DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of a new ground of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. (US 2022/0028427 A1 – hereinafter Matsuda), Petty (US 2022/0148621 A1 – hereinafter Petty), Haley et al. (US 2021/0312948 A1 – hereinafter Haley), and Sen et al. (US 10,489,496 B1 – hereinafter Sen).
Regard claim 1, Matsuda discloses video editing method, comprising: displaying an asset filling interface of an editing video (Fig. 1; [0077] – displaying GUI 100 as an asset filling interface of an editing video), wherein the editing video includes a plurality of editing segments ([0084]; [0086] - a plurality of editing segments within its timespan indicated by timeline 115, for example each segment is defined by a pair of a start time and an end time defined in the timeline ), and the asset filling interface includes a video preview area (Fig. 1; [0077] – a preview display area 120), an editing segment shift area (Fig. 1; Fig. 4; [0110]-[0112] - the timeline area can be used to can be used to shift editing segments of corresponding media clips) and a multimedia asset selection area ([0081]; Fig. 1 – clip browser area 110), and the plurality of editing segments are presented in the editing segment shift area in a form of an image (Fig. 1; [0085] – the plurality of editing segments are presented in the timeline area in a form of a composite image); controlling, in response to a sliding operation in the editing segment shifting area, a sliding direction of the sliding, and when the sliding operation ends, taking an editing segment moved to a preset selection position in the editing segment shift area as a first editing segment ([0105]-[0106] – controlling a sliding operation by moving a skimming playhead to a present selection position in the timeline, making a first editing segment at the current position); filling a first asset into the first editing segment in response to a selection operation of the first asset in the multimedia asset selection area, so that the first editing segment in the editing video presents the first asset ([0007]-[0008]; [0111]-[0112] – filling by inserting a media clip into the first editing segment, i.e. by moving the skimming playhead to the present position and dragging the media clip into the editing segments at the position of the timeline); playing the editing video in the video preview area in response to a play triggering operation of the editing video ([0088]-[0089] – playing the editing video in the video preview area in response to the user instruction ); and during a process of playing the editing video, the plurality of editing segments in the editing segment shift area are controlled to move synchronously, so as to move an editing segment that is being played in the video preview area to the preset selection position of the editing segment shift area.
However, Matsuda does not disclose controlling, in response to a sliding operation in the editing segment shifting area, a plurality of editing segments displayed in the editing segment shift area to move synchronously along a sliding direction of the sliding, and when the sliding operation ends, taking an editing segment moved to a preset selection position in the editing segment shift area as a first editing segment; modifying a caption content of a second editing segment in response to a caption modification operation of the second editing segment in the target editing video; and updating an audio data of the second editing segment based on a modified caption content, and adjusting a duration of the second editing segment according to the updated audio data; and the moved editing segment is an editing segment that is being played in the video preview area.
Petty discloses moved editing segment is an editing segment that is being played in a video preview area ([0023]; [0085] – moving the media element currently being viewed in the viewing window into the timeline).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Petty into the method taught by Matsuda so that the user can confirm the video segment to be moved by previewing a video segment before moving it to a desired position in the timeline.
Matsuda and Petty do not disclose controlling, in response to a sliding operation in the editing segment shifting area, a plurality of editing segments displayed in the editing segment shift area to move synchronously along a sliding direction of the sliding, and when the sliding operation ends, taking an editing segment moved to a preset selection position in the editing segment shift area as a first editing segment; modifying a caption content of a second editing segment in response to a caption modification operation of the second editing segment in the target editing video; and updating an audio data of the second editing segment based on a modified caption content, and adjusting a duration of the second editing segment according to the updated audio data.
Haley discloses controlling, in response to a sliding operation in the editing segment shifting area, a plurality of editing segments displayed in the editing segment shift area to move synchronously along a sliding direction of the sliding, and when the sliding operation ends, taking an editing segment moved to a preset selection position in the editing segment shift area as a first editing segment (Figs. 3E, 3G; Fig. 8 – in response to a scrolling operation, a sequence of frame images from segments of the video scrolls, i.e. the frames move synchronously from a first position to a second position, which is a preset selection position to display a second segment of video).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Haley into the method taught by Matsuda and Petty to assist the user in navigating the video segments, i.e. at frame level.
