DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment of claims 1-20, filed on 12/24/2025, is acknowledged and considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10, and 19 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 3, 9, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 10-13, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, et al. [US 20250158978] in view of Rhiando, et al. [US 20060155619].
As per claim 1: Oh, et al. teaches a method at a first device, comprising:
receiving, from a resource management system, a public key of a second device and an identifier of the public key, wherein the public key corresponds to a private key of the second device stored at the second device, is referenceable at the resource management system and the second device using the identifier of the public key, and is associated with a user at the second device and the resource management system; [Oh: para 0092; Temporary public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number generated by sender Timestamp Expiration time Source IP Public IP address. The public key is of the client/user, suggest a second device. The random number or source address is associated to the public key, thus, suggest the identifier of the public key per se. Para 0102-0103; the responder (i.e. second device) generate a DH private key and derive a DH share key for generating encryption keys. Next, the initiator derive the DH share key from the DH private key received in plaintext from the responder]
encrypting, in response to a request to access the first device, a string of randomized characters using a secret generated from an ephemeral key generated at the first device and stored in volatile memory of the first device and the public key, wherein encrypted data is obtained based on encrypting the string of randomized characters; [Oh: para 0088-0090; Temporary public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number. An encryption for the security-required elements among the data elements of the first EDHOC message transmitted in plaintext where the packet is encrypted with the exchanged SPA encryption key. Para 0098; EDHOC protocol is a lightweight handshake protocol designed for establishing secure sessions between devices in resource-constrained environments. The EDHOC protocol execute through message exchanges between an initiator and a responder. The initiator include a pre-shared DH share secret, and similarly, the responder include a pre-shared DH share secret]
generating, based on encrypting the string of randomized characters, a packet comprising the ephemeral key, the identifier of the public key, and the encrypted data; [Oh: para 0091, 0095; encrypting the key material of the ephemeral public key used to generate the application key in the SPA packet. The ephemeral public key derived by performing scalar multiplication of a certain number of bits of random data. Since the ephemeral public key is generated based on random data. More examples on para 0100, 0104, 0110]
providing, based on generating the packet and in response to the request to access the first device [Oh: para 0024], the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet; [Oh: para 0103; derive the DH share key from the DH private key received in plaintext from the responder, perform message decryption and authentication]
**receiving, based on providing the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet, from the user, a user input comprising a decrypted string of randomized characters; and [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
**authenticating, at the first device and based on the decrypted string of randomized characters received in based on receiving the input matching the string of randomized characters, the user for access to the first device. [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
Oh discloses temporary public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number. An encryption for the security-required elements among the data elements of the first EDHOC message transmitted in plaintext where the packet is encrypted with the exchanged SPA encryption key [Oh: para 0088-0090]. EDHOC protocol is a lightweight handshake protocol designed for establishing secure sessions between devices in resource-constrained environments. The EDHOC protocol execute through message exchanges between an initiator and a responder. The initiator include a pre-shared DH share secret, and similarly, the responder include a pre-shared DH share secret [Oh: para 0098]. Oh suggest encrypting a string of randomized characters using a secret generated from an ephemeral key generated at the first device wherein encrypted data is obtained based on encrypting the string of randomized characters. However, Oh did not clearly include “receiving, based on providing the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet, from the user, a user input comprising a decrypted string of randomized characters and authenticating, at the first device and based on the decrypted string of randomized characters received in based on receiving the input matching the string of randomized characters, the user for access to the first device”.
