DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11, 14-18, 21, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Marin et al (US Pub 2024/0142917) in view of Reed (US pub 2022/0205033).
The applied reference has a common UiPath, Inc with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, Marin et al discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program (sec 0088, 0092), the computer program configured to cause at least one processor to:
provide a natural language description of a process to a cognitive artificial intelligence (AI) layer [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136; Listener 330 communicates to and from with database 355; database 355 is part of layer 336 and layer 366 comprises an AI layer 360; listener 330 provides a natural language description of a processor also known as a process definition document (PDD) or recorder of user actions, a task capture, a process mining, etc to the layer 336 having the AI layer 360], the cognitive Al layer configured to analyze and automatically generate annotations describing activities for a robotic process automation (RPA) workflow (AI generating and analyzing or editing annotations for an RPA workflow for the robot; sec 0035, 0036, 0038) or an RPA workflow pertaining to a process described in the PDD (sec 0035, 0037, 0038);
process the natural language description (figs. 3, 9; restructuring, reconfiguring, etc; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136), by the cognitive AI layer; and
automatically generate an annotated (RPA) workflow (sec 0127; builder 903 generates a workflows for the RPA 905 using ML from natural language described task) by the cognitive AI layer,
Marin did not particularly recite the phrase, " …., the annotations comprising descriptions of each activity, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation."
However, Reed teaches of, a processor automatically generating an annotated RPA workflow, by a cognitive AI layer, the annotations comprising descriptions of each activity, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation [Reed automatically generates annotations such as assay definition files (ADF) including software code modules for an automated robotic workflow process, wherein the ADF are encapsulated i.e. annotated, the annotations comprising descriptions of each activity, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation; sec 0039, 0124, 0125, 0136-0147; fig. 17].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Marin as taught by Reed so that the annotations for RPA in Marin comprise descriptions of activities, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation for the advantage of improving workflow for robot of Marin. It is noted that the robot of Marin is a general robot and as such the field of endeavor is the same for both prior art.
Regarding claim 3, Marin et al discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the natural language description is a process definition document (PDD) [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136].
Regarding claim 6, Marin et al discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
generate a process definition document (PDD) for the RPA workflow when the natural language description of the process does not include a PDD [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136.].
Regarding claim 7, Marin et al discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the annotations provide a description of an overall process of the RPA workflow, describe what each activity in the RPA workflow is doing, or both [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136.].
Regarding claim 8, Marin et al discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the cognitive AI layer comprises:
a generative AI model configured to generate annotated RPA workflows, generate process definition documents (PDDs) and/or other documents, logically group classes of RPA workflow activities, or any combination thereof [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136].
Regarding claim 9, Marin et al discloses One or more computing systems (sec 0088, 0092), comprising:
memory storing computer program instructions (sec 0088, 0092); and
at least one processor configured to execute the computer program instructions (sec 0088, 0092), wherein the computer program instructions are configured to cause the at least one processor to:
provide a natural language description of a process to a cognitive artificial intelligence (AI) layer [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136; Listener 330 communicates to and from with database 355; database 355 is part of layer 336 and layer 366 comprises an AI layer 360; listener 330 provides a natural language description of a processor also known as a process definition document (PDD) or recorder of user actions, a task capture, a process mining, etc to the layer 336 having the AI layer 360], the cognitive Al layer configured to analyze and automatically generate annotations describing activities for a robotic process automation (RPA) workflow (AI generating and analyzing or editing annotations for an RPA workflow for the robot; sec 0035, 0036, 0038) or an RPA workflow pertaining to a process described in the PDD (sec 0035, 0037, 0038);
process the natural language description (figs. 3, 9; restructuring, reconfiguring, etc; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136), by the cognitive AI layer; and
automatically generate an annotated (RPA) workflow (sec 0127; builder 903 generates a workflows for the RPA 905 using ML from natural language described task) by the cognitive AI layer,
Marin did not particularly recite the phrase, " …., the annotations comprising descriptions of each activity, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation."
