DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on March 26, 2025 have/has been acknowledged and considered by the examiner. Initialed copies of supplied IDS(s) forms are included in this correspondence.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 8A showing angle (826) appears to be incomplete. As per the specification, the angle (826) is between (830) and (828).
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because too many words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) alignment feature configured to engage (synonymous with means for aligning and engaging)…in claim 12
b) impact absorbing materials (means for impact absorption)…in claim 13, 14
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 9, the claim recites “the variable latch closing force is sufficient to adhere the cover portion to the device upon an impact” which is a relative/subjective term (MPEP 2173.05(b)). Specifically, the closing force is based on an entirely arbitrary impact force. The metes and bounds are unclear since the identical device will simultaneously infringe and not infringe the claim. For instance, a latch with closing force of 1.0 Newton is sufficient for an impact force of 0.5 N, but not for 1.5N. For purposes of compact prosecution, so long as the prior art has a closing force, such force is necessarily sufficient for any arbitrary impact force.
As to claim 11, the claim recites “relatively circular shape…relatively elliptical shape” which is a relative term (MPEP 2173.05(b)). Neither the claims or specification contain an objective metric to what is, or is not, relatively circular or relatively elliptical. Furthermore, those of ordinary skill in the art understand circles are themselves relative ellipses and ellipses are relative circles. For purposes of compact prosecution, so long as the art teaches a ring spring, such limitations are met.
As to claims 13, 14, the claims recite “impact absorbing material” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
Specifically, Applicant’s specification does not provide any material/structure which perform the function of impact absorption.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-15, 17-19, 21-24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)/(a2) as being anticipated by Tharrett et al. (US 11,528,973 - Tharrett).
As to claim 1, Tharrett teaches a protective case for a device (Tharrett Fig. 1A; Figs. 4, 6, 7A-F) comprising
a cover portion configured to fit over the device (Tharrett Fig. 1A - 108; Fig. 7A - 102, 108);
a latch mechanism configured to secure the cover portion to the device (Tharrett Fig. 7B - 108, 312, 404a), the latch mechanism comprises
a latch (Tharrett Fig. 1A - 108) rotatable about a first axis (Tharrett Fig. 7A, B - 312; col. 8:7-10);
a ring spring rotatable about a second axis different from the first axis (Tharrett Fig. 4 - 402a, 402b; Fig. 7A - 306; as shown, torsion spring (306) rotates about the axis of the coils);
wherein rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a deformation of the ring spring to generate a variable latch closing force that varies with rotation of the latch about the first axis (Tharrett Fig. 7A-C , 312, 306, 404; col. 8:53-65; Examiner’s note: such language appears to recite Hooke’s Law1 - i.e. the force varies as a function of the displacement from equilibrium of a spring).
As to claim 2, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a compression of the ring spring to generate the variable latch closing force (Tharrett Figs. 7B-7F - rotation about (312) causes cam (702, 704) to compress spring (306)).
As to claim 3, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Tharrett further teaches the variable latch closing force increases to a maximum at a maximum compression point of the spring ring at a predetermined degree of rotation of the latch about the first axis (Tharrett Figs. 7C-7F - 404a, 302, 704; col. 9:4-18 - as shown, cam (302) moves spring (306) to/through maximum displacement, thus maximum restoring force as per Hooke’s Law).
As to claim 8, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches a proximal portion of the latch is rotatably attached to the latch mechanism at the first axis (Tharrett Fig. 7B - 108, 312), and wherein the proximal portion of the ring spring is rotatably attached to the latch mechanism at the second axis (Tharrett Fig. 6 - 306), and wherein a distal portion of the ring spring is attached to the latch (Tharrett Fig. 7B - 404a, 108).
As to claim 9, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches the variable latch closing force is sufficient to adhere the cover portion to the device upon impact (Tharrett Fig. 7A).
As to claim 10, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches the ring spring comprises a closed ring shape (Tharrett Fig. 6 - 306).
As to claim 11, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches the ring spring compresses from a relatively circular shape to a relatively elliptical shape as the latch is rotated from an open position to a closed position (Tharrett Fig. 7B-F - 306).
As to claim 12, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches one or more alignment features configured to engage with corresponding features on the device to align the cover portion into a predetermined position over the device (Tharrett Fig. 1A - 108, 104a; Fig. 5 - 500, 310).