Rhiando teaches the identification system is intended for card-issuers such as government agencies and commercial companies in every country to provide a global platform for creating and locating card-type records in national databases without reference to individual persons, in that the card-type records are impersonal for anonymous registration and anonymous validation [Rhiando: 0004]. Rhiando includes a card-based system that generates a set of impersonal identifiers for an issued card in a computer terminal with an associated host computer for matching at a card-type server, wherein the system comprises a terminal to receive and identify an impersonal card in an issued state, captures a first image on the card for input to computing means which can decode and decrypt the image to generate an impersonal card-identifier in the terminal, and the terminal includes sensor with touch zones to illuminate an arrangement of segments in each touch zone to display within a restricted view angle, a random order of characters for a user to enter a concealed group of characters in a selected order for input to the computer to enable the computer to generate an impersonal user-identifier in the terminal [Rhiando: claim 91]. Rhiando obviously suggest decryption of the string of randomized characters where the user input and authenticating based on an input matching the string of randomized characters. As such, one would be motivated to “receiving, based on providing the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet, from the user, a user input comprising a decrypted string of randomized characters and authenticating, at the first device and based on the decrypted string of randomized characters received in based on receiving the input matching the string of randomized characters, the user for access to the first device”, to provide a global platform for creating and locating card-type records in national databases without reference to individual persons, in that the card-type records are impersonal for anonymous registration and anonymous validation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rhiando with Oh to teach “receiving, based on providing the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet, from the user, a user input comprising a decrypted string of randomized characters and authenticating, at the first device and based on the decrypted string of randomized characters received in based on receiving the input matching the string of randomized characters, the user for access to the first device”, for the reason to provide a global platform of records in national databases without reference to individual persons, in that the records are impersonal for anonymous registration and anonymous validation [Rhiando: 0004].
Claim 2: Oh: para 0075, 0095-0100 [list of available services and permission and connection identifier that identifies the connection of the session, suggest the unavailable connection or access when it’s not on the list or have permission]; discussing the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, after receiving the public key from the resource management system and prior to generating the packet, the request to access the first device; and determining that a connection between the first device and the resource management system is unavailable, a connection between the second device and the resource management system is unavailable, or both, wherein the string of randomized characters is encrypted based on the determining.
Claim 3: Objected
Claim 4: Oh: para 0088-0090 [public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number generated]; discussing the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, after receiving the public key and in response to the request to access the first device, the string of randomized characters.
Claim 5: Oh: para 0050, 0062 [initiating host (IH), which is an SDP client that initiates the process of accessing a protected resource through an accepting host AH . HOTP (a handshake certificate, an SPA encryption key, and a SPA hash-based message authentication code (HMAC) key]; discussing the method of claim 1, wherein encrypting the string of randomized characters comprises: encrypting a hostname of the first device is encrypted with the string of randomized characters, wherein the encrypted data is obtained based on encrypting the string of randomized characters and the hostname.
Claim 6: Oh: para 0103 [message authentication code] in view of Rhiando: para 0241, 0302 [suggesting “displaying…code”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the method of claim 1, wherein providing the packet to the second device comprises: generating a quick-response code that represents a content of the packet; and displaying, at the first device, the quick-response code.
Claim 7: Oh: para 0091, 0099 [encryption algorithm list, ephemeral public key]; discussing the method of claim 1, wherein the encrypted data is decryptable using the ephemeral key generated by the first device and the private key stored at the second device.
Claim 8: Oh: para 0062, 0100 [ephemeral public key (G_X) is a key generated through scalar multiplication of the share secret and a 16-bit random number]; discussing the method of claim 1, further comprising: authenticating, prior to receiving the public key from the resource management system, the user for access to the first device, wherein the public key and the identifier of the public key is received at the first device in response to the user being authenticated for access to the first device via the resource management system.
