DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–6 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0120613 A1.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/963,381, filed on 20 July 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 19 December 2023 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2–5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "an average value of light transmittance." Claim 1, which claim 2 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "an average value of light transmittance." It is unclear if "an average value of light transmittance" recited in claim 2 is further limiting "an average value of light transmittance" recited in claim 1. A light transmittance can be measured under different conditions, using different methods, or following different treatments; and a crosslinked polyolefin separator can have more than one average value of light transmittance.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a region of 380 nm to 370 nm." Claim 1, which claim 2 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "a region of 380 nm to 370 nm." It is unclear if "a region of 380 nm to 370 nm" recited in claim 2 is further limiting "a region of 380 nm to 370 nm" recited in claim 1. A light transmittance can be measured under different conditions, using different methods, or following different treatments; and a light transmittance can be measured at more than one region.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "four sides of the separator" Claim 1, which claim 2 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "four sides of the separator." It is unclear if "four sides of the separator" recited in claim 2 is further limiting "four sides of the separator" recited in claim 1. A crosslinked polyolefin separator has more than four sides; and it is unclear if "four sides" recited in claim 2 are the same "four sides" recited in claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the polyolefin backbone" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4 and 5 are directly dependent from claim 3 and include all the limitations of claim 3. Therefore, claims 4 and 5 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation "which shows an average value of light transmittance of 30% or more in a region of 380 nm to 700 nm, after four sides of the separator are fixed and allowed to stand at 130° C. for 30 minutes;" and claim 2 recites the limitation "which shows an average value of light transmittance of 58% or more in a region of 380 nm to 700 nm, after four sides of the separator are fixed and allowed to stand at 130° C. for 30 minutes." Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102/103 rejection. "There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977). This same rationale should also apply to product, apparatus, and process claims claimed in terms of function, property or characteristic. Therefore, a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection is appropriate for these types of claims as well as for composition claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1–6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bae et al. (KR 102037342 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses a crosslinked polyolefin separator (TABLE 1, [0177]) manufactured by (S1) introducing polyolefin, a diluting agent, alkoxysilane containing a carbon-carbon double bonded group, an initiator and a crosslinking catalyst to an extruder, followed by mixing, and carrying out reactive extrusion (see reaction-extruded, [0149]); (S2) molding and orienting the reactive extruded silane-grafted polyolefin composition in the form of a sheet (see molded, [0143]); (S3) extracting the diluting agent from the oriented sheet to obtain a porous membrane (see extracted, [0144]); (S4) thermally fixing the porous membrane (see heat-set, [0144]); and (S5) crosslinking the thermally fixed porous membrane in the presence of water (see crosslinked, [0144]), wherein at least one of the initiator or the alkoxysilane containing a carbon-carbon double bonded group is introduced and mixed in divided doses at a predetermined time interval, in step (S1) (see elapsed time, [0150]), and the weight ratio (A/B) of the total content (A) of the alkoxysilane containing a carbon-carbon double bonded group to the total content (B) of the initiator is 80-600, or the alkoxysilane containing a carbon-carbon double bonded group introduced previously to the extruder has a higher boiling point, as compared to the alkoxysilane containing a carbon-carbon double bonded group introduced subsequently to the extruder (see first initiator, [0148]; see second initiator, [0149]).
Bae does not explicitly disclose:
which shows an average value of light transmittance of 30% or more in a region of 380 nm to 700 nm, after four sides of the separator are fixed and allowed to stand at 130° C. for 30 minutes.
Bae discloses a method for manufacturing a crosslinked polyolefin separator identical to the method disclosed in the specification (see crosslinked polyolefin separator, [0018]). Therefore, the crosslinked polyolefin separator of Bae inherently possesses an average value of light transmittance of 30% or more in a region of 380 nm to 700 nm, after four sides of the separator are fixed and allowed to stand at 130° C. for 30 minutes.
Regarding claim 2, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a crosslinked polyolefin separator:
which shows an average value of light transmittance of 58% or more in a region of 380 nm to 700 nm, after four sides of the separator are fixed and allowed to stand at 130° C. for 30 minutes.
Bae discloses a method for manufacturing a crosslinked polyolefin separator identical to the method disclosed in the specification (see crosslinked polyolefin separator, [0018]). Therefore, the crosslinked polyolefin separator of Bae inherently possesses an average value of light transmittance of 58% or more in a region of 380 nm to 700 nm, after four sides of the separator are fixed and allowed to stand at 130° C. for 30 minutes.
Regarding claim 3, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a crosslinked polyolefin separator:
which has 0.5–10 grafted units based on 1000 carbon atoms in the polyolefin backbone forming the crosslinked polyolefin separator.
Bae discloses a method for manufacturing a crosslinked polyolefin separator identical to the method disclosed in the specification (see crosslinked polyolefin separator, [0018]). Therefore, the crosslinked polyolefin separator of Bae inherently possesses 0.5-10 grafted units based on 1000 carbon atoms in the polyolefin backbone forming the crosslinked polyolefin separator.
Regarding claim 4, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a crosslinked polyolefin separator:
which has 1.0–8.0 grafted units based on 1000 carbon atoms in the polyolefin backbone forming the crosslinked polyolefin separator.
Bae discloses a method for manufacturing a crosslinked polyolefin separator identical to the method disclosed in the specification (see crosslinked polyolefin separator, [0018]). Therefore, the crosslinked polyolefin separator of Bae inherently possesses 0.5-10 grafted units based on 1000 carbon atoms in the polyolefin backbone forming the crosslinked polyolefin separator.
Regarding claim 5, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a crosslinked polyolefin separator:
wherein the grafted units are silane-grafted units (see vinylsilane, [0148]).
Regarding claim 6, Bae discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a crosslinked polyolefin separator:
which has a thickness of 4.0-12.0 μm (TABLE 1, [0168]).
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725