As to claim 13, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches impact absorbing materials lining an interior surface of the latch (Tharrett Fig. 3 - 318, 315; such impact absorption function is implicit at any arbitrary degree/amount for any material).
As to claim 14, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches impact absorbing materials lining an interior surface of the cover portion (Tharrett Fig. 3 - 314; such function is implicit to any arbitrary degree of any material).
As to claim 15, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches the device is a handheld electronic device (Tharrett Fig. 1A).
As to claim 17, Tharrett teaches a latch mechanism for securing a protective cover to a device (Tharrett Fig. 1A; Figs. 4, 6, 7A-F) wherein the latch mechanism comprises
a latch (Tharrett Fig. 1A - 108) rotatable about a first axis (Tharrett Fig. 7A, B - 312; col. 8:7-10);
a ring spring rotatable about a second axis different from the first axis (Tharrett Fig. 4 - 402a, 402b; Fig. 7A - 306; as shown, torsion spring (306) rotates about the axis of the coils);
wherein rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a deformation of the ring spring to generate a variable latch closing force that varies with rotation of the latch about the first axis (Tharrett Fig. 7A-C , 312, 306, 404; col. 8:53-65; Examiner’s note: such language appears to recite Hooke’s Law - i.e. the force varies as a function of the displacement from equilibrium of a spring).
As to claim 18, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and Tharrett further teaches rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a compression of the ring spring to generate the variable latch closing force (Tharrett Figs. 7B-7F - rotation about (312) causes cam (702, 704) to compress spring (306)).
As to claim 19, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18, and Tharrett further teaches the variable latch closing force increases to a maximum at a maximum compression point of the spring ring at a predetermined degree of rotation of the latch about the first axis (Tharrett Figs. 7C-7F - 404a, 302, 704; col. 9:4-18 - as shown, cam (302) moves spring (306) to/through maximum displacement, thus maximum restoring force as per Hooke’s Law).
As to claim 21, Tharrett teaches a method of manufacturing a protective case for a device (Tharrett Fig. 1A; Figs. 4, 6, 7A-F) the method comprising
providing a cover portion configured to fit over the device (Tharrett Fig. 1A - 108; Fig. 7A - 102, 108);
providing a latch (Tharrett Fig. 1A - 108) rotatable about a first axis (Tharrett Fig. 7A, B - 312; col. 8:7-10);
providing a ring spring rotatable about a second axis different from the first axis (Tharrett Fig. 4 - 402a, 402b; Fig. 7A - 306; as shown, torsion spring (306) rotates about the axis of the coils);
assembling the latch and the ring spring such that rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a deformation of the ring spring to generate a variable closing latch force (Tharrett Fig. 7A-C , 312, 306, 404; col. 8:53-65; Examiner’s note: such language appears to recite Hooke’s Law - i.e. the force varies as a function of the displacement from equilibrium of a spring).
As to claim 22, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Tharrett further teaches attaching a proximal portion of the latch at the first axis (Tharrett Fig. 7B - 108, 312), and a proximal portion of the ring spring at the second axis (Tharrett Fig. 6 - 306), to a latch mechanism (Tharrett Fig. 7B - 108, 312, 404a).
As to claim 23, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Tharrett further teaches rotatably attaching a distal portion of the ring spring to the latch such (Tharrett Fig. 7B - 404a, 108) that rotation of the latch deforms the ring spring (Tharrett Figs. 7A-7F).
As to claim 24, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23, and Tharrett further teaches the ring spring is rotatably attached to the latch by a ring spring compression holder secured to the latch (Tharrett Fig. 5 - 500, 310).
As to claim 26, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Tharrett further teaches incorporating impact absorbing materials on an interior surface of the latch (Tharrett Fig. 3 - 318, 315; such impact absorption function is implicit at any arbitrary degree/amount for any material).
Claims 1, 8-9, 12-17, 21-24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Shelton (US 5,164,749).
