DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 8/7/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 11893054 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, Kim et al do not disclose the newly added limitations “capturing at least two multimedia segments on a first capturing page to obtain a media content, wherein the media content comprises the at least two media segment; displaying an editing page for editing the media content after capturing the at least two multimedia segments.”. The Examiner disagrees. Figure 2, S230 “store first and second video as one full video, and output timeline of furl video with consecutive timeline of first and second videos in camera preview mode” and figure 12 and paragraph 256 also teach a video clip 2020 corresponding to the first video and a video clip 1030 corresponding to the second video may be output in and enlarged manner. Also edit icons 1040, 1050 and 1060 for editing the video clips. These teaching corresponding to the claimed “capturing at least two multimedia segments on a first capturing page to obtain a media content, wherein the media content comprises the at least two media segment; displaying an editing page for editing the media content after capturing the at least two multimedia segments.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being described by Kim et al (US 2017/0092329).
For claim 1, Kim et al teach a method for processing media content (e.g. paragraphs 56, 344, figures 18, 22), comprising:
capturing at least two multimedia segments on a first capturing page to obtain a media content, wherein the media content comprises the at least two media segment (e.g. Figure 2, S230 “store first and second video as one full video, and output timeline of furl video with consecutive timeline of first and second videos in camera preview mode”);
displaying an editing page for editing the media content after capturing the at least two multimedia segments (e.g. figure 12 and paragraph 256 also teach a video clip 2020 corresponding to the first video and a video clip 1030 corresponding to the second video may be output in and enlarged manner. Also edit icons 1040, 1050 and 1060 for editing the video clips.);
receiving a selection on a media segment in the media content on the editing page, the selection on the media segment in the media content is configured to determine a target media segment (paragraph 14: The delete icon may be provided for deleting at least one of the plurality of thumbnail images corresponding to the first video and the second video. figure 22, paragraph 345: “As illustrated in FIG. 22, after the delete icon 1050 is selected, a touch input may be applied to a thumbnail image 1860 corresponding to a video (1-3 video), which has been captured by the rear camera and output on the third region 1430, of the first full video”.); and
receiving a first triggering operation for processing the target media segment figure 22, paragraph 345: “As illustrated in FIG. 22, after the delete icon 1050 is selected, a touch input may be applied to a thumbnail image 1860 corresponding to a video (1-3 video), which has been captured by the rear camera and output on the third region 1430, of the first full video”);
wherein in response to the first triggering operation for processing the target media segment, the method further comprises:
re-capturing at least one a media segment on a second capturing page(e.g. paragraph 349: “In another exemplary embodiment, when a touch input is applied to the add icon 2210, a video which is to be inserted in replacement of the 1-3 video deleted from the first full video may be captured. In this instance, re-capturing may be executed for the same period of time as the previous capturing by the camera which has captured the 1-3 video.”);
replacing the target media segment on the editing page with the re-captured at least one media segment (e.g. paragraph 349: “In another exemplary embodiment, when a touch input is applied to the add icon 2210, a video which is to be inserted in replacement of the 1-3 video deleted from the first full video may be captured. In this instance, re-capturing may be executed for the same period of time as the previous capturing by the camera which has captured the 1-3 video.” Also see e.g. paragraph 205: “a video may be captured for a preset period of time in response to a touch input. Paragraph 287 of Kim et al teach video capturing may be carried out for a preset period of time according to a touch method. For example, when a long touch input is applied to the video capture icon 310, videos may be captured for ten seconds by each camera. When a short touch input is applied to the video capture icon 310, videos may be captured for three seconds by each camera.).
claims 14 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above, wherein paragraph 68 of Kim et al disclose memory 170 stores application programs executed in the mobile terminal 100.
For claim 9, Kim et al teach wherein in response to the request comprising a request for clipping processing, the method further comprises: determining a second media segment from the target media segment; and clipping out the second media segment(e.g. figure 22, paragraph 345: “As illustrated in FIG. 22, after the delete icon 1050 is selected, a touch input may be applied to a thumbnail image 1860 corresponding to a video (1-3 video), which has been captured by the rear camera and output on the third region 1430, of the first full video”. figure 4 shows video has at least two segment).
For claim 12, Kim et al teach wherein the method further comprises at least one of: controlling re-capturing to be stopped when it is detected that a duration of the re-captured media segment reaches a duration of the target media segment; or controlling the re-capturing to be stopped when a triggering for stopping the re-capturing is detected (e.g. paragraph 349: In this instance, re-capturing may be executed for the same period of time as the previous capturing by the camera which has captured the 1-3 video. In detail, video capturing (capturing a 1-4 video) may be carried out for ten seconds by the rear camera).
For claim 13, Kim et al teach wherein the method further comprises: determining a third media segment from preset media content; and clipping out the third media segment from the preset media content, wherein the preset media content comprises at least one media segment of the processed media content, and the processed media content obtained by processing the target media segment in the media content (e.g. figure 22, paragraph 345: “As illustrated in FIG. 22, after the delete icon 1050 is selected, a touch input may be applied to a thumbnail image 1860 corresponding to a video (1-3 video), which has been captured by the rear camera and output on the third region 1430, of the first full video”. figure 4 shows video has at least two segment).