Claim 9: Objected
As per claim 10: Oh, et al. teaches a method at a second device, comprising:
generating, for a user of the second device, a public key of the second device and an identifier of the public key, wherein the public key corresponds to a private key of the second device; [Oh: para 0092; Temporary public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number generated by sender Timestamp Expiration time Source IP Public IP address. The public key is of the client/user, suggest a second device. The random number or source address is associated to the public key, thus, suggest the identifier of the public key per se. Para 0102-0103; the responder (i.e. second device) generate a DH private key and derive a DH share key for generating encryption keys. Next, the initiator derive the DH share key from the DH private key received in plaintext from the responder]
registering, by the second device at a resource management system, the public key and the identifier of the public key to the user generated by the second device; [Oh: para 0088-0090; Specify static Diffie-Hellman and signature key 1 authentication method SUITES_I List of sender's preferred encryption algorithms 9 G_X Temporary public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number generated. An encryption for the security-required elements among the data elements of the first EDHOC message transmitted in plaintext where the packet is encrypted with the exchanged SPA encryption key. The authentication method involves encryption algorithms and public key suggest the registered public key and associated data. Para 0098; EDHOC protocol is a lightweight handshake protocol designed for establishing secure sessions between devices in resource-constrained environments. The EDHOC protocol execute through message exchanges between an initiator and a responder. The initiator include a pre-shared DH share secret, and similarly, the responder include a pre-shared DH share secret]
receiving, from a first device, based on the user requesting access to the first device [Oh: para 0024], a packet comprising an ephemeral key generated at the first device, the identifier of the public key, and encrypted data that was encrypted using a secret generated from the public key and the ephemeral key; [Oh: para 0091, 0095; encrypting the key material of the ephemeral public key used to generate the application key in the SPA packet. The ephemeral public key derived by performing scalar multiplication of a certain number of bits of random data. Since the ephemeral public key is generated based on random data. More examples on para 0100, 0104, 0110]
decrypting the encrypted data using the private key, wherein a string of randomized characters that provides the user access to the first device is obtained based on decrypting the encrypted data; and [Oh: para 0103; derive the DH share key from the DH private key received in plaintext from the responder, perform message decryption and authentication]
**displaying, at the second device and based on decrypting the encrypted data to obtain the string of randomized characters, the string of randomized characters for the user to input into the first device. [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
Oh discloses temporary public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number. An encryption for the security-required elements among the data elements of the first EDHOC message transmitted in plaintext where the packet is encrypted with the exchanged SPA encryption key [Oh: para 0088-0090]. EDHOC protocol is a lightweight handshake protocol designed for establishing secure sessions between devices in resource-constrained environments. The EDHOC protocol execute through message exchanges between an initiator and a responder. The initiator include a pre-shared DH share secret, and similarly, the responder include a pre-shared DH share secret [Oh: para 0098]. Oh suggest encrypting a string of randomized characters using a secret generated from an ephemeral key generated at the first device wherein encrypted data is obtained based on encrypting the string of randomized characters. However, Oh did not clearly include “displaying, at the second device and based on decrypting the encrypted data to obtain the string of randomized characters, the string of randomized characters for the user to input into the first device”.
Rhiando teaches the identification system is intended for card-issuers such as government agencies and commercial companies in every country to provide a global platform for creating and locating card-type records in national databases without reference to individual persons, in that the card-type records are impersonal for anonymous registration and anonymous validation [Rhiando: 0004]. Rhiando includes a card-based system that generates a set of impersonal identifiers for an issued card in a computer terminal with an associated host computer for matching at a card-type server, wherein the system comprises a terminal to receive and identify an impersonal card in an issued state, captures a first image on the card for input to computing means which can decode and decrypt the image to generate an impersonal card-identifier in the terminal, and the terminal includes sensor with touch zones to illuminate an arrangement of segments in each touch zone to display within a restricted view angle, a random order of characters for a user to enter a concealed group of characters in a selected order for input to the computer to enable the computer to generate an impersonal user-identifier in the terminal [Rhiando: claim 91]. Rhiando obviously suggest decryption of the string of randomized characters where authenticating based on an input matching the string of randomized characters. As such, one would be motivated to “displaying, at the second device and based on decrypting the encrypted data to obtain the string of randomized characters, the string of randomized characters for the user to input into the first device”, to provide a global platform for creating and locating card-type records in national databases without reference to individual persons, in that the card-type records are impersonal for anonymous registration and anonymous validation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rhiando with Oh to teach “receiving, based on providing the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet, from the user, a user input comprising a decrypted string of randomized characters and authenticating, at the first device and based on the decrypted string of randomized characters received in based on receiving the input matching the string of randomized characters, the user for access to the first device”, for the reason to provide a global platform of records in national databases without reference to individual persons, in that the records are impersonal for anonymous registration and anonymous validation [Rhiando: 0004].
Claim 11: Oh: para 0075, 0095-0100 [list of available services and permission and connection identifier that identifies the connection of the session, suggest the unavailable connection or access when it’s not on the list or have permission]; discussing the method of claim 10, wherein the packet is received based on a connection between the second device and the resource management system being unavailable, a connection between the first device and the resource management system being unavailable, or both.
