specifically, the specification does not state the minimum characteristics that are required for a network path to count as “the Internet” in the claim. Making the claim indefinite.
Claim 3, recites “the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at geographically disparate locations.” The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term of degree “geographically disparate locations” lacks objective boundaries in the intrinsic record and therefore renders the scope of claim indefinite. The specification does not define “geographically disparate,” does not state any threshold distance or measurement method, nor tie the term to an objective criterion. Absent such guidance, a person of ordinary skill cannot determine, with reasonable certainty, the scope of the claim.
Claim 4, as further dependent on claim 3, do not cure deficiencies of claim 3 since further recites wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in different cities, in different states, in different countries, or on different continents. The specification repeatedly uses language about “geographically disparate” for servers, and it is to be noted nowhere for telephone sets. Claim 4 depends from claim 3 and further recites “wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in different cities, in different states, in different countries, or on different continents.” The phrase “geographically disparate locations,” and the related “different cities/states/countries/continents,” are terms of degree that, as used in the claims, lack objective boundaries in the intrinsic record such that a person of ordinary skill in the art cannot determine with reasonable certainty whether a given pair of cellular telephone sets falls within or outside the claimed scope. The specification as filed provides examples addressing geographically disparate relay servers (e.g., servers in different continents and countries), but the specification does not define or provide any objective metric or test for determining when two cellular telephone sets are “geographically disparate,” nor does it instruct how to determine whether two telephones are in “different cities,” “different states,” “different countries,” or “different continents.”
Claim 7, recites wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises a Local Area Network (LAN), Wide Area Network (WAN), Metropolitan Area Network (MAN), Next Generation Network (NGN), or an intranet. Claim 1 requires sending “to the first server over the Internet.” Dependent claim 7 then adds “wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises … an intranet.” The term “intranet” commonly denotes a private or internal network distinct from the public Internet. If applicant intends that an “intranet” is within the scope of the claimed “Internet” path, however the specification does not explicitly so state, hence, dependent claim 7 conflict with claim 1 because a dependent claim broaden the parent claim 1 introducing an inconsistent alternative. The specification does not resolve this apparent inconsistency. Making the clam indefinite.
Claim 19 contains the trademark/trade name Bluetooth. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe in the specification 0347Bluetooth®, and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. Using a trademark to identify a product (e.g., "Teflon" instead of "polytetrafluoroethylene") is improper because the branded product's composition may change over time.
As per claim 1, this claim recites the phase “cellular telephone set” in line 2. specification discloses par 0249, a cellular telephone set is serving as the source computer. Is the computer a cellular telephone set? None of the drawing shows the image of the cellular telephone set. There are lack of description and image in the specification and drawing about the cellular telephone set. The cellular telephone set limitation is confused to the Examiner because of the lack of proper definition. Therefore, this claim is indefinite.
All the dependent claims are rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claim(s) 1,19 and 22-23 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Kliland et al US 2002/0065905.
As per claim 1, Kliland discloses A method for a communication path from a portable device (fig.1-2, Badge 19) that is identified by a first identifier (fig.1-2, Badge sends ID/badge ID at step 19) , via a first cellular telephone set (fig.2-3, the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2)and a first server (fig.1, numeral 15, 0039 SIP server ), to a second cellular telephone set( fig.1, numeral 8 equipment 2 0013 the third wireless device and second wireless device and 0051 equipment 6-8 are associated wireless device 5 or 7, i.e. second cellular telephone set ), wherein the portable device and the second cellular telephone set are paired as a sender and a recipient (fig.1, 0051 sending the badge Id from the badge 4,i.e. the portable device/sender, to the equipment 6 or 8, via the equipment associated wireless device 5 or 7/recipient , i.e. the second cellular telephone set ), the method comprising:
sending, by the portable device to the first cellular telephone set over a first wireless network, a first message that comprises the first identifier (fig.1 0017 a user identity badge provided with a first wireless communication device/ the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2, having a first identifier, i.e. first message, wherein the Bluetooth connection, i.e. a first wireless network, with the first message);
