DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 5/20/26 in which claims 1-19 and 21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 9, 13-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson et al., (Pub. No.: 2022/0021503), herein Wilhelmsson, Zhang et al. (Pub No.: 2014/0044038), herein Zhang and Lee et al (Pub. No.: 2019/0074936), herein Lee.
As to claim 1, Wilhelmsson teaches the method comprising:
detecting, by a first station (STA), an error in a first frame during transmission of the first frame from a second STA to the first STA via a first link (Wilhelmsson [0057] When encoding is performed without time interleaving (as in IEEE 802.11), decoding of a packet (e.g. an MPDU) can start immediately, even before the entire packet is received. Thus, under the assumptions that the packet will be correctly decoded, the information in the header is available before the payload is decoded. In absence of error detection for the header, it is not known whether it was correctly decoded until the decoder has decoded the full packet); and
Wilhelmsson does not teach
based on detecting the error, and before an end of the transmission of the first frame, sending, to the second STA via a second link, a second frame indicating the error
However Zhang does teach
based on detecting the error, and before an end of the transmission of the first frame, sending, to the second STA via a second link, a second frame indicating the error (Zhang [0043] An error detection module 228--which may be included in the memory 204--uses the error detection code to determine whether a symbol received in the feed-forward channel contains an error. This determination occurs prior to receipt of all of the plurality of symbols of the transmission frame in order to enable the ACK/NACK to indicate whether the GOSs were received without error and [0044] The reception module 214 will receive a retransmission GOS within the same transmission frame and will utilize retransmission metadata to identify the retransmission GOS. The reception module 214 is executable to insert a correctly received retransmission GOS into the correct location in the transmission frame and to pass the decoded and demodulated transmission frame up the protocol stack to ultimately reach an application)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhelmsson and Zhang, because Zhang [0043] teaches us this allows the sender to retransmit erroneous GOSs during transmission of the transmission frame and [0044] This enables the reception module 214 to receive retransmissions of erroneous symbols without having to wait for the sender to re-contend for the media, or to transmit a new preamble and transmission frame.
Wilhelmsson nor Zhang teach
And stopping, based on sending the first frame, reception of the first frame.
However Lee does teach
And stopping, based on sending the first frame, reception of the first frame (Lee [0465] stops the DL data reception)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhelmsson, Zhang and Lee, because Lee teaches us [0465] In the case that the non-adaptive HARQ indicator is set as ‘0’, a UE determines that there is an error in HARQ feedback that the UE transmitted or the retransmission data is not transmitted to the corresponding region (previous DL grant resource), and stops the DL data reception.
As to claim 9, Wilhelmsson teaches the method comprising:
transmitting, by a second station (STA) to a first STA via a first link, a first frame link (Wilhelmsson [0057] When encoding is performed without time interleaving (as in IEEE 802.11), decoding of a packet (e.g. an MPDU) can start immediately, even before the entire packet is received. Thus, under the assumptions that the packet will be correctly decoded, the information in the header is available before the payload is decoded. In absence of error detection for the header, it is not known whether it was correctly decoded until the decoder has decoded the full packet); and
Wilhelmsson does not teach
before an end of transmission of the first frame, receiving, from the first STA via a second link, a second frame indicating an error in the first frame.
However Zhang does teach
before an end of transmission of the first frame, receiving, from the first STA via a second link, a second frame indicating an error in the first frame (Zhang [0043] An error detection module 228--which may be included in the memory 204--uses the error detection code to determine whether a symbol received in the feed-forward channel contains an error. This determination occurs prior to receipt of all of the plurality of symbols of the transmission frame in order to enable the ACK/NACK to indicate whether the GOSs were received without error and [0044] The reception module 214 will receive a retransmission GOS within the same transmission frame and will utilize retransmission metadata to identify the retransmission GOS. The reception module 214 is executable to insert a correctly received retransmission GOS into the correct location in the transmission frame and to pass the decoded and demodulated transmission frame up the protocol stack to ultimately reach an application)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhelmsson and Zhang for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Wilhelmsson nor Zhang teach
And stopping, based on sending the first frame, reception of the first frame.