Matsuda, Petty, and Haley do not disclose modifying a caption content of a second editing segment in response to a caption modification operation of the second editing segment in the target editing video; and updating an audio data of the second editing segment based on a modified caption content, and adjusting a duration of the second editing segment according to the updated audio data.
Sen discloses modifying a caption content of an editing segment in response to a caption modification operation of the editing segment in a target editing video (column 16, lines 50-64 – modifying a caption content of a video segment in response to an operation to insert an advertisement phrase into the caption of the editing segment in a target editing video); and updating an audio data of the editing segment based on a modified caption content, and adjusting a duration of the editing segment according to the updated audio data (column 16, lines 50-64 – adjusting the audio file corresponding to the subtitle line 315, i.e. to include audio content for the inserted phrase, and prolonging the duration of the video to accommodate this change in duration of subtitle and audio content).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Sen into the method taught by Matsuda, Petty, and Haley to gain financial benefit by improving advertisement reach over conventional commercial advertising by inserting an advertisement into a subtitle of a media asset for display as part of the subtitle of the media asset so that an advertisement displayed as part of the subtitle of the media asset by the media guidance application can reach a user in an inexpensive and efficient way (Sen: column 1, lines 28-42).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuda also discloses the step of filling the first asset into the first editing segment includes: replacing an original asset filled in the first editing segment with the first asset ([0013]; [0142] – by replacing a media clip or a selected range over one or more media clips).
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 in view of Matsuda also disclosing an electronic device (Figs. 38-39) comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 39; [0344] – processor 3910); a memory configured to store one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to perform a video editing method as recited (Figs. 38-39; [0344]-[0346] – various memory units).
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 1 above in view of Matsuda also disclosing a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon that, when executed by a processor, performs a video editing method as recited (Figs. 38-39; [0344]-[0346] – various memory units having a computer program stored thereon and executed by one or more processor 3910).
Claims 3-5, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen as applied to claims 1, 7, 12, and 17 above, and further in view of Rady (US 9,583,140 B1 – hereinafter Rady) and Martin (US 9,917,957 B1 – hereinafter Martin).
Regarding claim 3, see the teachings of Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen as discussed in claim 1 above. Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen do not disclose filling the first asset into the first editing segment so that the first editing segment in the target editing video presents the first asset includes: cropping the first asset using a preset cropping rule to obtain a second asset, and filling the second asset into the first editing segment, so that the first editing segment in the editing video segment presents the second asset.
Rady discloses filling a first asset into a first editing segment so that the first editing segment in an editing video presents the first asset includes: resizing the first asset to obtain a second asset, and filling the second asset into the first editing segment, so that the first editing segment in the editing segment presents the second asset (column 10, line 64 – column 11, line 2 – resizing the asset).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Rady into the method taught by Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen to enhance the editing interface of the method by allowing the user to resize the media asset if desired.
However, Matsuda, Petty, Haley, Sen, and Rady do not disclose the resizing comprising cropping using a preset cropping rule.
Martin discloses resizing a media asset by cropping using a preset cropping rule (column 5, line 62 – column 6, line 17).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate cropping operation taught by Martin into resizing the asset taught by Matsuda, Petty, Haley, Sen, and Rady to make the asset fit into the space while cutting out unwanted parts of the asset.
Regarding claim 4, see the teachings of Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen as discussed in claim 1 above. Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen do not disclose before filling the first asset into the first editing segment: displaying a cropping interface of the first asset; cropping the first asset to obtain a second asset in response to a cropping operation in the cropping interface; wherein filling the first asset into the first editing segment so that the first editing segment in the editing video presents the first asset includes: filling the second asset into the first editing segment in response to a filling operation in the cropping interface, so that the first editing segment in the editing video segment presents the second asset.