receiving, by the first cellular telephone set from the portable device over the first wireless network, the first message, in response to the sending of the first message ( fig.1, the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2, i.e. first cellular telephone, received the badge identifier as seen in the fig.2 via the Bluetooth connection );
sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet using a second wireless network, a second message that comprises the received first identifier (fig.1, the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2sends the GSM/UMTS, i.e. a second wireless network, communication, i.e. a second message, to the to SIP sever 15 over the Internet);
receiving, by the first server from the first cellular telephone set over the Internet, the second message, in response to the sending of the second message (fig.1, the SIP server 15 received the GSM/UMTS communication, i.e. second message, from the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2, i.e. the first cellular telephone);
sending, by the first server to the second cellular telephone set over the Internet, a third message that comprises the first identifier, in response to the receiving of the second message (fig.1, the Numeral 15 SIP server sends the H.323/SIP message, i.e. a third message, over the internet 14 then to the equipment 1-2/6-8 of the wireless devices 5-7, i.e. the second cellular telephone set); and
receiving and storing, by the second cellular telephone set from the first server over the Internet using a third wireless network, the third message, in response to the sending of the third message (fig.1, fig.1, 0051 the Numeral 15 SIP server sends the H.323/SIP message, i.e. a third message, over the internet 14 then to the equipment 1-2/6-8 associated with the wireless devices 5-7, i.e. the second cellular telephone set wherein the equipment’s are adapted the H.323 protocol that enables the equipment to associated with the wireless devices 5-7 respectively and so sending the badge Id from the badge 4 to the equipment 6 or 8, via the equipment associated wireless device 5 or 7, i.e. the second cellular telephone set, thus, the wireless device received the badge ID through the SIP message from the badge, i.e. the portable device and 0048 For security purposes, GSM information is for example encrypted so as to maintain the security within the PLMN network, while the H.323 network can by inherent functions provide corresponding security connections. In the H.323 network, a H.323 gatekeeper (UA) (not shown in FIG. 1, but illustrated by the sequence diagrams of FIGS. 2 and 3) is communicating with the Service Agent (SA) (referred to as the "service layer" in FIG. 1) running the Personal Equipment Service (PES) over a call control API (CC-API). The CC-API can be any suitable CC-API, such as a proprietary type, a Telephone Application Interface (TAPI), Parly, etc. The H.323 GK (UA) is responsible for charging the user, i.e. for sending Call Detail Records (CDRs) to a per se known billing server (not shown) of the network, as well as for authenticating the user. If a quality of service (QoS) is specified and/or required, the UA can also be responsible for setting up a connections from the UA towards the equipment with a certain QoS. The SA is referred to as the service layer in FIG. 1).
As per claim 19, Kliland discloses the method according to claim 18, wherein the PAN comprises, is based on, or uses, Bluetooth( fig.1 0017 a user identity badge provided with a first wireless communication device/ the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2, having a first identifier , i.e. first message, , wherein the Bluetooth connection, i.e. a first wireless network, with the first message and 0022 the first and second wireless communication devices are Bluetooth enabled wireless communication devices ).
As per claim 22. Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, Ultra-Wideband (UWB) (fig.1, the Bluetooth driver/mobile 2sends the GSM/UMTS, i.e. a second wireless network, communication, i.e. a second message, to the to SIP sever 15 over the Internet).
As per claim 23. Kliland discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises a telephone number, a Mobile Equipment Identifier (MEID) number, an International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI) number, or an Electronic Serial Number (ESN)( 0053 IP address etc. to location is available, while, when using a mobile phone, the mobile phone can be used for obtaining and/or providing location information and claim 2 mobile communication terminal is enabled to communicate to said user profile server, via said IP network, a user identifier received from said user identity badge, and an equipment identifier received, optionally via said user identity badge, from said equipment).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kliland and ORourke US 2002/0161795.
As per claim 9. Kliland et al discloses the method according to claim 1, Kliland does not disclose wherein the portable device is integrated or co-located with a security device.
However, ORourke discloses wherein the portable device is integrated or co-located with a security device([018] The network architecture of FIG. 1 is exemplary only. The portable processing devices may operate in a variety of network environments involving one or more hierarchically arranged LANs or WANs including Ethernet-compatible LANs (used to connect different hospital departments, for example) and multiple Medical Interface Buses (MIBs) for corresponding multiple patients. In addition, a portable processing device is able to access the Internet via, integrated, a firewall. i.e. security device).
