DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 12199458. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application anticipate the reference claims.
Current Application: 18545729
US Patent: 12199458
Claim 1:
A power supply circuit comprising:
a switching regulator including an output node;
a first power supply node coupled to the output node of the switching regulator;
a first charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the first power supply node and including a second terminal coupled to a second power supply node;
a first battery node for coupling to a first battery; and
a first switch including a first terminal coupled to the first power supply node and including a second terminal connected to the first battery node.
Claim 1:
A power supply circuit comprising:
a switched-mode power supply circuit having an input node and an output node;
a charge pump circuit having a first terminal and a second terminal;
a first switch coupled between the output node of the switched-mode power supply circuit and the first terminal of the charge pump circuit; and
a second switch coupled between the output node of the switched-mode power supply circuit and the second terminal of the charge pump circuit.
Claim 1:
A power supply circuit comprising:
a switching regulator including an output node;
a first power supply node coupled to the output node of the switching regulator;
a first charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the first power supply node and including a second terminal coupled to a second power supply node;
a first battery node for coupling to a first battery; and
a first switch including a first terminal coupled to the first power supply node and including a second terminal connected to the first battery node.
Claim 2:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, further comprising a battery comprising multiple cells connected in series, wherein the second terminal of the charge pump circuit is coupled to the battery.
Claim 2:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, wherein the first charge pump comprises a multiply-by-two (X2) charge pump.
Claim 3:
The power supply circuit of claim 3, wherein the charge pump circuit is configured as a multiply-by-two charge pump from the first terminal to the second terminal of the charge pump circuit when the input voltage at the input node is less than the battery voltage of the battery.
Claim 3:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, wherein the second power supply node is configured to have a higher voltage than the first power supply node.
Claim 5:
The power supply circuit of claim 2, wherein the first switch is configured to be open and the second switch is configured to be closed when an input voltage at the input node is more than a battery voltage of the battery.
2. Claims 11, 14-39 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim a 1 - 34 of copending Application No. 18/173,518 (US 20240291284 ) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the instant application anticipate the reference claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Current Application: 18545729
Copending Application: 18/173,518
USPGPUB: 20240291284
Claim 11:
A power supply circuit comprising:
a switching regulator including an output node;
a first battery node for coupling to a first battery;
a second battery node for coupling to a second battery;
a first switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the first battery node;
a second switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the second battery node; and
a first charge pump including an input coupled to the output node of the switching regulator and including an output coupled to a power supply node.
Claim 1:
A power supply circuit comprising:
a switching regulator including an output node;
a first battery node for coupling to a first battery;
a second battery node for coupling to a second battery;
a first switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the first battery node; and
a second switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the second battery node.
Claim 14:
The power supply circuit of claim 11,
wherein the first switch and the second switch are bidirectional switches implemented with transistors.
Claim 2:
The power supply circuit of claim 1,
wherein the first switch and the second switch are bidirectional switches implemented with transistors
Claim 15:
The power supply circuit of claim 11, wherein at least one of the first switch or the second switch comprises back-to-back transistors.
Claim 3:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first switch or the second switch comprises back-to-back transistors.
Claim 16:
The power supply circuit of claim 11, wherein at least one of the first switch or the second switch comprises a body-switchable transistor.
Claim 4:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first switch or the second switch comprises a body-switchable transistor.
Claim 17:
The power supply circuit of claim 11, further comprising a first sense resistive element for coupling to the first battery.
Claim 5:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, further comprising a first sense resistive element for coupling to the first battery.
Claim 18:
The power supply circuit of claim 17, further comprising: a reference potential node for the power supply circuit; and a third battery node, wherein the first battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the first battery, wherein the third battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the first battery, and wherein the first sense resistive element is coupled between the third battery node and the reference potential node.
Claim 6:
The power supply circuit of claim 5, further comprising: a reference potential node for the power supply circuit; and a third battery node, wherein the first battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the first battery, wherein the third battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the first battery, and wherein the first sense resistive element is coupled between the third battery node and the reference potential node.
Claim 19:
The power supply circuit of claim 17, further comprising a second sense resistive element for coupling to the second battery.