As to claim 1, Shelton teaches a protective case of a device (Shelton Fig. 1) comprising
a cover portion configured to fit of the device (Shelton Fig. 1 - 28, 30);
a latch mechanism configured to secure the cover portion to the device (Shelton Fig. 1 - A, B, C, D; Fig. 2; col. 2:40-50), the latch mechanism comprising
a latch (Shelton Fig. 3 - C) rotatable around a first axis (Shelton Fig. 4 - 52, 18; col. 2:54-55; col. 3:15-20);
a ring spring (Shelton Fig. 3 - D; col. 2:46-50) rotatable about a second axis different from the first axis (Shelton Fig. 4 - 54, 36; col. 3:35-42; spring (D) rotates around axis (54, 36) when bar (42) is pressed to move latch leges (38, 40));
wherein rotation of the latch about the first axis causes deformation of the ring spring to generate a variable latch closing force that varies with rotation of the latch about the first axis (Shelton Fig. 4 - 42, 38, D; col. 3:35-42; as shown/discussed, spring (D) being stretched/opened, thus as per Hooke’s Law, the force varies).
As to claim 8, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Shelton further teaches a proximal portion of the latch is rotatably attached to the latch mechanism at the first axis (Shelton Figs. 3, 4 - A, C, 52, 18), and wherein a proximal portion of the ring spring is rotatably attached to the latch mechanism at the second axis (Shelton Figs. 3, 4 - B, D, 54, 36), and wherein a distal end of the ring spring is attached to the latch (Shelton Fig. 4 - C, D, 56, 48).
As to claim 9, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Shelton further teaches the variable latch closing force is sufficient to adhere the cover portion to the device upon impact (Shelton Fig. 5; col. 1:5-12).
As to claim 12, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Shelton further teaches one or more alignment features configured to engage with corresponding features on the device to align the cover portion into a predetermined position over the device (Shelton Fig. 3 - 10, 12; col. 2:49-53).
As to claim 13, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Shelton further teaches impact absorbing materials lining an interior surface of the latch (Shelton Fig. 1 - 38, 40; such impact absorption function is implicit at any arbitrary degree/amount for any material).
As to claim 14, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Shelton further teaches impact absorbing materials lining an interior surface of the cover portion (Shelton Fig. 1 - 28, 30; such impact absorption function is implicit at any arbitrary degree/amount for any material).
As to claim 15, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Shelton further teaches the device comprises augmented reality glasses (Shelton col. 1:5-10; Examiner’s note: claim 15 is directed to the intended use of the protective case as per the preamble of claim 1).
As to claim 16, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Shelton further teaches the cover portion is transparent or semi-transparent to allow viewing of the device (Shelton Fig. 1 - 28, 30; col. 1:5-10).
As to claim 17, Shelton teaches a latch mechanism for securing a protective cover to a device (Shelton Fig. 1) the latch mechanism comprises
a latch (Shelton Fig. 3 - C) rotatable around a first axis (Shelton Fig. 4 - 52, 18; col. 2:54-55; col. 3:15-20);
a ring spring (Shelton Fig. 3 - D; col. 2:46-50) rotatable about a second axis different from the first axis (Shelton Fig. 4 - 54, 36; col. 3:35-42; spring (D) rotates around axis (54, 36) when bar (42) is pressed to move latch leges (38, 40));
wherein rotation of the latch about the first axis causes deformation of the ring spring to generate a variable latch closing force that varies with rotation of the latch about the first axis (Shelton Fig. 4 - 42, 38, D; col. 3:35-42).
As to claim 21, Shelton teaches a method of manufacturing a protective case for a device the method comprising
providing a cover portion configured to fit of the device (Shelton Fig. 1 - 28, 30);
providing a latch (Shelton Fig. 3 - C) rotatable around a first axis (Shelton Fig. 4 - 52, 18; col. 2:54-55; col. 3:15-20);
providing a ring spring (Shelton Fig. 3 - D; col. 2:46-50) rotatable about a second axis different from the first axis (Shelton Fig. 4 - 54, 36; col. 3:35-42; spring (D) rotates around axis (54, 36) when bar (42) is pressed to move latch leges (38, 40));
assembling the latch and ring spring such that rotation of the latch about the first axis causes deformation of the ring spring to generate a variable latch closing force (Shelton Fig. 4 - 42, 38, D; col. 3:35-42).
As to claim 22, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Shelton further teaches attaching a proximal portion of the latch at the first axis (Shelton Figs. 3, 4 - A, C, 52, 18) and a proximal portion of the ring spring at the second axis to a latch mechanism (Shelton Figs. 3, 4 - B, D, 54, 36).
As to claim 23, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Shelton further teaches rotatably attaching a distal portion of the ring spring to the latch such that rotation of the latch deforms the ring spring (Shelton Fig. 4 - C, D, 56, 48).
