DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 12/19/2023 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/24/2024 and 09/26/2024 have been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-9 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhakal et al. (US 2017/0070311) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Dhakal” in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0267268), hereinafter “Lee”.
As to claim 1, Dhakal teaches a communication method applied to a first communication apparatus (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0034], a method for reference signals and rank-1 PMI feedback transmitted between the a base stations and UEs via corresponding channels and antennas), the method comprising:
sending reference signals to a communication device through a plurality of channels, wherein the reference signals are used for channel measurement (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0034], “the received rank-1 PMI feedback can be determined from an estimate of DL-CSI derived from cell-specific reference signals (CS-RS) received at the UE 406. Each UE 406 measures downlink channels based on CS-RS…the first downlink channel between antenna 409-1 associated with BS-1 404-1 to antenna 417-1 associated with UE-1 406-1 and the N-th downlink channel between antenna 409-N associated with BS-1 404-1 and antenna 417-1 associated with UE-1 406-1”. CS-RSs are sent to the UE through the downlink channels);
receiving channel measurement information from the communication device (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0034], “the received rank-1 PMI feedback can be determined from an estimate of DL-CSI derived from cell-specific reference signals (CS-RS) received at the UE 406”, [0036], “the network interface component 302 can be configured to receive an estimate of a phase difference by receiving rank-1 precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback from the UE 406…an estimate of phase difference measured in the downlink channels is reported by the UE 406 to the C-RAN 402”. The rank-1 PMI feedback is received from the UE).
Dhakal teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 1, obtaining a phase difference between a first channel and a second channel based on the channel measurement information, wherein the plurality of channels comprise the first channel and the second channel; and
obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, a phase compensation value of a channel other than the first channel and the second channel.
However, Lee teaches obtaining a phase difference between a first channel and a second channel based on the channel measurement information (Lee, [0025], acquiring a phase difference value based on reception timing of the aggregated CQI, [0058], “For the channel estimation of the UE 302, the central controller 330 allocates three CSI-RS resources corresponding to the cells 300, 310, and 320”, Fig. 4, [0060], “the central controller 330 maps three CSI-RSs to the sources 401, 402, and 403 for the UE 302 in CoMP mode to estimate the channels from the cells 300, 310, and 320”, [0067], “aggregated CQI for the situation where the phase differences among the TPs and/or JT are applied”, [0112], “The controller 1110 extracts the phase value corresponding to the aggregated CQI at step 930. The controller 1110 extracts the phase value or phase value indicator corresponding to the aggregated CQI based on the CSI transmission timings and/or sub-band indices according to one of the above described exemplary embodiments”), wherein the plurality of channels comprise the first channel and the second channel (Lee, [0058], “For the channel estimation of the UE 302, the central controller 330 allocates three CSI-RS resources corresponding to the cells 300, 310, and 320”, Fig. 4, [0060], “the central controller 330…to estimate the channels from the cells 300, 310, and 320”),; and
obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, a phase compensation value of a channel (Lee, [0025], scheduling the terminal based on the phase difference, [0113], the controller selects and determines the phase value corresponding to the best CQI among the plural aggregated CQIs received currently and previously and scheduling the UE based on the selected and determined phase value) other than the first channel and the second channel (Lee, Fig. 3, [0020], “The DL CoMP may include the relatively simple interference avoidance methods, such as a coordinated scheduling and complex methods requiring accurate and detailed channel information, such as a coordinated transmission of plural TPs”. The scheduling for DL to the UE is performed via a channel other than two channels, for example the channel from cell 320, which is different than the channel of cells 300 and 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal to have the features, as taught by Lee, in order to provide an improved Channel State Information (CSI) feedback method and an apparatus that is capable of transmitting CSI efficiently in the Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP) system (Lee, [0022]).
As to claim 2, Dhakal teaches further comprising:
sending data to one or more communication devices through the plurality of channels (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0028], “with one or more BSs 404-1 to 404-N, which in turn transmit downlink signals (shown with solid lines) to UEs 406-1 to 406-N via BS transmit chains 408-1 to 408-N and 412-1 to 412-N…via respective associated antennas 409-1 to 409-N and 413-1 to 413-N, correspondingly”), wherein a phase of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel in the plurality of channels (Dhakal, [0031], Fig. 5C, [0045]-[0046], the downlink channel from the j-th antenna of BS-1 to antenna 417-1 of UE-1 is compensated using the phase eiKeiΦ1jeiδj) is a phase that is compensated by using the phase compensation value (Dhakal, [0031], Figs. 5A-5C, [0045]-[0046], the DL beamformer is designed based on the DL-CSI which is based on the relative phase distortion. [0041], the phase distortion is based on the phase difference of the downlink channels).
As to claim 8, Dhakal teaches an apparatus (Dhakal, Fig. 1, [0015], Fig. 4, [0020], a base station (BS) including the hardware device 100), comprising:
a memory having processor-executable instructions stored thereon (Dhakal, Fig. 1, [0015], [0016], the hardware device 100 includes a memory 104 and storage 106);
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the processor-executable instructions which causes the apparatus to (Dhakal, Fig. 1, [0015], [0016], the hardware device 100 includes a processing unit 102 that executes program instructions stored in memory 104 and/or storage 106):
send reference signals to a communication device through a plurality of channels, wherein the reference signals are used for channel measurement (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0034], “the received rank-1 PMI feedback can be determined from an estimate of DL-CSI derived from cell-specific reference signals (CS-RS) received at the UE 406. Each UE 406 measures downlink channels based on CS-RS…the first downlink channel between antenna 409-1 associated with BS-1 404-1 to antenna 417-1 associated with UE-1 406-1 and the N-th downlink channel between antenna 409-N associated with BS-1 404-1 and antenna 417-1 associated with UE-1 406-1”. CS-RSs are sent to the UE through the downlink channels);
receive channel measurement information from the communication device (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0034], “the received rank-1 PMI feedback can be determined from an estimate of DL-CSI derived from cell-specific reference signals (CS-RS) received at the UE 406”, [0036], “the network interface component 302 can be configured to receive an estimate of a phase difference by receiving rank-1 precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback from the UE 406…an estimate of phase difference measured in the downlink channels is reported by the UE 406 to the C-RAN 402”. The rank-1 PMI feedback is received from the UE).