Claim 7:
The power supply circuit of claim 5, further comprising a second sense resistive element for coupling to the second battery.
Claim 20:
The power supply circuit of claim 19, further comprising:
a reference potential node for the power supply circuit;
a third battery node, wherein the first battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the first battery, wherein the third battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the first battery, and wherein the first sense resistive element is coupled between the third battery node and the reference potential node; and
a fourth battery node, wherein the second battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the second battery, wherein the fourth battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the second battery, and wherein the second sense resistive element is coupled between the fourth battery node and the reference potential node.
Claim 8:
The power supply circuit of claim 7, further comprising:
a reference potential node for the power supply circuit;
a third battery node, wherein the first battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the first battery, wherein the third battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the first battery, and wherein the first sense resistive element is coupled between the third battery node and the reference potential node; and
a fourth battery node, wherein the second battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the second battery, wherein the fourth battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the second battery, and wherein the second sense resistive element is coupled between the fourth battery node and the reference potential node.
Claim 21:
The power supply circuit of claim 11, further comprising a resistive element coupled between the first battery node and the second battery node
Claim 9:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, further comprising a resistive element coupled between the first battery node and the second battery node
Claim 22:
The power supply circuit of claim 11, wherein the power supply circuit lacks a current limit switch coupled between the first battery node and the second battery node.
Claim 10:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, wherein the power supply circuit lacks a current limit switch coupled between the first battery node and the second battery node.
Claim 11:
A power supply circuit comprising: a switching regulator including an output node; a first battery node for coupling to a first battery; a second battery node for coupling to a second battery; a first switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the first battery node; a second switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the second battery node; and a first charge pump including an input coupled to the output node of the switching regulator and including an output coupled to a power supply node.
Claim 11:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, further comprising a first charge pump including a first terminal coupled to an input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the output node of the switching regulator.
Claim 23:
The power supply circuit of claim 11, further comprising a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to an input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the output node of the switching regulator.
Claim 12:
The power supply circuit of claim 11, further comprising a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the first battery node.
Claim 26:
The power supply circuit of claim 11, further comprising a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to an input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the first battery node
Claim 13:
The power supply circuit of claim 11, further comprising a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the second battery node.
Claim 11:
A power supply circuit comprising: a switching regulator including an output node; a first battery node for coupling to a first battery; a second battery node for coupling to a second battery; a first switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the first battery node; a second switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the second battery node; and a first charge pump including an input coupled to the output node of the switching regulator and including an output coupled to a power supply node.
Claim 14:
The power supply circuit of claim 1, further comprising a first charge pump including a first terminal coupled to an input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the first battery node.
Claim 28:
An integrated circuit (IC) for power management, the IC comprising the power supply circuit of claim 11 and further comprising:
a first port coupled to the first battery node, the first port being configured for coupling to the first battery; and
a second port coupled to the second battery node, the second port being configured for coupling to the second battery.
Claim 20:
The IC of claim 19, further comprising:
a first port coupled to the first battery node, the first port configured for coupling to the first battery; and
a second port coupled to the second battery node, the second port configured for coupling to the second battery.
Claim 29:
The IC of claim 28, wherein the first switch and the second switch are internal to the IC and wherein the power supply node is configured to have a higher voltage than the output node of the switching regulator.
Claim 21:
The IC of claim 19, wherein the first switch and the second switch are internal to the IC.
Claim 30:
A device comprising:
a switching regulator including an output node;
a first battery;
a second battery;
a first switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the first battery;
a second switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the second battery; and a charge pump including an input coupled to the output node of the switching regulator and including an output coupled to a power supply node.
Claim 22:
A device comprising:
a switching regulator including an output node;
a first battery;
a second battery;
a first switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the first battery;
a second switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the second battery.
Claim 31:
A method of supplying power, comprising: converting a first voltage to a second voltage via a first switching regulator;
charging a first battery from an output of the first switching regulator via a first switch; charging a second battery from the output of the first switching regulator via a second switch, the second switch being different from the first switch; and converting the second voltage to a third voltage via a second switching regulator, the second switching regulator comprising a charge pump and the third voltage being different from the second voltage.