However, Reed teaches of, a processor automatically generating an annotated RPA workflow, by a cognitive AI layer, the annotations comprising descriptions of each activity, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation [Reed automatically generates annotations such as assay definition files (ADF) including software code modules for an automated robotic workflow process, wherein the ADF are encapsulated i.e. annotated, the annotations comprising descriptions of each activity, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation; sec 0039, 0124, 0125, 0136-0147; fig. 17].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Marin as taught by Reed so that the annotations for RPA in Marin comprise descriptions of activities, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation for the advantage of improving workflow for robot of Marin. It is noted that the robot of Marin is a general robot and as such the field of endeavor is the same for both prior art.
Regarding claim 11, Marin et al discloses the one or more computing systems of claim 9, wherein the natural language description is a process definition document (PDD) [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136.].
Regarding claim 14, Marin et al discloses the one or more computing systems of claim 9, wherein the computer program instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
generate a process definition document (PDD) for the RPA workflow when the natural language description of the process does not include a PDD [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136].
Regarding claim 15, Marin et al discloses the one or more computing systems of claim 9, wherein the annotations provide a description of an overall process of the RPA workflow, describe what each activity in the RPA workflow is doing, or both [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136.].
Regarding claim 16, Marin et al discloses the one or more computing systems of claim 9, wherein the cognitive Al layer comprises:
a generative AI model configured to generate annotated RPA workflows, generate process definition documents (PDDs) and/or other documents, logically group classes of RPA workflow activities, or any combination thereof [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136].
Regarding claim 17, Marin et al discloses a computer-implemented method (sec 0088, 0092), comprising:
providing a natural language description of a process to a cognitive artificial intelligence (AI) layer on one or more computing systems [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136; Listener 330 communicates to and from with database 355; database 355 is part of layer 336 and layer 366 comprises an AI layer 360; listener 330 provides a natural language description of a processor also known as a process definition document (PDD) or recorder of user actions, a task capture, a process mining, etc to the layer 336 having the AI layer 360], the cognitive Al layer configured to analyze and automatically generate annotations describing activities for a robotic process automation (RPA) workflow (AI generating and analyzing or editing annotations for an RPA workflow for the robot; sec 0035, 0036, 0038; OR an RPA workflow pertaining to a process described in the PDD; sec 0035, 0037, 0038);
processing the natural language description (figs. 3, 9; restructuring, reconfiguring, etc; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136), by the cognitive AI layer; and
automatically generate an annotated (RPA) workflow (sec 0127; builder 903 generates a workflows for the RPA 905 using ML from natural language described task) by the cognitive AI layer,
Marin did not particularly recite the phrase, " …., the annotations comprising descriptions of each activity, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation."
However, Reed teaches of, a processor automatically generating an annotated RPA workflow, by a cognitive AI layer, the annotations comprising descriptions of each activity, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation [Reed automatically generates annotations such as assay definition files (ADF) including software code modules for an automated robotic workflow process, wherein the ADF are encapsulated i.e. annotated, the annotations comprising descriptions of each activity, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation; sec 0039, 0124, 0125, 0136-0147; fig. 17].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Marin as taught by Reed so that the annotations for RPA in Marin comprise descriptions of activities, input/output parameters, and an overall process explanation for the advantage of improving workflow for robot of Marin. It is noted that the robot of Marin is a general robot and as such the field of endeavor is the same for both prior art.
Regarding claim 18, Marin et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 17, wherein the natural language description is a process definition document (PDD) [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136].
Regarding claim 21, Marin et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 17, further comprising:
generating a process definition document (PDD) for the RPA workflow when the natural language description of the process does not include a PDD, by the cognitive AI layer [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136].
Regarding claim 22, Marin et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 17, wherein the cognitive Al layer comprises:
a generative AI model configured to generate annotated RPA workflows, generate process definition documents (PDDs) and/or other documents, logically group classes of RPA workflow activities, or any combination thereof [figs. 3, 9; sec 0078, 0127, 0128-0136].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Marin et al (US Pub 2024/0142917) and Reed (US pub 2022/0205033) as applied to claims 1, 9, 17 and further in view of Subramanian (US 20240028586).
The applied reference has a common Assignee, UiPath, Inc with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 4, Marin et al discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, but did not recite, a large language model (LLM) “wherein the cognitive AI layer comprises a large language model (LLM) that has been fine-tuned during training to understand natures of and interrelationships between RPA workflow activities.”
