DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ arguments filed on 17 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf (US Pub. 2024/0155583) in view of Teyeb et al (US Pub. 2023/0232294), and further in view of Choi et al (US Pub. 2025/0301505).
Regarding claim 1, Rudolf teaches a first network entity in the form of a base station (gNB) configured to communicate with user equipment within one or more cells. Rudolf further teaches one or more memories storing processor-executable code and one or more processors coupled with the memory for performing the disclosed wireless communication operations. Rudolf additionally teaches outputting duplex information for one or more cells associated with the first network entity, wherein the duplex information comprises information related to one or more duplex modes for the one or more cells. Specifically, Rudolf teaches transmitting configuration information defining uplink and downlink frequency-domain subbands, Subband Full Duplex (SBFD) operation, multiple SBFD configurations including DU, UD, and DUD arrangements, and signaling defining the corresponding uplink and downlink resource configurations. Rudolf further teaches communicating, via a cell, with a user equipment in accordance with the duplex information, including communication using the configured SBFD uplink and downlink subbands. See Rudolf ¶¶ 5–7, 9–10, 39–53, 118–123, 133–153, and 157–158.
However, Rudolf does not expressly teach outputting the duplex information to a central unit (CU) or a distributed unit (DU).
Teyeb teaches a split Next Generation Radio Access Network (NG-RAN) architecture including a gNB Central Unit (gNB-CU) and one or more gNB Distributed Units (gNB-DUs). Teyeb further teaches that the CU and DUs exchange signaling and configuration information over the F1 interface to coordinate network operation and radio-resource management. See Teyeb ¶¶ 7–10.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement Rudolf's duplex-information signaling using Teyeb's well-known split-gNB architecture by outputting Rudolf's duplex information to the CU or DU responsible for centralized and distributed processing. Doing so would have predictably enabled coordination of duplex configuration information between the CU and DU while preserving Rudolf's disclosed wireless communication functionality.
However, the combination of Rudolf and Teyeb still does not expressly teach that the duplex information comprises a random access channel configuration associated with a subband full-duplex mode of the one or more duplex modes.
Choi teaches random access procedures for user equipment operating in a Subband Full Duplex (SBFD) system. Choi teaches transmitting random access resource configuration information from the base station to the UE, including PRACH configuration information identifying PRACH configuration indices, PRACH resources, PRACH occasions, subframes, symbols, and other random access parameters. Choi further teaches that an SBFD UE determines valid PRACH occasions based on both the received PRACH configuration and the received SBFD resource configuration. Choi additionally teaches transmitting separate PRACH configuration information specifically for SBFD user equipment, including a second PRACH configuration dedicated to SBFD operation, thereby associating the random access channel configuration with the SBFD operating mode. See Choi ¶¶ 245–247, 263–265, 274, 281–297, and 343–349.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify the combined teachings of Rudolf and Teyeb to incorporate Choi's SBFD-associated random access channel configuration into the duplex information. Because Rudolf already teaches duplex information defining SBFD operation and Teyeb teaches communicating such configuration information between the CU and DU, incorporating Choi's SBFD-specific PRACH configuration into that duplex information would have predictably enabled SBFD-capable user equipment to determine valid random access opportunities corresponding to the configured SBFD mode, thereby improving random access reliability, avoiding PRACH transmissions in unavailable uplink resources, and providing coordinated SBFD operation.
Accordingly, claim 1 is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Rudolf in view of Teyeb and further in view of Choi.
Regarding claim 1, Rudolf discloses a first network entity comprising one or more memories storing processor-executable code and one or more processors configured to execute the code to perform wireless communication operations. (¶[0040, 0042])
Rudolf discloses “output … duplex information for one or more cells associated with the first network entity, wherein the duplex information comprises information related to a subband full-duplex mode, a subband half-duplex mode, a full-duplex mode, or any combination thereof”, as Rudolf teaches providing duplex configuration information for cells including full-duplex and half-duplex operation. (¶[0110, 0121-0124])
Rudolf further discloses “communicate, via a cell of the one or more cells, with a user equipment (UE) in accordance with the duplex information”, as Rudolf teaches communicating with a UE based on the duplex configuration. (¶[0124])
Rudolf does not specifically disclose “output, to a central unit (CU) or a distributed unit (DU), duplex information for one or more cells associated with the first network entity.”
Teyeb et al. from an analogous art discloses a split gNB architecture including a central unit (CU) and a distributed unit (DU), and further discloses signaling procedures between the CU and DU over an F1 interface, including bearer context setup messaging exchanged between the CU and DU ¶[0163]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rudolf to output the duplex information to a CU or a DU as taught by Teyeb et al. in order to enable coordination of duplex configurations across network entities in a split radio access network architecture, since signaling between CU and DU is required for operation and coordination of cells.
Regarding claims 2, 12, 18, and 29, Rudolf in view of Teyeb and Choi further discloses signaling SBFD duplex information directly from the network to the UE but does not disclose inter-node signaling, such as outputting the duplex information to a second or third network entity, receiving, from a second or third network entity, a message comprising at least a subset of the duplex information, or forwarding such information among network entities. Rudolf ¶[0110]–[0111] describe direct UE-facing signaling without intermediate nodes.
In the NR architecture, however, configuration information (including duplex-mode parameters) is routinely exchanged between network entities such as the CU and DU and may be forwarded through additional nodes before reaching its final destination. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to implement Rudolf’s SBFD configuration signaling using conventional CU→DU→UE or multi-node forwarding paths to support the claimed inter-node signaling.