Claim 28:
A method of supplying power, comprising: converting a first voltage to a second voltage via a first switching regulator;
charging a first battery from an output of the first switching regulator via a first switch; and charging a second battery from the output of the first switching regulator via a second switch, the second switch being different from the first switch.
Claim 32:
The method of claim 31, further comprising charging a third battery from the output of the first switching regulator via a third switch, the third switch being different from the second switch and the first switch
Claim 29:
The method of claim 28, further comprising charging a third battery from the output of the first switching regulator via a third switch, the third switch being different from the second switch and the first switch.
Claim 33:
The method of claim 31, further comprising converting the first voltage to the second voltage via a third switching regulator, wherein the output of the first switching regulator is coupled to an output of the third switching regulator.
Claim 30:
The method of claim 28, further comprising converting the first voltage to the second voltage via a second switching regulator, wherein the output of the first switching regulator is coupled to an output of the second switching regulator.
Claim 34:
The method of claim 33, further comprising: converting the first voltage to a fourth voltage via a fourth switching regulator; and charging the first battery from an output of the fourth switching regulator, while charging the first battery from the output of the first switching regulator via the first switch.
Claim 31:
The method of claim 30, further comprising: converting the first voltage to a third voltage via a third switching regulator; and charging the first battery from an output of the third switching regulator, while charging the first battery from the output of the first switching regulator via the first switch.
Claim 30:
A method of supplying power, comprising: converting a first voltage to a second voltage via a first switching regulator; charging a first battery from an output of the first switching regulator via a first switch; charging a second battery from the output of the first switching regulator via a second switch, the second switch being different from the first switch; and converting the second voltage to a third voltage via a second switching regulator, the second switching regulator comprising a charge pump and the third voltage being different from the second voltage.
Claim 32:
The method of claim 30, further comprising: converting the first voltage to a third voltage via a third switching regulator; and
charging the second battery from an output of the third switching regulator, while charging the second battery from the output of the first switching regulator via the second switch.
Claim 36:
The method of claim 31, further comprising: converting the first voltage to a fourth voltage via a third switching regulator; and charging the first battery from an output of the third switching regulator, while charging the first battery from the output of the first switching regulator via the first switch.
Claim 34:
The method of claim 33, further comprising: converting the first voltage to a fourth voltage via a third switching regulator; and charging the second battery from an output of the third switching regulator, while charging the second battery from the output of the first switching regulator via the second switch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16, 22-27, and 30-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by anticipated Zhang (US 11509146).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a power supply circuit (shown in figure 2)
comprising: a switching regulator including an output node (Figure 1 shows a switching regulator within charging circuits 102 104 with three outputs VSYS, outputs to Battery and Battery 2. Figure 2 shows a switching regulator as circuitry 104 switched mode power supply, interpreted as 103 with output nodes Vo to BAT1 and BATII. Figure 2 show switching regulator circuitry including 102 with output nodes VSYS and Vo to BAT1 and BATII. Column 4 lines 12 – 17 discloses the first charging unit 102 comprises a charge pump, a dual-phase switched capacitor converter configured to provide power to charge the first battery and the second battery in some charging states (e.g., a constant current char) thus a switch regulator including an output is taught);
a first power supply node coupled to the output node of the switching regulator (Figure 2 shows a first power supply node, a node coupled to BAT1, coupled to the output Vo of switching regulator, item 103. Shown in figures 1 and 2 wherein a first power supply node VIN is coupled to the switching regulator and indirectly via circuit 105 output node VSYS);
a first charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the first power supply node and including a second terminal coupled to a second power supply node (shown in figure 1 item 102 column 4 lines 11 – 21 defined wherein the first charging circuit 102 comprises as a charge pump. Figure 2 shows charge pump 103 connected to first power supply node VIN and a second power supply node BAT 1 );
a first battery node for coupling to a first battery (figure 1 shows a first battery node connected to a first battery I); and
a first switch including a first terminal coupled to the first power supply node and including a second terminal connected to the first battery node (figure 2 shows a first switch, Q1 coupled between the output node of the VIN and first battery node. Switch item BATFET1 is coupled between the output of VSYS and the first battery node ).