Dhakal teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 8, obtain a phase difference between a first channel and a second channel based on the channel measurement information, wherein the plurality of channels comprise the first channel and the second channel; and
obtain, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, a phase compensation value of a channel other than the first channel and the second channel.
However, Lee teaches obtain a phase difference between a first channel and a second channel based on the channel measurement information (Lee, [0025], acquiring a phase difference value based on reception timing of the aggregated CQI, [0058], “For the channel estimation of the UE 302, the central controller 330 allocates three CSI-RS resources corresponding to the cells 300, 310, and 320”, Fig. 4, [0060], “the central controller 330 maps three CSI-RSs to the sources 401, 402, and 403 for the UE 302 in CoMP mode to estimate the channels from the cells 300, 310, and 320”, [0067], “aggregated CQI for the situation where the phase differences among the TPs and/or JT are applied”, [0112], “The controller 1110 extracts the phase value corresponding to the aggregated CQI at step 930. The controller 1110 extracts the phase value or phase value indicator corresponding to the aggregated CQI based on the CSI transmission timings and/or sub-band indices according to one of the above described exemplary embodiments”), wherein the plurality of channels comprise the first channel and the second channel (Lee, [0058], “For the channel estimation of the UE 302, the central controller 330 allocates three CSI-RS resources corresponding to the cells 300, 310, and 320”, Fig. 4, [0060], “the central controller 330…to estimate the channels from the cells 300, 310, and 320”); and
obtain, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, a phase compensation value of a channel (Lee, [0025], scheduling the terminal based on the phase difference, [0113], the controller selects and determines the phase value corresponding to the best CQI among the plural aggregated CQIs received currently and previously and scheduling the UE based on the selected and determined phase value) other than the first channel and the second channel (Lee, Fig. 3, [0020], “The DL CoMP may include the relatively simple interference avoidance methods, such as a coordinated scheduling and complex methods requiring accurate and detailed channel information, such as a coordinated transmission of plural TPs”. The scheduling for DL to the UE is performed via a channel other than two channels, for example the channel from cell 320, which is different than the channel of cells 300 and 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal to have the features, as taught by Lee, in order to provide an improved Channel State Information (CSI) feedback method and an apparatus that is capable of transmitting CSI efficiently in the Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP) system (Lee, [0022]).
As to claim 9, Dhakal teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send data to one or more communication devices through the plurality of channels (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0028], “with one or more BSs 404-1 to 404-N, which in turn transmit downlink signals (shown with solid lines) to UEs 406-1 to 406-N via BS transmit chains 408-1 to 408-N and 412-1 to 412-N…via respective associated antennas 409-1 to 409-N and 413-1 to 413-N, correspondingly”), wherein a phase of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel in the plurality of channels (Dhakal, [0031], Fig. 5C, [0045]-[0046], the downlink channel from the j-th antenna of BS-1 to antenna 417-1 of UE-1 is compensated using the phase eiKeiΦ1jeiδj) is a phase that is compensated by using the phase compensation value (Dhakal, [0031], Figs. 5A-5C, [0045]-[0046], the DL beamformer is designed based on the DL-CSI which is based on the relative phase distortion. [0041], the phase distortion is based on the phase difference of the downlink channels).
As to claim 15, Dhakal teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that are executable by a computer, the non-transitory computer readable medium is applied to a first communication apparatus, and the instructions which upon execution cause the first communication apparatus to implement the following operations including (Dhakal, Fig. 1, [0015]-[0016], Fig. 4, [0020], a memory 104 and/or storage 106 in the hardware device 100 storing program instructions executed by a processing unit 102 to perform the functions of the device comprised in a base station (BS)):
sending reference signals to a communication device through a plurality of channels, wherein the reference signals are used for channel measurement (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0034], “the received rank-1 PMI feedback can be determined from an estimate of DL-CSI derived from cell-specific reference signals (CS-RS) received at the UE 406. Each UE 406 measures downlink channels based on CS-RS…the first downlink channel between antenna 409-1 associated with BS-1 404-1 to antenna 417-1 associated with UE-1 406-1 and the N-th downlink channel between antenna 409-N associated with BS-1 404-1 and antenna 417-1 associated with UE-1 406-1”. CS-RSs are sent to the UE through the downlink channels);
receiving channel measurement information from the communication device (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0034], “the received rank-1 PMI feedback can be determined from an estimate of DL-CSI derived from cell-specific reference signals (CS-RS) received at the UE 406”, [0036], “the network interface component 302 can be configured to receive an estimate of a phase difference by receiving rank-1 precoding matrix indicator (PMI) feedback from the UE 406…an estimate of phase difference measured in the downlink channels is reported by the UE 406 to the C-RAN 402”. The rank-1 PMI feedback is received from the UE).
Dhakal teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 15, obtaining a phase difference between a first channel and a second channel based on the channel measurement information, wherein the plurality of channels comprise the first channel and the second channel; and
obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, a phase compensation value of a channel other than the first channel and the second channel.