Kliland and ORourke are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of ORourke and provide a firewall for the portable device in the network. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 10. Kliland and ORourke discloses the method according to claim 9, ORourke discloses wherein the security device is a firewall(a portable processing device is able to access the Internet via a firewall, i.e. security device).
Claims 2-8,11-18, and 20-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Kliland and Wu US 2007/0008954.
As per claim 2. Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, Kliland discloses further comprising displaying, by a screen in the second cellular telephone set, an information in response to the third message.
Kliland discloses an information in response to the third message ( fig.1, fig.1, 0051 the Numeral 15 SIP server sends the H.323/SIP message, i.e. a third message, over the internet 14 then to the equipment 1-2/6-8 associated with the wireless devices 5-7, i.e. the second cellular telephone set wherein the equipment’s are adapted the H.323 protocol that enables the equipment to associated with the wireless devices 5-7 respectively and so sending the badge Id from the badge 4 to the equipment 6 or 8, via the equipment associated wireless device 5 or 7, i.e. the second cellular telephone set, thus, the wireless device received the badge ID through the SIP message from the badge, i.e. the portable device
Kliland does not disclose displaying, by a screen in the second cellular telephone set, an information in response of the message.
Wu discloses displaying, by a screen in the second cellular telephone set, an information in response of the message( fig.7, par 0042 the speech or audiovisual information can be transmitted to the telephone 120', i.e. the second cellular telephone, at a target end, wherein the via the mobile audiovisual data conversion device 56', i.e. a data from the device 56’ can be seen as a third message, on the target end, i.e. on the target end/ device 120’, i.e., the second cellular telephone, wherein a data as a third message is receiving and storing by the telephone 120’ and can further be transferred to and received by the mobile communication apparatus 62’, since the data can be further transferred from the telephone 120” to the mobile 62” , the screen would display the audiovisual data).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device.
Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 3. Kliland disclose the method according to claim 1, Kliland discloses 0033 where a person has arravied at a location, where different equipments 6, 8 and 10 are located, and which equipments the person 1 (user) wants to personalize, meaning that the person wants to configure equipment at the location according to her/his personal needs, wishes or requirements. The equipments 6, 8 and 10, could be any controllable or configurable device, Kliland does not disclose wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at geographically disparate locations
However, Wu discloses wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at geographically disparate locations (fig.7, 0037 It is noted that the relay server can be located on the local end, such as the relay server in a company, so that when a line comes, it can be transferred to the target computer according to the lookup table, or can be located in a third location, i.e. disparate locations, other than the local end and the target end. The local end lacking the relay server can thus be firstly connected to the Internet by a network bridge for further connection to this relay server, and then the communication signal can be transferred to the target end by the transferring function and 0042 The apparatus of the receiving end can be a portable computer 54 or a general desktop for facilitating the receiving of speech or audiovisual signal at any time and any location so as to achieve a bi-directional communication).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device.
Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 4. Kliland discloses the method according to claim 3, Kliland does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in different cities, in different states, in different countries, or on different continents Kliland discloses
However, Wu discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in different cities, in different states, in different countries, or on different continents (0042 The apparatus of the receiving end can be a portable computer 54 or a general desktop for facilitating the receiving of speech or audiovisual signal at any time and any location so as to achieve a bi-directional communication ).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device.
Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 5. Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, Kliland does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at a same geographical location
However, Wu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located at a same geographical location (fig.7, 0037 It is noted that the relay server can be located on the local end, such as the relay server in a company, so that when a line comes, it can be transferred to the target computer according to the lookup table, or can be located in a third location, i.e. geograpical locations, other than the local end and the target end. The local end lacking the relay server can thus be firstly connected to the Internet by a network bridge for further connection to this relay server, and then the communication signal can be transferred to the target end by the transferring function).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per clam 6. Kliland discloses Wu discloses the method according to claim 5, Kliland does not explicitly wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in a same city, in a same state, or in a same country.