Zhang figure 2 shows a power supply circuit with switching regulators
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 1, wherein the first charge pump comprises a multiply-by-two (X2) charge pump (column 4 lines 11-22 defined as a dual phase charge pump).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 1, wherein the second power supply node is configured to have a higher voltage than the first power supply node (column 2 lines 14 – 22 defined as A voltage of one battery may be higher than that of the other battery).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 1, further comprising: a second battery node for coupling to a second battery (figure 1 shows a second battery node connected to a second battery II); and a second switch coupled between the second power supply node and the second battery node (figure 2 shows a second switch, QB1 coupled between the output node of the VIN and a second battery node. Switch item BATFET2 is coupled between the output of VSYS and the second battery node).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 4, wherein the first battery is a multi-cell-in-series battery and wherein the second battery node is for coupling to a tap of the multi-cell-in-series battery (Column 5 lines 55-62 wherein the battery is a multicell battery).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 4, further comprising: a third switch coupled between the second power supply node and the output node of the switching regulator; and a fourth switch coupled between the first power supply node and the output node of the switching regulator (shown in figure 2 wherein multiple switches are used within the system to couple to a first power supply node and an output node).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 1, further comprising a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the second power supply node and including a second terminal coupled to a third power supply node, the third power supply node being different from the first power supply node and the second power supply node (figure 2 item 102 column 4 lines 11 – 23 teaches second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the first battery node).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 1, further comprising a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the first power supply node and including a second terminal coupled to a third power supply node, the third power supply node being different from the first power supply node and the second power supply node (figure 2 item 102 column 4 lines 11 – 23 teaches a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the second battery node).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 1, further comprising a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to an input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the first battery node (figure 2 item 102 column 4 lines 11 – 23 teaches second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the first battery node).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the integrated circuit (IC) for power management, the IC comprising the power supply circuit of claim 1 (shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit (shown in figure 2)
comprising: a switching regulator including an output node (Figure 1 shows a switching regulator within charging circuits 102 104 with three outputs VSYS, outputs to Battery and Battery 2. Figure 2 shows a switching regulator as circuitry 104 switched mode power supply, interpreted as 103 with output nodes Vo to BAT1 and BATII. Figure 2 show switching regulator circuitry including 102 with output nodes VSYS and Vo to BAT1 and BATII. Column 4 lines 12 – 17 discloses the first charging unit 102 comprises a charge pump, a dual-phase switched capacitor converter configured to provide power to charge the first battery and the second battery in some charging states (e.g., a constant current char) thus a switch regulator including an output is taught);
a first battery node for coupling to a first battery (figure 1 shows a first battery node connected to a first battery I);
a second battery node for coupling to a second battery (figure 1 shows a second battery node connected to a second battery II);
a first switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the first battery node (Figure 2 shows a first power supply node, a node coupled to BAT1, coupled to the output of switching regulator, item 103. Figure 2 shows a first switch, Q1 coupled between the output node of the VIN and first battery node. Switch item BATFET1 is coupled between the output of VSYS and the first battery node );
a second switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the second battery node (figure 2 shows a second switch, QB1 coupled between the output node of the VIN and a second battery node. Switch item BATFET2 is coupled between the output of VSYS and the second battery node); and
a first charge pump including an input coupled to the output node of the switching regulator and including an output coupled to a power supply node (figure 2 item 102 column 4 lines 11 – 23 teaches a first charge pump including a first terminal coupled to an input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the output node of the switching regulator).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 11, wherein the first charge pump comprises a multiply-by-two (X2) charge pump(column 4 lines 11-22 defined as a dual phase charge pump).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 11, wherein the power supply node is configured to have a higher voltage than the output node of the switching regulator (column 2 lines 14 – 22 defined as A voltage of one battery may be higher than that of the other battery).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 11, wherein the first switch and the second switch are bidirectional switches implemented with transistors (column 4 lines 47- 49 and 58-61 discloses wherein the first and second switches are bidirectional switches).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 11, wherein at least one of the first switch or the second switch comprises back-to-back transistors (figure 2 shows wherein switches BATFET1 and BATFET2 are back-to-back transistors).