However, Lee teaches obtaining a phase difference between a first channel and a second channel based on the channel measurement information (Lee, [0025], acquiring a phase difference value based on reception timing of the aggregated CQI, [0058], “For the channel estimation of the UE 302, the central controller 330 allocates three CSI-RS resources corresponding to the cells 300, 310, and 320”, Fig. 4, [0060], “the central controller 330 maps three CSI-RSs to the sources 401, 402, and 403 for the UE 302 in CoMP mode to estimate the channels from the cells 300, 310, and 320”, [0067], “aggregated CQI for the situation where the phase differences among the TPs and/or JT are applied”, [0112], “The controller 1110 extracts the phase value corresponding to the aggregated CQI at step 930. The controller 1110 extracts the phase value or phase value indicator corresponding to the aggregated CQI based on the CSI transmission timings and/or sub-band indices according to one of the above described exemplary embodiments”), wherein the plurality of channels comprise the first channel and the second channel (Lee, [0058], “For the channel estimation of the UE 302, the central controller 330 allocates three CSI-RS resources corresponding to the cells 300, 310, and 320”, Fig. 4, [0060], “the central controller 330…to estimate the channels from the cells 300, 310, and 320”); and
obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, a phase compensation value of a channel (Lee, [0025], scheduling the terminal based on the phase difference, [0113], the controller selects and determines the phase value corresponding to the best CQI among the plural aggregated CQIs received currently and previously and scheduling the UE based on the selected and determined phase value) other than the first channel and the second channel (Lee, Fig. 3, [0020], “The DL CoMP may include the relatively simple interference avoidance methods, such as a coordinated scheduling and complex methods requiring accurate and detailed channel information, such as a coordinated transmission of plural TPs”. The scheduling for DL to the UE is performed via a channel other than two channels, for example the channel from cell 320, which is different than the channel of cells 300 and 310).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal to have the features, as taught by Lee, in order to provide an improved Channel State Information (CSI) feedback method and an apparatus that is capable of transmitting CSI efficiently in the Coordinated Multi-Point (CoMP) system (Lee, [0022]).
As to claim 16, Dhakal teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
sending data to one or more communication devices through the plurality of channels (Dhakal, Fig. 4, [0028], “with one or more BSs 404-1 to 404-N, which in turn transmit downlink signals (shown with solid lines) to UEs 406-1 to 406-N via BS transmit chains 408-1 to 408-N and 412-1 to 412-N…via respective associated antennas 409-1 to 409-N and 413-1 to 413-N, correspondingly”), wherein a phase of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel in the plurality of channels (Dhakal, [0031], Fig. 5C, [0045]-[0046], the downlink channel from the j-th antenna of BS-1 to antenna 417-1 of UE-1 is compensated using the phase eiKeiΦ1jeiδj) is a phase that is compensated by using the phase compensation value (Dhakal, [0031], Figs. 5A-5C, [0045]-[0046], the DL beamformer is designed based on the DL-CSI which is based on the relative phase distortion. [0041], the phase distortion is based on the phase difference of the downlink channels).
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhakal et al. (US 2017/0070311) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Dhakal” in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0267268), hereinafter “Lee” and further in view of Oshima et al. (US 2017/0033876), hereinafter “Oshima”.
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 3, wherein
the obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information comprises:
obtaining, based on the channel measurement information, an eigenvector corresponding to a correlation matrix between the plurality of channels; and
determining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on elements that are in the eigenvector and that correspond to the first channel and the second channel; and
the obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel comprises:
obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel and an element that is in the eigenvector and that corresponds to the channel other than the first channel and the second channel, the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel.
As to claim 3, Oshima teaches wherein
the obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information comprises:
obtaining, based on the channel measurement information, an eigenvector corresponding to a correlation matrix between the plurality of channels (Oshima, Fig. 5, [0111], “identifying eigenvectors corresponding to a plurality of unknown signals which are received by reception antennas 2-1 to 2-M and whose directions of arrival differ from one another from the correlation matrices R calculated by the corresponding one of the correlation matrix calculating units 15-1 to 15-M”); and
determining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on elements that are in the eigenvector and that correspond to the first channel and the second channel (Oshima, Fig. 1, [0039], the phase error is estimated for the reception antennas 2-1 to 2-M by using both the direction of arrival estimated by the direction of arrival estimating unit 8 and the frequency domain signals normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1 to 5-M. Fig. 5, [0119], “After identifying the N eigenvectors corresponding to the N higher-order eigenvalues, each of the eigenvector calculators 16-1 to 16-M outputs, as the corresponding one of the frequency domain signals x[m, k] normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1-to 5-M, the N eigenvectors to the corresponding one of the reference frequency normalizing units 6-1 to 6-M”. The output of the eigenvector calculators is used by the reference frequency normalizing units 6, wide band beam forming unit 7 and direction of arrival estimating unit 8 to estimate the direction of arrival, which is used for the phase error estimation); and
the obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel comprises:
obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel and an element that is in the eigenvector and that corresponds to the channel other than the first channel and the second channel (Oshima, Fig. 1, [0039], the phase error is estimated for the reception antennas 2-1 to 2-M by using both the direction of arrival estimated by the direction of arrival estimating unit 8 and the frequency domain signals normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1 to 5-M. Fig. 5, [0119], “After identifying the N eigenvectors corresponding to the N higher-order eigenvalues, each of the eigenvector calculators 16-1 to 16-M outputs, as the corresponding one of the frequency domain signals x[m, k] normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1-to 5-M, the N eigenvectors to the corresponding one of the reference frequency normalizing units 6-1 to 6-M”. The output of the eigenvector calculators is used by the reference frequency normalizing units 6, wide band beam forming unit 7 and direction of arrival estimating unit 8 to estimate the direction of arrival, which is used for the phase error estimation), the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel (Oshima, Fig. 5, [0001], “a calibration device that compensates for the amplitude and phase errors occurring in a plurality of antennas”, see also [0145]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Oshima, in order to estimate amplitude errors and phase errors occurring in the plurality of reception antennas while estimating the direction of arrival θ of the unknown signal with a high degree of accuracy, without preparing, in advance, a radiation source that emits a signal whose direction of arrival is known (Oshima, [0016]).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 10, wherein in obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain, based on the channel measurement information, an eigenvector corresponding to a correlation matrix between the plurality of channels; and
determine the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on elements that are in the eigenvector and that correspond to the first channel and the second channel; and
wherein in obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel and an element that is in the eigenvector and that corresponds to the channel other than the first channel and the second channel, the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel.