However, Wu discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the first and second cellular telephone sets are located in a same city, in a same state, or in a same country (0042 The apparatus of the receiving end can be a portable computer 54 or a general desktop for facilitating the receiving of speech or audiovisual signal at any time and any location so as to achieve a bi-directional communication ).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 7. Kliland discloses The method according to claim 1, Kliland , par 0010/0021 discloses which bandwidth should be set-up from the network towards the operable equipment? wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises a Local Area Network (LAN), Wide Area Network (WAN), Metropolitan Area Network (MAN), Next Generation Network (NGN), or an intranet (0047 The personal profiles or settings, preferably stored in the home environment, are then through steps 25, 26, 27 and 28 forwarded from the home environment, by means of the network, to the mobile phone terminal. In turn, the mobile phone terminal, in step 29, forwards by short-range wireless means, such as e.g. Bluetooth technology devices, the profile to the equipment and which then is configured accordingly. It will be readily apparent to a person skilled in the art that the technology of the mobile phone terminal is not limiting for the invention, and that the mobile phone terminal in this situation can be based on any known or coming mobile phone technology (GSM, UMTS etc.) that is capable of communicating with a network and having an interface adapted to forward electronically to a short-range wireless device, information received via the network. It will also be understood that the location information can be used for triggering location dependent services provided by the equipment to be controlled, by the profile or settings provided by the home environment and intended for to the equipment),
However, Wu discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises a Local Area Network (LAN), Wide Area Network (WAN), Metropolitan Area Network (MAN), Next Generation Network (NGN), or an intranet (fig.7, internet 123 and 0016] The present invention provides a method for transmitting audiovisual data using a mobile conversion device, in which audiovisual data is transmitted from a mobile communication device to a device on the other side via the mobile communication apparatus, and by using a relay server coupled to the Internet, to connect the computers on two ends or from a computer to a mobile communication device. The above-described mobile audiovisual data conversion device includes an analog-to-digital conversion function, a dialing function, and a function of connecting to a computer or a telephone device by a communication port mounted therein). Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 8. Kliland discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device is integrated or co-located with a router, a NAT-enabled computer or a gateway (0048 FIG. 1 also comprises a gateway (GW) function 11, 12 between the Public Land Mobile Network (PLMN) and the H.323 network. For security purposes, GSM information is for example encrypted so as to maintain the security within the PLMN network, while the H.323 network can by inherent functions provide corresponding security connections. In the H.323 network, a H.323 gatekeeper (UA) (not shown in FIG. 1, but illustrated by the sequence diagrams of FIGS. 2 and 3) is communicating with the Service Agent (SA) (referred to as the "service layer" in FIG. 1)), However, Wu discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device is integrated or co-located with a router, a NAT-enabled computer or a gateway (fig.7, 0006[0006] In practice, VoIP can be divided into three categories, PC-to-PC, PC-to-telephone, and telephone-to-telephone. PC-to-PC executes a computer-to-network communication software such as, for example, Skype or Net2Phome on a PC. If the two parties both have this software, then the direct communication by telephone can be achieved. PC-to-telephone executes a software on the PC, and after the PC is connected to a network and to the VoIP connection apparatus of the ISP, the user directly communicates by the household telephone. Telephone-to-telephone directly dials the VoIP apparatus of the ISP, which is already connected to the VoIP apparatus at the location of the other party. After dialing the telephone number through the local telecommunication network, communication can be achieved). Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 12. Kliland discloses the method according to claim I, Kliland discloses wherein the first, second, or third message includes audio or video information (0043 the equipment 6, 8 or 10, is a video or sound player. Depending on the badge Id transmitted from the badge 4 and forwarded to the home environment 16, the corresponding favorite video and/or sound programming are forwarded to the equipment 6, 8 or 10 to be enjoyed by the user 1).