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 11, wherein at least one of the first switch or the second switch comprises a body-switchable transistor (figure 2 and column 7 lines 4 – 10 discloses wherein the switches may be body-switchable transistors such as MOSFETs, BJT, etc).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 11, wherein the power supply circuit lacks a current limit switch coupled between the first battery node and the second battery node (figure 2 shows a lack of a current limit switch).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 11, further comprising a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to an input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the output node of the switching regulator (figure 2 item 102 column 4 lines 11 – 23 teaches a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the second battery node).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 23, further comprising a third charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the first battery node (figure 2 shows a plurality of charge pumps including a third charge pumps. Column 6 lines 10 – 31 teaches wherein different configurations with a different types charge pumps may be included in the system including a third charge pump).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 23, further comprising a third charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the second battery node, wherein the second battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the second battery and wherein the first battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the second battery and to a first terminal of the first battery (figure 2 shows a plurality of charge pumps including a third charge pumps. Column 6 lines 10 – 31 teaches wherein different configurations with a different types charge pumps may be included in the system, including a third charge pump).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 11, further comprising a second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to an input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the first battery node (figure 2 item 102 column 4 lines 11 – 23 teaches second charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the first battery node).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 26, further comprising a third charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the second battery node (figure 2 shows a plurality of charge pumps including a third charge pumps. Column 6 lines 10 – 31 teaches wherein different configurations with a different types charge pumps may be included in the system, including a third charge pump).
Regarding claim 30, Zhang teaches a device (shown in figure 2)
comprising: a switching regulator including an output node (Figure 1 shows a switching regulator within charging circuits 102 104 with three outputs VSYS, outputs to Battery and Battery 2. Figure 2 shows a switching regulator as circuitry 104 switched mode power supply, interpreted as 103 with output nodes Vo to BAT1 and BATII. Figure 2 show switching regulator circuitry including 102 with output nodes VSYS and Vo to BAT1 and BATII. Column 4 lines 12 – 17 discloses the first charging unit 102 comprises a charge pump, a dual-phase switched capacitor converter configured to provide power to charge the first battery and the second battery in some charging states (e.g., a constant current char) thus a switch regulator including an output is taught);
a first battery (figure 1 shows a first battery I);
a second battery (figure 1 shows a second battery II );
a first switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the first battery (figure 2 shows a first switch, Q1 coupled between the output node of the VIN and first battery node. Switch item BATFET1 is coupled between the output of VSYS and the first battery node );
a second switch coupled between the output node of the switching regulator and the second battery (figure 2 shows a second switch, QB1 coupled between the output node of the VIN and a second battery node. Switch item BATFET2 is coupled between the output of VSYS and the second battery node); and
a charge pump including an input coupled to the output node of the switching regulator and including an output coupled to a power supply node regulator (figure 2 item 102 column 4 lines 11 – 23 teaches a charge pump including a terminal coupled to an input node of the switching regulator and a second terminal coupled to the output node of the switching regulator).
Regarding claim 31, Zhang teaches a method of supplying power (shown in figures 1 and 2),
comprising: converting a first voltage to a second voltage via a first switching regulator (Shown in figure 2, column 4 lines 12 - 17 wherein the first charging 102 includes a switching regulator, or switching converter switching a first voltage to a second voltage. Column 4 lines 12 – 17 discloses the first charging unit 102 comprises a charge pump, a dual-phase switched capacitor converter configured to provide power to charge the first battery and the second battery in some charging states (e.g., a constant current char) thus a switch regulator including an output is taught);
charging a first battery from an output of the first switching regulator via a first switch (Column 4 lines 12 – 17 discloses the first charging unit 102 comprises a charge pump, a dual-phase switched capacitor converter configured to provide power to charge the first battery);
charging a second battery from the output of the first switching regulator via a second switch, the second switch being different from the first switch (Column 4 lines 12 – 17 discloses the first charging unit 102 comprises a charge pump, a dual-phase switched capacitor converter configured to provide power to charge the second battery); and
converting the second voltage to a third voltage via a second switching regulator, the second switching regulator comprising a charge pump and the third voltage being different from the second voltage (Column 4 lines 12 – 17 discloses the first charging unit 102 comprises a charge pump, a dual-phase switched capacitor converter configured to provide power to charge the second battery).