Regarding claim 3, Rudolf in view of Teyeb and Choi further discloses “the duplex information comprises a plurality of duplex configurations”. Rudolf ¶[0121] discloses multiple UL/DL subband configurations (“DU”, “UD”, “DUD”). Rudolf ¶[0124] further describes full-duplex, SBFD UL, SBFD DL, and SBFD flexible subband configurations.
Rudolf further discloses “output a control message to activate one of the plurality of duplex configurations”. Rudolf ¶[0110] states: “The UE can be configured with SBFD subband configurations via higher layer/RRC signaling,” and ¶[0111] states: “The network may provide the SBFD configuration to the UE…”. These passages describe outputting configuration information that activates a particular SBFD configuration at the UE.
Rudolf further discloses “to communicate with the UE in accordance with the activated one of the plurality of duplex configurations.” Rudolf ¶[0124] states: “support simultaneous DL transmission to a UE… and UL reception from a UE… on an SBFD slot or symbol,” demonstrating communication according to the activated SBFD configuration.
Regarding claim 4, Rudolf in view of Teyeb and Choi further discloses “the duplex information indicates an active duplex mode for a first cell of the one or more cells”. Rudolf ¶[0124] describes the gNB operating in “full-duplex operation… on an SBFD slot or symbol,” which is an active duplex mode for the cell.
Rudolf further discloses “a random access channel configuration associated with the active duplex mode for the first cell, or both, the active mode comprising one or more duplex modes.” Rudolf ¶[0121]–[0122] describe SBFD slots/symbols (subband full-duplex). Rudolf ¶[0125] explains full-duplex and half-duplex UE operation on the same NR carrier. These paragraphs collectively disclose SBFD, SBHD, and FD modes.
Regarding claim 5, Rudolf in view of Teyeb and Choi further discloses “the duplex information indicates frequency information for at least one duplex mode from among the one or more duplex modes”. Rudolf ¶[0121] discloses UL and DL subbands within an NR carrier and identifies configurations as “DU”, “UD”, and “DUD”.
Rudolf further discloses “the frequency information comprising an uplink frequency range, a downlink frequency range, a guard band frequency range, or any combination thereof for the at least one duplex mode”. Rudolf ¶[0121] identifies distinct UL and DL subbands (i.e., UL and DL frequency ranges). Rudolf ¶[0121] and ¶[0122] describe SBFD slots/symbols having non-overlapping UL and DL subbands, which inherently include a guard-band region between them.
Rudolf further discloses “a subcarrier spacing for the at least one duplex mode, a frequency offset for the at least one duplex mode, or any combination thereof.” Rudolf ¶[0114]–[0117] describe schedulable DL and UL symbols within NR frames and refer to subcarrier spacing configurations applicable to SBFD operation.
Regarding claim 6, Rudolf in view of Teyeb and Choi discloses “the duplex information indicates a type of frequency domain allocation for one or more time periods”. Rudolf ¶[0121] describes the UL/DL subband configuration “on the full-duplex slot or symbol,” which is a time period.
Rudolf further discloses “the type of frequency domain allocation comprising a pattern of one or more downlink allocations and one or more uplink allocations within the one or more time periods.” Rudolf ¶[0121] explicitly describes “DU”, “UD”, and “DUD” frequency-domain patterns of DL and UL subbands within a symbol/slot.
Regarding claim 7, Rudolf in view of Teyeb and Choi discloses “the duplex information indicates time information for at least one duplex mode from among the one or more duplex modes”. Rudolf ¶[0121]–[0122] define UL/DL subband configurations for “full-duplex slot or symbol” and “SBFD slots/symbols,” indicating the time intervals during which the SBFD mode is active.
Rudolf further discloses “the time information comprising one or more time periods in which the at least one duplex mode is active, a periodicity for the at least one duplex mode, one or more respective communication directions for the one or more time periods, or any combination thereof.” Rudolf ¶[0121] defines the communication direction (UL or DL) for SBFD symbols. Rudolf ¶[0114]–[0117] describe periodic DL/UL schedulable symbols across slots/frames.
Regarding claim 8, Rudolf in view of Teyeb and Choi discloses “the first network entity is a distributed unit.” Rudolf ¶[0110]–[0111] describe SBFD configurations delivered through higher layer/RRC signaling. Rudolf ¶[0040]–[0046] describe the gNB which, in NR architecture, includes DU functions handling MAC-layer scheduling, UL/DL symbol allocation, and SBFD resource configuration. Thus, Rudolf’s gNB embodies a distributed unit.
Claims 9 and 20 recite limitations substantially similar to those of independent claim 1, including the recitation that the duplex information comprises a random access channel configuration associated with a subband full-duplex mode. Accordingly, claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 for substantially the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 1, as being unpatentable over Rudolf in view of Teyeb and further in view of Choi.
Claims 10–11, 13–17, 19, 21-28, and 30 recite limitations corresponding to those in claims 3–8 but from the perspective of a second network entity or a user equipment. Rudolf in view of Teyeb and Choi describes determining duplex information (¶[0121]–[0125]), outputting configuration information (¶[0110]–[0111]), UL/DL allocation patterns (“DU”, “UD”, “DUD”), subcarrier spacing and frequency information (¶[0114]–[0117], ¶[0121]), and SBFD UL/DL operation (¶[0124]–[0125]). These disclosures correspond to the claimed duplex information, duplex configurations, activation behaviors, time-domain and frequency-domain indications, and operational behaviors. Accordingly, the combination of Rudolf, Teyeb, and Choi discloses claims 10–11, 13–17, 19–28, and 30.
Conclusion
/Luat Phung/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468