As to claim 10, Oshima teaches wherein in obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain, based on the channel measurement information, an eigenvector corresponding to a correlation matrix between the plurality of channels (Oshima, Fig. 5, [0111], “identifying eigenvectors corresponding to a plurality of unknown signals which are received by reception antennas 2-1 to 2-M and whose directions of arrival differ from one another from the correlation matrices R calculated by the corresponding one of the correlation matrix calculating units 15-1 to 15-M”); and
determine the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on elements that are in the eigenvector and that correspond to the first channel and the second channel (Oshima, Fig. 1, [0039], the phase error is estimated for the reception antennas 2-1 to 2-M by using both the direction of arrival estimated by the direction of arrival estimating unit 8 and the frequency domain signals normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1 to 5-M. Fig. 5, [0119], “After identifying the N eigenvectors corresponding to the N higher-order eigenvalues, each of the eigenvector calculators 16-1 to 16-M outputs, as the corresponding one of the frequency domain signals x[m, k] normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1-to 5-M, the N eigenvectors to the corresponding one of the reference frequency normalizing units 6-1 to 6-M”. The output of the eigenvector calculators is used by the reference frequency normalizing units 6, wide band beam forming unit 7 and direction of arrival estimating unit 8 to estimate the direction of arrival, which is used for the phase error estimation); and
wherein in obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel and an element that is in the eigenvector and that corresponds to the channel other than the first channel and the second channel (Oshima, Fig. 1, [0039], the phase error is estimated for the reception antennas 2-1 to 2-M by using both the direction of arrival estimated by the direction of arrival estimating unit 8 and the frequency domain signals normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1 to 5-M. Fig. 5, [0119], “After identifying the N eigenvectors corresponding to the N higher-order eigenvalues, each of the eigenvector calculators 16-1 to 16-M outputs, as the corresponding one of the frequency domain signals x[m, k] normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1-to 5-M, the N eigenvectors to the corresponding one of the reference frequency normalizing units 6-1 to 6-M”. The output of the eigenvector calculators is used by the reference frequency normalizing units 6, wide band beam forming unit 7 and direction of arrival estimating unit 8 to estimate the direction of arrival, which is used for the phase error estimation), the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel (Oshima, Fig. 5, [0001], “a calibration device that compensates for the amplitude and phase errors occurring in a plurality of antennas”, see also [0145]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Oshima, in order to estimate amplitude errors and phase errors occurring in the plurality of reception antennas while estimating the direction of arrival θ of the unknown signal with a high degree of accuracy, without preparing, in advance, a radiation source that emits a signal whose direction of arrival is known (Oshima, [0016]).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 17, wherein
the obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information comprises:
obtaining, based on the channel measurement information, an eigenvector corresponding to a correlation matrix between the plurality of channels; and
determining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on elements that are in the eigenvector and that correspond to the first channel and the second channel; and
the obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel comprises:
obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel and an element that is in the eigenvector and that corresponds to the channel other than the first channel and the second channel, the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel.
As to claim 17, Oshima teaches wherein
the obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information comprises:
obtaining, based on the channel measurement information, an eigenvector corresponding to a correlation matrix between the plurality of channels (Oshima, Fig. 5, [0111], “identifying eigenvectors corresponding to a plurality of unknown signals which are received by reception antennas 2-1 to 2-M and whose directions of arrival differ from one another from the correlation matrices R calculated by the corresponding one of the correlation matrix calculating units 15-1 to 15-M”); and
determining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on elements that are in the eigenvector and that correspond to the first channel and the second channel (Oshima, Fig. 1, [0039], the phase error is estimated for the reception antennas 2-1 to 2-M by using both the direction of arrival estimated by the direction of arrival estimating unit 8 and the frequency domain signals normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1 to 5-M. Fig. 5, [0119], “After identifying the N eigenvectors corresponding to the N higher-order eigenvalues, each of the eigenvector calculators 16-1 to 16-M outputs, as the corresponding one of the frequency domain signals x[m, k] normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1-to 5-M, the N eigenvectors to the corresponding one of the reference frequency normalizing units 6-1 to 6-M”. The output of the eigenvector calculators is used by the reference frequency normalizing units 6, wide band beam forming unit 7 and direction of arrival estimating unit 8 to estimate the direction of arrival, which is used for the phase error estimation); and
the obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel, the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel comprises:
obtaining, based on the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel and an element that is in the eigenvector and that corresponds to the channel other than the first channel and the second channel (Oshima, Fig. 1, [0039], the phase error is estimated for the reception antennas 2-1 to 2-M by using both the direction of arrival estimated by the direction of arrival estimating unit 8 and the frequency domain signals normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1 to 5-M. Fig. 5, [0119], “After identifying the N eigenvectors corresponding to the N higher-order eigenvalues, each of the eigenvector calculators 16-1 to 16-M outputs, as the corresponding one of the frequency domain signals x[m, k] normalized by the reference signal normalizing units 5-1-to 5-M, the N eigenvectors to the corresponding one of the reference frequency normalizing units 6-1 to 6-M”. The output of the eigenvector calculators is used by the reference frequency normalizing units 6, wide band beam forming unit 7 and direction of arrival estimating unit 8 to estimate the direction of arrival, which is used for the phase error estimation), the phase compensation value of the channel other than the first channel and the second channel (Oshima, Fig. 5, [0001], “a calibration device that compensates for the amplitude and phase errors occurring in a plurality of antennas”, see also [0145]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Oshima, in order to estimate amplitude errors and phase errors occurring in the plurality of reception antennas while estimating the direction of arrival θ of the unknown signal with a high degree of accuracy, without preparing, in advance, a radiation source that emits a signal whose direction of arrival is known (Oshima, [0016]).