Regarding claim 32, Zhang teaches the method of claim 31, further comprising charging a third battery from the output of the first switching regulator via a third switch, the third switch being different from the second switch and the first switch (column 1 lines 34 – 44 wherein a switching regulator may be used within the system. Shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 33, Zhang teaches the method of claim 31, further comprising converting the first voltage to the second voltage via a third switching regulator, wherein the output of the first switching regulator is coupled to an output of the third switching regulator (column 1 lines 34 – 44 wherein a switching regulator may be used within the system. Shown in figure 2 wherein the switching regulators convert a first voltage to a second voltage).
Regarding claim 34, Zhang teaches the method of claim 33, further comprising: converting the first voltage to a fourth voltage via a fourth switching regulator; and charging the first battery from an output of the fourth switching regulator, while charging the first battery from the output of the first switching regulator via the first switch (column 1 lines 34 – 44 wherein a switching regulator may be used within the system. Shown in figure 2 wherein multiple switching regulators include converting a first voltage to a fourth voltage).
Regarding claim 35, Zhang teaches the method of claim 33, further comprising: converting the first voltage to a fourth voltage via a fourth switching regulator; and charging the second battery from an output of the fourth switching regulator, while charging the second battery from the output of the first switching regulator via the second switch, wherein the first battery is coupled in series with the second battery to compose a multi-cell-in-series battery (figure 2 shows multiple switches included in switching regulators to convert multiple voltage. Column 5 lines 55-62 wherein the battery is a multicell battery).
Regarding claim 36, Zhang teaches the method of claim 31, further comprising: converting the first voltage to a fourth voltage via a third switching regulator; and charging the first battery from an output of the third switching regulator, while charging the first battery from the output of the first switching regulator via the first switch (shown in figure 2 wherein multiple voltages are converted by multiple switching regulators and charging a battery).
Regarding claim 37, Zhang teaches the method of claim 36, further comprising: converting the first voltage to a fifth voltage via a fourth switching regulator; and charging the second battery from an output of the fourth switching regulator, while charging the second battery from the output of the first switching regulator via the second switch (shown in figure 2 wherein multiple voltages are converted by multiple switching regulators and charging a battery).
Regarding claim 38, Zhang teaches a method of supplying power (shown in figures 1 and 2),
comprising: converting a first voltage to a second voltage via a first switching regulator (shown in figure 2, column 4 lines 12 - 17 wherein the first charging 102 includes a switching regulator, or switching converter switching a first voltage to a second voltage. Column 4 lines 12 – 17 discloses the first charging unit 102 comprises a charge pump, a dual-phase switched capacitor converter configured to provide power to charge the first battery and the second battery in some charging states (e.g., a constant current char) thus a switch regulator including an output is taught);
charging a battery from an output of the first switching regulator via a first switch Column 4 lines 12 – 17 discloses the first charging unit 102 comprises a charge pump, a dual-phase switched capacitor converter configured to provide power to charge the first battery); and
converting the second voltage to a third voltage via a second switching regulator, the second switching regulator comprising a charge pump and the third voltage being different from the second voltage column 1 lines 34 – 44 wherein a switching regulator may be used within the system. A second voltage is converted to a third voltage via a second switching regulator comprising a charge pump. Shown in figure 2).
Regarding claim 39, Zhang teaches the method of claim 38, wherein the first switch has a terminal connected to the battery (shown in figure 2 wherein a first switch BATFET1 is connected to the battery).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 17 – 21, 28, 29, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 11509146) in view of Baby (US 11495978).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a first sense resistive element for coupling to the first battery.
Baby teaches Baby teaches comprising a first sense resistive element for coupling to the first battery (figure 3 disclosed in column 6 lines 23 – 30 shows first sense resistive RS1 element item 374 coupled to the first battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhang reference with the charging system of the Baby reference so that charge current distributed evenly within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Baby reference in column 6 lines 23- 30 wherein charge current is distributed evenly.