However Lee does teach
And stopping, based on sending the first frame, reception of the first frame (Lee [0465] stops the DL data reception)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhelmsson, Zhang and Lee for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 16, Wilhelmsson teaches the method comprising:
receiving, by a first computing device from a second computing device via a first link, a first portion of a first frame (Wilhelmsson [0057] When encoding is performed without time interleaving (as in IEEE 802.11), decoding of a packet (e.g. an MPDU) can start immediately, even before the entire packet is received. Thus, under the assumptions that the packet will be correctly decoded, the information in the header is available before the payload is decoded.);
detecting an error in the first portion of the first frame (Wilhelmsson [0068] When the part of the header is not successfully decoded, the second communication device does not transmit any H-ACK as can be seen in scenario (b). If the packet was intended for the second communication device, the first communication device will not receive any H-ACK in the monitoring period 252 (i.e., absence of the H-ACK is detected; implicit H-NACK); and
Wilhelmson does not teach
based on detecting the error, and before reception of a second portion of the first frame, sending, to the second computing device via a second link, a second frame indicating the error, wherein the second link is different from the first link.
However Zhang does teach
based on detecting the error, and before reception of a second portion of the first frame, sending, to the second computing device via a second link, a second frame indicating the error, wherein the second link is different from the first link (Zhang [0043] An error detection module 228--which may be included in the memory 204--uses the error detection code to determine whether a symbol received in the feed-forward channel contains an error. This determination occurs prior to receipt of all of the plurality of symbols of the transmission frame in order to enable the ACK/NACK to indicate whether the GOSs were received without error and [0044] The reception module 214 will receive a retransmission GOS within the same transmission frame and will utilize retransmission metadata to identify the retransmission GOS. The reception module 214 is executable to insert a correctly received retransmission GOS into the correct location in the transmission frame and to pass the decoded and demodulated transmission frame up the protocol stack to ultimately reach an application)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhelmsson and Zhang for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Wilhelmsson nor Zhang teach
And stopping, based on sending the first frame, reception of the first frame.
However Lee does teach
And stopping, based on sending the first frame, reception of the first frame (Lee [0465] stops the DL data reception)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhelmsson, Zhang and Lee for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 3, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the second frame comprises an acknowledgment frame (Zhang [0043] An error detection module 228--which may be included in the memory 204--uses the error detection code to determine whether a symbol received in the feed-forward channel contains an error. This determination occurs prior to receipt of all of the plurality of symbols of the transmission frame in order to enable the ACK/NACK to indicate whether the GOSs were received without error
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
As to claim 4, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the second frame comprises an indication of a type of the error (Zhang [0051] At 312, when a symbol error (type) is detected at 310 (following the "y" route), the receiver transmits a NACK on the feedback channel to indicate that a particular GOS (type) is received with one or more errors)
As to claim 5, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 1, wherein sending the second frame comprises sending during one or more of the following time periods: at an interframe spacing after detection of the error; less than an interframe spacing after detection of the error; or without an interframe spacing after detection of the error (Zhang [0051] At 312, when a symbol error (type) is detected at 310 (following the "y" route), the receiver transmits a NACK on the feedback channel to indicate that a particular GOS (type) is received with one or more errors)
As to claim 8, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first link and the second link correspond to different frequency channels (Wilhelmsson [0044] The mechanisms are for a communication device capable of simultaneous transmission and reception. Examples of scenarios of simultaneous transmission and reception include full duplex communication scenarios, frequency division duplex (FDD) scenarios, etc and [0059] By exploiting the capability of simultaneous transmission and reception, a scheme with a separate acknowledgement for the header (or part of the header) may be considered, as will be exemplified in FIG. 2. [0060] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates various signaling scenarios (a-f) according to some embodiments, where the capability of simultaneous transmission and reception is exploited to reduce the latency of feed-back mechanisms.