Claim 12: Oh: para 0057, 0086 [exchange information and data with the SDP client and receive the ID token through user authentication]; discussing the method of claim 10, further comprising: verifying, prior to generating the public key, an identity of the user with the resource management system, wherein the public key is generated based on the identity of the user being verified by the resource management system.
Claim 13: Oh: para 0055, 0091; discussing the method of claim 10, further comprising: storing, prior to receiving the packet, the public key, the private key, and the identifier of the public key in a cryptographic component of the second device.
Claim 14: Objected
Claim 15: Oh: para 0103 [message authentication code] in view of Rhiando: para 0241, 0302 [suggesting “displaying…code”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 1]; discussing the method of claim 10, wherein receiving the packet comprises: decoding a quick-response code being displayed at the first device.
Claim 16: Oh: para 0050, 0062 [initiating host (IH), which is an SDP client that initiates the process of accessing a protected resource through an accepting host AH . HOTP (a handshake certificate, an SPA encryption key, and a SPA hash-based message authentication code (HMAC) key]; discussing the method of claim 10, wherein a hostname of the first device is obtained based on decrypting the encrypted data, and where the hostname is displayed to the user with the string of randomized characters.
Claim 17: Oh: para 0088-0090 [public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number generated] in view of Rhiando: para 0009 [suggesting “displayed…biometric component”, under the same pretext and motivation as in claim 10]; discussing the method of claim 10, further comprising: requesting, based on receiving the packet, the user to authenticate an identity of the user using a biometric component of the second device, wherein the string of randomized characters is displayed to the user based on the biometric component authenticating the identity of the user.
Claim 18: Oh: para 0075, 0095-0100 [list of available services and permission and connection identifier that identifies the connection of the session, suggest available connection or access when it’s on the list or have permission]; discussing the method of claim 10, further comprising: receiving, from the resource management system, based on the user requesting access to the first device, a request for the user to verify that the user is requesting access to the first device based on a connection between the second device and the resource management system being available and a connection between the first device and the resource management system being available; and sending, to the resource management system, a response configured to verify that the user is requesting access to the first device and to trigger the resource management system to send a message to the first device authenticating the user for access to the first device.
As per claim 19: Oh, et al. teaches a first device, comprising:
one or more processors; and [Oh: para 0115]
one or more memories storing code comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors [Oh: para 0116], individually or collectively, to cause the first device to:
receive, from a resource management system, a public key of a second device and an identifier of the public key, wherein the public key corresponds to a private key of the second device stored at the second device, is referenceable at the resource management system and the second device using the identifier of the public key, and is associated with a user at the second device and the resource management system; [Oh: para 0092; Temporary public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number generated by sender Timestamp Expiration time Source IP Public IP address. The public key is of the client/user, suggest a second device. The random number or source address is associated to the public key, thus, suggest the identifier of the public key per se. Para 0102-0103; the responder (i.e. second device) generate a DH private key and derive a DH share key for generating encryption keys. Next, the initiator derive the DH share key from the DH private key received in plaintext from the responder]
encrypt, in response to a request to access the first device, a string of randomized characters using a secret generated from an ephemeral key generated at the first device and stored in volatile memory of the first device and the public key, wherein encrypted data is obtained based on encrypting the string of randomized characters; [Oh: para 0088-0090; Temporary public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number. An encryption for the security-required elements among the data elements of the first EDHOC message transmitted in plaintext where the packet is encrypted with the exchanged SPA encryption key. Para 0098; EDHOC protocol is a lightweight handshake protocol designed for establishing secure sessions between devices in resource-constrained environments. The EDHOC protocol execute through message exchanges between an initiator and a responder. The initiator include a pre-shared DH share secret, and similarly, the responder include a pre-shared DH share secret]
generate, based on encrypting the string of randomized characters, a packet comprising the ephemeral key, the identifier of the public key, and the encrypted data; [Oh: para 0091, 0095; encrypting the key material of the ephemeral public key used to generate the application key in the SPA packet. The ephemeral public key derived by performing scalar multiplication of a certain number of bits of random data. Since the ephemeral public key is generated based on random data. More examples on para 0100, 0104, 0110]