Rady discloses, before filling a first asset into a first editing segment: displaying a resizing interface of the first asset (column 10, line 62 – column 11, line 19 – displaying an interface having various controls for manipulations for the assets, including resizing the asset); resizing the first asset to obtain a second asset in response to a resizing operation in the resizing interface (column 10, line 64 – column 11, line 2 – resizing the asset); wherein filling the first asset into the first editing segment so that the first editing segment in the editing video presents the first asset includes: filling the second asset into the first editing segment in response to a filling operation in the resizing interface, so that the first editing segment in the editing segment presents the second asset (column 10, line 64 – column 11, line 2 – filling the video with the resized media asset).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate cropping operation taught by Martin into resizing the asset taught by Matsuda, Petty, Haley, Sen, and Rady to make the asset fit into the space while cutting out unwanted parts of the asset.
However, Matsuda, Petty, Haley, Sen, and Rady do not disclose the resizing comprising cropping a cropping interface.
Martin discloses resizing a media asset by cropping using a cropping interface (column 5, line 62 – column 6, line 17).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate cropping operation taught by Martin into the resizing interface taught by Matsuda, Petty, Haley, Sen, and Rady to provide the user with controls make the asset fit into the space while cutting out unwanted parts of the asset.
Regarding claim 5, see the teachings of Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen as discussed in claim 3 above. Matsuda also discloses the first asset includes a video asset ([0021]).
Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen do not disclose, the method further comprises, after filling the second asset into the first editing segment: extending the second asset into a third asset based on the first asset in response to an extension operation on the first editing segment, and filling the third asset into the first editing segment to extend the first editing segment; and shortening an editing segment adjacent to the first editing segment in the target editing video.
Rady also discloses after filling the second asset into the first editing segment (column 10, line 64 – column 11, line 2 – filling the video with the resized media asset, which is, in view of Martin, the cropped second material): extending the second asset into a third asset based on the first asset in response to an extension operation on the first editing segment, and filling the third asset into the first editing segment to extend the first editing segment (column 10, lines 21-25 – extending the timespan of the media asset); and shortening an editing segment adjacent to the first editing segment in the editing video (column 10, lines 21-25 – shortening the timespan of the media asset adjacent to the first editing segment).
The motivation for incorporating the teachings of Rady into the method has been discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 5 above.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 3 above.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in claim 4 above.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen as applied to claims 1, 7, 12, and 17 above, and further in view of Rady.
Regarding claim 8, see the teachings of Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen as discussed in claim 7 above. However, Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen do not disclose after replacing the original asset filled in the first editing segment with the first asset: resetting an asset filled in the first editing segment to the original asset in response to an asset reset operation on the first editing segment.
Rady discloses after replacing an original asset filled in a first editing segment with a first asset: resetting an asset filled in the first editing segment to the original asset in response to an asset reset operation on the first editing segment (column 11, lines 6-19 – by undoing).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Rady into the method taught by Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen to enhance the editing interface of the method by allowing the user to come back to the original asset if the replacement is a mistake.
Regarding claim 9, see the teachings of Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen as discussed in claim 7 above. However, Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen do not disclose after replacing the original asset filled in the first editing segment with the first asset: displaying the original asset at a preset position in the multimedia asset selection area for selection by a user.
Rady discloses, after replacing an original asset filled in a first editing segment with a first asset: displaying the original asset at a preset position in a multimedia asset selection area for selection by a user (column 11, lines 6-19 – the material is displayed in the selection area).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Rady into the method taught by Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen to enhance the editing interface of the method by allowing the user to preview the original asset to ensure the replacement is not a mistake.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen as applied to claims 1, 7, 12, and 17 above, and further in view of Angquist et al. (US 2019/0104259 A1 – hereinafter Angquist).
Regarding claim 11, see the teachings of Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen as discussed in claim 1 above. However, Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen do not disclose adjusting a caption style of a third editing segment in response to a caption style adjustment operation on the third editing segment in the editing video.
Angquist discloses adjusting a caption style of an editing segment in response to a caption style adjustment operation on the editing segment in an editing video. (Fig. 6B; [0047]).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Angquist into the third editing segment in the method taught by Matsuda, Petty, Haley, and Sen to allow the user format the caption in a desired style thus enhancing the editing interface of the method.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNG Q DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484