Regarding claim 18, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 5, further comprising:
a reference potential node for the power supply circuit (shown in figure 2 wherein a reference potential node is interpreted as a ground node); and
a third battery node, wherein the first battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the first battery, wherein the third battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the first battery (shown in figure 2 a third battery node).
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the first sense resistive element is coupled between the third battery node and the reference potential node.
Baby teaches wherein the first sense resistive element is coupled between the third battery node and the reference potential node (shown in figure 3 disclosed in column 6 lines 23 – 30 shows first sense resistive element RS1 item 374 couples to a battery node a reference potential node or a ground node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhang reference with the charging system of the Baby reference so that charge current distributed evenly within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Baby reference in column 6 lines 23- 30 wherein charge current is distributed evenly.
Regarding claim 19, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 5, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a second sense resistive element for coupling to the second battery.
Baby teaches further comprising a second sense resistive element for coupling to the second battery (shown in figure 3 disclosed in column 6 lines 23 – 30 shows second sense resistive element RS2 item 376).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhang reference with the charging system of the Baby reference so that charge current distributed evenly within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Baby reference in column 6 lines 23- 30 wherein charge current is distributed evenly.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 7, further comprising:
a reference potential node for the power supply circuit (shown in figure 2 wherein a reference potential node is interpreted as a ground node);
a third battery node, wherein the first battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the first battery, wherein the third battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the first battery, and wherein the first sense resistive element is coupled between the third battery node and the reference potential node (shown in figure 2 a third battery node); and
a fourth battery node, wherein the second battery node is for coupling to a first terminal of the second battery, wherein the fourth battery node is for coupling to a second terminal of the second battery (shown in figure 2 a fourth battery node).
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the second sense resistive element is coupled between the fourth battery node and the reference potential node.
Baby teaches wherein the second sense resistive element is coupled between the fourth battery node and the reference potential node (shown in figure 3 disclosed in column 6 lines 23 – 30 shows second sense resistive element RS2 item 374 coupled to a battery node and the reference potential node or ground node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhang reference with the charging system of the Baby reference so that charge current distributed evenly within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Baby reference in column 6 lines 23- 30 wherein charge current is distributed evenly.
Regarding claim 21, Zhang teaches the power supply circuit of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising a resistive element coupled between the first battery node and the second battery node.
Baby teaches comprising a resistive element coupled between the first battery node and the second battery node (shown in figure 2 item 262 a resistor coupled between the first and second battery nodes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhang reference with the charging system of the Baby reference so that charge current distributed evenly within the system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Baby reference in column 6 lines 23- 30 wherein charge current is distributed evenly.
Regarding claim 28, Zhang teaches the IC of claim 19, but does not explicitly teach further comprising: a first port coupled to the first battery node, the first port configured for coupling to the first battery ; and a second port coupled to the second battery node, the second port configured for coupling to the second battery.
Baby teaches comprising: a first port coupled to the first battery node, the first port configured for coupling to the first battery ; and a second port coupled to the second battery node, the second port configured for coupling to the second battery (columns2 lines 12 – 16 wherein a first port, interpreted as a USB port may be coupled to the first battery and a second port, interpreted as USB-C port may be coupled to the second battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Zhang reference with the charging system of the Baby reference so that the design of the device may be more compact and save space.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Baby reference in column 1 lines 65- 67 wherein compact devices are taught.
Regarding claim 29, Zhang teaches the IC of claim 28, wherein the first switch and the second switch are internal to the IC and wherein the power supply node is configured to have a higher voltage than the output node of the switching regulator (column 2 lines 14 – 22 defined as A voltage of one battery may be higher than that of the other battery).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 40 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach or suggest in combination of a power supply system with the first power supply node comprises a first power supply rail for a first circuit load, and wherein the second power supply node comprises a second power supply rail for a second circuit load different from the first circuit load.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
The examiner acknowledges the applicant’s request to defer consideration of the non
statutory Double Patenting Rejection.