As to claim 24, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23, and Shelton further teaches the ring spring is rotatably attached to the latch by a ring spring compression holder (Shelton Fig. 3 - 50, 48; Fig. 4 - D, 50, 48) secured to the latch (Shelton Fig. 3 - C, 50, 48).
As to claim 26, Shelton teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Shelton further teaches incorporating impact absorbing materials on an interior surface of the latch (Shelton Fig. 1 - 38, 40; such impact absorption function is implicit at any arbitrary degree/amount for any material).
Claims 1-3, 8-19, 21-24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Carmichael (US 2,988,956).
As to claim 1, Carmichael teaches a protective case for a device (Carmichael Figs. 1-6) comprising
a cover portion configured to fit over the device (Carmichael Fig. 1 - 12, 13);
a latch mechanism configured to secure the cover portion to the device (Carmichael Fig. 2 - 10, 16, 27; Fig. 5 - 27, 28, 16 23), wherein the latch mechanism comprises
a latch (Carmichael Fig. 1 - 16) rotatable about a first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 16, 23);
a ring spring (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 28) rotatable about a second axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - center of ring spring (28); col. 2:70 - col. 3:5) different from the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 23, 28);
wherein rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a deformation of the ring spring to generate a variable latch closing force that varies with rotation of the latch about the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 16, 27, 23, 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
As to claim 2, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a compression of the ring spring to generate the variable latch closing force (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 27, 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
As to claim 3, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 2, and Carmichael further teaches the variable latch closing force increases to a maximum compression point of the ring spring at a predetermined degree of rotation of the latch about the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 27, 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
As to claim 8, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches a proximal portion of the latch is rotatably attached to the latch mechanism at the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 16, 23, 27, 14, 10), and wherein a proximal portion of the ring spring is rotatably attached to the latch mechanism at the second axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 30, 28, 19), and wherein a distal end of the ring spring is attached to the latch (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 28, 29).
As to claim 9, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches the variable latch closing force is sufficient to adhere the cover portion to the device upon an impact (Carmichael Fig. 3 - 21, 22; Fig. 4 - 21, 22; col. 1:9-16).
As to claim 10, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches the ring spring comprises a close ring shape (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 28).
As to claim 11, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches the ring spring compresses from a relatively circular chape to a relatively elliptical shape as the latch is rotated from an open position to a closed position (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
As to claim 12, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches one or more alignment features configured to engage with corresponding features on the device to align the cover portion into a predetermined position over the device (Carmichael Fig. 3 - 10, 16, 17, M).
As to claim 13, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches impact absorbing material lining an interior surface of the latch (Carmichael Fig. 3 - 21, 22; col. 3:69-75).
As to claim 14, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches impact absorbing materials lining an interior surface of the cover portion (Carmichael Fig. 2 - 10; col. 2:1-5).
As to claim 15, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches the device comprises augmented reality glasses (Carmichael Fig. 3 - M; Fig. 4 - M; Examiner’s note: claim 15 is directed to the intended use of the protective case as per the preamble of claim 1).
As to claim 16, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Carmichael further teaches the cover portion is transparent or semi-transparent (Carmichael Fig. 1 - 12, 13; col. 1:9-16).
As to claim 17, Carmichael teaches a latch mechanism for securing a protective cover portion to a device (Carmichael Fig. 2 - 10, 16, 27; Fig. 5 - 27, 28, 16 23), wherein the latch mechanism comprises
a latch (Carmichael Fig. 1 - 16) rotatable about a first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 16, 23);
a ring spring (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 28) rotatable about a second axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - center of ring spring (28); col. 2:70 - col. 3:5) different from the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 23, 28);
wherein rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a deformation of the ring spring to generate a variable latch closing force that varies with rotation of the latch about the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 16, 27, 23, 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
As to claim 18, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 17, and Carmichael further teaches rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a compression of the ring spring to generate the variable latch closing force (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 27, 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
As to claim 19, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18, and Carmichael further teaches the variable latch closing force increases to a maximum compression point of the ring spring at a predetermined degree of rotation of the latch about the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 27, 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
As to claim 21, Carmichael teaches a method of manufacturing a protective case for a device, the method comprising
providing a cover portion configured to fit over the device (Carmichael Fig. 1 - 12, 13);
providing a latch (Carmichael Fig. 1 - 16) rotatable about a first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 16, 23);
providing a ring spring (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 28) rotatable about a second axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - center of ring spring (28); col. 2:70 - col. 3:5) different from the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 23, 28);
assembling the latch and the ring spring such that rotation of the latch about the first axis causes a deformation of the ring spring to generate a variable latch closing force that varies with rotation of the latch about the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 16, 27, 23, 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
As to claim 22, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Carmichael further teaches attaching a proximal portion of the latch at the first axis (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 16, 23, 27, 14, 10) and a proximal portion of the ring spring at the second axis to a latch mechanism (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 30, 28, 19).