However, Wu discloses the method according to claim I, wherein the first, second, or third message includes audio or video information (0044 the head office needs to have a telephone 120' connected to the mobile audiovisual conversion device 56' and connected to the Internet 52 through a computer 53 or an apparatus connected network (e.g., network bridge, or network sharer). If it is intended to establish the branch companies or service centers in Area A, Area B, and Area C, then only corresponding software and hardware need to be set up. For example, Area A at least includes telephone 120a, mobile audiovisual conversion device 56a and the network bridge 80a. Area B at least includes telephone 120b, mobile audiovisual conversion device 56b and the network bridge 80b. Area C at least includes telephone 120c, mobile audiovisual conversion device 56c and the network bridge 80c. The telephone is connected to the mobile audiovisual conversion device and connected to the Internet 52 through the network bridge). Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As pee claim 13. Kliland discloses The method according to claim 12, wherein the respective first, second, or third message is part of VoIP, video conferencing, IPTV, Internet telephony service, or any combination thereof (0048 For security purposes, GSM information is for example encrypted so as to maintain the security within the PLMN network, while the H.323 network can by inherent functions provide corresponding security connections. In the H.323 network, a H.323 gatekeeper (UA) (not shown in FIG. 1, but illustrated by the sequence diagrams of FIGS. 2 and 3) is communicating with the Service Agent (SA) (referred to as the "service layer" in FIG. 1) running the Personal Equipment Service (PES) over a call control API (CC-API). The CC-API can be any suitable CC-API, such as a proprietary type, a Telepohone Application Interface (TAPI), Parly, etc. The H.323 GK (UA) is responsible for charging the user, i.e. for sending Call Detail Records (CDRs) to a per se known billing server (not shown) of the network, as well as for authenticating the user. If a quality of service (QoS) is specified and/or required, the UA can also be responsible for setting up a connections from the UA towards the equipment with a certain QoS. The SA is referred to as the service layer in FIG. 1). However, Wu The method according to claim 12, wherein the respective first, second, or third message is part of VoIP, video conferencing, IPTV, Internet telephony service, or any combination thereof (0006VoIP can be divided into three categories, PC-to-PC, PC-to-telephone, and telephone-to-telephone. PC-to-PC executes a computer-to-network communication software). Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 11. Kliland discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third message is delivered as part of a real-time service(0023 wirelessly communicating a user identifier from a user identity badge to a mobile communication terminal, wirelessly communicating an equipment identifier from an equipment to be controlled to a mobile communication terminal, forwarding from said mobile communication terminal, via a gateway to an IP network, a first information set including said user identifier and equipment identifier and/or a mobile terminal identifier to a User Agent (UA) in a Internet Protocol network, forwarding from said UA said first information set, via a Call Control API (CC-API), to a service Agent (SA), returning from said SA a second information set including said predetermined user profile, via said Call Control API (CC-API), to said UA, ),
However, Wu discloses The method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third message is delivered as part of a real-time service (fig.7 a communication link, i.e. send a dial as a first message as a first wireless network, between the portable phone 62 and a local phone 12. And Fig.7, Wherein the relay server received the digital signal as a second message form the phone 120, i.e. the first cellular telephone set over the internet 52 and fig.7, par 0042 the speech or audiovisual information , i..e a first message, can be transmitted to the telephone 120', i.e. the second cellular telephone, at a target end, wherein the via the mobile audiovisual data conversion device 56', i.e. a data from the device 56’ can be seen as a third message, on the target end, i.e. on the target end/ device 120’, i.e., the second cellular telephone, wherein a data as a third message is receiving and storing by the telephone 120’ ).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 14. Kliland discloses The method according to claim 1, where the first server comprises, is part of, or is integrated with, a web server, a database server, a mail server, an FTP server, a DHCP server, a DNS server, or any combination thereof([0039] The home environment 16 is a location where the user 1 keeps or stores her/his profiles according to e.g. GSM's Home Location Register (HLR). The home environment 16 includes an electronic memory means to hold or store the personal profiles, the memory means preferably being an electronic database (DB) system. In situations where the network is H.323 enabled, preferably an H.323 gatekeeper is providing the services of the home environment 16. However, in a SIP enabled network, preferably a SIP server would perform these tasks).