For claims 4 and 17, Kim et al teach the media segment is not a last media segment among the at least two media segments (e.g. figure 22, paragraph 345: “As illustrated in FIG. 22, after the delete icon 1050 is selected, a touch input may be applied to a thumbnail image 1860 corresponding to a video (1-3 video), which has been captured by the rear camera and output on the third region 1430, of the first full video”. figure 4 shows video has at least two segment. So user can select any segments he/she desires which includes not a last media segment).
For claims 6 and 18, Kim et al teach wherein in response to the request comprising a request for deletion processing, the application program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: delete the target media segment, to obtain media content after the deletion processing (e.g. figure 22, paragraph 345: “As illustrated in FIG. 22, after the delete icon 1050 is selected, a touch input may be applied to a thumbnail image 1860 corresponding to a video (1-3 video), which has been captured by the rear camera and output on the third region 1430, of the first full video”.).
For claims 7 and 19, Kim et al teach wherein after the target media segment is deleted, the application program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to: capture one or more media segments, select at least one media segment from the captured media segments, and add the selected media segment into the media content after the deletion processing, wherein a position of the added media segment with respect to media segments in the media content after the deletion processing is the same as a position of the deleted target media segment with respect to the media segments in the media content after the deletion processing; or restore the deleted target media segment, to obtain media content before the deletion processing (e.g. paragraph 349: “In another exemplary embodiment, when a touch input is applied to the add icon 2210, a video which is to be inserted in replacement of the 1-3 video deleted from the first full video may be captured. In this instance, re-capturing may be executed for the same period of time as the previous capturing by the camera which has captured the 1-3 video.”).
For claim 11, Kim et al teach wherein the method further comprises at least one of: controlling capturing to be stopped when it is detected that a duration of the captured media segment reaches a duration of the target media segment; or controlling the capturing to be stopped when a triggering for stopping the capturing is detected (e.g. paragraph 349: “In another exemplary embodiment, when a touch input is applied to the add icon 2210, a video which is to be inserted in replacement of the 1-3 video deleted from the first full video may be captured. In this instance, re-capturing may be executed for the same period of time as the previous capturing by the camera which has captured the 1-3 video.”).
For claim 8, Kim et al teach wherein in response to the request comprising a request for adding processing, the method further comprises: determining a first media segment and a target position of the media content; and adding the first media segment at the target position of the media content(e.g. paragraph 349: “In another exemplary embodiment, when a touch input is applied to the add icon 2210, a video which is to be inserted in replacement of the 1-3 video deleted from the first full video may be captured. In this instance, re-capturing may be executed for the same period of time as the previous capturing by the camera which has captured the 1-3 video.”).
For claim 5, Kim et al teach before the receiving a selection on a media segment in a media content, the method further comprises: displaying identification information corresponding to respective media segments in the media content, and the receiving a selection on a media segment in a media content comprises: receiving the selection on identification information corresponding to the media segment (e.g. figure 11, Music 1 is selected).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, as applied to claims 1, 4-9, 11-14 and 17-20 above, and further in view of Suchland (US 10,534,525).
For claim 10, Kim et al do not further disclose the target media segment comprises frames, and in response to the request comprising a request for at least one of an addition processing of an effect and a change processing of a filter, the method further comprises: determining at least one frame from the target media segment; and performing at least one of the addition processing of the effect and the change processing of the filter on the frame. Suchland disclose the target media segment comprises frames, and in response to the request comprising a request for at least one of an addition processing of an effect and a change processing of a filter, the method further comprises: determining at least one frame from the target media segment; and performing at least one of the addition processing of the effect and the change processing of the filter on the frame (e.g. column 7, lines 1-21, figure 2: Radius, intensity, contrast in 208 and filter 206). It would have obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suchland into the teaching of Kim et al to make high-quality edits of the media content (e.g. column 1, lines 5-17, Suchland).
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al, as applied to claims 1, 4-9, 11-14 and 17-20 above, and further in view of different embodiment of Kim et al.
For claims 3 and 16, Kim et al teach wherein the method further comprises: displaying re-captured media segment in a first interface; determining the at least one media segment of the plurality of re-captured media segments for replacing the target media segment; and in response to determining the at least one media segment, wherein displays the media content comprising the at least one media segment (e.g. paragraph 349, figure 22, delete icon 1050 was selected and then user touch input is applied to the add icon 2210 to re-capturing is executed in the bottom interface. Kim et al do not further specify display plurality of re-captured media segment in a first interface. A different embodiment of Kim et al, teach display plurality media segment in a first interface (e.g. figure 19). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Kim et al, such as figure 19, to display plurality of re-captured media segment since displaying re-captured video segments does not change the display function of figure 19 and the result of displaying re-captured video segments are predictable (e.g. (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), see MPEP 2143).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484