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhakal et al. (US 2017/0070311) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Dhakal” in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0267268), hereinafter “Lee” and further in view of Davydov et al. (US Patent No. 8,953,478), hereinafter “Davydov”.
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 4, wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending, in a plurality of time periods, the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, wherein
the channel measurement information comprises channel measurement information corresponding to the reference signals sent in the plurality of time periods.
As to claim 4, Davydov teaches wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending, in a plurality of time periods, the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels (Davydov, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 49-54, “In the example shown in FIG. 2, the single-node CSI-RS 214A, the single-node CSI-RS 214B and the multi-node CSI-RS 214C are transmitted concurrently (i.e., during the same symbol times 206) of the resource block 200, however this is not a requirement as these reference signals may also be transmitted in different symbol times”, Fig. 1, col 6 ln 16-18, “In some of these embodiments, the coherent joint transmission 105 may be a MIMO transmission utilizing a plurality of spatial channels”. The reference signals are transmitted in a different time symbols via the plurality of channels), wherein
the channel measurement information comprises channel measurement information corresponding to the reference signals sent in the plurality of time periods (Davydov, Fig. 4, col 9 ln 52-60, “In operation 408, the eNB 102 may receive CSI reports as feedback from the UE 106. The CSI reports may include a 2TX PMI based on the multi-node CSI-RS 214C, and the 2TX PMI may indicate the relative phase information between the first and second cooperating points. In operation 410, the eNB 102 may receive additional CSI reports as feedback from the UE 106. The additional CSI reports may include a 4TX PMI based on both the 4TX CSI-RSs”, col 10 ln 28-35, phase measurements are obtained based on the CSI-RSs. The UE transmits CSI reports to the eNB including phase measurements of the CSI-RSs, which are transmitted in different time symbols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Davydov, in order to configure the first and second cooperating points for a coherent joint transmission (i.e., a CoMP transmission) to the UE (Davydov, col 2 ln 24-27).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 11, wherein in sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send, in a plurality of time periods, the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, wherein the channel measurement information comprises channel measurement information corresponding to the reference signals sent in the plurality of time periods.
As to claim 11, Davydov teaches wherein in sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send, in a plurality of time periods, the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels (Davydov, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 49-54, “In the example shown in FIG. 2, the single-node CSI-RS 214A, the single-node CSI-RS 214B and the multi-node CSI-RS 214C are transmitted concurrently (i.e., during the same symbol times 206) of the resource block 200, however this is not a requirement as these reference signals may also be transmitted in different symbol times”, Fig. 1, col 6 ln 16-18, “In some of these embodiments, the coherent joint transmission 105 may be a MIMO transmission utilizing a plurality of spatial channels”. The reference signals are transmitted in a different time symbols via the plurality of channels), wherein the channel measurement information comprises channel measurement information corresponding to the reference signals sent in the plurality of time periods (Davydov, Fig. 4, col 9 ln 52-60, “In operation 408, the eNB 102 may receive CSI reports as feedback from the UE 106. The CSI reports may include a 2TX PMI based on the multi-node CSI-RS 214C, and the 2TX PMI may indicate the relative phase information between the first and second cooperating points. In operation 410, the eNB 102 may receive additional CSI reports as feedback from the UE 106. The additional CSI reports may include a 4TX PMI based on both the 4TX CSI-RSs”, col 10 ln 28-35, phase measurements are obtained based on the CSI-RSs. The UE transmits CSI reports to the eNB including phase measurements of the CSI-RSs, which are transmitted in different time symbols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Davydov, in order to configure the first and second cooperating points for a coherent joint transmission (i.e., a CoMP transmission) to the UE (Davydov, col 2 ln 24-27).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 18, wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending, in a plurality of time periods, the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels,
wherein the channel measurement information comprises channel measurement information corresponding to the reference signals sent in the plurality of time periods.