As disclosed above, a timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102
The applicant argues that the Zhang reference fails to teach or suggest, "a switching regulator including an output node; a first power supply node coupled to the output node of the switching regulator; a first charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the first power supply node and including a second terminal coupled to a second power supply node" as recited in claim 1. The Applicant argues that the “Examiner also seems to consider the charge pump in charging unit 102 as corresponding to the claimed switching regulator. Applicant respectfully submits that the Examiner cannot consider the charge pump of charging unit 102 as a switching regulator. A person of ordinary skill would not consider a charge pump as a switching regulator. Rather, a charge pump is a voltage converter.” This argument is not persuasive.
A charge pump is known in the art as a type of switching regulator. The applicant’s specification discloses in [0057] wherein a switching regulator is shown in figure 2 item 214 a switched-mode power supply circuit (SMPS) circuit. Paragraph [0043] discloses wherein the SMPS circuit may be implemented by any of various suitable switched-mode power supply circuit topologies, such as a two-level buck converter, a three-level buck converter, a charge pump, or an adaptive combination power supply circuit (e.g., the SMPS circuit 214 of FIG. 2), which can switch between operating in a buck converter mode and a charge pump mode. Thus, the Zhang reference discloses a switching regulator with an output circuit as shown in figure 2. The claims only require the architecture of a switching regulator including an output node, there is no function requirement or suggestion in the claims as to “performing any sort of regulation (eg providing feedback).”
The applicant argues that the Zhang reference teaches a charging unit that includes a buck converter however, the charge pump of charging unit 102 does not include a first terminal coupled to a first power supply node where the first power supply node is coupled to an output node of a switching regulator. This argument is not persuasive. As disclosed above, the applicant’s specification supports a buck converter as a suitable switched mode power supply. Zhang shows in figure 2 a switched mode power supply, interpreted as 103 with output Vo. Zhang shows a first power supply node coupled to the output node of the switching regulator (Figure 2 shows a first power supply node, a node coupled to BAT1, coupled to the output Vo of switching regulator, item 103. Shown in figures 1 and 2 wherein a first power supply node VIN is coupled to the switching regulator and indirectly via circuit 105 output node VSYS). Zhang shows a first charge pump including a first terminal coupled to the first power supply node and including a second terminal coupled to a second power supply node (shown in figure 1 item 102 column 4 lines 11 – 21 defined wherein the first charging circuit 102 comprises as a charge pump. Figure 2 shows charge pump 103 connected to first power supply node BAT 1 and second power supply node BAT2 ). The claims do no require the charge pump to be a separate entity from the switching regulator. The claims broadly require a “switching regulator including an output node.” The Zhang reference shows a switching regulator circuit which includes a controller, capacitors and a charge pump with an output node. The claimed broadly requires charge pump includes a first terminal connected to a first power supply node and a second terminal coupled to a second power supply node. The Zhang reference reads on this limitation in figure 2 wherein the charge pump 103, is coupled to the first power supply BAT 1 and second power supply node BAT2.
Regarding independent claims 11, 30 and 31, the claims recite similar features of claim 1 and the arguments are addressed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20230268763 A1 Managing Power Multiple Batteries Li; Guoxing
Us 10553915 B1 Charging A Battery Pack Li; Guoxing
Us 11677260 B2 Managing Power Multiple Batteries Li; Guoxing
Us 20160036251 A1 Quick Low-Voltage Rechargeable Battery Ma; Mou-Ming
Us 10003261 B2 High Efficiency Switching Petersen; Holger Et Al.
Us 6850039 B2 Battery Pack Popescu; Serban-Mihai
Us 20040113585 A1 Charging Circuit Stanesti, Vlad Popescu Et Al.
Us 20110095729 A1 Charging Circuit And Charging Method Tsuji; Takahiro Et Al.
Us 20110001456 A1 Managing A Plurality Of Secondary Batteries Wang; Shun-Hsing
Us 20220311339 A1 Current-Based Transitions Yen; Ta-Tung Et Al.
Us 20180170205 A1 Battery System Yoon; Jong Seo
Us 20080106234 A1 Hybrid Battery Yun; Changyong
Us 20160126766 A1 String Current Limited Battery Charging Control Zhang; Jiucai Et Al.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859