DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 19 December 2023.
Claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIN et al. US 2022/0369246 A1.
As to claim 1, LIN discloses substantially the invention as claimed, including a method of wireless communication by a wireless device (Figure 1, A User Equipment 100), comprising:
determining a first exposure associated with a first radio for a first transmission in a first time interval (the time T1[i] may be coincident with the time T2[j]) (Figures 1, 4, [89] Step 4151 may comprise: calculating the first-radio power margin Pmrgn1 according to power transmitted using the first radio technology during the period T1[i]. In an embodiment, calculation of step 4151 may cause the first-radio power margin Pmrgn1 to be negatively correlated to the power transmitted using the first radio technology during the period T1[i]. For example, as the power transmitted using the first radio technology during the period T1[i] is larger, the first-radio power margin Pmrgn1 may be smaller. In an embodiment, the first-radio power margin Pmrgn1 may relate to a difference between the first-radio power limit Plimit1 and the power transmitted using the first radio technology during the period T1[i]; .Figures 3A, 3B, [55] Duration of the windows w1[i] and w2[j] may be in a scale of second or minute, e.g., be in a range from one to hundreds of seconds. Duration of the periods T1[i] and T2[j] may be in a scale of millisecond or microsecond, e.g., be in a range from one to millions of microseconds. Duration of the periods T1[i] and T2[j] may be substantially the same or different. Duration of the windows w1[i] and w2[j] may be the same or different. The numbers K1 and K2 may be the same or different. The time t1[i] may be earlier or later than the time t2[j], or be coincident with the time t2[j]);
determining a first allowable transmit power (Pcap2) associated with a second radio for a second time interval (the time T1[i+1] may be coincident with the time T2[j+1]) based at least in part on the first exposure associated with the first radio (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, it depends on the power transmitted using the first radio technology during the period T1[i] in view of steps 4151, 4032, 4052, 4072, 4092, 4112, [89], [101], [101], [108]-[110], [116]]-[117]); and
transmitting a first signal at a first transmit power in the second time interval using the second radio based on the first allowable transmit power (Pcap2) (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, [117]).
As to claim 2, LIN discloses, wherein: determining the first exposure comprises determining the first exposure based at least in part on a first maximum time-averaged transmit power level associated with the first radio; and determining the first allowable transmit power comprises determining the first allowable transmit power further based on a second maximum time-averaged transmit power level associated with the second radio (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, note dependency of the power of the first radio on Plimit1 in view of steps 4031, 4051, 4071, 4091, 4111, 4131 see[58],, [65]-[67], [77]; note dependency of the allowable power (Pcap2) on Plimit2 in view of steps 4052, 4072, 4092, 4112, see [100]-[101], [108]-[110], [116]).
As to claim 3, LIN discloses, further comprising transmitting a second signal at a second transmit power in the second time interval using the first radio, wherein the first radio has a higher transmission priority than the second radio, and the second time interval is next to the first time interval in time (Figure 3). (The feature underlined above is considered not inventive because the use of priorities between transmissions is part of the common general knowledge in telecommunication and because the feature has no synergic effects with the other features of the claims (see Figure 5, and [92] in LIU et al US 2023/0156625 A1)).
As to claim 4, LIN discloses, wherein: the second transmit power is less than or equal to a second allowable transmit power; and the second allowable transmit power is based at least in part on an exposure margin allocated to the first radio and a first maximum time-averaged transmit power level associated with the first radio (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, steps 4132, 4151, where Pmrgn1 and Plimt1 correspond to the exposure margin and to the first maximum time-averaged transmit power, see [89], [117]) .
As to claim 5, LIN discloses, further comprising determining the second 0allowable transmit power based on a duty cycle associated with the first radio (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, note dependency on duty cycle, see [91]).
As to claim 6, LIN discloses, wherein the exposure margin allocated to the first radio is less than or equal to one (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, step 4151, express Pmrgn in normal units so that it is always less or equal to 1 is a trivial design option with no noticeable technical effect. Thus, claim 6 is not inventive).
As to claim 7, LIN discloses, wherein determining the first allowable transmit power is further based on a duty cycle associated with the second radio (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, [120]).
As to claim 19, LIN discloses, wherein determining the first allowable transmit power comprises determining the first allowable transmit power further based on a first power limit applied to the first radio (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs; note that the Pcap2 also indirectly depends on Plimit1 in view of steps 4031, 4051, 4071, 4091, 4111, 4131, 4151, see [58], [65]-[67], [77], [88]).
As to claim 20, LIN discloses, further comprising determining a second allowable transmit power associated with a third radio associated with a first antenna group, wherein the first radio and the second radio are associated with a second antenna group (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, it appears repeating the same method of claim 1 disclosed by LIN for multiple radios in different antenna groups, which seems to be trivial extension of the method of LIN especially because claim 20, the operations for the second and third radios are independent from each other and because devices with multiple antenna groups are commonly used and are therefore part of the common general knowledge in the field).
As to claim 21, LIN discloses, wherein the second allowable transmit power is determined independent of transmissions associated with the second antenna group (Figure 4 and associated paragraphs, it appears repeating the same method of claim 1 disclosed by LIN for multiple radios in different antenna groups, which seems to be trivial extension of the method of LIN especially because claim 21, the operations for the second and third radios are independent from each other and because devices with multiple antenna groups are commonly used and are therefore part of the common general knowledge in the field).
As to claim 22, LIN discloses, further comprising transmitting a second signal using the first radio in a sub-6 GHz frequency band, wherein transmitting the first signal comprises transmitting the first signal using the second radio in a mmWave frequency band (Figure 1 and associated paragraphs, [4], [47]) (the feature of selecting of frequencies is merely one of several straightforward possibilities from which the skill person would select, in accordance with circumstances, without the exercise of invention skill, in order to define the frequencies of the two radios of LIN, [47], [4]), (also see [165]-[166] in NADAKUDUTI et al. US 2020/0015171 A1)).
As to claim 23, LIN discloses, further comprising selecting the first radio among a plurality of radios based on one or more priorities associated with the radios (The feature underlined above is considered not inventive because the use of priorities between transmissions is part of the common general knowledge in telecommunication and because the feature has no synergic effects with the other features of the claims (see Figure 5, and [92] in LIU et al US 2023/0156625 A1)).
Claims 24-28 correspond to the apparatus claims of the method claims 1-5; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale as in method claims 1-5 shown above.
Claim 29 corresponds to the apparatus in means plus functions claim of the method claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as in method claim 1 shown above.
Claim 30 corresponds to the non-transitory computer-readable medium claim of the method claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as in method claim 1 shown above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-18 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims 1, 24, 29, 30, but would be allowable if incorporated claimed elements in claims 8-18 into said base claims.
The prior art cited in this Office action are: LIN et al. US 2022/0369246 A1; LIU et al. US 2023/0156625 A1; NADAKUDUTI et al. US 2020/0015171 A1.
Conclusion
/HAI V NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649