As to claim 18, Davydov teaches wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending, in a plurality of time periods, the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels (Davydov, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 49-54, “In the example shown in FIG. 2, the single-node CSI-RS 214A, the single-node CSI-RS 214B and the multi-node CSI-RS 214C are transmitted concurrently (i.e., during the same symbol times 206) of the resource block 200, however this is not a requirement as these reference signals may also be transmitted in different symbol times”, Fig. 1, col 6 ln 16-18, “In some of these embodiments, the coherent joint transmission 105 may be a MIMO transmission utilizing a plurality of spatial channels”. The reference signals are transmitted in a different time symbols via the plurality of channels),
wherein the channel measurement information comprises channel measurement information corresponding to the reference signals sent in the plurality of time periods (Davydov, Fig. 4, col 9 ln 52-60, “In operation 408, the eNB 102 may receive CSI reports as feedback from the UE 106. The CSI reports may include a 2TX PMI based on the multi-node CSI-RS 214C, and the 2TX PMI may indicate the relative phase information between the first and second cooperating points. In operation 410, the eNB 102 may receive additional CSI reports as feedback from the UE 106. The additional CSI reports may include a 4TX PMI based on both the 4TX CSI-RSs”, col 10 ln 28-35, phase measurements are obtained based on the CSI-RSs. The UE transmits CSI reports to the eNB including phase measurements of the CSI-RSs, which are transmitted in different time symbols).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Davydov, in order to configure the first and second cooperating points for a coherent joint transmission (i.e., a CoMP transmission) to the UE (Davydov, col 2 ln 24-27).
Claims 5-6, 12-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhakal et al. (US 2017/0070311) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Dhakal” in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0267268), hereinafter “Lee” and further in view of Park et al. (US Patent No. 11,943,029), hereinafter “Park”.
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 5, wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending the reference signals to a plurality of communication devices through the plurality of channels; and
wherein the receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device comprises:
receiving channel measurement information from the plurality of communication devices.
As to claim 5, Park teaches wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending the reference signals to a plurality of communication devices through the plurality of channels (Park, col 15 ln 10-20, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-67, col 50 ln 1-9, the base station transmits the CSI-RSs to a UE from via different antenna ports and panels. Fig. 24, col 50 ln 36-38, col 50 ln 48-50, method (i.e. receiving CSI-RS from the base station) is performed by a plurality of UEs); and
wherein the receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device comprises:
receiving channel measurement information from the plurality of communication devices (Park, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-67, col 50 ln 1-9, the UE reports to the base station CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement. Fig. 24, col 50 ln 36-38, col 50 ln 48-50, method (i.e. reporting the CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement) is performed by a plurality of UEs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to report accurate CSI to the base station without significantly increasing signaling overhead (Park, col 3 ln 1-3).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 6, wherein the plurality of channels comprise a channel in a first polarization direction and a channel in a second polarization direction; and
wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending, in a first time period, the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the first polarization direction, and sending, in a second time period, the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the second polarization direction.
As to claim 6, Park teaches wherein the plurality of channels comprise a channel in a first polarization direction and a channel in a second polarization direction (Park, Fig. 12, col 21 ln 44-67, col 22 ln 1-6, a polarization P=2 is a cross polarization as shown in Fig. 12. An antenna port is mapped to an antenna element, where the antenna elements has a polarization. A reference signal for antenna port 0 and other reference signal for antenna port 1); and
wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending, in a first time period (Park, col 13 ln 50-56, the reference signals are transmitted using TDM scheme, that is different time resources allocated in order to distinguish between reference signals for two antenna ports), the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the first polarization direction (Park, Fig. 12, col 21 ln 44-67, col 22 ln 1-6, a polarization P=2 is a cross polarization as shown in Fig. 12. An antenna port is mapped to an antenna element, where the antenna elements has a polarization. A reference signal for antenna port 0 with polarization of +45°), and sending, in a second time period (Park, col 13 ln 50-56, the reference signals are transmitted using TDM scheme, that is different time resources allocated in order to distinguish between reference signals for two antenna ports), the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the second polarization direction (Park, Fig. 12, col 21 ln 44-67, col 22 ln 1-6, a polarization P=2 is a cross polarization as shown in Fig. 12. An antenna port is mapped to an antenna element, where the antenna elements has a polarization. Other reference signal for antenna port 1 with polarization of -45°).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to increase transmission reliability using symbols passing through various channel paths (Park, col 9 ln 21-26).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 12, wherein in sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send the reference signals to the plurality of communication devices through the plurality of channels; and
wherein in receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
receive channel measurement information from the plurality of communication devices.
As to claim 12, Park teaches wherein in sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send the reference signals to the plurality of communication devices through the plurality of channels (Park, col 15 ln 10-20, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-67, col 50 ln 1-9, the base station transmits the CSI-RSs to a UE from via different antenna ports and panels. Fig. 24, col 50 ln 36-38, col 50 ln 48-50, method (i.e. receiving CSI-RS from the base station) is performed by a plurality of UEs); and
wherein in receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
receive channel measurement information from the plurality of communication devices (Park, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-67, col 50 ln 1-9, the UE reports to the base station CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement. Fig. 24, col 50 ln 36-38, col 50 ln 48-50, method (i.e. reporting the CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement) is performed by a plurality of UEs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to report accurate CSI to the base station without significantly increasing signaling overhead (Park, col 3 ln 1-3).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 13, wherein the plurality of channels comprise a channel in a first polarization direction and a channel in a second polarization direction; and
wherein in sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send, in a first time period, the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the first polarization direction, and send, in a second time period, the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the second polarization direction.