However, Subramanian (sec 0052, 0059) teaches of the limitation, “wherein the cognitive AI layer comprises a large language model (LLM) that has been fine-tuned during training to understand natures of and interrelationships between RPA workflow activities.”
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time then invention was filed to modify Marin as taught by Subramanian for the purpose of augmenting the Marin/Reed device with a cognitive layer that comprises a large language model (LLM), to provide a more advanced and sophisticated user experience, as well as provide access to state-of-the-art natural language processing (NLP) and other ML capabilities that these companies offer (see Subramanian; sec 0059).
Regarding claim 12, Marin et al discloses the one or more computing systems of claim 9, but did not recite, a large language model (LLM), “wherein the cognitive AI layer comprises a large language model (LLM) that has been fine-tuned during training to understand natures of and interrelationships between RPA workflow activities.”
However, Subramanian (sec 0052, 0059) teaches of the limitation, “wherein the cognitive AI layer comprises a large language model (LLM) that has been fine-tuned during training to understand natures of and interrelationships between RPA workflow activities.”
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time then invention was filed to modify Marin as taught by Subramanian for the purpose of augmenting the Marin/Reed device with a cognitive layer that comprises a large language model (LLM), to provide a more advanced and sophisticated user experience, as well as provide access to state-of-the-art natural language processing (NLP) and other ML capabilities that these companies offer (see Subramanian; sec 0059).
Regarding claim 19, Marin et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 17, but did not recite, a large language model (LLM), “wherein the cognitive AI layer comprises a large language model (LLM) that has been fine-tuned during training to understand natures of and interrelationships between RPA workflow activities.”
However, Subramanian (sec 0052, 0059) teaches of the limitation, “wherein the cognitive AI layer comprises a large language model (LLM) that has been fine-tuned during training to understand natures of and interrelationships between RPA workflow activities.”
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time then invention was filed to modify Marin as taught by Subramanian for the purpose of augmenting the Marin/Reed device with a cognitive layer that comprises a large language model (LLM), to provide a more advanced and sophisticated user experience, as well as provide access to state-of-the-art natural language processing (NLP) and other ML capabilities that these companies offer (see Subramanian; sec 0059).
Claim 5, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Marin et al (US Pub 2024/0142917) and Reed (US pub 2022/0205033) as applied to claims 1, 9, 17, above and further in view of Dines (US Pub 2025/0104458).
Regarding claim 5, Marin et al discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, but did not particularly recite the limitation, “generate a runtime automation for execution by one or more RPA robots using the RPA workflow.”
However, Dines (sec 0023, 0138-0140) teaches of a computer program is further configured to cause the at least one processor to:
generate a runtime automation for execution by one or more RPA robots using the RPA workflow (sec 0023, 0138-0140).
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time then invention was filed to modify Marin/Reed as taught by Dines for the purpose of undoing failure, etc in an automation process (Dines, sec 0023, 0138-0140).
Regarding claim 13, Marin et al discloses the one or more computing systems of claim 9, but did not particularly recite the limitation, “generate a runtime automation for execution by one or more RPA robots using the RPA workflow.”
However, Dines (sec 0023, 0138-0140) teaches of one or more computing systems, wherein computer program instructions are further configured to cause the at least one processor to generate a runtime automation for execution by one or more RPA robots using the RPA workflow (Dines, sec 0023, 0138-0140).
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time then invention was filed to modify Marin/Reed as taught by Dines for the purpose of undoing failure, etc in an automation process (Dines, sec 0023, 0138-0140).
Regarding claim 20, Marin et al discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 17, but did not particularly recite the limitation, “generate a runtime automation for execution by one or more RPA robots using the RPA workflow.”
However, Dines (sec 0023, 0138-0140) teaches of a computer-implemented method, comprising generating a runtime automation for execution by one or more RPA robots using an RPA workflow (Dines, sec 0023, 0138-0140).
Therefore, it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time then invention was filed to modify Marin/Reed as taught by Dines for the purpose of undoing failure, etc in an automation process (Dines, sec 0023, 0138-0140).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657