DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20110077606 A1 (Wilcox et al.).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 4, Wilcox teaches a urine-blocking and absorbing pad (10) (Figs. 1, 2) to cover a pelvic area (as described in [0006]) of a child during a diaper-change, the urine-blocking and absorbing pad comprising:
a waterproof layer (12) to prevent urine from exiting the urine-blocking and absorbing pad ([0020] describing the layer as a moisture barrier which prevents moisture from wetting the clothes);
a fluff layer (22) to contact the pelvic area (being in contact with the genitalia [0030]) of the child (layer 22 being considered a fluff layer as defined in the Specification which states the “fluff layer may include at least one of a hydrophilic fibrous nonwoven fabric, a composite sheet composed of a hydrophobic fibrous nonwoven fabric, a breathable liquid-impervious plastic film laminated together, a water repellent finished hydrophobic fibrous nonwoven fabric, a mixture of particulate and/or fibrous superabsorbent polymers, fluff pulp fibers, a mixture of particulate and/or fibrous superabsorbent polymers, thermoplastic synthetic resin fibers, cotton, and tissue paper [0009]); and
an absorbing layer (20) disposed between the waterproof layer and the fluff layer to absorb the urine [0032];
wherein the urine-blocking and absorbing pad has an overall concave shape to conform to the pelvic area (the distance DG indicating a concave area as seen in Fig. 2 [0021]) of the child;
wherein the fluff layer comprises at least one of a hydrophilic fibrous nonwoven fabric (cotton [0030]), a composite sheet composed of a hydrophobic fibrous nonwoven fabric (polyester and nylon being hydrophobic), thermoplastic synthetic resin fibers (polyester and nylon being thermoplastic synthetic fibers), and cotton [0030].
Statements in the preamble reciting the purpose or intended use of the claimed invention which do not result in a structural difference (or, in the case of process claims, manipulative difference) between the claimed invention and the prior art do not limit the claim and do not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (or process). See, e.g., In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 938, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox in view of US 20190133838 A1 (Joshi et al.).
Regarding Claim 3, Wilcox further teaches the absorbent layer may contain super-absorbent polymers (SAP), including polyacrylate, but fails to explicitly teach the absorbing layer comprises sodium polyacrylate.
Joshi teaches an absorbent article (10) wherein the absorbing layer (24) comprises sodium polyacrylate [0066, 0028].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the SAP of Wilcox with the sodium polyacrylate SAP of Joshi as a simple substitution of one known absorbent for another with a reasonable expectation of retraining fluids MPEP 2143 I.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20060106356 A1, US 20250041133 A1, US 20140257225 A1, US 5702381 A, US 6520945 B1, US 4685914 A disclose urine collection device which posses a concave shape by default, or during use.
/HANS KALIHER/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/CATHARINE L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781