As to claim 13, Park teaches wherein the plurality of channels comprise a channel in a first polarization direction and a channel in a second polarization direction (Park, Fig. 12, col 21 ln 44-67, col 22 ln 1-6, a polarization P=2 is a cross polarization as shown in Fig. 12. An antenna port is mapped to an antenna element, where the antenna elements has a polarization. A reference signal for antenna port 0 and other reference signal for antenna port 1); and
wherein in sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send, in a first time period (Park, col 13 ln 50-56, the reference signals are transmitted using TDM scheme, that is different time resources allocated in order to distinguish between reference signals for two antenna ports), the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the first polarization direction (Park, Fig. 12, col 21 ln 44-67, col 22 ln 1-6, a polarization P=2 is a cross polarization as shown in Fig. 12. An antenna port is mapped to an antenna element, where the antenna elements has a polarization. A reference signal for antenna port 0 with polarization of +45°), and send, in a second time period (Park, col 13 ln 50-56, the reference signals are transmitted using TDM scheme, that is different time resources allocated in order to distinguish between reference signals for two antenna ports), the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the second polarization direction (Park, Fig. 12, col 21 ln 44-67, col 22 ln 1-6, a polarization P=2 is a cross polarization as shown in Fig. 12. An antenna port is mapped to an antenna element, where the antenna elements has a polarization. Other reference signal for antenna port 1 with polarization of -45°).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to increase transmission reliability using symbols passing through various channel paths (Park, col 9 ln 21-26).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 19, wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending the reference signals to a plurality of communication devices through the plurality of channels; and
wherein the receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device comprises:
receiving channel measurement information from the plurality of communication devices.
As to claim 19, Park teaches wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending the reference signals to a plurality of communication devices through the plurality of channels (Park, col 15 ln 10-20, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-67, col 50 ln 1-9, the base station transmits the CSI-RSs to a UE from via different antenna ports and panels. Fig. 24, col 50 ln 36-38, col 50 ln 48-50, method (i.e. receiving CSI-RS from the base station) is performed by a plurality of UEs); and
wherein the receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device comprises:
receiving channel measurement information from the plurality of communication devices (Park, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-67, col 50 ln 1-9, the UE reports to the base station CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement. Fig. 24, col 50 ln 36-38, col 50 ln 48-50, method (i.e. reporting the CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement) is performed by a plurality of UEs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to report accurate CSI to the base station without significantly increasing signaling overhead (Park, col 3 ln 1-3).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 20, wherein the plurality of channels comprise a channel in a first polarization direction and a channel in a second polarization direction; and
wherein the sending reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending, in a first time period, the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the first polarization direction, and sending, in a second time period, the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the second polarization direction.
As to claim 20, Park teaches wherein the plurality of channels comprise a channel in a first polarization direction and a channel in a second polarization direction (Park, Fig. 12, col 21 ln 44-67, col 22 ln 1-6, a polarization P=2 is a cross polarization as shown in Fig. 12. An antenna port is mapped to an antenna element, where the antenna elements has a polarization. A reference signal for antenna port 0 and other reference signal for antenna port 1); and
wherein the sending reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending, in a first time period (Park, col 13 ln 50-56, the reference signals are transmitted using TDM scheme, that is different time resources allocated in order to distinguish between reference signals for two antenna ports), the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the first polarization direction (Park, Fig. 12, col 21 ln 44-67, col 22 ln 1-6, a polarization P=2 is a cross polarization as shown in Fig. 12. An antenna port is mapped to an antenna element, where the antenna elements has a polarization. A reference signal for antenna port 0 with polarization of +45°), and sending, in a second time period (Park, col 13 ln 50-56, the reference signals are transmitted using TDM scheme, that is different time resources allocated in order to distinguish between reference signals for two antenna ports), the reference signals to the communication device through the channel in the second polarization direction (Park, Fig. 12, col 21 ln 44-67, col 22 ln 1-6, a polarization P=2 is a cross polarization as shown in Fig. 12. An antenna port is mapped to an antenna element, where the antenna elements has a polarization. Other reference signal for antenna port 1 with polarization of -45°).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to increase transmission reliability using symbols passing through various channel paths (Park, col 9 ln 21-26).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhakal et al. (US 2017/0070311) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Dhakal” in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0267268), hereinafter “Lee” and further in view of Park et al. (US Patent No. 11,943,029), hereinafter “Park” and further in view of Athley et al. (US Patent No. 10,673,512), hereinafter “Athley”.
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 7, wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending the reference signals to the communication device X times through the plurality of channels, wherein the reference signals are reference signals obtained after weighting is performed based on a same calibration weight, and X is an integer greater than 1;
wherein the receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device comprises:
receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device X times, wherein the received X times of channel measurement information respectively correspond to the X times of sent reference signals; and
wherein the obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information comprises:
obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on channel measurement information received Y times of the X times, wherein Y is less than X, and Y is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
As to claim 7, Park teaches wherein the sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels comprises:
sending the reference signals to the communication device X times (Park, col 14 ln 61-67, col 15 ln 1-3, the CSI-RSs are intermittently transmitted on the time axis) through the plurality of channels (Park, col 15 ln 10-20, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-67, col 50 ln 1-9, the base station transmits the CSI-RSs to a UE from via different antenna ports and panels. Fig. 24, col 50 ln 36-38, col 50 ln 48-50, method (i.e. receiving CSI-RS from the base station) is performed by a plurality of UEs), and X is an integer greater than 1 (Park, col 14 ln 61-67, col 15 ln 1-3, the CSI-RS is intermittently transmitted on the time axis, such as 2 or more times);
wherein the receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device comprises:
receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device X times (Park, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-61, the UE reports to the base station a CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement. Col 14 ln 61-67, col 15 ln 1-3, the CSI-RS is intermittently (periodically) transmitted on the time axis. The UE reports the CSI for the CSI-RSs transmitted periodically on the time axis, such as 2 or more times), wherein the received X times of channel measurement information respectively correspond to the X times of sent reference signals (Park, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-61, the UE reports to the base station a CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement. Col 14 ln 61-67, col 15 ln 1-3, the CSI-RS is intermittently (periodically) transmitted on the time axis. The UE reports the CSI for the CSI-RSs transmitted periodically on the time axis, such as 2 or more times).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to report accurate CSI to the base station without significantly increasing signaling overhead (Park, col 3 ln 1-3).