As to claim 13, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 9, further comprising: during transmission of the first frame, monitoring the second link for the second frame (Wilhelmsson [0086] As mentioned before, monitoring and reception of the H-ACK may be simultaneous to continued transmission by the first communication device)
As to claim 14, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 9, further comprising: after completing or stopping transmission of the first frame, monitoring the second link for the second frame (Wilhelmsson [0084] When at least a part (PT) 145, 312, 365 of the header has been transmitted by the first communication device, the first communication device monitors receipt of the H-ACK as illustrated by step 325. This step typically comprises monitoring receipt of the H-ACK during a specified monitoring period as mentioned above.
As to claim 19, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 16, wherein the first frame comprises an indication of the second link (Wilhmesson [0080] Alternatively or additionally, successful decoding of the part of the header may, for example, comprise determining that an error detection part (e.g., a header CRC or a header FCS) of the header indicates error-free reception and decoding of the part)
As to claim 20, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 16, further comprising: based on sending the second frame, stopping reception of the first frame. (Wilhemsson [0081] When the part of the header is not successfully decoded (N-path out of step 366; compare with scenario b of FIG. 2) the second communication device stops reception (and decoding) of the packet as illustrated by step 368.)
Claim(s) 2, 6, 7, 10-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhemsson, Zhang and Handte et al. (WO 2020/174020), herein Handte.
As to claim 2, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first frame comprises and wherein the error comprises at least one of: an error in a; or an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of the PPDU (Wilhemsson [0049] When the wireless communication is in accordance with an IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., the IEEE 802.11n standard), the example packet 100 may comprise a physical (PHY) layer preamble 120 and a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (MPDU), wherein the MPDU itself comprises an MPDU header 140, an MPDU payload 160, and an FCS 180 [0081] When the part of the header is not successfully decoded (N-path out of step 366; compare with scenario b of FIG. 2) the second communication device stops reception (and decoding) of the packet as illustrated by step 368.)
Wilhemsson nor Zhang teach
physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) or error in a physical layer (PHY) header of the PPDU
However Handte does teach
physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) or error in a physical layer (PHY) header of the PPDU (Handte [0049] a PPDU header decoding error)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhemsson, Zhang and Handte, because Handte teaches us it may not comply with a request to stop transmission in the case a PPDU header decoding has an error (Handte [0049]
Claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 6, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the error comprises an error in a header and wherein sending the second frame comprises sending during one or more of the following time periods: before an end of reception of the PHY header; after an end of reception of the PHY header; at an interframe spacing after an end of reception of the PHY header; less than an interframe spacing after an end of reception of the PHY header; or without an interframe spacing after an end of reception of the PHY header (Zhang [0051] At 312, when a symbol error (type) is detected at 310 (following the "y" route), the receiver transmits a NACK on the feedback channel to indicate that a particular GOS (type) is received with one or more errors and Wilhemsson [0049] When the wireless communication is in accordance with an IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., the IEEE 802.11n standard), the example packet 100 may comprise a physical (PHY) layer preamble 120 and a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (MPDU), wherein the MPDU itself comprises an MPDU header 140, an MPDU payload 160, and an FCS 180 [0081] When the part of the header is not successfully decoded (N-path out of step 366; compare with scenario b of FIG. 2) the second communication device stops reception (and decoding) of the packet as illustrated by step 368. )
Wilhemsson nor Zhang teach
physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU)
However Handte does teach
physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (Handte [0049] a PPDU header decoding error)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhemsson, Zhang and Handte for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 7, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the error comprises an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of and wherein sending the second frame comprises sending before an end of reception of a subsequent MPDU of the first frame (Wilhemsson [0049] When the wireless communication is in accordance with an IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., the IEEE 802.11n standard), the example packet 100 may comprise a physical (PHY) layer preamble 120 and a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (MPDU), wherein the MPDU itself comprises an MPDU header 140, an MPDU payload 160, and an FCS 180 and [0081] When the part of the header is not successfully decoded (N-path out of step 366; compare with scenario b of FIG. 2) the second communication device stops reception (and decoding) of the packet as illustrated by step 368 Zhang [0043] An error detection module 228--which may be included in the memory 204--uses the error detection code to determine whether a symbol received in the feed-forward channel contains an error. This determination occurs prior to receipt of all of the plurality of symbols of the transmission frame in order to enable the ACK/NACK to indicate whether the GOSs were received without error and [0044] The reception module 214 will receive a retransmission GOS within the same transmission frame)
Wilhemsson nor Zhang teach
physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU)
However Handte does teach
physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (Handte [0049] a PPDU header decoding error)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhemsson, Zhang and Handte for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 11, the combination of Wilhemsson and Zhang teach the method of claim 9, wherein the first frame comprises an: based on receiving the second frame, stopping transmission of the first frame via the first link. (Wilhelmsson [0081] When the part of the header is not successfully decoded (N-path out of step 366; compare with scenario b of FIG. 2) the second communication device stops reception (and decoding) of the packet as illustrated by step 368.)