provide, based on generating the packet and in response to the request to access the first device [Oh: para 0024], the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet; [Oh: para 0103; derive the DH share key from the DH private key received in plaintext from the responder, perform message decryption and authentication]
**receive, based on providing the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet, from the user, a user input comprising a decrypted string of randomized characters; and [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
**authenticate, at the first device and based on the decrypted string of randomized characters received in the user input matching the string of randomized characters, the user for access to the first device. [**rejected under a secondary reference, discussion below]
Oh discloses temporary public key generated through scalar multiplication of share secret and random number. An encryption for the security-required elements among the data elements of the first EDHOC message transmitted in plaintext where the packet is encrypted with the exchanged SPA encryption key [Oh: para 0088-0090]. EDHOC protocol is a lightweight handshake protocol designed for establishing secure sessions between devices in resource-constrained environments. The EDHOC protocol execute through message exchanges between an initiator and a responder. The initiator include a pre-shared DH share secret, and similarly, the responder include a pre-shared DH share secret [Oh: para 0098]. Oh suggest encrypting a string of randomized characters using a secret generated from an ephemeral key generated at the first device wherein encrypted data is obtained based on encrypting the string of randomized characters. However, Oh did not clearly include “receiving, based on providing the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet, from the user, a user input comprising a decrypted string of randomized characters and authenticating, at the first device and based on the decrypted string of randomized characters received in based on receiving the input matching the string of randomized characters, the user for access to the first device”.
Rhiando teaches the identification system is intended for card-issuers such as government agencies and commercial companies in every country to provide a global platform for creating and locating card-type records in national databases without reference to individual persons, in that the card-type records are impersonal for anonymous registration and anonymous validation [Rhiando: 0004]. Rhiando includes a card-based system that generates a set of impersonal identifiers for an issued card in a computer terminal with an associated host computer for matching at a card-type server, wherein the system comprises a terminal to receive and identify an impersonal card in an issued state, captures a first image on the card for input to computing means which can decode and decrypt the image to generate an impersonal card-identifier in the terminal, and the terminal includes sensor with touch zones to illuminate an arrangement of segments in each touch zone to display within a restricted view angle, a random order of characters for a user to enter a concealed group of characters in a selected order for input to the computer to enable the computer to generate an impersonal user-identifier in the terminal [Rhiando: claim 91]. Rhiando obviously suggest decryption of the string of randomized characters where a user input and authenticating based on an input matching the string of randomized characters. As such, one would be motivated to “receive, based on providing the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet, from the user, a user input comprising a decrypted string of randomized characters; and authenticate, at the first device and based on the decrypted string of randomized characters received in the user input matching the string of randomized characters, the user for access to the first device”, to provide a global platform for creating and locating card-type records in national databases without reference to individual persons, in that the card-type records are impersonal for anonymous registration and anonymous validation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Rhiando with Oh to teach “receive, based on providing the packet to the second device for decryption of the string of randomized characters from the packet, from the user, a user input comprising a decrypted string of randomized characters; and authenticate, at the first device and based on the decrypted string of randomized characters received in the user input matching the string of randomized characters, the user for access to the first device”, for the reason to provide a global platform of records in national databases without reference to individual persons, in that the records are impersonal for anonymous registration and anonymous validation [Rhiando: 0004].
Claim 20: Oh: para 0075, 0095-0100 [list of available services and permission and connection identifier that identifies the connection of the session, suggest the unavailable connection or access when it’s not on the list or have permission]; discussing the first device of claim 19, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors, individually or collectively, to cause the first device to: receive, after receiving the public key from the resource management system and prior to generating the packet, the request to access the first device; and determine that a connection between the first device and the resource management system is unavailable, a connection between the second device and the resource management system is unavailable, or both, wherein the string of randomized characters is encrypted based on the determining.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Leynna Truvan
Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/L.TT/Examiner, Art Unit 2435
/EDWARD ZEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435