DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bocchi et al. (Dielectrophoretic trapping in microwells for manipulation of single cells and small aggregates of particles).
Regarding claim 1, Bocchi discloses a system for capturing an analyte particle from a liquid (Fig. 2), the system comprising:
i) a reservoir for holding the liquid (see: Cell dispenser); and
ii) one or more capture devices (see: Microwell array), each of the one or more capture devices comprising:
a well having a top opening up to the reservoir (see: opening in Hydrophobic coating of each microwell), a bottom (see: bottom opening or each microwell), and a depth (D) extending from the top to the bottom (see: thickness of each microwell), and
a first set of electrodes at least 50%, at least 65% or at least 75% of the well's depth (D) below the top opening, for generating an electric field (see: each microwell comprises three electrode layers dispersed in the thickness of each microwell, the middle electrode layer being located at approximately 50% of the thickness of the microwell and the bottom electrode layer being located at greater than 75% of the thickness of the microwell).
Claims 4 and 5 are directed towards materials worked upon by the instantly claimed apparatus. The Applicants are advised that a material or article worked upon does not limit apparatus claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). See: MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 6, Bocchi further discloses one or more arrays of the one or more capture devices (Fig. 2, see: Microwell array).
Regarding claim 7, Bocchi further discloses the system is a sensor probe and wherein the reservoir is defined by an impermeable barrier having a semi-permeable portion (pg. 1179/3.4. Particle delivery, see: microdispenser based on an MJ-A dispensing device which comprises a porous dispensing outlet).
Regarding claim 8, Bocchi further discloses the well is at least partially delineated by a surface comprising a dielectric material (pg. 1179/3.2. Microwell fabrication, see: polyimide dielectric substrates).
Regarding claim 9, Bocchi further discloses a surface of the well is modified so as to control an electric double layer formed thereon (pg. 1179/3.2. Microwell fabrication, see: hydrophobic layer and laminated electrode configuration which is fully capable of controlling an electric double layer created when the microwell array is in use).
Regarding claim 10, Bocchi further discloses the one or more capture devices comprises a second set of electrodes of at most 50% of the well's depth (D) below the top opening (Fig. 2, see: each microwell comprises three electrode layers dispersed in the thickness of each microwell, the top electrode layer being located at approximately less than 25% of the thickness of the microwell).
Regarding claim 11, Bocchi further discloses the capture device comprises a second set of electrodes of at most 35% of the well's depth (D) below the top opening (Fig. 2, see: each microwell comprises three electrode layers dispersed in the thickness of each microwell, the top electrode layer being located at approximately less than 25% of the thickness of the microwell).
Regarding claim 12, Bocchi further discloses the capture device comprises a second set of electrodes of at most 25% of the well's depth (D) below the top opening (Fig. 2, see: each microwell comprises three electrode layers dispersed in the thickness of each microwell, the top electrode layer being located at approximately less than 25% of the thickness of the microwell).
Regarding claim 13, Bocchi discloses a method for capturing an analyte particle from a liquid, the method comprising:
a) providing a system as defined in claim 1 with the liquid in the reservoir (see: rejection of claim 1 above); and
b) operating at least the first set of electrodes of at least one of the one or more capture devices so as to generate a non-uniform electric field such that there is an attractive dielectrophoretic force acting on the analyte particle (pg. 1181/4.1. Microwell operation, see: applying electric fields with three annular electrode to trap and levitate/maintain a cell in the microwell; Fig. 3, see: different electric fields applied for the different operational configurations).
Regarding claim 14, Bocchi further step b comprises applying to the first set of electrodes an alternating voltage, optionally combined with a direct voltage (pg. 1179/3.3. Electronics and microfluidics, see: sinusoidal signals; Fig 3., see: 180° phase-shifted signal).
Regarding claim 15, Bocchi further the well is at least partially lined with an electric double layer and wherein there is a repulsive force between the electric double layer and the analyte particle (Fig. 3, see: repulsive forces provided by the electric fields levitating the cell in the microwell).
Regarding claim 16, Bocchi further capturing the analyte particle from the liquid comprises selectively capturing the analyte particle with respect a further analyte or a contaminant (pg. 1181/4.1. Microwell operation, see: applying electric fields with three annular electrode to trap and levitate/maintain a cell in the microwell).
Regarding claim 17, Bocchi further capturing the system comprises at least two of the one or more capture devices (Fig. 2, see: Microwell array) and wherein step b comprises operating the at least first set of electrodes of the at least two capture devices so as to generate two different non-uniform electric fields for capturing two dissimilar analyte particles (pg. 1181/4.2. Experimental DEP trapping, see: trapping polystyrene beads; pg. 1183/4.4. Cell trapping, see: trapping K562 cells; see: different signal amplitude and frequency for each trapped particle).
Regarding claim 18, Bocchi further capturing step b comprises modulating the operation of the at least first set of electrodes to tune the attractive dielectrophoretic force to the analyte particle (Fig. 3, see: different electric fields applied for the different operational configurations).
Regarding claim 19, Bocchi further capturing detecting whether the analyte particle is captured by the well (Fig. 4, see: optical detection of trapped/levitated beads/K562 cells); analysing the captured analyte particle (optional limitation); and/or separating the captured analyte particle from the liquid (pg. 1181/4.2. Experimental DEP trapping, see: trapping polystyrene beads; pg. 1183/4.4. Cell trapping, see: trapping K562 cells).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bocchi et al. (Dielectrophoretic trapping in microwells for manipulation of single cells and small aggregates of particles), in view of Cordovez et al. (Trapping and storage of particles in electroactive microwells).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Bocchi does not explicitly disclose the top opening having a width (W) ranging from 100 nm to 1 µm.
Cordovez teaches that it was well known in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, that decreasing the well diameter will increase the field concentration and the trapping force in analogous electroactive microwell arrays (pg. 024102-2/col. 1/para. 2).
Therefore the electric field concentration and trapping force strength are variables that can be modified, among others, by varying the width of the top opening of the instantly claimed well. For that reason, the width of the top opening of the instantly claimed well would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. As such, without showing unexpected results, the width of the top opening of the instantly claimed well cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the width of the top opening of the instantly claimed well in the apparatus of Bocchi to obtain the desired electric field concentration and trapping force strength (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/ROBERT J EOM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797