Dhakal, Lee and Park teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal, Lee and Park do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 7, wherein the reference signals are reference signals obtained after weighting is performed based on a same calibration weight;
wherein the obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information comprises:
obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on channel measurement information received Y times of the X times, wherein Y is less than X, and Y is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
However, Athley teaches wherein the reference signals are reference signals obtained after weighting is performed based on a same calibration weight (Athley, col 14 ln 46-53, “the second set of reference signals may be weighted according to the first feedback information. The second set of reference signals may be weighted according to the first feedback information only when the first set of reference signals is transmitted on the antenna ports of the network node 100”),
wherein the obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information comprises:
obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel (Athley, col 3 ln 10-20, transmissions via a set of transmission beams and a set of antenna ports) based on channel measurement information received Y times of the X times (Athley, Fig. 5, Fig. 8, col 14 ln 65-67, col 15 ln 1-22, the network node 100 obtains phase values and phase difference values based on the second feedback information once out of the feedback information received at multiple times in steps S102b and S102d), wherein Y is less than X (Athley, Fig. 5, Fig. 8, col 14 ln 65-67, col 15 ln 1-22, the second feedback information received once at S102d, which is less than the feedback information received at steps S102b and S102d), and Y is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Athley, Fig. 5, Fig. 8, col 14 ln 65-67, col 15 ln 1-22, the second feedback information received once (1 time) at S102d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal, Lee and Park to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to provide efficient precoding for massive beamforming while reducing the required baseband resources and radio resources (Athley, col 3 ln 24-30).
Dhakal and Lee teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal and Lee do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 14, wherein in sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send the reference signals to the communication device X times through the plurality of channels, wherein the reference signals are reference signals obtained after weighting is performed based on a same calibration weight, and X is an integer greater than 1;
wherein in receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
receive the channel measurement information from the communication device X times, wherein the received X times of channel measurement information respectively correspond to the X times of sent reference signals; and
wherein in obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on channel measurement information received Y times of the X times, wherein Y is less than X, and Y is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
As to claim 14, Park teaches wherein in sending the reference signals to the communication device through the plurality of channels, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
send the reference signals to the communication device X times (Park, col 14 ln 61-67, col 15 ln 1-3, the CSI-RSs are intermittently transmitted on the time axis) through the plurality of channels (Park, col 15 ln 10-20, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-67, col 50 ln 1-9, the base station transmits the CSI-RSs to a UE from via different antenna ports and panels. Fig. 24, col 50 ln 36-38, col 50 ln 48-50, method (i.e. receiving CSI-RS from the base station) is performed by a plurality of UEs), and X is an integer greater than 1 (Park, col 14 ln 61-67, col 15 ln 1-3, the CSI-RS is intermittently transmitted on the time axis, such as 2 or more times);
wherein in receiving the channel measurement information from the communication device, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
receive the channel measurement information from the communication device X times (Park, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-61, the UE reports to the base station a CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement. Col 14 ln 61-67, col 15 ln 1-3, the CSI-RS is intermittently (periodically) transmitted on the time axis. The UE reports the CSI for the CSI-RSs transmitted periodically on the time axis, such as 2 or more times), wherein the received X times of channel measurement information respectively correspond to the X times of sent reference signals (Park, Fig. 23, col 49 ln 58-61, the UE reports to the base station a CSI generated based on the CSI-RS measurement. Col 14 ln 61-67, col 15 ln 1-3, the CSI-RS is intermittently (periodically) transmitted on the time axis. The UE reports the CSI for the CSI-RSs transmitted periodically on the time axis, such as 2 or more times).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal and Lee to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to report accurate CSI to the base station without significantly increasing signaling overhead (Park, col 3 ln 1-3).
Dhakal, Lee and Park teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Dhakal, Lee and Park do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 14, wherein the reference signals are reference signals obtained after weighting is performed based on a same calibration weight;
wherein in obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on channel measurement information received Y times of the X times, wherein Y is less than X, and Y is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
However, Athley teaches wherein the reference signals are reference signals obtained after weighting is performed based on a same calibration weight (Athley, col 14 ln 46-53, “the second set of reference signals may be weighted according to the first feedback information. The second set of reference signals may be weighted according to the first feedback information only when the first set of reference signals is transmitted on the antenna ports of the network node 100”);
wherein in obtaining the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel based on the channel measurement information, the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to:
obtain the phase difference between the first channel and the second channel (Athley, col 3 ln 10-20, transmissions via a set of transmission beams and a set of antenna ports) based on channel measurement information received Y times of the X times (Athley, Fig. 5, Fig. 8, col 14 ln 65-67, col 15 ln 1-22, the network node 100 obtains phase values and phase difference values based on the second feedback information once out of the feedback information received at multiple times in steps S102b and S102d), wherein Y is less than X (Athley, Fig. 5, Fig. 8, col 14 ln 65-67, col 15 ln 1-22, the second feedback information received once at S102d, which is less than the feedback information received at steps S102b and S102d), and Y is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Athley, Fig. 5, Fig. 8, col 14 ln 65-67, col 15 ln 1-22, the second feedback information received once (1 time) at S102d).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Dhakal, Lee and Park to have the features, as taught by Park, in order to provide efficient precoding for massive beamforming while reducing the required baseband resources and radio resources (Athley, col 3 ln 24-30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fan et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0375545 – Phase synchronization for reciprocity-based COMP joint transmission with UE feedback of both co-phasing and slope.
Yang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0341097 – CSI feedback with elevation beamforming.
Hugl et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0250876 – Method and apparatus providing inter-transmission point phase relationship feedback for joint transmission COMP.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473