DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation of “the support element” which is recited in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 17-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2022/0387706 to De Donatis et al. (Donatis hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Donatis teaches a device (1) for subcutaneous delivery of a medicament, comprising: a dispensing module (2) comprising a base wall (6) having a substantially flat outer surface configured to be applied to skin of a patient (either indirectly per paragraph 106 or directly by application of adhesive tape around the other surface of the outer wall); an elongated seat (10) arranged inside the dispensing module and extending along a longitudinal direction, the elongated seat comprising at least one rest portion (3a); a cartridge (11) arranged in the elongated seat and comprising a container holding the medicament; an elongated opening (between rest portions 3a) formed on the base wall at the elongated seat and configured to allow an insertion of the cartridge into the elongated seat through the elongated opening along an insertion direction (i.e. vertical in Fig. 1) that is orthogonal to the outer surface of the base wall; and retaining members (36, 37) configured to interact with the cartridge along a retaining direction and to lock the cartridge inside the elongated seat in a predetermined position (as shown in Fig. 2b), the retaining direction being parallel to or coincident with the longitudinal direction; wherein: the device has an initial configuration (as illustrated in Fig. 2a) in which the retaining members do not act on the cartridge along the retaining direction and the cartridge rests on the at least one rest portion and is movable in the elongated seat along the longitudinal direction; and the device has a final configuration (Fig. 2b) in which the retaining members interact with the cartridge along the retaining direction and lock the cartridge in the predetermined position.
Regarding claim 2, Donatis teaches that the cartridge does not contact or rest on the rest portion (3a).
Regarding claim 3, Donatis teaches that the retaining members comprise: a support element (36, left end in Fig. 2b) arranged at a first end portion of the elongated seat; and a pushing element (20) that, when the device is in the initial configuration, is arranged at a second end portion of the elongated seat, the pushing element being movable towards the support element to transition the device from the initial configuration to the final configuration.
Regarding claim 4, Donatis teaches that the container comprises an end portion (11a) proximate to the support element; and the support element comprises an abutment surface (36a) that, when the device is in the initial configuration, is in a position distal from the end portion and that, when the device is in the final configuration, is in abutment against the end portion.
Regarding claim 5, Donatis teaches that the cartridge comprises a plunger (15) sealingly arranged inside the container; and the pushing element comprises a piston (20)configured to exert a thrust on the plunger, wherein the thrust of the piston on the plunger is configured to causes a displacement of the cartridge towards the support element (paragraph 114) before the device reaches the final configuration, and wherein the thrust of the piston on the plunger is configured to cause a sliding of the plunger inside the container and an outflow of the medicament from the container through a piercing needle (7) after the device reaches the final configuration (paragraph 127).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood by the examiner, Donatis teaches a rest element (underneath the container 11 at the left end of 3a, as shown in Fig. 2a) configured to support the end portion of the container.
Regarding claim 7, Donatis teaches that the container comprises a main portion and a neck having a reduced section (see e.g. Fig. 2a), the neck being interposed between the main portion and the end portion, wherein, when the device is in the initial configuration, the neck rests on the rest element and the main portion rests at least indirectly on the at least one rest portion.
Regarding claim 8, Donatis teaches that the neck does not directly rest on the rest element in the final configuration (Fig. 2b), having moved to the left.
Regarding claim 9, Donatis teaches an upper shell (paragraph 107) which acts to close the elongated opening.
Regarding claim 17, Donatis teaches that the retaining members comprise: a support element (36, left end in Fig. 2b) arranged at a first end portion of the elongated seat; and a pushing element (20) that, when the device is in the initial configuration, is arranged at a second end portion of the elongated seat, the pushing element being movable towards the support element to transition the device from the initial configuration to the final configuration.
Regarding claim 18, Donatis teaches that the container comprises an end portion (11a) proximate to the support element; and the support element comprises an abutment surface (36a) that, when the device is in the initial configuration, is in a position distal from the end portion and that, when the device is in the final configuration, is in abutment against the end portion.
Regarding claim 19, Donatis teaches that the cartridge comprises a plunger (15) sealingly arranged inside the container; and the pushing element comprises a piston (20)configured to exert a thrust on the plunger, wherein the thrust of the piston on the plunger is configured to causes a displacement of the cartridge towards the support element (paragraph 114) before the device reaches the final configuration, and wherein the thrust of the piston on the plunger is configured to cause a sliding of the plunger inside the container and an outflow of the medicament from the container through a piercing needle (7) after the device reaches the final configuration (paragraph 127).
Regarding claim 21, Donatis teaches that the elongated opening is configured to allow insertion of the cartridge from an exterior of the device through the opening (which spans between the walls 3a) along the insertion direction. The examiner notes that the claim is silent to any other possible housing members, and as such, does not disclaim any housing member which may need to be removed to provide the claimed access.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donatis in view of US Pre-Grant Publication 2011/0166512 to Both et al. (Both).
Regarding claim 10, Donatis teaches the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above, but does not teach a transparent closing door. Both teaches another delivery device generally, and particularly teaches an inspection window (30) for inspecting the contents of the cartridge (32) of the device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide a transparent inspection window as taught by Both to the door of Donatis in order to allow for visual inspection of the fluid being delivered. Alternatively, Donatis is silent to the attachment method of the closing door. Both teaches the use of welding in the delivery device (e.g. paragraph 54) for forming permanent connections. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to use welding as taught by Both to form a permanent connection with the closing door of Donatis.
Regarding claims 12 and 20, Donatis is silent regarding ribs on the closing door. Both teaches ribs on the housing (see on 116 in Fig. 5) which correspond to and complement the shape of the elements in the interior. Those of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that such ribs provide added structural strength. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide ribs as taught by Both to the closing door of Donatis in order to provide added strength.
Regarding claim 13, as illustrated in Fig. 5, Both teaches that the ribs are spaced from, i.e. do not contact, the interior elements. Those of skill will appreciate that this spacing prevents damage to and interference with the interior elements.
Regarding claim 14, Both teaches a plurality of such ribs, which all mutually reinforce each other. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the application to provide such a plurality to increase the added strength. Thus provided, any one of the plurality would constitute a perimeter rib and the rest would constitute reinforcing ribs.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Donatis teaches that the dispensing module comprises an interface wall (sidewall above reference sign 5 in Fig. 2a) arranged on a side to the base wall opposite the cartridge. As discussed above, Both teaches that the dispensing module comprises an inspection window (30); and the cartridge is at least partially vertically interposed between the inspection window and the closing door of the elongated opening.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the portions of Donatis mapped against the elongated opening are not on an outer surface. The examiner notes that there is no inside of the housing versus outside of the housing in the claim. In other words, there is no requirement that the outer surface face away from pump structure or the like. The bare configuration of a surface for application to skin does not convey any particular structure, since the upper surface of Donatis may be applied to skin by the use of adhesive tape holding it in that position, or indirectly in a manner more analogous to applicant’s. Accordingly, the examiner does not agree that the claim as drafted patentably distinguishes over Donatis. The examiner is open to standard interview practice and would be favorably disposed to grant such an interview before applicant’s further response.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 14 September 2026