Wilhemsson nor Zhang teach
error comprises an error in a physical layer (PHY) header of the PPDU, and the method further comprises physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU)
However Handte does teach
error comprises an error in a physical layer (PHY) header of the PPDU, and the method further comprises physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (Handte [0049] a PPDU header decoding error)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhemsson, Zhang and Handte for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 12, the combination of Wilhemsson, Zhang and Handte teach the method of claim 9, wherein the first frame comprises a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) and the error comprises an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of the PPDU, and the method further comprises Handte [0049] a PPDU header decoding error): based on receiving the second frame, recording the error and continuing transmission of the first frame via the first link. (Wilhemsson [0049] When the wireless communication is in accordance with an IEEE 802.11 standard (e.g., the IEEE 802.11n standard), the example packet 100 may comprise a physical (PHY) layer preamble 120 and a Medium Access Control (MAC) Protocol Data Unit (MPDU), wherein the MPDU itself comprises an MPDU header 140, an MPDU payload 160, and an FCS 180. [0086] As mentioned before, monitoring and reception of the H-ACK may be simultaneous to continued transmission by the first communication device. [0081] When the part of the header is not successfully decoded (N-path out of step 366; compare with scenario b of FIG. 2) the second communication device stops reception (and decoding) of the packet as illustrated by step 368.)
Zhang [0043] An error detection module 228--which may be included in the memory 204--uses the error detection code to determine whether a symbol received in the feed-forward channel contains an error. This determination occurs prior to receipt of all of the plurality of symbols of the transmission frame in order to enable the ACK/NACK to indicate whether the GOSs were received without error and [0044] The reception module 214 will receive a retransmission GOS within the same transmission frame and will utilize retransmission metadata (recording) to identify the retransmission GOS.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhemsson, Zhang for the same reasons stated in claim 1 and Handte for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 17, the combination of Wilhemsson, Zhang and Handte teach method of claim 16, wherein the first frame comprises a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), and wherein the error comprises at least one of: an error in a physical layer (PHY) header of the PPDU; or an error in a medium access control (MAC) protocol data unit (MPDU) of the PPDU (Wilhelmsson [0081] When the part of the header is not successfully decoded (N-path out of step 366; compare with scenario b of FIG. 2) the second communication device stops reception (and decoding) of the packet as illustrated by step 368.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhemsson, Zhang for the same reasons stated in claim 1 and Handte for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilhelmsson, Zhang Lee and Wang et al. (KR 20160020573 A), (translated) herein Wang.
As to claim 21, the combination of Wilhelmsson, Zhang and Lee teach the method of claim 16,
Wilhelmsson, Zhang and Lee do not teach
further comprising:
receiving, by the first computing device and prior to transmission of the first frame, an indication of cross-ACK (XACK) capability of the second computing device.
However Wang does teach
further comprising:
receiving, by the first computing device and prior to transmission of the first frame, an indication of cross-ACK (XACK) capability of the second computing device (Wang Referring to FIG. 6, in step 210, the UE 201 establishes an application cross-ACK flag for application 1 data. The application cross-ACK flag may be a bit in the header of the MAC data frame. The flag indicates whether the embedded application data can be acknowledged in conjunction with other application data)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilhelmsson, Zhang, Lee and Wang, because Wang teaches us In step 213, the UE 202 determines whether there is an application cross-ACK flag bit set in the received MAC header of step 203. [ If the flag bit is set, the UE 202 then marks the application data 1 as a candidate for the application crossing ACK.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467