However, Wu discloses The method according to claim 1, where the first server comprises, is part of, or is integrated with, a web server, a database server, a mail server, an FTP server, a DHCP server, a DNS server, or any combination thereof ([0013] The user utilizes the local phone 11 to call the charging system 10, to connect to the Internet 15 through an uplink computer 16 passing through the uplink switchboard 13 provided by the system, to connect to a phone switchboard system represented by the local switchboard 14 through a downlink computer 18, and then to call the target phone 12. The phone 12 can be a cell phone or a general household telephone, and the charging system 10 usually includes devices such as, for example, a commercial telephone switchboard, or a computer server connected to a network, thereby making an inbound communication signal outbound to telephone switch systems in two locations).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 15. Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device comprises a laptop (0048 a wireless device 3, such as e.g. a Bluetooth technology device), However, Wu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the portable device comprises a laptop (fig.7, numeral 54 laptop computer).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 16. Kliland discloses The method according to claim 1, Kliland discloses further comprising encrypting, by the first cellular telephone set, the received first message, and wherein the second message comprises the encrypted first message(0006] Badge and user authentication as well as general security aspects as encryption and integrity ), However, Wu discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising encrypting, by the first cellular telephone set, the received first message, and wherein the second message comprises the encrypted first message (fig.7 a communication link, i.e. send a dial as a first message as a first wireless network, between the portable phone 62 and a local phone 12. And Fig.7, Wherein the relay server received the digital signal as a second message form the phone 120, i.e. the first cellular telephone set over the internet 52 and fig.7, par 0042 the speech or audiovisual information , i..e a first message, can be transmitted to the telephone 120', i.e. the second cellular telephone, at a target end, wherein the via the mobile audiovisual data conversion device 56', i.e. a data from the device 56’ can be seen as a third message, on the target end, i.e. on the target end/ device 120’, i.e., the second cellular telephone, wherein a data as a third message is receiving and storing by the telephone 120’ ).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 17. Kliland discloses, wherein the first server is identified in the Internet using a first IP address, wherein the first IP address is stored in the first cellular telephone set, and wherein the sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet of the second message uses the stored first IP address(0013 automatic equipment remote control according to a predetermined user profile, comprises: a user identity badge provided with a first wireless communication device having a first identifier, controllable equipment automatically responsive to a user profile and provided with and connected to a second wireless communication device having a second identifier, a mobile communication terminal adapted to communicate by an Internet Protocol (IP) network, said mobile communication terminal being provided with and connected to a third wireless communication device having a third identifier, and a user profile server connected to said IP network and holding the predetermined user profile ).
However, Wu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first server is identified in the Internet using a first IP address, wherein the first IP address is stored in the first cellular telephone set, and wherein the sending, by the first cellular telephone set to the first server over the Internet of the second message uses the stored first IP address (0030] In a conventional VoIP device, the analog speech signal is converted into a speech packet for transmission by the data network through a switchboard. Then, the speech packet is transmitted to the receiving end, and again converted into an analog speech signal by the switchboards for reception by a regular phone or a cell phone. Alternatively, both sides have to own a VoIP phone with a VoIP function therein. Firstly, an IP address and other necessaries must be established. Then, communication can be established. The main purpose of the VoIP device is to lower the telephone bill in a manner of an instantaneous phone).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 18. Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a Personal Area network (0017 automatic equipment remote control according to a predetermined user profile, comprises: a user identity badge provided with a first wireless communication device having a first identifier, controllable equipment automatically responsive to a user profile, said controllable equipment provided with and connected to a second wireless communication device having a second identifier, and connected to an Internet Protocol (IP) network, and a user profile server connected to said IP network and holding the predetermined user profile, wherein, said first and second wireless communication devices are adapted to communicate with one another, said first wireless communication device is adapted to communicate to said second wireless communication device, when in-range, the first identifier, said controllable equipment is adapted to communicate to the user profile server, via the Internet Protocol (IP) network, the first and second identifiers, and the user profile server is adapted to communicate to the controllable equipment, via the Internet Protocol (IP) network, on basis of the second identifier, the predetermined user profile in response to receiving the first and second identifiers. ). However, Wu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a Personal Area network (PAN)(0035 The connection between the communication device on the local end, i.e. personal area network, and the receiving communication apparatus is thus established.).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device. Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 20. Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a cellular network(0023 wirelessly communicating a user identifier from a user identity badge to a mobile communication terminal, wirelessly communicating an equipment identifier from an equipment to be controlled to a mobile communication terminal, forwarding from said mobile communication terminal, via a gateway to an IP network, a first information set including said user identifier and equipment identifier and/or a mobile terminal identifier to a User Agent (UA) in a Internet Protocol network).