As to claim 23, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 21, and Carmichael further teaches rotatably attaching a distal portion of the ring spring to the latch such that rotation of the latch deforms the ring spring (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 28, 27; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
As to claim 24, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23, and Carmichael further teaches the ring spring is rotatably attached to the latch by a ring spring compression holder secured to the latch (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 29).
As to claim 26, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 23, and Carmichael further teaches incorporating impact absorbing materials on an interior surface of the latch (Carmichael Fig. 3 - 21, 22; col. 3:69-75).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5-7, 20, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tharrett (cited above).
As to claims 4, 20, 25, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claims 3, 19, 21, and Tharrett further teaches varying the compression point of the ring spring at an intermediate position of the latch between a fully open and fully closed position of the latch at which the latch secures the cover portion to the device (Tharrett Figs. 7A-7F; col. 9:4-34), but doesn’t specify whether the compression point is the maximum at the intermediate position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the maximum at an intermediate position, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). As discussed by Tharrett, the compression is set so as to control the opening and closing force on the lid (Tharrett col. 9:4-34).
As to claim 5, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 3, and while Tharrett teaches providing various compression conditions (Tharrett col. 9:4-34) doesn’t specify the maximum compression point of the ring spring occurs at a fully closed position of the latch at which the latch secures the cover portion to the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the maximum at an a fully closed position, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). As discussed by Tharrett, the compression is set so as to control the opening and closing force on the lid (Tharrett col. 9:4-34).
As to claim 6, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, and Tharrett further teaches the ring spring biases the latch open when the latch is rotated in an opening direction between the predetermined degree of rotation and the fully open position of the latch (Tharrett Fig. 7F; col. 9:19-25).
As to claim 7, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, and Tharrett further teaches the ring spring biases the latch closed when the latch is rotated in a closing direction between the predetermined degree of rotation and the fully closed position of the latch (Tharrett Fig. 7B).
Claims 4, 7, 20, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carmichael (cited above).
As to claims 4, 20, 25, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claims 3, 19, 21, and Carmichael further teaches varying the compression point of the ring spring at an intermediate position of the latch between a fully open and fully closed position of the latch at which the latch secures the cover portion to the device (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 27, 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21), but doesn’t specify whether the compression point is the maximum at the intermediate position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the maximum at an intermediate position, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); In re Boesch 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). As discussed by Carmichael, depressing the end (27) of the arm (16) and subsequent compression of spring (28) allows for opening/closing the latch/arm (16).
As to claim 7, Carmichael teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 4, and Carmichael further teaches the ring spring biases the latch closed when the latch is rotated in a closing direction between the predetermined degree of rotation and the fully closed position of the latch (Carmichael Fig. 5 - 27, 28; col. 2:70 - col. 3:21).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tharrett as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bluhme et al. (US 2022/0376530 - Bluhme).
As to claim 16, Tharrett teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Tharrett further teaches but doesn’t specify the cover portion is transparent or semi-transparent to allow viewing of the device. In the same field of endeavor Bluhme teaches protective cases of devices being transparent (Bluhme Fig. 1B - 120; para. [0036]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide a transparent cover portion since, as taught by Bluhme, such transparent covers are well known in the art for the purpose of observing the interior device(s) (Bluhme para. [0036]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Chang (US 10,597,203); Kim (D 732,026); Huang (US 6,779,886); Chen (US 6,283,591); Jarvis (US 240,828); Sullivan (US 2,371,557); Ehlert et al. (US 2,516,764); Dexter (US 1,292,725) are additional examples of latch mechanisms.
/ZACHARY W WILKES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 June 23, 2026
1 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hookes_law