Wu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first, second, or third wireless network comprises, is based on, or uses, a cellular network (claim 5 wherein the communication device is a mobile phone, a PDA or a mobile communication apparatus having the function of a cellular phone. And 0044 the head office needs to have a telephone 120' connected to the mobile audiovisual conversion device 56' and connected to the Internet 52 through a computer 53 or an apparatus connected network (e.g., network bridge, or network sharer). If it is intended to establish the branch companies or service centers in Area A, Area B, and Area C, then only corresponding software and hardware need to be set up. For example, Area A at least includes telephone 120a, mobile audiovisual conversion device 56a and the network bridge 80a. Area B at least includes telephone 120b, mobile audiovisual conversion device 56b and the network bridge 80b. Area C at least includes telephone 120c, mobile audiovisual conversion device 56c and the network bridge 80c. The telephone is connected to the mobile audiovisual conversion device and connected to the Internet 52 through the network bridge).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device.
Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
As per claim 21, Kliland disclose the method of according to claim 1, Kliland discloses the method of clam according to claim 20, wherein the cellular network comprises, is based on, or uses, Global System for Mobile communication (GSM), 2 G, 2.5 G, 3 G, 3.5 G, Enhanced Data rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE), or any combination thereof ( 0039] The home environment 16 is a location where the user 1 keeps or stores her/his profiles according to e.g. GSM 's Home Location Register (HLR). The home environment 16 includes an electronic memory means to hold or store the personal profiles, the memory means preferably being an electronic database (DB) system. In situations where the network is H.323 enabled, preferably an H.323 gatekeeper is providing the services of the home environment 16. However, in a SIP enabled network, preferably a SIP server would perform these tasks.).
However, Wu disclose wherein the cellular network comprises, is based on, or uses, Global System for Mobile communication (GSM), 2 G, 2.5 G, 3 G, 3.5 G, Enhanced Data rates for GSM Evolution (EDGE), or any combination thereof (claim 5 wherein the communication device is a mobile phone, a PDA or a mobile communication apparatus having the function of a cellular phone. And claim 18 wherein the portable computer is connected to the Internet in a wireless manner).
As per clam 24. Kliland discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises a first Medium Access Control (MAC), or a first Internet Protocol (IP) address that identifies the portable device in the Internet ( 0017 connected to an Internet Protocol (IP) network, and a user profile server connected to said IP network and holding the predetermined user profile, wherein, said first and second wireless communication devices are adapted to communicate with one another, said first wireless communication device is adapted to communicate to said second wireless communication device, when in-range, the first identifier, said controllable equipment is adapted to communicate to the user profile server, via the Internet Protocol (IP) network, the first and second identifiers, and the user profile server is adapted to communicate to the controllable equipment, via the Internet Protocol (IP) network, on basis of the second identifier, the predetermined user profile in response to receiving the first and second identifiers.),
However, Wu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier comprises a first Medium Access Control (MAC), or a first Internet Protocol (IP) address that identifies the portable device in the Internet ( 0035 FIG. 4, the transferring interface software in the relay server is set by using the computer on the target end. The relay server is set to identify the connected mobile audiovisual conversion device (step S131), and then, the communication device on the local end calls the phone on the local end (step S132). After putting the line through, the communication signal is transmitted to a mobile audiovisual conversion device (step S133). Then, the communication signal is converted to a digital signal by the mobile audiovisual conversion device (step 134), and the digital signal is transmitted to the relay server, which is connected to the Internet (step S135) depending on the contents of the communication signal and the lookup table for transferring the phone or the computer on the target end in the server, which may comprise a comparison table for IPs or MAC addresses of the computers on two sides, or member numbers of video conference. The digital signal is transmitted to a computer on the target end via the Internet according to this lookup table (step S136). When the computer on the target end is shut down, the audiovisual or speech message of the communication can be stored in the memory of the relay server, or when the computer on the target end is under using, it can be previously transmitted to the mobile audiovisual conversion device on the target end according to the transferring setting (step S137), converted into analog signal, transferred to the phone on the target end through the dialing function contained therein (step S138), and dialed to a communication apparatus, such as a mobile phone or other wireless communication apparatus, according to the setting (step S139). The connection between the communication device on the local end and the receiving communication apparatus is thus established).
Kliland and Wu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of networking.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kliland to incorporate the teachings of Wu and provide a message in the telephone device.
Doing so would provide a protection for the network device, thereby increasing prevention for the malicious traffic in the network.
Conclusion
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496